Reading Reviews for Anywhere
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SereneChaos Anywhere

18th July 2013:
I think leaving the lyrics out was probably a very good move--you already have a strong scene without interrupting it with song lyrics! I'm impressed with how alive your characters are--I think it's clear in this story that your strength is in writing dialogue. All of it was natural to read and I can easily imagine real people saying those phrases, even if the speech itself feels outdated.

My favorite part of this fic was actually when Godric interrupted Salazar's thoughts at first. It was so refreshing to hear the founders talk to each other and have Rowena chastise Godric and Helga giggle. That little praragraph spoke volumes about the founders' personalities and I just loved it!

I like the idea of Helga and Salazar going somewhere spontaneously. Salazar and Helga's energy for the trip was so exciting, and I sort of wish you had a follow up chapter or story to show what they did with their day away from Hogwarts!

Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your feedback! It's very much appreciated. I'm so happy that you touched upon the dialogue and how their personalities came out through it. It was important to me that -- even though it's a very short one-shot -- the characters weren't boring or predictable, haha.

You're the best, thanks!


 Report Review

Review #2, by elixirchaos Anywhere

7th November 2011:
I love it :3 Your style is beautiful, you write the founder characters perfectly. And the Helga/Salazar pairing? I'm such a fan. So few people write them together :( I think. Maybe I don't read enough. Anyway, lovely short-story, I enjoyed it. :)

Author's Response: Aww, sorry for the late response, hun! But thank you so very much. I'm really glad that you enjoyed the pairing and writing. It's hard to find this pairing but I love it too. :')

 Report Review

Review #3, by madelgranger Anywhere

3rd August 2009:
interesting. I haven't really read many founders fics, but I like this as a one-shot. Except, didn't Slytherin go off alone? I thought he went off because the other founders disagreed with his pure-blood business. Unless this doesn't have to do with that. Other than that though, I thought it was a really cute, well-written one-shot. good job thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! :) Yeah, this had nothing to do with that. It was just a little fluff, a bit of his history. They eventually returned to Hogwarts. I just thought it would be a cute ending if they ran away together all cheerful.
Thanks a ton for reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by VeraSabe Anywhere

18th March 2009:
I really loved this Helga/Salazar one-shot that your wrote. It was very sweet and romantic.

I really think you captured their characters perfectly. I loved how Salazar was struggling to tell or not to tell Helga his true feelings for her and I loved Helga's level-headed, calm yet sweet attitude towards Salazar in turn.

I will take this ending over J.K.'s any day because I really loved how they left the school together. It's way better (like I mentioned before) than just Salazar leaving by himself the way J.K. stated about him.

Anyway... again, very lovely, sweet, and beautiful one-shot. I hope that you'll keep up the beautiful work, and hope that you'll write more Helga/Salazar fics in the future. =)

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much!
That's so kind of you, really.
Wow.
I'm glad you liked my portrayal of the characters. I wasn't quite 100% sure about them, so the feedback is appreciated.

Again, thank you. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #5, by Magic_Marker Anywhere

2nd February 2009:
This was wonderful. Short but sweet, and very in-character. We all know Slytherins will do anything to get what (or who) they want, and Salazar is in keeping with that. So romantic!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you. :)
I appreciate that feedback.
I'm glad you liked it, and thank you very much for taking some time to leave some love.

xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by Ellie Anywhere

23rd October 2008:
What a sweet little story! And I love the quote from the song, it fits perfectly.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much. :D
I'm glad you think so. :)
Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by momotwins Anywhere

1st June 2008:
Aw. It's nice to see a Founders fic where Salazar isn't evil. And old. Hehe. Good job, it had a very period feel to it, and it was some good Helgazar fluff :) Love it.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. :)
I know, I don't think Salazar was evil, he just had the wrong ideas... lol. They were all friends once, after all. :)
Mmhmm, I love me some fluff! I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading, really! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by essenni Anywhere

19th January 2008:
Nice! I liked the descriptions and emotions. I think you did a great work by describing their feelings.

