Reading Reviews for Hopes and Fears
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MegElemental Laugh Like You Really Mean It

12th January 2009:
I love that song so much, and I listened to it on the way to school this morning! The story's really good.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lily P Never Let Me Go

4th November 2008:
this story makes me smile...as in hugenormous smile.

I love how there are song lyrics in each chapter, and how cute Meg and Seamus are!!



 Report Review

Review #3, by musicgirlhp14 Never Let Me Go

7th August 2007:
Haha. That ending was so fluffy, but it was great. Good chapter. I really have nothing to say. *hits head in hopes of something* Nope, nothing. Good chapter, again, no mistakes at all!
~Alex

Author's Response:
Like I said, I love my fluff and this is the story I take it out on. =P I'm so glad you liked it. =D

-Carrie


 Report Review

Review #4, by musicgirlhp14 What Can A Love Song Provide?

7th August 2007:
I'm glad he's finally pucked up the courage to tell her how he feels. Great chapter, I really liked that song. I really can't think of much else to say. I liked the chapter!
~Alex

Author's Response:
Aww, thanks so much!

-Carrie


 Report Review

Review #5, by musicgirlhp14 Laugh Like You Really Mean It

7th August 2007:
They are cute. This story is rather fluffy, but I am not complaining. I was glad to see more information about why Seamus left the wizarding world. I was surprised to read that Lavender is a were-wolf, but I'm okay with it. Also, I was happy to read the Dean was dating a certain strange person. Haha. Good chapter!
~Alex

Author's Response:
I love my fluff. ^_^ I haven't written too many fluffy stories, so if I feel the urge to write a bunch o' fluff, I have a little story I can use to take it out in. :) I'm actually quite proud of this, oddly enough. Ahh! I love Dean/Luna together! I totally was sensing something during DH. :)

-Carrie


 Report Review

Review #6, by musicgirlhp14 Everything That You Want And More

7th August 2007:
I thought I reconigsed the song. My sister loves country music, so it's all I ever hear. I will start with saying I was slightly confused when I saw the title because I have a story as well called Hopes and Fears. Haha. But any how, on with this review.

I like your writing style. No mistakes to make the reader pause, and you give us enough information to see a little into your characters lives. Good beginning, I'm looking forward to reading the next few chapters.
~Alex

Author's Response:
Really? That's odd! To get inspiration for titles, I look through the different CDs I have, and Keane's 'Hopes and Fears' album just seemed to have the perfect name for the fic.

Thank you so much. :) I'm looking forward to your reviews. :)

-Carrie


 Report Review

Review #7, by Zacharias_Smith Everything That You Want And More

6th August 2007:
Okay this was interesting and I like fics that show the devestation caused by the aftermath to the war. I felt for Seamus a lot and liked that he just lives out in the countryside and has turned his back on the world. I wasn't quite so convinced by Meg's having turned her back on the magical world. I hope we'll find out more about this later? I dunno, I just felt like she gave up the chance to be a witch because she was bad at it? Or because her friends were muggles? Couldn't she have both.
I thought that things went a little fast. Well, not exactly fast - that can work well if that's the pace you want - but it felt like things had been skimmed over. For example, Seamus starts telling her his 'story', which is a nice idea, but I don't think the reader has quite a good enough look into why, how, what he's telling her. Also, you could just have written out a lot more of their conversations. I don't feel like much character came out from Meg in this first chapter.
But it was undoubtedly well-written and I did love your characterization of Seamus. I also think you utilised the song lyrics well.
It's a good chapter!

Author's Response:
I can definitely work on the characterization of Meg and elaborate on their conversations. Thanks for the review!

-Carrie


 Report Review

Review #8, by ginny321 Never Let Me Go

4th August 2007:
It's so weird reading about Meg and Seamus before they got married!
10/10, as always.

Author's Response:
Hahaha! I can see where it would be strange. :)

-Carrie


 Report Review

Review #9, by ginny321 What Can A Love Song Provide?

3rd August 2007:
Finally, an update! So good, this was one of my favorite chapters in your other Meg/Seamus story.
10/10

Author's Response:
Aww, thanks. :) I'm glad you're enjoying.

-Carrie


 Report Review

Review #10, by Journey What Can A Love Song Provide?

3rd August 2007:
Great story, Ive never read a Seamus fic before. This is very good! Please post soon!

Author's Response:
Thank you. :) The next chapter should be up very, very soon.

