Reading Reviews for To Mars and Back
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by blimey The Door?

12th June 2008:
First off, I'm in love with your title. It's perfect. *Applause, applause*

I think this could have been a little longer, or possibly had more information about why Ginny is imprisoned, but I understand that this was for a challenge about describing one thing, so I think you did very well with that considering the constraints of the challenge. Your characterization of Ginny was very good, and I liked how your ending was metaphorical. So overall, this story was wonderful. Hooray!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you like it. :)

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #2, by emerald_nellie The Door?

23rd February 2008:
Hey there!
First, I really enjoyed all your descriptions. It must be hard to take a single event and turn it into a substancial story. I think the contunied use of comparing the door to her family and friends was a truely excellent idea.
I think it's a bit unrealistic that a witch would learn something out of a movie. From what I know of the books, the don't have televisions. So maybe a novel, or even a story that someone told her, would be a little more appropriate. Seeing as it would be pretty hard escaping from a holding cell, I think maybe there could have been a longer description of what she went through to get the bolt out of the hinge.
I really loved how she realised that she wanted her old life back, even if it did give her some boundaries and restrictions because of her family.
I thought the ending really made the story. Her transition from deperessed and helpless, to optimistic and hopefull was a really nice journey. It leaves the reader happy and confidenent that everything will be alright.
There are a couple of places I think that just need a little edit. For example, there are a few places that are a bit repetitive. "No sound came through it from the other side, not even through the hairline cracks surrounding it. I pressed my cheek against it, letting its shocking coolness numb me for a moment." in this sentence, I think there are a lot of 'it's so perhaps there are places to work on like that.
But most of all, keep working on your descriptions and continue to write stories like this. It is very good for you writing to do these single event stories. They focuss on descriptions, and they are always a great thing to be able to do.
Well done, I though this was a really nice story. Keep up the good work!
Nellie

Author's Response: thank you! I'm glad you liked it. You're right, there are a lot of 'it's in that sentence. I'll go back and fix it... EVENTUALLY!! *strikes superhero pose*

But thanks for the review.

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #3, by luvinpadfoot The Door?

7th February 2008:
I didn't really understand that either (I'm a very shallow person. Sratch that, I'm not shallow, I'm just not deep.) Amazingly written. It was almost as if I was there. Good writing. 9/10

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm sorry you didn't understand it, but hey, you still liked it :)

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #4, by i_want_to_be_ginny The Door?

13th October 2007:
that was very cool!

I loved it!

Read my stories!

Author's Response: ...

 Report Review

Review #5, by juliethemuggle The Door?

30th August 2007:
Nice. Very desciptive and good plot. I liked how you made the plot clear without coming up front and saying it. Wonderful ending. Nice and fluffy. :D Well done!

Author's Response: Fluff is what I aim for. :D Thanks for the review!!

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #6, by blackthoughtsredwriting The Door?

26th August 2007:
Oh that was simply wonderful! It was most simply one of the best one-shots I have ever read before. I like how you made the comparison and contrast between the door being another obstacle in her life. I'm adding this to my favorites. =] KLeep up the good work.

Author's Response: :DD This review puts me in such a good mood. Thanks!

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #7, by Pottergirl17 The Door?

22nd August 2007:
This was a wonderful one-shot. I think that you definately succeded in your challenge. There were no other plot lines in there except the one about her excaping the prison she was in both physically and mentally. Ginny was the perfect character for this story in my opinion. It just felt right. (Just went back through the reviews and read that you were only supposed to describe one thing and one thing only (I read about that challenge), and that is something hard to do. I think you created a good story anyways whether you were able to complete it or not.)

You did a wonderful job describing her feelings and the stone wall that she was behind. I loved those bits of the story. I also liked your title as well. It doesn't give away the plot, but it still has something to do with the story.

If anything, the only CC that I would suggest to you is that you make it longer next time. More descriptions about how she felt, and what the other characters had done to let her down in her life.

Overall, a great one-shot and a nice read. =D

Author's Response: YAY. I love this review!

I ... am at a loss as to what to say. (This doesn't happen often, take down the time and date for future reference.) That's simply brilliant!

