Reading Reviews for Mischief Managed
  
33 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MEW Redemption and Reunion

3rd April 2014:
:O no Sirius and James death? to bad, you're really good!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Amaranthine Redemption and Reunion

24th March 2010:
I really like how it was because he was imagining himself hurt James a second time that Wormtail let Harry out of his chokehold. It was also nice to see that he became a Death Eater because he honestly thought it would protect his friends -- this is different than how Peter is usually portrayed, but it is nice to see him in a more sympathetic light (for once!)

Everything was nicely written, but what really made the piece for me, was the last sentence. So heartrending. :'(

Author's Response: Hello! :) I'm glad you liked this story and the different perspective I gave Peter's character. I'd like to believe he wasn't pure evil; he might have been coward, but that was it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by NykkiC Redemption and Reunion

5th April 2009:
I know. Even a year and a half after the book first came out, it's still so sad.

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for reading and for the review. I agree, it still is sad; I can't even bring myself to reread DH even now. :|

 Report Review

Review #4, by Girldetective85 Redemption and Reunion

22nd October 2008:
I got so teary-eyed while reading this and the last sentence nearly pushed me over the edge. *sniffle* I love that you had the Marauders reunite. After all, they were all innocent once, weren't they? They must have loved each other and were everything to each other - why couldn't it be that way after death? Poor, poor Peter - I know he's the one that everyone loves to hate, but I think he's possibly the most human of the Marauders. Not everyone can be brave and chivalrous like James and Sirius and Remus ... Peter was too afraid and too affectionate of power, and in the end he got his just desserts, but I just always felt so horrible for him. I like that you portrayed him here with a sympathy and an understanding most authors don't give him; heck, some authors leave him out of the Marauders completely. So great job once again! 10/10

Author's Response: I'm sorry I almost made you cry. :( I wrote this after Book 7 as well, like I said, to keep the tears from flowing. I agree; Peter was the most human of them. And it has always been my suspicion that well, he joined up with Voldemort probably because he thought it was what would save him and his friends. Thanks for this review! Glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by abc Redemption and Reunion

5th January 2008:
wow. amazing =] i think it was the name that got me to actually read it.

Author's Response: Thanks. I loved the title as well. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Hedwig6393 Redemption and Reunion

2nd December 2007:
Beautiful. You portrayed Peter as someone who is sad, ashamed of what he did. Not anyone can do that.

Author's Response: Thanks. :) I did that because I didn't think he was bad and evil to begin with in the first place. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by windchaser Redemption and Reunion

12th November 2007:
awww, they forgave wormy!!

Author's Response: Yes, I think that's what the Marauders would do, and the forgiveness will most likely start from James. :) He's just that way, I believe.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Hilary Black Redemption and Reunion

6th October 2007:
That Was SO touching! *sniff sob*
I always wondered if peter felt guilty.

Author's Response: I think he did, judging from how he acted in the book. :) Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by nana_banana_xx3 Redemption and Reunion

26th August 2007:
First, may I just say that I almost died while reading Deathly Hallows because I was so broken up by everything that was revealed and all that had happened by the end. I cried my eyes out when I saw that picture, and gosh dang it, you made me do it again!

I really, really enjoyed reading this, despite the tears, lol! You did a really lovely job. That bit with Ron screaming for Hermione really got me the first time I read it, and it did the same when I read it here. Can't you just hear it? I love how you addressed Peter's thoughts in that scene. I was wondering what must have been going through his mind then.

And then Remus. Oh Lordy, Remus. Hearing of Peter's death... And that that line that captured my thoughts exactly: "The last man standing had seen everyone fall." I always get so upset when I think about how it must have been that first time around when James was dead, Sirius was in Azkaban, and Peter was assumed dead, and it just makes me feel SO awful. I can't even imagine what it would be like to lose all of your friends at once. That would just be murder.

You had me crying at the end. You did a really lovely job with it, but it was just so very sad! And then the Marauders coming full circle. Gah. I'm just gushing all over the place, aren't I? haha. Well, you deserve it. Brilliant job! :)

nana_banana_xx3


Author's Response: Hello there! :) Thanks for taking up my request on a review! Good thing you saw that picture; so many people didn't even know about it! Haha, we're the lucky ones. ;)

Well, I wanted to justify Peter's death... Why he let go of Harry, etc. As for Remus, I know, I know. I feel the same for him. Of all the Marauders, it must've been the toughest for him.

Weeee! I am so delighted you enjoyed this. Thank you! Thank you! :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by melihobbit Redemption and Reunion

22nd August 2007:
Wow. This is amazing. I love finding stories like this. Y'know what impresses me so much about it? The fact that you managed to write Peter and actually make him sympathetic. In fact you carried it off beautifully. To be honest I was really unhappy with the way Peter died in DH (I know, I know, he was getting what he deserved, it was poetic justice and all that... but it was, for me at least, an anticlimax, but that's a rant I won't go into here) but you managed to give it so much more depth here that I think, only having read this, I can be at peace with the way he died.

