28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Mlizhobie The Electric Bill

12th September 2011:
I didn't know that you wrote this! I heard it on a podcast a while ago, not sure if it was yours or another one, but I adored it.

Having a regular muggle get to know the trio thru letters and I LOVE the fact that you didn't oblivate him in the.

Also just saw that you did a sequel, very cool

 Report Review

Review #2, by maskedmuggle The Electric Bill

12th December 2010:
A lovely story! Really enjoyable read, well written, and the plot idea was simply brilliant and completely original.
This made me laugh; "Ron was probably a little shorter, and with blonde hair."
BLONDE! haha!

"Is this Mrs. Weasley?”
“Yes, I am,” she said, staring into his eyes as if she were searching for some clue there.
“Ron sends his love,” he said.

Oh, that was wonderful!

 Report Review

Review #3, by LovlyRita The Electric Bill

16th August 2010:
hi Alex!

so, I've heard this story on the podcast...it was actually the first podcast I ever heard. But I came over here to read it because I remember it being so awesome. And it was!! This story is made of sheer win.

Also, let me take a quick moment to go aw over your puppy dog.

Anyway, I love how defensive Henry gets over the magic! He truly believes in what Harry is doing and it's very genuine. I loved the bit at the Catholic church too...it's fantastic. But, he probably would have also had to say some Hail Mary's and a few Our Father's...to save his soul, you understand :)

I also loved the bit with Voldemort! What a strong little muggle he is, to stand up to him like that! I'm not entirely sure why Henry isn't dead after coming face to face with Voldemort, but it's fine. haha. He's a great character- with a trusty doggie!

nice work once again, friend :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Alopex The Electric Bill

30th October 2009:
Happy HPFFSAD!

I fully intended to read one of your other stories, one with fewer reviews. But this story looked so fascinating, I couldn't resist in the end (it was a toss-up between this and the missing train, to be honest). I rarely comment on summaries (partly because I often don't bother reading them), but yours for this story really caught my eye. I just HAD TO KNOW all about Henry Fischer and his mailbox.

I love Henry Fischer as a character! He's so ordinary and boring, really, that he's just like the rest of us. I found it very easy to relate to him. I particularly enjoyed the description of Henry trying to find Number 12 and continuing to fortify his nerves with Aspirin. Poor man, he really didn't need all that stress, did he? Not after that electric bill.

Still, when it came to the ultimate stressful situation (I'd be very stressed out if Voldemort appeared in MY house, and I don't even have so much as a goldfish to save me), Henry did really well. He was a real unexpected hero. He's the most interesting OC I have encountered in . . . quite some time. Great work!

The scene with Vicar was hilarious . . . of course. I got a big kick out of Henry being sent away with pamphlets, though it was obvious from the first that he couldn't expect more help than that. I was also amused by the mental images that Henry constructed of the Trio. Harry as a football captain? Haha! (I'm picturing American football, but football, soccer, still funny.) And Ron as blonde? But you know, making mental images is exactly what we do when we read about people in books or newspapers and have no clue what they look like, so it really fits.

Enough rambling. I loved this story! It was humorous, the description was interesting and thorough, the characterization of your OC was great, and the entire story was extremely engaging.

 Report Review

Review #5, by A friend The Electric Bill

24th May 2009:
That was so unbelievably wonderful! Every aspect about it was just perfect! And with just the right amount of humor...*sigh* I wish there was more, I really do!

 Report Review

Review #6, by IloveNeville The Electric Bill

23rd May 2009:
I came across this story and I just HAD to read it, then I saw that it was a podcast, so I went ahead and downloaded it... Because I'm lazy like that :)

Haha, Henry is obviously a very very lonely man. He talks to himself, poor guy. Hang on, I talk to myself :|
It's very nicely written. It just sort of flows. I love how Henry thinks that it's a story.

"-at least according to Dumbledore, who was apparently a character of great importance but who the author had found neccercery to kill off."

That made me smile, despite the fact that it was about Dumbledore's death.


"And so the Order of the Pheonix, a great army of several magical people, had decided to stay at home, while three school children went off to destroy the Horcruxes and then battle the Dark Lord." It's funny coz it's true. When you think of it that way, it's quite funny. Though of course, we both know that the Order weren't completely useless in the war.


I like how Henry is imagining Harry, Ron and Hermione. Harry being muscular, the very opposite of the truth, with him being thin with knobbly knees from being underfed. At least at age 11 and I'm guessing up to 17, as well. Well, he's certainly not a football captain or wrestler. And I love how Henry imagines Ron as a blonde simply because all the Ron he knew were blondes. He certainly hit the nail on the head with Hermione, though.


Haha, I love how Henry yells at Voldemort. So want to do that myself.

This story was so amazing. I really really enjoyed it. Great job. And that picture of Missy is very cute :)
I think Henry is a great character and he should definately be sent out to play again. I see that you've written another story with him, so I'll have to read that one as well.

