Reading Reviews for Dolores Falling
  
34 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Feel Free to Disagree Dolores Falling

26th March 2013:
I'm not sure if I completely buy it. I think the characterization of Dolores is more believable and very well done toward the second half of your story where she is more like the character in the book. I think that you characterize Dolores perfectly here. But the scenes describing her childhood and the trauma that created her seems a bit too cliche. I think death in and of itself is a cop-out (sp?). I think she's too good in the beginning of the story. There's nothing of her personality described there, just circumstances. Inserting more personality in young Dolores would make her more believable in the beginning. I also don't think that tragic circumstances should overshadow that personality. By underplaying the tragedy and highlighting very real and Dolores-like reactions/thoughts, I think that Dolores will not only seem more human (both the good and the bad - which should be present at all stages of her life) but the tragedy itself will have more impact on your audience. This would hopefully create a deeper and more profound empathy. I hope that was helpful! I think you have a lot of potential here.

Author's Response: Thanks for your honest review! It's been years since I've thought of this fic, and I wanted to re-read it first before responding to your review.

I'm actually going to agree with some of the points you made. While I still believe that circumstance often shapes the type of people we become, I agree that it's a combination of circumstance PLUS the personality already there. In the very first section of the fic, Dolores is very young, and I have a hard time believing that any child is 'too good', though I see your point in how ANY personality is lacking in that section.

If I ever decide to take a crack at this kind of story again (I like to leave my stories up the way they are so I can see my own progress in writing) I'll definitely keep your comments in mind. Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #2, by lyrix82 Dolores Falling

25th October 2008:
OMG, I can't believe I'm actually about to say thisbut...I feel so sorry for Delores Umbridge... you've done an excellent job there of humanising a greatly demonised character (for good reason I think!) but I'm one of those folk who thiinks there is method behind all madness and therefore must be a significant reason for her vileness. Thank you for showing me it! xx

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm glad you sympathized with Dolores, even though this was possibly the most difficult story I've ever had to write. Even now, I don't feel it fully goes deep enough into what ought to be said about her.

Maybe one day, I'll go back and revist the concept. In the meantime, thank you for the reviews!!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by amieharry_ginny Dolores Falling

25th October 2008:
Bam! Thats how the beginning of the story was lol I absolutely loved it. Loved the way you came straight to the point, loved the characterization ... it makes it easier to understand why Dolores is the way she is ... the gist of it all was really touching in a way. I actually felt for her now THAT is saying something because i absolutely hate Umbridge and i only think of her as a scum sucking toerag lol But still loved the one-shot absolutely amazing. Well written and very refreshing lol 9/10

Author's Response: Oh, who doesn't hate Umbridge? I despise the woman with a burning, fiery passion...which was why this story was ridiculously hard to write.

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Psyche3 Dolores Falling

14th October 2008:
This was very well done. I don't like Umbridge, never have...like most people, I'm sure. This was a great visual tool, something by which to explain how and why she became what she did. I loved the cut-scenes, the defining moments in between the cold, calculated rationale.

I don't pity her, however, nor do I sympathize with her. I sympathize with the child she was, with the events and restriction that shaped her young life, but eventually we are all responsible for our own choices, right or wrong. I was sorry for the young child who was rebuffed by her grieving father, I was sorry for the young woman who loved a young man - but not for who and what she made of herself out of it.

Again, this was excellent - thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Ah, I like reading the responses to this story...

I wrote this piece a year ago or more, and I think my views have changed a bit. I agree, we are all responsible for our actions, but it's still nice to hear what caused people to persue the actions that they did.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Gords7015 Dolores Falling

3rd May 2008:
Wow, wow, wow...

This story is totally messed up, but in a way that almost makes me angry... I'm not supposed to feel pity for Umbridge! Still, this story again shows your incredible talent for writing. The cut scenes (for lack of a better word) really matched the internal monologue, and the story in and of itself really begins to get into WHY she is such a PITA. The only critical thing that I could say is the obsession about mudbloods. There doesn't seem to be any realy explanation for her action later in book seven. I think that stating that she was a pureblood, or that the werewolves were mudbloods might allow for the reader to come to the conclusion that their familial status factored into her hate as well.

Otherwise, amazing job!

Author's Response: Ah, now I REALLY like cut scenes. Patly because I feel that they show a bit more introspection for first person wrtiting, and partly because I am nowhere near creative enough to find a way to give out information short of having the character tell their life story in five minutes. So...cut scenes (I can't think of a better way to describe them) are my best friends in writing fanfic.

