Reading Reviews for The Light in Dark Eyes
  
35 Reviews Found

Review #1, by antigirl The Light in Dark Eyes

8th February 2011:
This was beautifully haunting, and an incredible, high-quality piece. I loved it. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #2, by lucky golden potion The Light in Dark Eyes

10th July 2010:
Snape/Lily is my favorite pairing by far and I think you did a great job with this one-shot. It fills in many untold scenes of their relationship that are both beleiveable and touching. Very well done!

 Report Review

Review #3, by hancampbell The Light in Dark Eyes

26th June 2010:
This was arguably the most beautiful piece I have ever read. I had tears in my eyes throughout the whole story, and I got chills reading the last few sentences. Great job(:

 Report Review

Review #4, by Skizzy The Light in Dark Eyes

20th June 2009:
!BRAVO!

That was awsome!!

Loved it. You have to write another one.

 Report Review

Review #5, by ravenclaw_seaker The Light in Dark Eyes

14th March 2009:
Amazing.

That's all I can say.

 Report Review

Review #6, by essenni The Light in Dark Eyes

12th June 2008:
Wonderfully written story! Good job!

 Report Review

Review #7, by OvergrownEden9 The Light in Dark Eyes

23rd February 2008:
Wow. Awe. Speechless. I have nothing more to say xD

Oh - other than it made me cry. WELL DONE!!


Loved it. 10/10.

 Report Review

Review #8, by jameslily1313 The Light in Dark Eyes

26th November 2007:
OMG! THIS ALMOST MADE ME CRY! its so ah-mazing! i completely luv it! its so good! i was never a lils/sev shipper but thats just sooo good! and- the last line! its sooo good!'And he knew, then, that the only time he would ever see her again would be as a reflection in her son's emerald eyes.' thats soo perfect! 10/10

 Report Review

Review #9, by Strawcherry The Light in Dark Eyes

3rd October 2007:
Yay, I'm so glad I found this, I'm such a sucker for Snape/Lily! I like your take on their love -that it wasn't really unreqruited after all, but that they actually shared something. I used to doubt about that and still, it could very well be canon. I myself have decided to go with the unreqruited variant as I did before DH came out.
I really liked this shot, it fills the voids that still are there after DH very well, even though there are things that I see differently. From beginning to ending, there is great tension between Lily and Snape, everytime they are together. And even though Snape says he doesn't understand bravery, I think it is quite brave of him to stand up in front of Voldemort and admit to him that he loves a Mudblood, just to save her. I also liked that bit where he commands Lily to look at him one last time as he does with Harry just before he dies. That was a nice touch!
There was one bit I was confused about, though... Severus could not have known that Peter was a Death Eater, otherwise Dumbledore would never have thought that Sirius was responsible for the betrayal of the Potters, and he'd have known it was Peter.
Otherwise, this was very well done!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Nessa-Rose The Light in Dark Eyes

24th September 2007:
*Starts drooling over Lily/Snape luv...* Words cannot express how much I love this fic!! Gah! You did a FANTABULOUS job on this!!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by bythequill_moe The Light in Dark Eyes

2nd September 2007:
Superb! Absolutely wonderful! You really captured Snape's emotions, his actions and his love for Lily perfectly. I liked how this is a one-shot because it takes less time to read and because it only goes over significant events; but I wish there was some more description in some areas or more of the Order meeting and so on. I've always been a big Snape fan and I usually hate any fanfics of him because people tend to butcher his character but you didn't and so, I tip my bowler hat to you Jessi.

 Report Review

Review #12, by alliwriting The Light in Dark Eyes

28th August 2007:
Amazing story!!

Author's Response: Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by silver phoenix The Light in Dark Eyes

24th August 2007:
This was. . .brilliant. So well written. I. . .I'm in love. . .

Author's Response: Thank you!!! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!! =D

 Report Review

Review #14, by sammy lupin The Light in Dark Eyes

23rd August 2007:

This story is amazing. it's written so wonderfully and I love the way you wrote Snape.

10/10 of course for a brilliant story.

-Sam

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I appreciate the compliments, Sam!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Violet Gryfindor The Light in Dark Eyes

18th August 2007:
Oh gosh, I'm crying now, Jessi! My heart aches for Snape, for Lily, and for all the characters who got caught up in things that were beyond them. This was so beautifully written - it had my attention from the beginning, and I kept leaning forward into my lunch while reading, but it was all worth it to read your story. You had the characters portrayed perfectly, so much so that I can see this as part of canon, as something that had to happen in the spaces between Snape's memories as seen in DH. I'm so happy that I got to read this, and that you dedicated it to me. ^_^ Wow, thank you so much for this amazingly brilliantly heart-rendering story!

Author's Response: Awww *huggles* I'm sorry that you're crying, but totally flattered that you are too - if that makes sense! Sorry if you stained your clothes while reading... I really didn't intend on that, but I'm happy that it drew your attention the way that it did. This is my first really strictly please of canon fiction, so I'm so excited to hear that you think I portrayed them right... I was really worried about Snape.

