Reading Reviews for The Grindelwar
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by richard_snape The Foreseeable Future

9th June 2010:
oooh i really like this story. it is very well written and does a good job getting into its characters minds. id like to see it finished. (: 10/10

 Report Review

Review #2, by Preseas88 The Foreseeable Future

2nd July 2009:
Hey, this is actually really great. I am very entertained! And yes, your writing does remind of JK, so kudos to you.

When I went through the first chapter, I was saddened to find the chapter to be so short; it went by so quickly (which isn't necessarily a bad thing). Usually, when I'm reading fan fiction though, I always get discouraged when its too lengthy, unless of course it is a good read. And yours was actually a great read, I think this was the first time I wanted it to be lengthy. But, as they say, less is more.

I actually came upon your story because I'm writing an Albus Dumbledore story as well, and I like to look at other people's Albus fan fiction just to make sure mine doesn't seem similar to theirs (thank God, so far it doesn't; I hate plagiarism), and I was really intrigued on how you would write Albus. And honestly, I'm writing Albus from when he was little to his fight with Grindelwald, and I feel like our Albus characterizations parallel very nicely. That makes me excited because I haven't found an Albus which parallels with mine beforehand, save for the original written by JK. So yeah, I wanna know what you think. So far, I'm only on Fan fiction (. net), and I'm waiting to be approved by HPFF. But anyway, I would like to know what you think. Author name: Preseas88, only HP fan fiction up so far.

Great job, can't wait to see where you take the characters. Kudos on your Grindelwald btw, like him a lot. Have fun, get crazy. Look forward to hearing from you!

-Preseas88

ps. Minor correction in first Chapter, forgot the "who"
"His Master sat behind a dark oak desk, which seemed to reflect the powerful nature of the man WHO sat behind it"

 Report Review

Review #3, by vkewalra The Foreseeable Future

11th October 2007:
Yet another great chapter. I appreciate your writing style and the minimal amount of errors.

I believe this chapter is taking place in 1936, which would make Riddle about 9 (going by hp-lexicon's bday of 12/31/27). I do believe Dumbledore was the first wizard Riddle remembers meeting.

Another thing is that I believe Grindelwald carved the deathly hallows symbol at Durmstrang before he left school, so he knew about it then as well as the statement that he came to Godric's because of the symbol on Ignotus' grave, so you might want to include some other way he knew of the hallows outside of the 3 Brother's Tale, if Albus was the one that introduced him to the tales.

Sorry for the criticisum, but I know you want it to fit within Rowling's stories. Again good work, I hope you keep writing, I've subscribed to the feed.

Author's Response: thanks alot. great spots. the first point about riddle meeting dumbledore as the first wizard already has a solution (its a bit predictable) but hadn't thought of the hallows symbol. I'll get thinking. Still amazed you remembered that though!

 Report Review

Review #4, by vkewalra The Makers of the Stone

11th October 2007:
Very good so far, but I feel I'm going to find myself disappointed soon as it seems the chapter posting rate has slowed a bit. Oh well, hopefully you'll keep writing it.

An inconsistency I found:
Dumbledore's hair was auburn when he went to pick Riddle from the orphanage, despite being in his mid-fifties. If this is set in the 40's then it is only a few years after Riddle began school. It would appear though that when Riddle came back to apply for the DADA position again (HP6) Dumbledore's hair was as it was in Harry's time.

That said the harry potter lexicon (hp-lexicon.org) is worth taking a look at for character timelines.

Good work so far, I hope the shortage of reviews so far doesn't dissuade you from continuing to write.

Author's Response: ive been using wikipedia for the timelines but had not noticed the hair inconsitency. The shortage of reviews had actually made me almost give it up, but I think I might just get back to it. thanks!

 Report Review

Review #5, by vkewalra The Beginnings of Change

11th October 2007:
I love the idea. I never thought much of Grindelwald until the duel between Dumbledore and Voldemort and then later in DH when Griendwald became such a large part of the story. Keep writing and I'll keep reading.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Deathstick87 The Foreseeable Future

16th September 2007:
Good stuff, keep updating, I like the pace of the story...

 Report Review

Review #7, by onestop_hpfan18 The Makers of the Stone

23rd August 2007:
great story so far. please update soon. 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the praise! I'm writing chapter 3 just now. It's back with Grindelwald and Drachovic. Hopefully it will be uploaded today or tomorrow. Thanks again, Morepodmore

 Report Review

Review #8, by Gebo The Beginnings of Change

15th August 2007:
Interesting. Continue and keep up.

Author's Response: thanks. I was beginning to wonder if this would be worth the effort. It's hard writing in someone else's style (I'm trying to make it read like the work of J.K. Rowling). I have the whole plot planned out..just the small matter of turning it into a readable story!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login