Reading Reviews for The Poet's Son
  
68 Reviews Found

Review #1, by malikali Rules of Play

11th August 2009:
aw, i sort of forgot about this story, lol. Have i ever told you you're pretty good with quittitch scenes? the ones in asharas muse were really good, like the one in this chapter :) and i think you've done a great job with Ben, he acts like a typical 13 year old boy, especially after loosing a game.

Author's Response: Yeah, sometimes people write stories with young kids and have them acting like adults... I try really hard to get inside the head of the characters. Thanks!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Rose of the West Brothers Four

20th July 2009:
This is a really cute chapter. It's full of the dumb stuff boys do, but I think Benjamin needs those sorts of things. He was pretty isolated in his previous life.

A question about timing. You list this as Pre-Hogwarts era, but if we go by Snape's age in the canon, the first chapter would be half-way through Harry's years and then Benjamin's story would be about half-way between the Final Battle and the Epilogue?

Author's Response: No, I figured by Snape's age that the year after Benjamin Graduates would be the year Harry showed up. We don't really know how old Lily and James were when they had Harry and I wrote in one of Ron's older brothers to show at what point we are in the HP timeline. Sorry if it is a bit confusing or even off.

 Report Review

Review #3, by hjg hjp rw Rules of Play

17th July 2009:
What Kendra's turning out to be sounds like my brother's girlfriend.

Author's Response: Heh heh, she's supposed to. Happy news in the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Marilyn_Snape The Poet

17th July 2009:
Oo very good! I really loved Poetry and this is just amazing!

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope you like the rest of the story!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #5, by RadiantRavenclaw Rules of Play

16th July 2009:
Have to say i like the other banner better, but I was so happy to see an update that I didn't care at first! As you said, the chapter was short, but with a baby to take care of I don't blame you a bit. I'd like to see some more action besides that of the Quidditch and deuling club (those scenes were very good by the way). One of my favorite parts of the story was when the borthers banned together to take down McGowan. Something like that would be great! (Only a suggestion, of course!) Great job, can't wait to read more soon!

Author's Response: Thanks for the suggestion! When readers suggest things it only helps to give me ideas! I will definitely work on this. There is much more action promised in later years of Benjamin's life for sure. If you have any other suggestions or ideas, feel free to let me know!

-JW


 Report Review

Review #6, by Rose of the West Hogsmead

16th July 2009:
I just discovered this story today. It's enchanting.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm really glad that you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by snapeangel The Apple and the Tree

4th June 2009:
YEAH!! MacGown got sacked!

Author's Response: Lol, he was kind of evil wasn\\\'t he? He just has some serious issues he needs to deal with.

 Report Review

Review #8, by snapeangel Professor MacGowan (Year Two Begins)

4th June 2009:
Prof MacGowan is a prick!!

good story so far..hope Prof MacGowan gets SACKED!!

Author's Response: Thanks, no worries, you\\\'ll be happy about MacGowan soon.

 Report Review

Review #9, by severus_lover Poetry

22nd April 2008:
Hello kimaru-sama from the forums here to review as requested! I just love Snape so any story with him, I'm there ^_^. First of all, let me just say that the first paragraph/line of a story is usually the most powerful one because, it's that line/paragraph, that draw people in. Your first paragraph was spectacular! I loved it.

I've seen no grammatical errors so you get a cookie ^_^. I did however spot a few mistakes but I'm not that picky. I do suggest that you read through and edit though. I like your oc Kaden! She reminds me alot of me =D. She doesn't seem cliche. I like that you haven't described her appearance yet. Her crush of Sevvie is portrayed very well.

Now when I read romance stories, I like to see the romance happen and evolve. Did that make sense? I have trouble when the romance is already described.gah like...when the characters have already come to terms with their feelings. So, with Severus already in love with the oc, it gives the feeling of being rushed and therefore, slightly unbelievable.(to me)

I like this though! The things they write to one another are beautiful! All in all, I think this was an amazing chapter and you managed to capture the reader with dazzling description! Good job 10/10. I'll R&R more chappies when I get the time.*huggs*

kay~

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to review for me. I really do appreciate it.

I agree that the first paragraph is the most important. If a story doesn't draw me in and capture my imagination right away, I find myself having a really hard time continuing on with it, even if it gets better later on.

