Reading Reviews for The Black Parade
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Mae Paint It Black

18th June 2012:
Beautiful! There's nothing quite like the chaos and awesomeness of sibling relationships.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Hope4tomorrow7890 Paint It Black

3rd June 2008:
love the title cuzz its my fave song - and brilliant, touching story =] ur a fantastic writer!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by aks_potter Paint It Black

26th May 2008:
nice.. it gives a different perspective.. well written..

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Bama Paint It Black

1st January 2008:
.*SOBS* That was so good. I was listening to Welcome to the Black Parade the whole time on repeat. Good thing I'm an MCR-addict, eh? Well, I followed your link here from The Dark Arts and am so glad I did. I normally hate flashbacks, but these made me teary! Bravo. :]]

Author's Response: WOOT! MCR RULES! LoL. I'm very glad you enjoyed this one-shot. I believe that it is my favorite. :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by ember75 Paint It Black

8th October 2007:
Wonderful

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by rachel Paint It Black

26th September 2007:
love it! i love my chemical romance sooo much, so this story easily got my attention!

Author's Response: *SQUEE!* I love them too! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Jessi_Rose Paint It Black

25th August 2007:
I have goosebumps. No, really. I do. That was amazing! Wow, I use that word a lot to describe your fics, don't I? This was - unbelievably well contrived, written and ... everything. I'm beyond impressed - the way you wrote Sirius, Regulus, Dumbledore... how you incorporated canon and still managed to give it your own twist.. This is brilliant, absolutely remarkably brilliant. Going into my favorites, too. 10/10!! AMAZING!

Author's Response: Yay! Thank you so much! I think that this is my new favorite work. Sirius and Reggie had just been begging me to write them, and their storyline just didn't have much room in Move Along, so I gave them their own fic. (Note, while there are some things that are similar between the two fics, the two fics are not linked.) :D Thank you again!

 Report Review

Review #8, by delfy Paint It Black

9th August 2007:
i love this story! it is an awesome portrait of the Black brother - whom i honestly think are some of the most intresting characters in the H.P universe! i think you should continue you with it - rather then just leaving it as a one-shot, it could turn out to be a really touching and beautiful story... but then maybe not cause Regulus is already dead. anyways, i am muttering so yeah, thats my idea and i love ur story and all of your works! :D delfy x

Author's Response: Thank you! If I did chose to continue this, it'll be a long while. I want to finish Move Along, and then when that's done, I started another fic called the Gentlemen some time ago, and I'd like to finish it eventually too. Then I may consider expanding upon this story.

 Report Review

Review #9, by A Licorice Wand Paint It Black

5th August 2007:
Simply fantastic for so many reasons!

You portrayed Sirius fantastically, his emotions, his feelings, especially towards Remus, both guilt and fear, in a very real way. I especially loved the difference between his feelings for James and Regulus- I suppose the two brothers Sirius had. He wanted to save out of love and I suppose one he had to save, simply because he was family.

The story was also very real when set against the books. Dumbledore was perfect, especially the way he talked about the relations with his brother. The 'stupid idiot' comment reminded me of how Sirius had described Regulus in OotP. The way he wanted to be angry at him for everything but in the end couldn't. It seemed to me that Sirius forgave him in this moment, which was very touching.

I also thought the young Sirius was a lot more believable than how he's often portrayed. The way that scolds Regulus for wanting to play the muggle games, the 'Blacks don't beg' comment was just right. I liked the way Sirius rebelliousness towards his parents grew over time, it seemed a lot more believable. But also a sadness that Regulus never found that freedom, he lived his life 'making himself good enough'.

I loved Lily in this character and I noticed perhaps there was some tension between her and Sirius- the best friend/brother and the wife, I don't know if this was intended.

On the subject of Lily, the tender Remus and Lily moment that you managed to slip in, that I so nearly overlooked was perfect. It was so simple and yet affective. However the way the other Marauders were already untrusting of Remus makes the tragedy of the situation really set in.

I appolgise for the length of this and the fact that I have probably told you things you already know. I have been reading Regulus fanfiction recently hoping it would inspire me to finish the story I started on him which is in bits and pieces at the moments and this did the job. So thank you. I'm off to write, after I've checked out more of your fanfiction of course!

Author's Response: Awwww! You've just totally made my day! I LOVE long reviews, and I'm so very, very glad that you caught the Remus and Lily moment, because, really, if I ever do choose to expand this one-shot, that moment will be important, because while Sirius does not trust Remus, Lily does, so it won't be to Lily that Sirius will propose his reasons to why Peter should be the secret keeper.

The tension between the two was intended, because they both love James very much, and Lily loves Sirius as well because she knows James is useless without Sirius and vise versa. But Sirius doesn't handle Lily's love very well because he's never had someone worry about him like she does...she's sort of...adopted a mother/sister persona to Sirius and he's not always certain what to do with it because Mrs. Potter's love came with a bit of pity, and Lily's never pitied Sirius, she loves him because James does, and on top of that, she's befriended him as well.