I love the fact that you brought it back to James and the Marauders -- that that's what his final thoughts were reserved for. That is absolutely... I can't tell you how my heart hurt when he said "mischief managed." Oh, Peter. If only you had stayed a Marauder and not gone down the path you did, not betrayed Lily and James. God, this whole thing makes me want to cry. And then that beautiful image of James he had just before he died, and then this: James embraced him like the brother he had always been, like the one he himself was supposed to be. That is so powerful. I adore the fact that James forgave him in the end. That's something JK never gave us.

And then the end, when they are all back together again. There was something very understated about it, but that gives it much more resonance. I can't explain it. You just seem to have a gift for letting the scene speak for itself, rather than trying to murder it (as I tend to do) with needless details... it's just... beautiful. And elegant. I want to go back and read it again :) Wonderful work.

Author's Response: Hmm. Thanks for that very long, insightful review! :) First off, I always thought that Peter was not really bad to begin with. I always believed that he had simply gone astray down the road, and that judging from his actions in the book, he regretted betraying James and Lily.

The "mischief managed" here means something like their time on earth was up, their life of making trouble had been time well spent... Something like that, that they managed to leave their mark on the world. And I also thought James was the one who really understood Peter the most, especially since he was the one most adored by Peter. And besides, it would have been in his nature.

Thank you so much for your glowing words! :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by padfootprongslover Redemption and Reunion

21st August 2007:
I have never cried over a fic- but the marauders are my favorite characters...and when Remus died I was like, 'you couldn't have even kept one of them?' You put Peter in a different light...a light that makes him seem.. I don't know genuine...braver...a better person in general. James forgived him so quickly...but I guess that was how tight their friendship actually was. It was beautiful. Stupendous. I love all of your stories :)

Author's Response: Yes, I thought the same way too when Remus died, and well, I've never really imagined Peter to be pure evil. James... well, I always thought that he was the one among the other three who was most tolerant of Peter. I'm glad you found it beautiful. :) Thanks for reviewing this!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Lizzy Leigh Redemption and Reunion

7th August 2007:
To state it simply... I'm sobbing.
Ever since the DH, when I read about Remus dying, All I could think was, "And then he fell, the last of the Marauders", and that in itself was heartbreaking. I always felt SOMEONE should do him justice. I was actually mad at JK for the first time in my life when she hardly mentioned his death! Well, I know she mentioned it, but Harry should have been wallowing in grief! It was almost but not quite as bad as Sirius! Anyway, I think you did it perfectly.

Author's Response: Yeah, I thought something along the same lines. ;) I'm glad you liked this. Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by andrea_adams Redemption and Reunion

7th August 2007:
aaww it was soo cutee,, loved the last part.
congrats 10
great writing too

Author's Response: Thanks! :) I'm happy you enjoyed it. ;)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Raina Redemption and Reunion

3rd August 2007:
Oh my, that was absolutely amazing. I had to swallow back the tears; you've made me miss them all over again! How fitting, that Peter should be forgiven and welcomed back as a true marauder, and how beautiful, that Remus would be embraced by all three with open arms. I love how you chose those two scenes, with Peter in his moment of regret and mercy, and Remus in his final acceptance. And yet you've managed to connect them and make the point that the marauders will never be separated.

It was heartbreaking that as he died, Peter would remember the happy days of his youth, the best times of his life. And James would appear in all his mischievous glory, answering Peter's last question, "Can you ever forgive me?" with a resounding yes. And just when I thought you couldn't outdo yourself more, you capture Remus's death so poignantly too, the way he held onto his newfound life and love, and yet he's still swept back to the innocent days of the marauders' youth. Such a small scene with such a small "mischief managed", yet it really feels like, that's the end. This is it. And Peter, asking "What's taking you so long?" as if he couldn't wait to be reunited again. Just every single moment and word you chose contributed so much to this final goodbye that JKR never took the time to write. It sends shivers down my back.

This thing's going in my favorites. Absolutely stunning.

Author's Response: Raina,

I don't know what to say! I am so overwhelmed by the very long review you left me. It seems like you've noticed everything I've put into that one-shot. Thank you very much for showing so much appreciation for this! Thank you for sharing all your thoughts as well. :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by adriennelouise Redemption and Reunion

27th July 2007:
Gwah. I haven't reviewed for this? LOL.

Anyway, I'm so glad you decided to write a fic like this. I especially like the ending where the Marauders were reunited again. So yeah, I was crying again. Hehe.

Author's Response: Chel! *shrieks*

I thought you had forgotten about this. LOL. I'm so happy whenever the review comes from you. Haha. :) I'm so happy you liked it. Thank you! Thank you! :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by almost_witch Redemption and Reunion

27th July 2007:
This is really nice.