I sometimes also like to see romances evolve, but in this case the chapter "Poetry" was meant to be a one-shot. I was trying to not make it feel rushed, and I'm sorry that I didn't quite succeed there.

Glad you liked it! I look forward to hearing from you again!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #10, by malikali Dueling Masters

19th February 2008:
love the idea of a dueling club! im not really a big fan of action, but i did really like this chapter.

Author's Response: I like a little bit of action in the stories I read, so I figure stories can get boring for readers if there is none at all.

Thanks for continuing to review!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #11, by slytherensangel26 Dueling Masters

18th February 2008:
wow that was harsh. i can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: Thanks!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #12, by slytherensangel26 Games and Girls

18th February 2008:
well it is sad that a girl has come between them. i hope they patch things up soon!

Author's Response: Sometimes love does get in the way of friendship, especially for people at a certain age. The boys are just starting to reach that age unfortunately.

Thanks for the review,

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #13, by slytherensangel26 Home Again (Year Three Begins)

18th February 2008:
cool! i wonder what is wrong with hunter anyway?

Author's Response: Hm... it's not so much that there's something wrong with Hunter...

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #14, by slytherensangel26 The Apple and the Tree

18th February 2008:
i look forward to it...lol

Author's Response: Thanks,

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #15, by slytherensangel26 Rules of War

18th February 2008:
huh that was wierd. i wonder what that stuff was

Author's Response: The stuff that he drank? Just something that Hunter came up with from a friend.

Thanks for the question.

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #16, by slytherensangel26 Little Benny Snape

18th February 2008:
ouch. that was harsh. wow.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review,

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #17, by slytherensangel26 Professor MacGowan (Year Two Begins)

18th February 2008:
huh a teacher with a wand up is arse. wonder what will happen next

Author's Response: Yeah, while Benjamin is a sweet boy, it's important for the story and for him to grow that there are certain characters that just don't get along with him.

Thanks for reviewing!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #18, by slytherensangel26 Christmas Greetings

18th February 2008:
this was wonderful. i can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #19, by slytherensangel26 Brothers Four

18th February 2008:
i like this,,,it's kind of like the maruaders

Author's Response: Hm... I hadn't thought of it like that. Thanks for the review!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Tea Lilly Loyalty

18th February 2008:
As a reader I wish that you would make each year at Hogwarts a different story, but as a writer I understand that writing about Ben's seven years at school without any repeated idea's would be difficult. I am enjoying this story very much, and I think that the poetry in Poetry is some of the best I have ever seen. Just one little editorial note: There needs to be an apostrophe between the two A's in ma'am.

Author's Response: It is hard to write the seven years with no repeats in ideas, and I have tried my hardest. Overall I wish the seven years and after to show how much Benjamin and Severus both grow and change. To me this is one of the most important parts to this story. For the characters to be rounded they need to learn and grow, and through the things they experience during those years I try to show what they learn.

Thanks for the editorial note. It's appreciated.

Thanks so much for your review!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #21, by slytherensangel26 Loyalty

17th February 2008:
its sweet to know that ben loves his dad. The little guy has so much to learn

Author's Response: Benjamin does have a lot to learn, but so does Severus. I wanted the characters in this story to be well rounded instead of flat... rounded characters have to grow. Thanks for your review!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #22, by slytherensangel26 Bane

17th February 2008:
hmmm i wander what happened?

Author's Response: Hm... I'm not sure what you're referring to here.

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #23, by slytherensangel26 The Sorting (Year one begins)

17th February 2008:
I love it! ravenclaw is best suited to him...anyway. I eagerly await more!

Author's Response: While I wanted to put Benjamin in Slytherin, I found more use to place him in Ravenclaw later in the story.

Thanks for taking the time to review!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #24, by slytherensangel26 The Meaning of a Name

17th February 2008:
it's nice to know that Benjamin has the knack for learning

Author's Response: I wanted to make him like his dad and like his mom. This will be important later in the story. Thanks for your review!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #25, by slytherensangel26 Letters Home

17th February 2008:
strange that you would have them visit diagon alley. but make no mention of the twin's shop. still this is very good

Author's Response: This all happens before Harry Potter or the twins attend Hogwarts, so as of yet there is no shop for them to visit.

Thanks for your review,

-JW.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>