Reading Reviews for Home Again
  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SereneChaos Home Again

17th July 2013:
This may have been short, but it was so satisfyingly bittersweet! I love the little details in this story, such as that Molly uses her wand to tuck the boys in--I feel like that sort of magical touch gets a little lost in a lot of fics, and it's nice to see it here.

The scene where she enters the twins' room is especially sad, once more I think because of the little specific details. It's so funny to imagine the twins trying to run off with the circus! And it never would have occurred to me that George would have to make twice as many jokes to make up for Fred until I read this!

Great work!

Author's Response: Aw thank you! This is the first piece of HPFF I wrote. I was having a lot of Fred's-death feels at the time, you can probably tell. I project onto Molly a lot, the whole fellow-mom-of-twins thing, so the idea of the twins being split up is really upsetting.

Poor George, it would be so tough to be alone after having spent his entire existence as part of a unit. Twins really are a unit unto themselves amongst siblings. My boys are always in each other's pockets, as they say.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Albert Boysen Home Again

21st February 2013:
Beautiful. Just like Rowling.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jchrissy Home Again

4th October 2012:
You... you. How many words was this? 800?? You made my crazy in, what I'm sure, is under a thousand words. Not watery eyes cry. Real, fat tears that hurt my heart.

Fred didn't deserve to die. George didn't deserve to lose a twin. Molly and Arthur didn't deserve to lose a child. Fred shouldn't have died. It's just so ridiculous and painful, that I feel like I want to pretend it never happened.

They way you threaded strength with an insanely consuming pain into Molly was so well done. She's surviving, and being a mother. But she's still broken. She's got such a long road and she's thankful for the lives of her other children, that's clear as she checks on them sleeping. But the health of those ones still don't fill any kind of the void. Because Fred, one of her precious babies that she watched grow up, the other half to George.. is gone.

Bah ;( ;(.

Your writing is absolutely beautiful.

Author's Response: Wow thank you so much! It always sounds weird to say "I'm glad I made you cry" but since that is pretty much the point of angsty stories, I suppose it's true?

I wish Fred had lived, I really do. I hate the thought of George alone. Especially when I look at my twins and see how close they are. Being a twin is very different from being simply siblings. *sigh* Poor George. Poor Fred. And poor Molly. It just sucks.

Thank you so much for reading, and for the lovely review. I appreciate the compliments very much :) And sorry that you cried. Although I do take that as a compliment too. That still sounds slightly crazy. But hey. :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Debra20 Home Again

15th July 2011:
This was quite an emotional piece. I can see why Fred's death affected you so much, having twins of your own. It was very sweet to see Molly making her usual round on her children, given the many times we see her do that in the books.

The part I loved best was when Molly thought about their family clock, and how Fred and George shared the same hand. Thinking, imaging that it only showed George now, was heart wrenching.

Author's Response: Fred and George are sooo inseparable in the books. I think of their clock hand as two hands fused, really, but they're basically sharing the same one. Twins are quite different from regular siblings, especially identical ones. I just hate the thought of George going the rest of his life alone. *sigh*

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by lilylollies Home Again

15th September 2010:
oh wow that was so insane! such a good one shot!! i got tears in my eyes. good on you, beautiful job :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by GinnyCullen Home Again

16th June 2010:
Wow that was like seeing the other side of the Pitch story. your fantastic as always!

This is a real tearjerker

Author's Response: Thanks! This was the first HP fanfic I ever wrote, immediately after reading Deathly Hallows. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by sofimac16 Home Again

1st June 2010:
Of all the people to kill off she had to kill off Fred... I couldn't believe it when that happened!

I feel very sorry for George. After having a bond so special as that with his twin and then having it pretty much just ripped away... I also feel sorry for Molly.

Great story, I think it really captured the emotions that happened after the whole thing.