I loved the way you wrote both the deaths from their eyes and the thoughts that went through their heads.

It was well written, especially how the Marauders came together in the end. It gives you the whole warm and fuzzy feeling. :) Well done.

Author's Response: :) I don't really know what to say, except that I'm happy you liked the way I wrote it. Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Bright Green Eyes Redemption and Reunion

26th July 2007:
Great story!

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by kaitlin_jones Redemption and Reunion

25th July 2007:
omg! I loved it!
I read both your stories but I liked this one better
awww its very sad:(
I loved the little flashbacks or memories or whatever they were... and how they both said mischief managed...
there's not much I can sayu apart from that... but it's excellent
keep up the good work!

katie(:

Author's Response: Really? :) I personally liked Untarnished Silver better, haha. Well, in any case, I'm glad you enjoyed this. In essence, those little flashbacks were about their pranks when they were at school, and I was trying to relate it to how their life has been one big adventure, a mischief to be managed. LOL. Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by _KırmızıBeyazAyYıldız_ Redemption and Reunion

25th July 2007:
I feel exactly the same!! I'll miss them too... Boo hoo!
Anyway, your story isn't stupid, it's good :)

Author's Response: Thanks for saying that! I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by RoxieRonni04 Redemption and Reunion

24th July 2007:
This is really good, I'm seriously close to tears. I didn't cry when Remus died in the book, but Im about to as we speak. All the marauders are now dead. How did this work out?? I'm so mad at J.K. Rowling.

Author's Response: Oh no, why am making a lot of people cry? LOL. I'm surprised you didn't cry at the abruptness with which Remus died, but well... I guess the reason why J.K. killed all the Marauders was so that a new generation could really start (and of course the fact that such an ending would be more dramatic).

 Report Review

Review #21, by Paloma Patil Redemption and Reunion

24th July 2007:
I really appreciate that you've put a positive spin on a heartbreaking chapter. You're right - it was brutal to see Lupin die so swiftly after all he'd been through. Thank you for filling in the blanks. Well done. *sniff!* Paloma

Author's Response: I had not thought of it that way, haha. But yes, I agree that Lupin's death was without justice. I'm glad you liked this piece. :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Siriusly Cool Redemption and Reunion

24th July 2007:
Oh My Gosh. This almost made me cry. That's how it was for Remus, though; The last man standing had seen everyone fall. He'd lost all of them: to death, to the "dark side." And then Sirius had come back, and he wasn't the only one left.

But now he is, because even Peter's dead.

That was a really good line, I must say. "The last man standing had seen everyone fall."

I know that I've already quoted it, but it was really good.

Thank you.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you for being so generous with your review. Yes, I think that among the Marauders, everything has been most painful for Lupin. :(

 Report Review

Review #23, by italiankiss Redemption and Reunion

22nd July 2007:
It was amazing. I was tearing by the end of it. I love it. I love the end where the Marauders join together once more. I love how you answered the questions that people were asking. Why did Peter strangle himself? How did Lupin and Tonks die. You answered them really well. It all fit. Now you'll have to write one about how Collin and Fred died

Author's Response: Thank you for your sweet words! :) It wasn't really my intention to show how they died, but well... I'm glad it all fit with the book. I'll try to write something about Colin and Fred, but I think it will be more difficult, particulary because I don't really care that much about them. LOL. ;)


 Report Review

Review #24, by EileenPrince Redemption and Reunion

22nd July 2007:
OMG, Me too! I cried when Harry saw the Weasleys leaning over Fred... then he saw Tonks and Lupin.
They were my favourite!
I loved Lupin. *bawls* anywho, good job on POVs xDDD

Author's Response: I loved Lupin too, but I think I love James more now. LOL. Glad you enjoyed this story. :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Elf_ears13 Redemption and Reunion

22nd July 2007:
I got shivers. This was beautiful - I really like how you incorporated all four of them, not just the two. I felt like after Peter died, Remus sort of had to, because it'd be very depressing if he was separated from everyone; the line The last man standing had seen everyone fall was very fitting and stirring. I like how you have a different chapter title for the story, since both fit so well; I always just do the same title if it's a one-shot.

The very last line was really just fantastic, but the use of 'can' instead of 'could' made it sound awkward (I don't know if it was intentional or not, but I'd change it to 'could' in any case). Everything was very well described (I liked Tonks' reaction to Remus' news), so I won't go pointing out everything that you did right.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you for your comments! The original title was supposed to be 'Redemption and Reunion', but I thought of pranks being the last memories the two remembered before dying, and so tried to work it around "Mischief Managed'. LOL. You were right; I made a mistake with using 'can' instead of 'could'. I changed it just now. I'm glad you liked the descriptions; I think it's the one thing I do really well.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>