Author's Response: Well thank you. :)
I really appreciate that.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Graywand Anywhere

13th December 2007:
One huge problem. THey didn't talk like this in the Dark Ages. You might want to rewrite this taking into account how they did talk.

Author's Response: Thanks for the suggestion, but I'm not going to be re-writing it. I don't consider it to be one huge problem. I'm sure people did talk differently 600 years before Shakespeare, but for readability and comprehension purposes, I wrote it this way. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Alexa_The_First Anywhere

5th December 2007:
For my first founders era story I've read it sure did make me want to read more.
I love the pairing, it made me happy (cheesey but shhh).
xx

Author's Response: Wow, I feel special now. My story was the first of someone's! :D
Lol, but thank you. I enjoyed writing it, and I'm glad it made you want to read more of the Founders' era.

xo


 Report Review

Review #11, by inkismyworld Anywhere

25th November 2007:
squeee Helga/Salazar l loved it! :3 The descriptions of Salazar's feelings were intense, but not in a annoying, over done way. Also I loved the line : "And with that energy and inspiration, they ran without looking back."

Awesome.

Author's Response: Aww. Why thank you very much! :)
I was always kind of skeptical about that line, so thank you for pointing out that you liked it. LOL. It makes me feel better about it.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by mraudbdyy Anywhere

22nd October 2007:
This was just amazing. You really got the speech for the time down so well. I loved the Helga/Salazar interaction - very, very sweet, but not too fluffy either. Descriptions were captivating and the whole thing flowed very smoothly.

It was romantic, but I also loved the way you incorporated a subtle bit of humor in there with Rowena and Godric. But then again, Godric’s daring perception oft landed him in dragon dung. *gigglesnort* That made me laugh. :D

Great work. I love Founders and this was a great little read. 10/10.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! *laughs* Yeah, that line sort of just popped into my head.

I'm really, really glad you liked it. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by star11rox Anywhere

13th October 2007:
Great job! I like how you wrote it in old English, sort of. Oh, before I forget, I'm star11rox, you requested my review on the forums. Anyway, great job!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! I forgot about that.
:)


 Report Review

Review #14, by lyramoon Anywhere

18th September 2007:
Well, I usually think of one-shots as more meaningful, angsty pieces of work. I can tell that you attempted to put imagery in your work. However, it's way too literal. Use more personification, metaphors. It would really make the story so much more interesting to read.

Also, try and develop Salazar's feelings more. It seems like he just blurts out his feelings for Helga at the first paragraph, and it never seems to go anywhere. You could start out with a blurt about how desirable Helga is to him, and then work on the nerves of Salazar more. Slowly make it meaningful.

On the other hand, I loved the ending quote. However, the paragraph before it, try to elaborate with more description.

In the end, I thought that this chapter was just written on impulse, without rereading or getting a beta to read it for you. Impulse chapters can be cool, but they are typically suited more for novels/novellas.

Maybe you should continue with the story. It seems like a good start. Although I would definitely leave this chapter for one of the later ones :)

Good job, and I hope that helped a little. Rated 7/10

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Rupertluver2012 Anywhere

16th September 2007:
Loved it!
Wow, it was amazing.
(:

you captured the speech and grammar and everything of that time perfectly!

yes indeedy.
XD


one hundred outtaa ten.

*chow*

newly added fav.

Author's Response: Aww, wow. Thank you so much! I'm really pleased that you liked it. :)

*hugs*


 Report Review

Review #16, by trappedillusions Anywhere

29th August 2007:
Oh that was wonderful. I'm not sure if I liked the pairings but it didn't matter so much because it was wonderfully written. Great Job.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you liked it. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #17, by notreallyblonde44 Anywhere

15th August 2007:
Damn Ann...this was an amazing piece of fanfiction. I really, really enjoyed it. Your language and vision were spot on, and I have to say I'm a big closet fan of this pairing (also thanks to your friend Amber).
Just brilliant job dearest. Why didn't you post this on the Quizilla? I'm sure butt loads of people would enjoy it there as well. Or maybe link it up, your fans won't be displeased.
Again, wonderful job dearie =)

-Lisa.