Author's Response: I was really upset, too. I hated seeing the twins split up like that :( I wrote this story directly after finishing reading "Deathly Hallows" - first fanfic I wrote for Harry Potter. I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by 1917farmgirl Home Again

7th October 2009:
Oh, darn you! I thought, finally, finally, all my tears from the end of DH were dried up. (It's been two years, you'd think I'd be over it now.) And yet, thanks to your beautiful and heartwrenching fic, there I go again, crying harder than ever. It was beautiful - it was lovely - and I hope you won't be offended if I tell you I probably won't be able to read it again for a bit, because it was too painful.

Thanks for sharing such a tender moment.

Author's Response: Aw! I'm still upset about the end of DH. I think I'll always be upset, since she killed one of the twins. I have twin boys, so I don't like to think about that. Sigh. Poor Fred. Thank you very much for the review, and I am not at all upset if you have to have a break before re-reading. I'm just glad you want to re-read!

 Report Review

Review #9, by marauderqueen Home Again

28th August 2009:
Aw this is great. So sad. I loved the bit about Fred and George sleeping in the sam bed and running off to the circus.
This is so good
marauderqueen
10

Author's Response: Thank you :) I'm pretty fond of this one, it was the first fanfic I wrote.

 Report Review

Review #10, by NotSoSirius Home Again

14th July 2009:
:( her poor babies. I hate the fact that Fred died.

Author's Response: I do too :( Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by TheDirigiblePlum Home Again

19th June 2009:
I think this gets Molly so well, like her - maybe - over-protective nature of her children and Harry, and how she checks on them at night.

Fred's death was just... terrible. I was so SHOCKED when I read it! But because I don't have children yet I can't fully empathize with Molly, but that's one thing I love about the Harry Potter books! As you grow older you find more things that you can relate to, besides enjoying the amazing plot and characters.

Anyway, I could go on for ever about why I love Harry Potter, so I'll say that this story is written so simply but with perfect characterization (even though most the characters are asleep :D) and with such a sweet home/ family feel to it. :)

For such a small story I've written a very long review! I hope you don't mind :D I do tend to go on.

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really appreciate you reviewing this :) And saying such nice things about it. I agree about the books, they have new dimension as you add life experience. I read them first while pregnant with me kids, and I wonder what it would have been like to be raised on them. Fortunately my kids give me that opportunity ;) They love the movies, and in a few years they'll be ready for the books.

I never mind long reviews ;) Thank you for leaving it!


 Report Review

Review #12, by AzkabansMostWanted Home Again

2nd May 2009:
Sad. ]= I wish all the Weasley's had made it through. Poor George . Good story tho! ♥AMW

Author's Response: I do too. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Ronstruefan Home Again

19th February 2009:
wow. so sad, and meaningful!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #14, by hsw Home Again

9th December 2008:
Hmm. I think you've gotten better as you've gone along and become a more experienced writer (surprise, surprise). The overall story I liked well enough, though it was quite short, and there were a couple particular things I liked also. Mostly Molly's spells for tucking-in and her memories and so forth. This one really didn't hit at the emotions as much as some of your other stories do though, nor was it very amusing. I found the first paragraph especially stiff, almost too explanatory. When you wrote this, I don't think you had quite figured out how to draw people in as well as you know how to now. I think this is a clever idea though, quite sweet. It is also interesting to see how your writing has progressed! I don't think I have ever really been able to observe that with anyone before!

Author's Response: Yeah I'm not terribly impressed when I re-read this lol. It was the very very first HP fanfic I wrote, and what got me to look for this site. It was in my head just after reading DH and I sort of scribbled it down one day and posted it without editing. I thought about taking it down, but I think I'll just re-write it at some point. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Messr_Professor_Prongs Home Again

16th November 2008:
Oh wow! Oh wow! Oh wow! This fic has made me so emotional. It was lovely it really was. Rip Fred!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Georgia Weasley Home Again

2nd November 2008:
I love the way you write Molly. So many have her grief played out in weakness, confined to her bed and unable to get up to care about her remaining children. I think you have such a wonderful understanding of her character. Molly Weasley is strength personified. The loss of her child is terrible, and she grieves as any mother would. But, her grief doesn't ruin her or overpower her spirit. She knows her other children need her, and she is determined to take care of them still. She will find a way to continue on, and lead her family with her. She is the main reason that they could all say that "all was well" in the epilogue. Harry had saved them, but she showed them how to continue on in this new life. Well done, hon. Simply beatiful.