Again, great job!

 Report Review

Review #7, by The Other Dobby The Electric Bill

19th October 2008:
This is awesome! Although, I have the slight feeling it should be 'electricity bill', rather than electric. Unless, of course, the bill itself is run on electricity...
I'd love to see more about Henry. It's a great idea.
10/10
Emi

Author's Response: While that would be true of the good ol' USA, I was trying to use British phrases and vernacular, and I'm pretty sure it's the "electric bill" on that side of the pond. Thanks for your review, though! I'm glad you liked it. There's another story in the works so you should enjoy that one as well.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Larissa The Electric Bill

2nd May 2008:
I really liked your story, and i agree that muggles are underestimated by the common witch or wizzard, well all except Mr. Weasley of coures. It supprized my that Mr. Weasley didn't flood Henry with random questions like how to use a "fellytone" etc. All in all a great story, keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Ollie Vander The Electric Bill

22nd March 2008:
Hey, good job. It was extremly well written, and the canons were characterized well for the small parts they had. The idea is VERY orignial, though extremly far-fetched. But hey, that's fan fiction! Good job, and your dog is adorable!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Marauderess The Electric Bill

19th March 2008:
This was hillarious i thought i might die laughing. I like the whole talk with the vicar at the church. Thearapist HAHAHA! Your dogs picture is gorgeous she's very cute! My dog is a sheltie! Hope you keep up the fantastic work i need more funny stories like this, they make my day a whole lot better. =)

 Report Review

Review #11, by lupinssecretlover The Electric Bill

27th February 2008:
I just love this story! It is really funny and a great read.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Aisu Hoshino The Electric Bill

21st February 2008:
This as absolutely brilliant...I laughed so much! I love Henry, especially since he's so normal, and I loved his scene with Voldy, telling him off and stuff. Love the dog too, specially since she's based on yours (reminds me of my cat Tyger lol). Really this fic is a breath of fresh air (focuses on a Muggle, original plot, realistic humor, etc.). It's so on my favorites. I would love to see it continued in a longer fic, or at least something else with Henry.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Pretty Purple Pelican The Electric Bill

22nd January 2008:
Fantastic. Please, tell more about Henry. I think this could turn into a novel length story. Really, it could. And, hell, I'd read it! I was sitting there thinking that this was just going to be a nice story where some Muggle cares about the hardships that H/R/Hr are going through when BAM!- you hit us with Voldemort. Very well done. I really hope that you write more. *pleading eyes*

P.S. Missy is adorable!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Valarie7505 The Electric Bill

6th January 2008:
that was good especially how you used the muggles perspective of things. I also loved when Henry found out about Mris. and mrs. weasley that he says Ron sends his love.
9-10. Hope there is more to the henry readings.
Valarie7505

 Report Review

Review #15, by henryjones The Electric Bill

13th December 2007:
i love it! sort of a cross between hitchikers guide to the galaxy and harry potter and awesomeness... i really liked the humor your characterization of missy. reminds me of my dog!

 Report Review

Review #16, by SereneChaos The Electric Bill

23rd November 2007:
... lol, this was great! This had a very droll humor about it, which made it all the more amusing to read. I especially loved the part with the vicar and how henry walked out with the two documents, leading us all to believe that they were of importance, when really they were just informing poor Henry that he was crazy. I'm actually very reminded of the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, or perhaps a bit of Terry Pratchett? Moreso H2G2 because all of this starts on one particular Thursday... I believe I saw a typo or two floating around here, but looking above, I think it'll be impossible ffor me to find them again. One was with moody talking about how Voldy wants to get into Henry's head and the other was with Henry finding something... The title to this story was amazing, and what drew my attention to it in the first place. Everything about this was excellent and I truly enjoyed reading it. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #17, by sinful_sanctuary The Electric Bill

22nd November 2007:
I heard about this on the podcast, and it is absolutely amazing! Funny, exciting and real. I really like Henry's character, and would love to see more of him and Missy! I really like how he pictured the trio and how he came to believe what he read. Then when he went to the Vicar, that was so funny! My absolute favorite part has to be when he first speaks to Molly and says "Ron sends his love." I could picture her going all motherly crazy like only she can. Just one thing that bugged me: "Mrs. Arthur Weasley" on the envelope. I'm not sure how Arthur would have like that. Or Molly for that matter:) 10/10 and favorite story!

 Report Review

Review #18, by AuburnFair The Electric Bill

19th November 2007:
I just heard this story on the HPFF podcast, and I think it is absolutely brilliant! It was so funny and flowed very nicely. It was a great fic!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Novadestin The Electric Bill

4th November 2007:
Yes please do use Henry again! That was by far one of the best piece's I have read in a long time! Everything was perfect, from his interpretation of the letters, to his reaction to Voldemort. It was all so perfectly muggle and worked together to create a story that definitely deserves to be on any top ten.

