Reading Reviews for One Last Goodbye
  
79 Reviews Found

Review #1, by charlottetrips One Last Goodbye

26th April 2011:
Oh dear. I really have to stop reading stories that I know are going to make me cry in the end.

This was beautiful and you are right, it really did fill in the scenes that were missing of Remus and Tonks. I hadn't even really realized it until I read this. Thank you.

Their relationship was one of sacrifice and of deep love, the parts that you read about in the books and so this piece masterfully captured both parts.

I'm also very glad that you did not make Teddy bitter at all about his parents' death and that he always understood.

I'm going to try to stop crying now :')

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jaelle One Last Goodbye

21st December 2009:
wow! I'm seriously almost crying right now. wow! that letter to Ted, it is great. i can't think of an other word, just great!

I hope you will write a lot more story's, I love them!

 Report Review

Review #3, by witnesstoitall One Last Goodbye

12th June 2009:
wow. *tears roll quietly down my face* that was amazing and horrible all at the same time. amazing in the fact that it was superbly written and exactly as I had pictured it. It was horrible in that the entire time I knew what would happen and still my heart was hoping for Tonks to make it through the battle to be with her son. Oh what a horribly sad sad day that was. :(

Beautiful story. It touched my heart and wet my eyes.

 Report Review

Review #4, by daydream_it_to_life One Last Goodbye

2nd May 2009:
You know that disgusting, horrible feeling in your throat when you're trying to hold back tears? Like your throat is straining itself to hard, and you wish the feeling would just go away? And you're trying so hard to hold back tears, but a few, teeny tiny ones pop up in your tear ducts anyways? Yeah, that's EXACTLY what just happened.

You really brought that all to life. Remus and Tonks were two of my favorite characters. I remember the first time I found out they were together, I practically...okay, no, I DID squeal. You did a fantastic job, 10/10 no question about it!

Still with a sore throat,
daydream_it_to_life

 Report Review

Review #5, by icequeencissa One Last Goodbye

9th April 2009:
That was beautiful!!! It made me cry. You wrote it with emotion and feeling and that's what made it so amazing!!! Thanx.
Cissa.

 Report Review

Review #6, by SilverEssence One Last Goodbye

24th March 2008:
ZOMG!!! could you have written a sadder story!!
that was so very good!!!

xx
silver

 Report Review

Review #7, by Leigh One Last Goodbye

9th February 2008:
I couldn't leave a review the first time I read this as I was crying so much. it was very unfair of J.K. Rowling to kill off Remus and Tonks. I grew rather attached to them, which is probably why I don't plan to kill them off in any of my stories. LOL.

Anyways, great job! I loved it! You are such a good writer!! I just hope I can be as good a writer as you! :)

-Leigh

P.S. 10/10 for such a great story!!!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Strawcherry One Last Goodbye

25th October 2007:
Before I say anything else, I really have to thank you for writing this story. I don't think there was a single character whose death was as unfair, cold, quick and detached as Remus' and Tonks'. Even Bellatrix got a more worthy exit. I was especially disturbed by the fact that we never even got clarity on how they died in the books, there was just... nothing! So I'm eternally grateful that you decided to fill the void.
This story made me teary from the beginning and when Tonks was sitting there with Remus, realizing that this would be their last moment together, you really had me crying. This piece was written so well, so full of emotion, and even though I knew how it was going to end all along, I kept wishing it wouldn't.
You've kept the characters very true to their original form, especially Remus who again tries to sacrifice himself for her, making sure she lives, as he has done his entire life.
I like how Tonks sort of avoids battle, because it really stresses what it is all about for her -Remus, just Remus. The battle almost fades to the background, while Remus becomes some sort of a beacon for her, that was beautifully done.
While the story would have had a nice ending after Tonks' death, the 'epilogue' you added made a really nice finish, with Teddy showing his belief in his parents and that letter which was so touching!