-Carrie


 Report Review

Review #11, by luckistars Everything That You Want And More

28th July 2007:
Tiffers here! :)
Anyways, this was a pretty good story, though I'd have spent more time on some more minor details that can end up being pretty important.
Also, the developement of Meg didn't really seem to happen, she was somewhat just there for talking, not really as a 'major' character. If you described her more, in looks or personality, it might have helped make it more obvious that she was a major character rather than someone who was just there to talk to, which I thought when Seamus first met her.
I think you did a really good job on personifying Seamus though. :)

Author's Response:
I'm glad you liked his characterization. :) I'll work on developing Meg, though. :)

-Carrie


 Report Review

Review #12, by ginny321 Laugh Like You Really Mean It

28th July 2007:
Good, I thought I was the only one who thought Luna and Dean might end up together!
10/10

Author's Response:
lol. I totally saw that in book seven. >.<

-Carrie


 Report Review

Review #13, by njhill22 Laugh Like You Really Mean It

28th July 2007:
Eeep!!! I LOVE Snow Patrol! I saw them in concert a few months back, they're awesome live! Alright, alright, onto your chapter. I must admit, I am guilty of having less than optimal culinary skills, so I was empathizing with both of them on that account. Glad to see a bit more background information. Overall, I think if you added a bit more detail it would help because it seems that the plot is moving too fast. Looking forward to the next update =)

Author's Response:
I adore them but have never seen them live! I'm glad to hear they're good! And yes, onto answer the actual review. :) Hahaha! I've managed to catch an oven mitt on fire, so I also feel for you. My mother likes to keep me away from the stove. ;) I told you background information would come, and it did. I don't tell lies, just as Umbridge prefers. And I'll try to slow the next chapter down. I have some written, but they're all out of order, etc. I'll be sure to tell you when I update next. It won't be for a while as I'm going on a family vacation.

-Carrie


 Report Review

Review #14, by njhill22 Everything That You Want And More

27th July 2007:
Well, seeing as I haven't read your other fic, I guess I'll give a little bit more of an unbiased review in a sense. First off, I must say I didn't see the pairing of Seamus and Lavender coming at all, well, not that it lasted long, but I wish you would go into more detail with it in later chapters seeing as this is not a pairing you see often on this site. The character of Meg is treading the line of Mary Sue-ness...hasn't crossed it yet, but be careful there. I think it's more of Seamus' automatic 'I'm falling for you' that made me think that. I also hope you go into more detail about what happened between him and Dean in later chapters of this. Your descriptions of the pub and country with the cottage gave me nice visuals, so well done there =) Overall decent start, I'll be waiting for an update!

Author's Response:
I do go into more detail about the relationship in later chapters. I explain it a bit more than just 'yeah, they dated, he split up with her.' I'll try to steer her away. You also have to remember that Meg is the first person who voluntarily (save his father) talked to him in years. Perhaps it had to do with the happiness that someone was talking to him. I'm also going into more detail of the falling out between Seamus in Dean in the second chapter. I couldn't just leave it at 'their friendship fell apart'. That wouldn't make any sense at all. I'm glad the visuals were good. I'll be sure to tell you when I update. :)

-Carrie


 Report Review

Review #15, by ginny321 Everything That You Want And More

27th July 2007:
Awesome, like all your work, but are you goung to continue "More Than A Love Song"?
10/10

Author's Response:
Aww, thanks. :) Yes. I am, but this one is perhaps more canon and explains things that happen a bit better. ;)

-Carrie


 Report Review

Review #16, by Ydnas Odell Everything That You Want And More

27th July 2007:
So this is an attempt at the same fic post DH? * spoilers in review*

I love it just as much as I love that one.

Only thing I would suggest is you can give him more Angst, by making his relationship with Lavender more signifigant. She was horribly injuried if she even survived that battle. Greyback got a bite into her before Hermione could save her, and maybe Seamus couldn't deal with her physical and emotional scars or Deans for that matter. All the torture and horrible things that Dean had seen when he was on the run for all those months. And the Deaths.

And also Seamus could berate himself for not understanding what Dean see's in Luna. In his emotional state, Luna would drive Seamus nuts.

Basically he fled the world because of his own pain, his own loses and his own inability to deal with a quasi-werewolf girlfriend.

There's also the question of how Meg hid from the ministry all that time? How did she convince them that she was pure-blood witch. I guess she could have hid in France, but I think Seamus might be angry at any witch or wizard who stood aside and didn't help them, especially the muggle-born ones that didn't fight for their own rights. He might look at her as a coward.

She'd have to convince him otherwise before they could move on.

Sorry, I think I was using to review to half-work out my own idea for a story.

Awesome fic!

Author's Response:
You make very good points that I honestly hadn't even thought of. I think that I may discuss this in the next chapter, because it is important, just as you suggest.

-Carrie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login