Thank you so much for being such an inspiration to me and I really appreciate the review, Violet - thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #16, by emideen The Light in Dark Eyes

17th August 2007:
This is so beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #17, by amy0hp The Light in Dark Eyes

16th August 2007:
O My God!!!This is awsome!
Love the details you put in, I never have the patience to do so.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! Details are important to me - though it's hard not to put in too much - that's usually my problem. =P

 Report Review

Review #18, by dobbys_best_frend The Light in Dark Eyes

15th August 2007:
*sniffle sniffle* beautifully written story, LURVED it!!! Keep on writing! Great Job!!! :)

~*DBF*~

Author's Response: Thank you so much, DBF! I really appreciate the review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by pink The Light in Dark Eyes

14th August 2007:
I really enjoyed this--very well done! You really humanized Severus



Author's Response: Thank you very much!! I really think we learned in DH that Severus was human... he just made mistakes as everyone does... and it's nice to be able to exploit that side of him =D

 Report Review

Review #20, by severus_lover The Light in Dark Eyes

14th August 2007:
wow. wow this was so amazing im shocked lol.i kinda like long-novel length stories but this one shot was so inspiring.did i say wow lol WOW!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm... really glad you're shocked - in a good way!! =D

 Report Review

Review #21, by AndrinaBlack The Light in Dark Eyes

14th August 2007:
No, no, no! I can accept that Snape loved Lily, but on Lily's side it was only friendship! But I have to bow to your superior writing skills and say that you wrote it very convinsingly. I could almost be persuaded to believe in this ship by this fic. I can be persuaded to almost any ship by good writing (almost). Well, apart from the little drawback of a slight romantic connection of Lily/Snape (which actually did not take away anything of the goodness anyway) this was a really awesome story! Your writing style comes through beautifully as always. This is very gripping and emotional! I loved it!!!

A little actual critique or a confusion is about the secret keeper thing. I don't think Snape could have switched sides before the deaths of Lily and James because of Peter. In the fic they actually met and Snape would have known that he was a death eater and if he switched sides, he would have told. Or at least they could not have met or Snape would have turned before Peter appeared. And now I'm getting even more confused... You better explain :P

But, anyway, Lovely story!
Annina

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much Annina! I know that it's hard to grasp that Lily may have loved Snape... but my theory is that James may not have been her first love... It's rare we marry those, you know? I'm glad I wrote it convincingly enough, however. And I appreciate that you see the story for what it is. Thank you so much!!

As for the secret keeper issue... The reason I have Snape switching sides first, before the death of James and Lily is because in canon, he goes to Dumbledore before they die - to tell about Voldemort's plan to kill Lily... later we learn that Lily is dead and Sirius says something like "You told me she was protected" or something similar.

The look that Peter and Snape shared in Voldemort's presence was telling of one thing: Peter's secret was safe only because Severus had to make sacrifices and allowances for both sides of the war if he were to take up the position as spy.

LOL - there's the explanation... in its.. not so great form. LOL! Thanks, Annina, again! I really appreciate the review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Plata The Light in Dark Eyes

14th August 2007:
Well I can't say it's my ultimate favourite but it was good enough to keep my eyes glued to the laptop screen while I was reading :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much!! I'm glad it kept your interest!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Andromedatonks The Light in Dark Eyes

14th August 2007:
Hi, this is andromeda from the forums:)

I loved your story. It flowed amazingly well, and I certainly enjoyed it very, very much. Your style is very descritive, but not overdone; it has the right amount of everything, and your dialogues are great.

I think your portrayal of both Severus and Lily is perfect, as well as the description of their relationship. I loved the way you wrote the love scene: delicate yet sensual, it made my heart beat faster. I also loved how you described those few precious moments when Severus realized he was free and thought that everything was going to be okay now. Oh, and the opening scene is simply amazing!

I have no serious constructive criticism apart from a couple of sentences that caught my eye.

His icy glare shot to Peter, willing him for just a moment to read the fury marked inside of his eyes.
I think the word 'icy' doesn't fit here because Snape is furious, and you later state that his eyes are 'lit up with a blaze of fire'.

Each person was looking back and forth between the greasy boy's eye contact with Lily.
There's something wrong with this sentence, maybe you should try and rephrase it, it just doesn't sound well.

You asked if you should continue it into a chaptered fic - you certainly should if you've got the ideas for it, but it is also beautiful the way it is, as a one-shot.

Author's Response: Hi Andromeda!! Thank you so much for the lengthy review!! I really appreciate it!!

The idea of writing Severus correctly haunted me while constructing this fic. I worry that I can't make him foul enough... and to be put in the situation with Lily - that's even harder. =P But, I'm SO happy that you liked it so much. Thank you!!!

The criticism - you're exactly right! I should definitely reconstruct the sentence with Lily and the strange structure of it. And, the icy/fiery switch was also a good point on your behalf! I'll include those in my editing notes!

Thank you very much! I'm definitely still considering the plot for a WIP, so keep your eyes peeled!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Helix The Light in Dark Eyes

14th August 2007:
I personally hate lily/sev fics. I despise what happened near the end. I will not, however, deny your ability to portray it. This was fantastic; very well written with just enough description to go along with the dialogue (my problem is the opposite). It was very canon-ish and I hope you write more in the future. -J.C.

Author's Response: Thank you, J.C.! Because of your predisposition to loathe Sev/Lily fics, it means a lot to me that you read and reviewed this story -and that you liked it! Thank you so much for the review - it means a lot!!

 Report Review

Review #25, by mum_weasley The Light in Dark Eyes

14th August 2007:
Only you Jessi could make me see Snape as desireable! Awesome write. And hey! If you have any influence over the cute little house elf, tell him to get his butt writing again! I miss his story!! Hugs

Author's Response: LOL! I'm glad Snape was desirable to you - though he IS a toe-rag =P haha!! Thank you so much!! I've been prodding Webby - no worries =D *hugs*

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>