Author's Response: I don't see Molly as the type to wallow in misery in her bed. She's way too bold for that. I don't even see her being angry, at least not for long. I totally agree that she is the backbone of the Weasley family. Thanks so much for the wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Girldetective85 Home Again

23rd October 2008:
This was such a wonderful snapshot of a night in Molly Weasley's life :) I love her, she's an absolutely wonderful mother and such a strong woman to boot. You've captured her overwhelming love for her children beautifully here and I could clearly picture her walking from room to room, covering a child here, adjusting an arm there, kissing a forehead. I got teary when she stopped at George's room; as painful as it was for her to lose a child, it must have been even more painful for George to lose his other half. "He was trying hard to be cheerful, as if he had to make twice as many jokes to make up for Fredís absence, but his face was drawn and pale, and she knew his pain was too deep for any words to touch." This sentence was so beautiful and heart-breaking, but I love the tone of this story because it's Molly gathering her strength and being thankful for everything she has left, despite how much she has lost, and she's ready to move on to the future. Gorgeous writing. 10/10 for sure.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I have a little George drabble I wrote that fits in with this time period, I should post it somewhere. This was the first HP fanfic I wrote: I was so sad after reading DH, and I've always identified strongly with Molly, and this just sort of came out. I can't imagine losing one of my boys. :(

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by FreddieKat Home Again

9th April 2008:
aww
poor Molly
*sniff*
why did Fred hae to die!?
what was JKR thinking?!

10/10!
-Kat

Author's Response: I know! :(

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Steven Carnell Home Again

7th March 2008:
Pain. I can feel it.

Author's Response: Thanks.

 Report Review

Review #20, by quidditch77 Home Again

7th February 2008:
Wow...very powerful story. It held so much meaning in not so many words. I was definitely hit hardest when I read of Fred's death in the book above all the other deaths. So depressing, and I loved Mrs. Weasley's thoughts on the matter...poor George. Him and Fred deserved to live, but I guess thats what happens in war.
Very well written one-shot full of emotion. Great job.
-quidditch77
p.s. I liked your profile info- because I do hate draco/hermione hehe.

Author's Response: lol I can't stand dramione. Hey thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by andharrywokeup Home Again

5th January 2008:
A very sweet and poinant piece. :) God job!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Fred_is_Cuter Home Again

3rd December 2007:
aww that s so sad! but it really does capture the feelings of Molly

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #23, by NevillesSoulmate Home Again

18th November 2007:
You have me crying here! I loved this little one-shot. You write so brilliantly from Molly's point-of-view. I think you really captured how it is to be a mother.

Author's Response: Thank you! Molly's my favorite character, I empathize with her a lot.

 Report Review

Review #24, by weluvjamesandcharlie Home Again

11th November 2007:
That was good. Sad but still good. It is so sad that Fred died, that so was not cool

Author's Response: I agree, I wish Fred had lived. I thought it would be Charlie or Percy. Not that I wanted any of the Weasleys to die. But at least it wasn't Arthur, he was slated to die in Book 5 but got a reprieve. Whew! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Isha_Rose Home Again

12th August 2007:
Ouch, I actually got choked up there. It's funny, I've read a whole host of different 'life-after-fred' style fics in the last few days, but every single time I find a new one, I get completely misty-eyed while I'm reading. I think it's just because Fred was such a lovely character, and everyone is saddened by his death.

Really touching fic. You write wonderfully.
Take care x

Author's Response: Thanks! I get misty-eyed sometimes too, I can't stand the thought of George alone.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>