Reading Reviews for Goodbye
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marshal/Scooterbug8515 Goodbye

4th April 2017:
Such a sad piece! It is always sad reading about George talking to Fred after he is gone. I love how you addressed everyone in this story not just family but Harry and Angelina as well. It is sweet that George writes everything down in a letter to deal with his emotions and try to cope with the lost of not just his brother but his twin.

I thought it was funny and cute your mention of the picture Molly has particularly the 'mom logic' two ears? Fred! That made me smile. I think it is good to put in some humor in the middle of a sad story it helps to lighten the mood and aid the reader.

I am also intrigued by the idea that you have Charlie having a thing for Tonks. In some ways that shouldn't surprise me as his siblings wanted him and Tonks to get together and them going to school together, it wouldn't be surprising that they did date in school but still to make it fact so to speak is interesting. It makes you feel for Charlie though, poor bloke.

With the Mariah Carey quote, is that something you are having George write/say or was that just kind of a nice concluding moment for the story. It works nicely and I like using quotes occiasionally in my writing too. Anyway nice job here on this story!

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp Goodbye

4th April 2017:
Here for Slytherin.

Wow, this was so heartbreaking, am not drowning in a pool of tears right now, there's just something in my eye. No, but seriously, this was so, so sad. You portrayed George's grief in a very raw and real manner. The emotions were seeping through the words as the writing was so detailed and the imagery really surreal. I loved the writing style itself, like how George is "talking to" Fred and telling him all these things about how much everyone misses him and what they're doing before coming to himself in the end. The inclusion of everyone from Auntie Muriel to Angelina was brilliant. Little bits of this, despite it being such a sad story, drew little smiles out of me too - very fred and george like moments - for instance when he is talking about all the good times they have had, all the pranks they have played, from turning ginny's hair blue to pranking umbridge and snape. It was very much in character.

That bit about growing old together made me cry the hardest. The only time they got to see each other with white beards was when they crossed the age line and that is so not fair. I wish Fred hadn't died. *wails* But pulling myself together, I must say this was very well thought out and extremely well-written. You knew exactly which moments to juice out and what bits to focus on to tug at the right heartstrings. George's grief, his pain, his pride for his brother towards the end and the lovely note this ended on - bittersweet despite the pain - was nicely done. I really liked reading it and it made me oh so emotional. Beautiful.

10/10
Angie

 Report Review

Review #3, by Echosplash Goodbye

11th July 2013:
This. This is probably the most emotion-packed George loves Fred story I have ever read. It's so sweet and deep and I LOVED IT. Keep up the good work. I hope you write more great pieces like this one. Ten points for Gryffindor~

Author's Response: This one-shot was definitely hard to write, but I felt like it *had* to be done; Fred and George are two of my favourite Potter characters and I was devastated when Fred died. Thanks for reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by WeirdSisters Duo Goodbye

25th January 2010:
It was great! And so sad at the same time. I felt like crying. I thought the exact same thing when I was reading the seventh book--how George would be missing his "other half" without Fred. You're a great writer! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I cried when writing it, I was GUTTED when Fred died in DH so it was a bit emotional to write! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Jacquie Goodbye

12th March 2008:
This was REALLY excellent. You managed to convey what G was probably feeling, how others may handle it, without going over the top or rediculous.

Well done

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Ember Goodbye

19th October 2007:
That made me cry!
(not because it was bad, because it was very touching)

Author's Response: I'm glad you wern't crying due to the awfulness of it ... :D Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by silver phoenix Goodbye

26th September 2007:
I am seriously crying right now. This was so beautiful. I'm almost disgusted that Jo killed Fred. . . I don't know if I can forgive her for it. But, that aside, this was a beautiful, beautiful piece. Congrats on getting Recommended Author, I had it too, back in February. Definitely adding to my favorites, and 10,000 x pi/10

Author's Response: I must say, the one downer in DH was the fact that she killed Fred, Remus and Tonks. :( Thank you ever so much for your review, and I'm really glad that you like it so much :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by hmrpotter Goodbye

17th August 2007:
I absolutely love this story!! I had the same reaction as you, I threw my book down and had to re-read it several times (howling all the while) in order for it to sink in that Fred was gone. I'm saving this one to my favorites!!!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you like the story so much, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Rhistix Goodbye

7th August 2007:
Aaaawat was so sad! I love the twins and was devastated when fred died, that was really well written

Author's Response: I was gutted when JKR killed Fred, too ... I had to re-read it a few times for it to sink in :( Thanks so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by DelilahBlueEyes Goodbye

5th August 2007:
Aw, you made me cry! Damn it! That was incredibly sad, but amazingly written. I'm assuming that that was what you were going for?! Wonderful job...I only wish Fred hadn''t died, =(. A 10 from me!

Author's Response: Ah, yes, that be what I was going for ... sorry to make you cry, though ... even though I achieved what I wanted to achieve ... yeah, you get my meaning :P I wish he hadn't died too ... very sad :( Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by shudgetbacktowork Goodbye

3rd August 2007:
oh my...i love gred and forge so much and this was just so heartfelt. Thank you for writing this.

Author's Response: You're perfectly welcome. I'm glad you love it, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Resplendence Goodbye

3rd August 2007:
I don't really think I have words to express how this story makes me feel. Everything's kind of been said already, I think. This was a bittersweet monologue from George to Fred, and I devoured every last word, even though it made my cry.

Thanks for doing justice to Fred's death, and for putting some closure on a story that I thought JKR kind of left hanging.

10/10.

~Leah

Author's Response: I always loved Fred as a character myself, and found it hard to accept the fact that JKR had killed him. That's why I decided to write this, and it took a few goes, but I'm finally pleased with the outcome. I'm so touched that you feel so strongly about the story, and thank you so much for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #13, by rears Goodbye

2nd August 2007:
Oh that was so sad. Im crying. That was really good.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by xotightwitprongsxo Goodbye

2nd August 2007:
wow. this was an amazing one-shot. the best one i have ever read possibly. words don't describe. 10/10

Author's Response: I'm soooo glad you like the story so much, it's really sppreciated. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Nikki Goodbye

2nd August 2007:
OMG that was so sad, and really well written

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Amber Goodbye

2nd August 2007:
This is the only story I've ever read on here that had me actually crying-not just watery eyes, actual tears rolling down my cheeks. It was just so sad! I don't have an account on her yet, but when I actually do get one, this story is going on my favorites list. It was beautifully written...wonderful job. Oh God, I think I'm gonna start crying again lol 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you ever so much, your praise really means a lot to me. It took me an age to finally get the story right, and I'm really pleased with it. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by keira2007 Goodbye

2nd August 2007:
That has got to be one of the saddest things I've ever read. It brought tears to my eyes. *sniffle*
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you ever so much!

 Report Review

Review #18, by melxx Goodbye

2nd August 2007:
aww its so sad

fred was always my fav character

keep goin!

Author's Response: I love Fred too ... it's so sad that he and George were torn apart, I think.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login