Reading Reviews for Shades of Black
  
42 Reviews Found

Review #1, by acatnamedmouse Part VI: Wake Up

31st March 2010:
this is a great story, you arent done are you? please dont be, ill be devastated :(

 Report Review

Review #2, by breezieair Part IV: Recognition

28th July 2009:
i figured that it was regulus when he tied sirius up! o good story!!! there aren't too many fight stories of during the first War!

 Report Review

Review #3, by myprincessdarkside Part II: Nightmares

3rd October 2008:
*cries again* even more beautiful. lol. It was so touching to see that love and beauty and I hardly know what to say, except you did such an amazing job of showing love here that I thought I could reach out and pick it up. =)

 Report Review

Review #4, by myprincessdarkside Part I: Didn't Do It

3rd October 2008:
Aw, this was stunningly beautiful. It made me want to cry, but the touch with their expressions was wonderful. It gave the story a knowledgable air, an expression of knowing all the children very well, and it was quite simply stunning. =)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Stella Nightingale Part III: Success?

28th May 2008:
I really enjoyed this chapter, its nice to see that Peter wasn't always considered a 'rat' - oh poor poor Sirius!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review, Stella. Yeah, I have a particular view of Peter, and there's just no probable way, in my opinion, that he could've been as cowardly/traitorous as a kid as he was as an adult.

And yes, poor, poor Sirius. Why I feel the need to torture him so, I do not know. (Maybe it's because JKR did it first.)

That, and I adore the angst factor with his character ;)

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #6, by Stella Nightingale Part II: Nightmares

28th May 2008:
again, a perfect image of the characters! lovely!

Author's Response: Thank you.

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #7, by Stella Nightingale Part I: Didn't Do It

28th May 2008:
This was way amazing, everything is described perfectly. I loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks, Stella Nightingale. Glad to hear that.

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #8, by Tor Petty Part V: He Laughed

24th March 2008:
I do like the other... more. This one, though, was really neat! I enjoy the ending more than I did the other one, because it included the laughing. The last line was really powerful.

Author's Response: I have to agree, that I, overall, do like the first one, but I just couldn't ignore this piece and leave sitting on my computer - mainly because of the ending and that last line.

I'm thrilled to hear that you liked that last line, too. Like I said, my love of that line was perhaps the sole reason why this part was even posted!

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #9, by Tor Petty Part IV: Recognition

24th March 2008:
Um. Whoa.

This whole thing was intense, and the twist at the end nearly made me wet myself!

Author's Response: HaHa! I'm thrilled to hear you liked this one because it's perhaps my favourite out of all the ones I have planned for this collection.

You liked the twist, you say? Did you check out this part's sequel that's posted - my chaptered, WIP fic, "Thoughts in the Abyss"? It takes place *right* where this leaves off, and it'll contain a lot of the answers that this piece brought up.

All right, I'll stop the self-advertising! Thanks again for the review!

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #10, by Tor Petty Part III: Success?

24th March 2008:
Wow! That was really awesome!

I'm totally and utterly impressed with this one; this particular event must have been near intimidating to write!

Author's Response: Once again, thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you're enjoying this fic.

And which part of "Success?" are you referring to as 'intimidating'? The Animagus part or the Sirius vs. Peter street-confrontation-that-ended-as-a-fiasco?

If it's the latter, then yes, it wasn't the easiest. I hated writing that event; I just love Sirius too much!

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #11, by Tor Petty Part II: Nightmares

24th March 2008:
I like the characterization of Orion. I would think that he would be nicer with the consideration that his wife was the opposite. Other fanfics that portray Orion this way have really worked out well, and this one does it splendidly.

As for Sirius becoming great...

Oh, if Orion only knew. :-P

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much. I'm glad you liked my portrayal of Orion, as I've always seen him that way. Just the idea of him being more of an opposite from his wife is interesting.

Yes, I agree. As for Sirius becoming great, Orion had no idea!

Thanks for the review!

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #12, by Tor Petty Part I: Didn't Do It

24th March 2008:
Absolutely marvelous!

Excuse the short review, I'm positively eager to read the rest.

Author's Response: That's perfectly fine, Tor Petty. I'm glad you're eager.

Thanks for reviewing!

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #13, by durotar Part V: He Laughed

17th March 2008:
Oh, that last line just about killed me!

It's strange -- no matter how many times I read this scene in fics (and I must say, you do write it beautifully!), it upsets me every time.

This was a beautiful section, and I really am looking forward to more. You're such a wonderful writer and I really do admire your way with words.

xxx

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so very, very much, durotar! I'm so glad to hear that you liked this part, and like I mention in the reply to Tor Petty's review of this part, that last line was my favourite - and this part's sole reason for being posted. I just couldn't let that line end up stuck only on my computer!

This scene, no matter how many times I write it OR read it, upsets me. Writing the Halloween night is one thing, but this is the scene and confrontation that really does it for Sirius.

Oh, your comments are starting to make me blush! Thank you so much, once again!