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you so much for reading and leaving this review! After I finished reading DH this was the first thing that came to mind, and I just had to write this story. I was upset with how the deaths of Remus and Tonks were presented in the books, and I really felt like we needed something more. It makes me very happy to hear that people enjoy the version that I came up with.

It was definitely emotional to write, because it felt more real, knowing that J.K. had actually killed them, and that I really had no choice. It didn't matter how much I wanted to rewrite history and save them, I had to do it this way.

Nothing pleases me more than to hear that I kept the characters very true, that is always the hardest part of writing these stories for me. As for Tonks avoiding the battle, it was mostly because I cannot write action very well. And I just had to show Teddy as a well adjusted young man at the end, because I really think that is the only way he could have turned out.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review, it was most appreciated!


 Report Review

Review #9, by A Licorice Wand One Last Goodbye

16th October 2007:
Honestly that was so beautiful. Your writing is amzing, although I think I was probably a little to emotional to have read this. I am one of those people who thought JK Rowling spent so much time building Remus/Tonks relationship up in the sixth book I felt oddly shortchanged so thank you for this story.
A wonderful piece of fanfiction, definetly one of the best I've read in a long time.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, I am pleased that you enjoyed the story. I am glad that you got some closure from this story, that makes me happy. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #10, by GrungGranger One Last Goodbye

12th October 2007:
You write so well. I am very much touched by this story. I don’t know if you have children but you truly understand a parent’s love for their child. I don’t know if you are married but you truly understand the love one feels when they truly have found their soul mate. Most importantly you can saturate your stories with those feelings. This is a powerful story and I have no suggestions on how it could be better. Can’t fix something that isn’t broken can you?
Thanks for this,
Grung


Author's Response: Thank you so much for this kind review. I am so pleased that everything came across as authentic, as I had to go by assumptions rather than life experience. Emotions are one of my favorite tools to use, so it always pleases me when people really feel the effect of them. Thanks again for this lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by shadowycorner One Last Goodbye

4th October 2007:
I don't feel up to writing a proper review because I'm so upset! It was perfectly written, and so heart-wrenching. You explained the emotions very powerfully, especially the torn part...the concept of having to choose between a child and the love of our life. What a terrible decision to make...but I believe Tonks did the right thing. Bellatrix had never played fair. A perfect line to end the scene. And this entire piece was so sad, but beautiful all the same. Their deaths made me incredibly sad, just like Fred's...it was just...unbelievable. I don't know what else to say, and I apologize for not even being coherent enough, but it just made me sad. This is the first Tonks/Remus I read about after DH and it's been gorgeous. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the emotions and the writing. I agree with you, Tonks did make the right decision. The deahs were heartbreaking, but I think this little scene helped me get past what I was feeling. Thanks again for your kind words!

 Report Review

Review #12, by SinMan One Last Goodbye

26th September 2007:
very touching story! It make me cry a lot, espeacially the letter and the last conversation.
remus and tonks is my favourite couple. it's sad and heartberaking that they leave their newbron son. =(
10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I am glad that you enjoyed the story! It was very heartbreaking to write, but I do feel like it needed to be done. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #13, by SilverShadow04 One Last Goodbye

26th September 2007:
Aww that was the sweetest thing I almost cried really the tears were welling up and ready to fall its a good thing I am a fast reader and got the heart-wrenching story over with. I am so happy that you wrote this story. I really wanted to find a well written beautiful story that told the deaths of Remus and Tonks JK. Rowling did not place into the books. A very beautiful read.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I am sorry if I made you tear up! I really felt the need to write this story, for all those Remus/Tonks fans out there who felt slightly gipped. Thank you again so much for your kind comments!