Author's Response: Wow, you really think so? :O
Thanks so much, Lisa! :)
I didn't think anyone there would really read it... The pairing isn't very popular. But I do like it. :)

Thanks a lot for the feedback and such. Perhaps I will post it there soon. ^_^

Lurb you, Lisa! :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by write_out_loud Anywhere

11th August 2007:
Awww! That was so cute!

I loved the diolouge, it sounded believable for that time period. I also liked your characterizations. I read a Founder's story that made Helga look really stupid and dim witted and it was not fun to read. You however, have made Helga a really likeable character. You did a brilliant job with Salazar too.

I would suggest to add a bit more description to Godric, Ravenclaw, and Salazar. You focused mostly on Helga, which is fine, but if you detailed the other characters better, the story would be that much more enjoyable.

That's really the only thing I can think of. This was very well written and a charming little story. You did a good job with it :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the feedback!

Uck, Helga -- I don't think -- is stupid. I picture her the way I pictured her in this one-shot... She's romantic, sweet and caring, and wears her heart on her sleeve. Thanks for the kudos on the characterization. I really appreciate it. :)
The main reason I didn't focus much on the other characters was because it wasn't really about them. :P I just thought it would be more of a natural setting with all four of them in the story somewhere, whether their parts were small or large. The POV of the story is Salazar's and 3rd Person, so I didn't describe his appearance for that reason... There wasn't really anywhere that I could put it and make the story flow well, you know?

Anyway, I'll keep all of that in mind. Thanks a ton. Your review means a lot. :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by greylady_Ravenclaw Anywhere

11th August 2007:
Good Story. I never suspected Salzar could be so kind. This is one of my favorite stories. The only thing I can think of is if this is supposed to be a song-fic, shouldn't there be more lyrics?

Author's Response: Thank you. :)
Well, it was only based on the song. Notice I didn't classify it as a song-fic. :)

Thanks very much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Elysium Anywhere

10th August 2007:
This was an absolute delight to read. As you said - very short, however, some of the best fics tend to be. I enjoyed your interpretation - particularly in the case of Slytherin. All in all - charming.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much. I'm glad you enjoyed.

 Report Review

Review #21, by edenvirg Anywhere

3rd August 2007:
I liked this indeed! I thought that their dialogue fit perfectly with the times (they sounded sort of Shakespearean to me, haha) and I adored Slytherin's reserve and Godric's... I don't know... Carelessness maybe? And then there's Rowena, who seemed so haughty (perfect for her as well) and Helga, who, well... Wore her heart on her sleeve. :) This was excellent. :)

Author's Response: Thank you SO much. I'm really glad you thought so. I tried to make everyone stand out in their own little way... It came so naturally to write, and I'm happy with how it turned out.

Thanks for reviewing! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #22, by LostMaeblleshire Anywhere

2nd August 2007:
YAYAYAYAY! I LURVE IT! IT IS LURVELY! I think you've pretty much got the Founders down, in speech, mannerisms, etc. Especially Rowena, I think. Her first line is very in-character! And Godric's reaction to it was great! Poor Godric. Hee hee. I'm sooo sooo glad that you decided to do Helga/Salazar, Ann, and I love how you incorporated Anywhere into it, because that's such a beautiful song. *sigh* Such a lovely little story! I love the idea of Helga and Salazar running away together, for at least a little while. Anyway, great, wonderful work, I loved it! ♥

Author's Response: XD

Thank you so much, Amber!!!

I'm really glad you like it. I don't think I've ever written anything like this before, so it means a lot -- especially from you. *hugs*


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login