I had planned to read it before it was put on the podcast, but thank you so much for adding it hehe I enjoying listening to stories so much more then I do reading them because I think it allows someone to get deeper into the story when they can just close their eyes and imagine so yay! :D

Again, excellent excellent work and do continue with him! I loved it completely :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Slythani- The Electric Bill

1st November 2007:
OMG! I just finished listening to this story on the podcast, and it is amazing. Could you please make this more than a one-shot? I want to see Hanry's reactions to actauly seeing what Harry, Ron and Hermione look like ... after all, he met the bad guy, now he can meet the good guy! Please ...?

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ellie_HPLover The Electric Bill

21st October 2007:
I love it! I wish something (other then that part where Voldemort comes in) would happen to me!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Hermione12124 The Electric Bill

16th August 2007:
Haha, loved this story! Brilliantly written, by the way. My last name's Fischer, too, maybe Henry and I are related! Anywho, your dog is adorable and this story was fun to read.

Keep writing! ;o)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Resplendence The Electric Bill

25th July 2007:
I loved this story! It was such an original idea, having a Muggle stumble upon some very important letters from the trio. It was humorously written, with just a hint of darkness. I just wanted to jump into the story and huggle dear Henry. He made me chuckle out loud quite a few times. Thanks for the lovely read!! 10/10

 Report Review

Review #24, by endlessly xx The Electric Bill

23rd July 2007:
Nicee story, not exactly what I was picturing when I put up the challenge, but I really do like this! Completely awesome :]

 Report Review

Review #25, by MysticalE The Electric Bill

19th July 2007:
*Applauds* This was a WONDERFUL story! I've been watching the PostSecret challange to see who came up with what, and your is the first story I've read. I adore it.

The begining of the story reminds me so much of the begining to "Hitchhikers Guide to the Universe" for some reason. Arthur Dent wakes up, looks out the window, sees a Bulldozer on his lawn, goes to the bathroom, brushes his teeth, glances out at the bulldozer again, goes downstairs to make coffee, passes by the bulldozer at the door; and then 15 seconds later he's outside in his robe lying in the mud in front of the bulldozer.

I really liked Henry. He seems like a normal guy, concerned with normal things. I loved the visit to the Vicar (probably my favorite scene) and I love how he pictured the Trio.

The confrontation w/ Voldemort seems a bit rushed and bland. I can't really see Voldemort just standing there talking w/ Henry while having books chucked at him. Especially if he suspected Henry of having information. Wouldn't Occlumency be a part here, or wouldn't Voldemort be on more of a 'chase', tearing the house apart?

Henry's first words to Mrs. Weasley are wonderful, tears actually came to my eyes there. Missy the dog is wonderful, obviously, and I wouldn't want an Obliviator near my brain either. ;)

Great story! I loved it!

Author's Response: I'm glad you really enjoyed this! It was a good challenge to get the creative juices flowing.

I'm quite a fan of the Hitchhiker's series, and it influences my work a lot. In fact when someone asked me which authors inspire me in my Meet the Author thread, I quoted that same bit you did just now.

That's one vote in favor of letting Henry out of his cage in my mind again, which makes me happy. I wasn't sure whether to send Henry to a Vicar or to a cheap Psychic (who is, of course, a complete fraud who's not equipped to see five seconds into the future, let alone advise him on magical issues). In the end the Vicar won out because he didn't have to pretend to understand what Henry was talking about and could just be exasperated with him.

I was worried about the scene with Voldemort, too. I had this really great opening with Henry's cold, number 12 being missing, and the Vicar scene, but I had no way to tie it up. I knew I wanted Molly and Arthur to get the letters but I wasn't sure how. In the original draft, Henry says, "I believe in you, Harry" And Molly comes up behind him. "Did you say Harry?" she asks. "It's just that I know a Harry who's off on... official business." But that was really tacky and ended the story too quick. I decided that Voldemort might figure out what was up and come looking for information. I thought that he might not kill Henry right away because he wanted the letters, and didn't know if they had been hidden. I also figured that Voldy might be the kind of guy who really liked to torture people or make them even more fearful by holding back - after all, he's not threatened by this Muggle at all. And I really just wanted a scene where a Muggle stands no chance, but is just doing the best that they can do to stay alive. It's a bit rushed, true, but I wasn't sure where else to go.

It was my thought that when Voldemort stunned him, he was planning to do Occlumency. Since the story follows Henry for the most part, you would not see the Order bursting in after he fell unconscious. I had hoped it was implied, but I can see now that it wasn't very clear. I'll go edit it that way, maybe with Moody filling Henry in on what happened.

I'm glad I got an emotional response! That, more than anything else, makes me feel I've succeeded as a writer.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>