 Report Review

Review #14, by charliesgirl One Last Goodbye

21st September 2007:
Oh, wow. You have outdone yourself once again. This was simply beautiful. The line "Sometimes we don’t get the happily ever after, we just get the happy right now" reduced me to a puddle of tears. Bravo!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am so pleased that you enjoyed this story. I am sorry it made you cry. Thanks again for taking the time to read and review ^^

 Report Review

Review #15, by Minerva Ann McGonagall One Last Goodbye

14th September 2007:
I am crying again! I hope you're happy! I loved this! It seems to fix so many open ends from DH. . . .thank you!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I am sorry that this story made you cry, but I am pleased that you enjoyed it! Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Nymeria One Last Goodbye

28th August 2007:
It was brilliant. I think it made me cry more than any other fic I've ever read. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the story! Sorry it made you cry.

 Report Review

Review #17, by LifeAndTimesOfABrokenSoul One Last Goodbye

27th August 2007:
That was so beautiful, I am in awe of how you captured everything so perfectly. I am sitting here bawling my eyes out, I was teary all the way through but the sobbing started when Tonks was going home and Bella killed her. It's so unfair how Tonks was taken when she was trying to fulfill Remus' wish. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review this story! Thank you for your kind words, I am pleased that you found the story to capture everything so perfectly. As for the crying, it was an emotional story for me to write so I understand where you are coming from. Thank you again for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by bellatrix4ever One Last Goodbye

25th August 2007:
This story is simply amazing. It gives closer to the Remus and Tonks fans. Thank you so much.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the story! Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #19, by balletforarainyday One Last Goodbye

24th August 2007:
This was SO good and that banner is freaking AMAZING!! That picture of Tonks is just how I always pictured her, beautiful. Yet another story to add to my favorites!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I am so happy that you enjoyed the story! The banner was made by the amazing alohmora, and I have to agree, she did such a fantastic job! Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by bshis2010 One Last Goodbye

24th August 2007:
I love it. I lve Remus/Tonks. This story made me cry, and I'm really mad that Rowling had both Remus and Tonks die. 9/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I am sorry that I made you cry, but I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the story! Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #21, by lottie66 One Last Goodbye

24th August 2007:
aww that was so sad. I almost cried and I hardly ever cry at films or books, but that was really so sad but very good- weldone :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I know it was sad, but I am pleased you still liked it! Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Janhavi One Last Goodbye

24th August 2007:
It was beautiful, really beautiful, I cried. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am so happy to hear it caused you to feel something! Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Lynda One Last Goodbye

17th August 2007:
Wow. You almost made me cry at work. I think this was a wonderful idea. I have heard many people question Tonks motivation and decision, and this story helps put it into better perspective. Well done.

Author's Response: Awww! I am sorry I almost made you cry! I am pleased that you enjoyed the story though! I really did think Tonks would have had a reason for doing what she did, and I am glad that this story shows that! Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Fireceltiephoenix One Last Goodbye

16th August 2007:
Tiffy...what an excellent tie-in! I'm so glad you wrote what happened to Tonks and Remus. I always felt that part was missing in DH. I felt robbed of that when all JK showed was Tonks and Remus lying in the Great Hall...dead. I hated it! Thank you for filling in the blanks. It was absolutely perfect. Great job!

~Fireceltiephoenix (Candy)

Author's Response: CANDY! OMG! HAHAH I saw Tiffy at the beginning and got all suspicious and wondered who in the heck would call me Tiffy...it's Candy! ^_^ Wow, I am so happy that you stopped by and read this! I, like you, felt that it was almost as if maybe J.K wrote the scene and then they forgot to print it, so I decided to write my own version! I am so pleased that you thought it fit! Thanks again for reviewing! You are such a sweetie! *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #25, by Scriblerian One Last Goodbye

13th August 2007:
And you are my inspiration. *wipes her eyes* Tiff, how the heck do you do it? You get me EVERY damn time. You're like a master at taking your readers' hearts and ripping them to pieces. lol. This was so incredibly sad and beautiful. I'm seriously at a loss for what to say.