To be honest, I am not altogether fond of this story. It was dificult to write, and I wrote it for a challenge. There is no character that I despisse mroe than Dolores, and it was very difficult to feel badly for her. I must admit, that I didn't even consider her dislike of muggleborns while writing this.

At some point, I will likely revise this. I feel that the part abotu the werewolves needs some touching up, as it feels too obvious for my tastes. Perhaps if I redo this, I shall include the muggleborn thing into this...

Thanks again Gords for the awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by henryjones Dolores Falling

20th April 2008:
so this was brilliant. i loved the explanations of umbridge, i must admit she is one of my least favorite characters as well. the attack on her fiancee fits well as a main reason for her hate for werewolves and other similar creatures.
anyway, this was brilliant. thank you! ;)

Author's Response: Well, yes, I imagine Dolores ranks pretty high on everyone's hate list...

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Yapee Dolores Falling

22nd January 2008:
What a great story. It is good to see Delores in a different light, one that most people would not think about. It is really good to see some reasons why people would act like that and you gave some really good ones. Great story

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm happy to hear you thought it was a great story. ;)

And I'm well aware that a lot of people don't think about why Dolores acts the way she does. Or at least, they don't write about it...

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by AngelicaPG Dolores Falling

5th January 2008:
This is great! I can't believe that you could completely make me feel empathy towards Dolores Umbridge. I love this story! Especially the little snippets that separate the flashbacks. They are my favorite part of the story, I think. This little review box here can't do your story justice! Great writing. 20/10, because 10/10 just didn't seem to be enough.

Author's Response: Thanks so much!!!!

I'm glad you liked it, Angelica!

And I've got to say, I adore the 20/10. It makes me happy just to look at it.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Nausicaa Dolores Falling

2nd January 2008:
wow. That is amazing, it's very interesting seeing how people may have gotten they way they are.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!!!

I'm glad you liked this story!!!

(btw, I love your penname ;) )


 Report Review

Review #10, by MoonyLuvr1456 Dolores Falling

22nd December 2007:
I feel bad for her, but I still loathe her for trying to take away werewolf rights. OK - I just despise her altogether. I feel bad for her, now, however. Great story - 1o/1o. :) Amazing job!

Author's Response: Haha, it's alright. Even after writing this I still don't like her...

Thanks for the review, I'm glad you liked this!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Chilee Dolores Falling

17th December 2007:
you dint really get me to empathize with her. maybe if you showed how her mum died (don't know if it would be pushing it to say that she too was attacked by a werewolf ...) and why her dad distanced himself from her (maybe she was the reason why the mum was out when she was attacked ...)
Pity her, I do, but empathize ... nope.

Author's Response: Thank you for your honest opinion. I really wasn't altogether sure how to make people empathasize with her, so it was very difficult to get as far as I did with this. I'm glad that you managed to pity her, and perhaps in the future I shall try to edit this and get some empathy out of you....

You have an excellent point though, some of this could have been much better explained. I suppose that the reason things aren't explained so well in here is that I have it planned out in my head, but I forget that you readers don't know the whole story. Thank you for bringing that up.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Pretty Purple Pelican Dolores Falling

15th December 2007:
Well done. You really did a fantastic job exploring the character of Dolores Umbridge. It's nice to see a different side of her since I absolutely hate her, as well. Plus, I see her used as comic relief in fanfiction most of the time. You did wonderfully :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! To be honest, I really haven't read much of Dolores in ff, mainly because I don't read many year five fics...

Or at least, that's where I'd assume she'd be. I think that because people hate her so much, they don't like to include her in stories...or they make fun of her.

thank you!



 Report Review

Review #13, by angel of tears Dolores Falling

4th December 2007:
really original, i really liked it. It gives an insight to one of the lesser characters. great story.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. Most of my stories are about minor characters, and I'm so glad you didn't mind that this one was about Dolores.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Fallstar Dolores Falling

25th November 2007:
I have never before felt any sympathy or empathy for Dolores. well done.

Author's Response: Thank you so much Fallstar. I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #15, by midwinter_wolf Dolores Falling

18th November 2007:
Wow! You really do get to sympathise with umbridge, somthing I never thought id do.wow.10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Bella_Portia Dolores Falling

10th November 2007:
I thought you did a good job. Not sure it's exactly where I would have located the empathy or motivation, but I did find myself feeling sorry for the old girl in a few places. Everyone, no matter what they do, is justified in their own mind; you certainly captured that.