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #14, by chibs3000 Part IV: Recognition

15th March 2008:
My God, your writing is amazing! I read chapter after chapter totally engrossed in each part...wow. I'm speechless. You can almost seem to feel the emotion in each chapter, the characters ares so real...
I'm going to stop rambling now.
Amazing job once again.
:]

Author's Response: Oh no, there's never a need to stop rambling. I ramble all the time - as evidenced by the majority of my reviews and/or review replies!

No, thank you a lot, chibs3000, for reading and reviewing this story. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed it, and that you thought the characters were written well. That means a lot to me to hear, as it's something that I greatly strive for.

Once again, thank you!

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #15, by durotar Part IV: Recognition

6th October 2007:
Oh gosh, I love it. Regulus is one of my favourite characters in the Harry Potter universe, so I'm extremely pleased to see his return. However, I also think you've demonstrated a cliff hanger perfectly - I really want to know what happens next.

Beautiful!

Author's Response: Thanks, durotar, I'm glad you enjoyed this part. Yeah, writing Regulus in there was fun, and the prologue for the sequel to this part should be up soon. I just have to actually write it and come up with a permanent title.

But thanks again for the review.

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #16, by haileyw Part III: Success?

5th October 2007:
wow.

Author's Response: Thanks.

One word review = one word response ;)

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #17, by haileyw Part II: Nightmares

5th October 2007:
again, very good.

Author's Response: Thank you, hailey.

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #18, by haileyw Part I: Didn't Do It

5th October 2007:
very good. your writing is very easy to read. it flowed beautifully.

Author's Response: Thanks, haileyw. Glad you liked it.

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #19, by magical_mind Part II: Nightmares

30th August 2007:
Awww ... poor little Sirius. This was sweet. Nice to think he might have been offered some comfort in an otherwise uncomfortable childhood.

Author's Response: I'm having a fascination with little Sirius lately, that's for sure, what with my Sorting fic and then the first parts of Shades of Black. I'm glad you liked the part, magical_mind, and thanks so much for the review. I really enjoy them.

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #20, by magical_mind Part I: Didn't Do It

30th August 2007:
Nice! The foreshadowing definitely worked.

Author's Response: Thanks, magical_mind. I'm glad you enjoyed it (and thought the element of foreshadowing worked).

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #21, by voldemort Part I: Didn't Do It

29th August 2007:
good language ... try to include some magic in every bit.

Author's Response: Thanks, voldemort ... But I can't promise there'll be magic in *every* part. Most, but not a great amount in all.

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #22, by Siriusly Cool Part III: Success?

29th August 2007:
Success. Definitely success.

Author's Response: Thanks, Siriusly Cool. Glad you liked it.

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #23, by RadiantRavenclaw Part I: Didn't Do It

28th August 2007:
This is a great idea for a story! I have not read many stories like this one, which makes it very unique. I loved the first chapter! You portrayed the vase incident very well, and I loved the connection between the "I didn't do it's". I'll read the next chapter soon, and please keep the parts coming!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much for the great review, RadiantRavenclaw. I'm very glad to hear that you're enjoying the story.

It's unique, you say? Well, I'm thrilled to hear that, too. I just had so many drabbles starring Sirius sitting on my computer that weren't going anywhere, so I figured, "Hey, let's just put them in a collection." Glad to hear you think it works.

Thank you once again.

~Megan


 Report Review

Review #24, by durotar Part III: Success?

28th August 2007:
Absolutely brilliant, as usual.

I'm finding myself falling in love with Sirius's character even more with this fic, and though Peter was endearing with young, it aches to think of how it all ended, and why. A lot of fics make Sirius and James ignore Peter, or kick him out of the story entirely, or just make him an evil, whiny person. You've really given him depth here, especially when he was younger.

Anyway, I loved it. :)

Author's Response: Oh, you're making me blush, durotar. "Brilliant", really?

Thanks much for the review, and I'm very glad that you're enjoying it. I have a great deal of enjoyment writing Sirius (and he is also glad to hear you're liking his story), so I'm happy that this story is working well.

As for Peter, as much as I hate him for what he does in the end, it's a pet peeve of mine when he's just completely ignored or treated so poorly in fics. Such doesn't make sense, really, with James's and Sirius's personalities, in my opinion. I mean, if Peter was as horrible as many fan fic writers make him out to be, WHY would Sirius have even thought of him as a Secret Keeper idea? It just makes absolutely NO sense, and besides, with the characters of James and Sirius that we know while they were in school, there would have been no way that they'd put up with Peter if he was as bad as people say. ...

Oh, so sorry, I went off on a rant there. *Apologises profusely to durotar* I am very glad to receive your review, my friend, and I thank you very much.

~Megan, who's shutting up now.


 Report Review

Review #25, by MilyMB Part II: Nightmares

26th August 2007:
This is great, please tell me your going to continue?
MilyMB

Author's Response: Thanks, MilyMB. I'm glad you're enjoying it. And yes, the story is definitely going to be continued. I have a total of nine parts written as of right now, but I'm working on lengthening the parts before posting it.

Part III should be posted within a day or two.

~Megan


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>