Well, first of all, I'm thrilled you decided to write this in the first place. I think Tonks and Remus have found their way into most of our hearts over the years (I know they have found their way into mine) and for that reason it's only fitting that we'd get to see them go out with dignity and grace. Sadly, we didn't really get to see that in the last book. I know it disappointed me, and I'm sure it disappointed a lot of others, so when I heard you were going to write this, my heart soared. Because I just knew that you'd deliver exactly what was missing, and I'm here to tell you that I was right. You did that and then some.

The beginning was perfect. That is exactly how I would imagine that scene to go. Remus would have wanted her to stay at home and of course Tonks would have wanted to go with him. You get into the character's heads brilliantly. AND you make it look easy. I'm beyond impressed. lol. And I'm also already tearing up, mostly because of the Teddy factor. But I can understand why Tonks left. As awful as it was to leave Teddy, I think I probably would have done the same thing. Though I can't imagine how hard that decision must have been. But you wrote it perfectly.

And then with the battle, even though I knew what had to ultimately happen, I still didn't want to believe that neither of them would make it out. My heart was breaking when she was talking to Remus. And I was definitely crying by the time Tonks' time came.

Bellatrix never had played fair.

That line was BEYOND brilliant. One of my favorites I think that you've ever written. It was just so perfectly placed and when I read it, it was like a slap in the face. Wow. I loved that. And it really emphasized how horrible the act was. *gives three cheers for Molly once again* lol. Hey, I'm going to start calling you Trelawney by the way. Nice call on Dolohov and Bellatrix! Craziness...lol.

Ugh, yeah, and you might as well have just killed me with that letter part. *sobs uncontrollably* That was one of the most touching things I've ever read. I love that Tonks didn't have any words of wisdom for him. I agree, she wouldn't have said things like that. Just telling him that she loved him was enough.

She was where she was supposed to be, with his father, that was apparently where she had always belonged.

Kill me now. I'm seriously crying. Again. Tiff, words can't express just how beautiful I thought this story was. You did a fantastic job, yet again, and I know that you'll do so no matter what you write. You, my crazy friend, are one talented lady. Thank you so much for writing this. I feel a little better about their deaths thanks to you. You rock and you always will. *hugs*

~Scrib

Author's Response: AWWW! Scribbie, you are my lucky penny! ^_^ I really don't know how I do it, I think I may be part robot to be quite honest *turns into a camero* I do NOT take my reader's hearts and rip them to pieces, it would be against the robot code! I am so pleased that you found the story to be beautiful though, that makes me blush!

I am so pleased that you are glad that I wrote this story! I agree, Tonks and Remus are part of what Harry Potter so exciting and I really think they definitely deserved a good ending, and sadly I don't think they recieved the ending they deserved. Aww! You have such faith in me, and I am so pleased that I didn't disappoint my Bizzy!

The beginning for me was probably the easiest to write, just because it was easy to imagine exactly what she would be feeling in that moment. As for Remus, he would resist, of course, because he is Remus and he is used to sacrificing himself for others, he has done it his whole life! It makes me so pleased that you think that I get into the character's heads correctly, because I think that is a big part of making a good story. Awww! Teddy, it kills me that he grew up withought parents, and I can understand Tonks turmoil.

The battle was the hardest part to write, because I suck at writing battles and fight scenes, so I did my best to avoid any and all action! I think I was actually crying when I wrote that goodbye scene, it made it so real, and I love that you inserted that line, it is my favorite out of all my stories! I do agree, I have to cheer for Molly as well!!!! I know, I should be Trewlany, I read that on the chat and got goosebumps!

Awww! The letter is the one part I was really unsure about. I liked that it wasn't mushy gushy, because I don't think that would be very Tonks, and yet I was still concerned about whether or not it was good enough. I really think that was the perfect way for the story to end, it was just simple and sort of said, this is the way things happen.

Thank you sooo much for leaving this fabulous, wonderful, amazing review! You are the absolute best and I adore you! I am glad that you enjoyed the story, that is really enough for me!!! *MASSIVE HUGGLE GLOMP*


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>