The thing that I gave up in this story was revealing how close Sirius and Remus were. I portrayed Sirius and Regulus' relationship here instead, but part of the reason that Sirius feels so guilty for thinking that Remus is the traitor is because while James took the spot of brother, Remus took the position of best friend. (If that makes any sense...it does to me, but I'm not certain anyone else understands my reasoning...lol.)

Thanks so much for your fantastic review, and I'm very glad that I've inspired you with this. :D

Lots of Love,
Jaggy


 Report Review

Review #10, by JoJosweeti Paint It Black

30th July 2007:
holy crap i love this story! usually i dont like one-shots, but this one was great
i really really liked how Sirius had memories of his brother when he thought he was going to die, it was great!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Drucila Paint It Black

20th July 2007:
a very fitting title indeed!! loved it!! and the suspision between remus and siruis was cleverly woven, plus the flashbacks of memories of regulus added an extra touch.. brilliant work 10/10

Author's Response: Well thank you very, very much! I'm pleased that you liked it so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by WolfChild Paint It Black

17th July 2007:
Awesome Rain! Me and Kris both loved it! Spectacular, that's all we can say.

I think it could have been a little longer... with Sirius talking with James who's now awake. And talking with James about happened...

And one line bothered Kris, she wants me to mention it. It says: "He had been so angry when Regulus was sorted into Gryffindor." Regulus wasn't sorted into Gryffindor, right?

Superb job! :-D

Author's Response: Whoops. LoL. It should say Slytherin...

Thanks for the excellent review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Radcliffe_PotterFan319 Paint It Black

13th July 2007:
Wow. Absolutely amazing.

It was awesome. So well written and heartbreaking and yet beautiful at the same time. Sirius and Dumbledore were amazing and the way you wrote Reg and Sirius as children was just, wow.

Keep up the amazing work with all your writing.
Great job.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you very much! :) I'm very glad you liked it. :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by lovegoesfar Paint It Black

13th July 2007:
aw poor Regulus.

Author's Response: I know. *huggles not dead version of Reggie*

 Report Review

Review #15, by bellamy Paint It Black

13th July 2007:
I've already told you what I think, but I had to put it into writing here!
It's so good - Seriously, I think, the best writing I've ever read from you.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by sugarquillgirl90 Paint It Black

13th July 2007:
Fantastic writing! This was a wonderful story and I enjoyed reading it. You portrayed both Black brothers perfectly. It was extremely touching. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm very glad you liked it! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Marauder33 Paint It Black

13th July 2007:
That was the BEST one-shot I have ever read in my life. You mad Regulus seem so conflicted that I felt bad for him, instead of thinking he was a horrible person. Sirius still has feelings for his little brother, and it's so sad to think that they fell apart when you make the characters like this. This one-shot is going in my favorites; I love it so much! 10/10

Author's Response: Well of course he still has feelings for his little brother, he's stubborn and stupid sometimes, but he's still very much human. ;) In OotP, part of the reason he keeps calling his brother a stupid idiot is because he believes that it's his fault that Regulus died. (But Regulus was already going to die, Sirius or no.) ;)

 Report Review

Review #18, by sarahblack Paint It Black

13th July 2007:
Oh my gosh-- RAIN! I love it!

Its my favorite one-shot by a long shot! Ahahaa. Regulus was perfect, thats a good way to portray why he died! Its just... awesome.

See these adjectives? Yeah. They're for you. =]

10.

sarah

Author's Response: Thank you Sarah! I'm so glad you love it! :D

 Report Review

Review #19, by Innocences Shadow Paint It Black

13th July 2007:
that was so sad, so meaningful, so brillant and well written

Author's Response: Thank you very, very much!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Dojh167 Paint It Black

13th July 2007:
Oooh... Absolutely wonderful!

Where to begin? I loved the complicated relationship between Sirius and Regulus, you did a great job of portraying Dumbledore (a lot of writers can never really get him right), it was interesting to hear about their father, the feeling of mistrust between the characters really made the sense that they were at war strong and... yea, it was awesome.

It was a bit confusing at first, as it was unclear whose point of view it was from (because the first flashback started out more from the view of Regulus, that quite through me off) and the time period was unclear until halfway through. I didn't understand what had happened with James and Lily, but I kind of like that it wasn't explained.

This actually reminded me of my own story, with the flashbacks and everything. It was quite good, although confusing at points. I would love to read more of your work!

Author's Response: If you read closely, one of the first things that I describe about Sirius (who I left unnamed until the first flashback) is that he looks just a few years out of Hogwarts. ;)

I am so glad that you liked Dumbledore. I reread all of the Dumbledore-Harry heart-to-hearts about six times because I really wanted Dumbledore to be in character.

Lily and James were off doing their own thing for the mission that they and Sirius had been set out to do. ;) And I'd be honored if you checked out my other works.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Amz Paint It Black

13th July 2007:
Oh my god, this is really good. I really liked, would be awesome if you extended on it. I loved the little flashbacks and it was a really nice thing Reg did for Sirius. I'd like to think that because they were brothers they didn't, couldn't really hate each other. Great JOB!!!

=) I'm off to see if you've written anything else.

Author's Response: I'm really glad you liked it! And yes, Reggie did do a wonderful thing, and to his dying day, Sirius will believe that it's his fault that Regulus died. :( Poor baby.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login