Author's Response: Thank you. It was rather difficult trying to come up with reasons to make a person understand what she was going through, as I don't really like her much myself, but I'm glad you felt for her in a couple places.

Thanks again for the review, Bella Portia!


 Report Review

Review #17, by war and peace Dolores Falling

9th November 2007:
i love it! i've never rad anything on here about umbridge...

Author's Response: Yeah, I'm not too sure how many Umbridge stories there are on here...I'll have to go look it up. I'm assuming that there are even fewer Dolores empathetic ones too...

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #18, by windchaser Dolores Falling

29th October 2007:
wow... poor dolores, quite a childhood, huh?

Author's Response: Yep. As I said in the previous response, the purpose of this story wasn't to make you all pity Dolores, it was to try to help understand why she does what she does. however, most people DO tend to feel sorry for her when they understand :P

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Jennica Dolores Falling

27th October 2007:
Do you expect me to feel sorry for Dolores? Well, I certainly don't. Still, good story.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review. I wasn't so sure if I wanted you to feel sorry for Dolores as much as understand her predicament. It truly is hard to feel sorry for such a vile woman, but I was more hoping to show how and why she was so horrible.

It's perfectly all right that you don't feel bad for in the slightest. She was a bad person and probably shouldn't be forgiven.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by xMidnightwaltzx Dolores Falling

19th October 2007:
Never in my life did I think I'd feel some type of remorse for the evil bat more commonly known as Dolores Umbridge, but you have managed fr this to happen. This story was excellently written. I loved how you gave the background story on all the things that make us hate Dolores. It really did help to understand why she is that kind of person. Great job! I think you should consider turning this into a full-length fanfiction. It would be a fantastic read =]

Author's Response: Thank you! This was rather diffucult for me to write, considering that I dispise Dolores as much as the next person, but I'm glad to hear that you felt a twinge of remorse for her.

I'm not too sure about turning this into a full length fic though, as I have yet to update my novella. Not to mention that if I had such dificulty writing this one shot, a full out story might be a bit much.

I'll keep it in mind though. Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by flamingolover Dolores Falling

18th October 2007:
interesting twist. i like it

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Lily 4 James Dolores Falling

17th October 2007:
ZOMG!!! You actually made me feel sorry for DOLORES UMBRIDGE...
That... is really amazing...
I loved the bit where she *Hem hems* in the court room. It's like the child Dolores is slowly becoming Professor Umbridge. And I loved the bows. And I loved... if I keep this up I' gonna go on forever. Lol
Well... I'll just say I loved it all!!!
10/10
I'm off to read your other stories now
*Ciao*

Author's Response: Ooh! Thank you so much for the review! It means so much to hear that you liked it so much! Thank you x infinity!!!!

AND you're reading my other story?! My goodness, you are amazing!

Thank you so much for the review, and i'm glad you liked this, especially since it was Dolores we're talking about here...


 Report Review

Review #23, by HermioneWazlib Dolores Falling

5th October 2007:
Oh my God...that was...incredible. Breathtaking. I quite agree that Umbridge is horrid and worse than gum on the bottom of my shoe, but I had never thought about what made her that way. This was just amazing. Fantastic job! 10/10

~HermioneWazlib

Author's Response: Thank you! Dolores is a horrid character and JK really did an excellent job of making a truly detestable character. She made it nearly impossible for me to make Dolores' case somewhat understandable.

I'm so gald you liked this and thank you for the review and the 10/10!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Ravii Dolores Falling

26th September 2007:
I loved it. Holy. Crap. I loved it. Totally origional, I love the mental craziness in it, and really, the truth behind it all. I loved it. 10/10, you had no spelling/grammer errors, loved the outline, origionality, and how it all falls into place. One of my favourites.

Author's Response: *blushes furiously* Thank you so much! i'm so happy that you enjoyed it and all of it's...Umbridgeness. I don't really expect this story to become very popular, mainly because it deals with Dolores as a main character. I'm even more happy that you added it to favorites! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #25, by kiwigirl Dolores Falling

24th September 2007:
wow... that was absouloutely amazing! it so sad when you look at it from that point of view.

Author's Response: Ah, thank you. This was a hard piece to write because I really, really hate Umbridge. I'm glad I managed to get you to see on her lines though, that's what I was trying to do with this.

Thank you for all your reviews!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>