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #8, by Zacharias_Smith The Door?

12th August 2007:
This was a really well written and engaging one-shot. It could have been a bit longer and maybe more specific about some of Ginny's thoughts, go into more detail maybe, in my opinion, but it was really good and enjoyable. I loved it. ^_^

Author's Response: Al-right! Thanks for the input. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #9, by arnold. The Door?

10th August 2007:
this was a very nice story. i liked how ginny was the main character, and how she was in character. though i have one question. why is she in the stone cell room thing? maybe you should explain that soon. is she a prisoner of the death eaters or something?

i just have to say that you have a fantastic banner. the scratch texture really works for your whole story theme. who made it, because you didn't credit the graphic maker in teh summary? i really like the font for "to mars and back." anyways make sure to credit the person who made you the banner (unless you made it) because the admins are pretyt harsh about it.

okay one thing. you know how ginny thinks 'Well, it's worth a shot,' ...yeah i don't think that you need the quotation marks. put it in italics and it will probably work. so it will be like Well, it's worth a shot, I thought. yes and the end of my review. it was an overall very good read. good job.

Author's Response: *slaps forehead* Stupid me, that's a slip up on my part. Thanks for the review, and for pointing out my mistake! Oh, and she is a prisoner. That's all the developing I had done.

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #10, by LovelyMioneWeasley The Door?

22nd July 2007:
I thought you did a wonderful job and the descripation was quite entertaining. Fantastic job and you did Ginny perfectly.
Love,
Lindsey xx

Author's Response: Awww, thanks. I can always count on you to give me some loverly praise.

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #11, by searching17 (too lazy to log in) The Door?

20th July 2007:
great job! i loved your description and idea! it could've been a bit longer though! 9/10!
~Estrella

Author's Response: Thanks! I know about the lazy thing - that's why this is short.

~ Caroline

PS - you are my 200th reviewer! Congratulations.


 Report Review

Review #12, by nana_banana_xx3 The Door?

20th July 2007:
You had fun? That's good. :)

Well, here I am with my review! lol. You did a nice job, I thought. Now that I think about it, it's rather difficult to write a story about just one particular thing and with a lot of description, no matter what length it is. I liked how she thought of the door in conjunction with metamorphical barriers in her life. That was a nice way of tying things together.

Although, I would have liked to know a little bit more about why she was wherever she was. Or maybe why Ron was there. But that might have broken the rules of the challenge a little by having you discuss more than one thing. I dunno...As it is, you did a fine job m'dear. :)

nana_banana_xx3

Author's Response: Well, I hadn't gone that far. I'm glad you liked it. And as it didn't work for the challenge anyway... maybe I'll go and re-write some of it. Later. GoF awaits!

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #13, by Carrot Stix The Door?

19th July 2007:
Hmm... Not exactly fit for the challenge. You describes her feelings, the door, the ground, the torch, the sound... Alot of things. But otherwhys i good story. I asumed it was a boy so I was wondering who it was. Nice job.

Carrot Stix

Author's Response: Well, can't say I didn't try. Too bad... well, onto my next project. Read GoF, OotP, and HBP by 7:30 tonight!

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #14, by geminigirl The Door?

17th July 2007:
overall, i liked this story, i think you captured exactly what a oneshot is suposed to do, you captured the moment. One suggestion is to becareful that some sentences/idea that sound good in your head make sense on paper, i was a little confused by

"Even, sometimes, my friends. I don’t blame them, of course – they have no idea – but they do. "

so just be careful of things like that, and one thing that jumped out at me is ginny wouldnt watch movies, unless you put in that she saw a movie with hermione, but i would have profffered you said she read it in a book. personally, i think that if ginny was being held hostage by death eaters she would have been more flustered or scared or plain more emotional, but thats just my opinion

i liked the style you wrote with for this story, like i said its a great one shot, i hope that was helpful,

Author's Response: Yeah, I didn't like that sentence too much, either. And as for the movie thing, well, I had just watched Ever After, and I got the idea from that. It was originally going to be Hermione, actually, but it just didn't click like I had hoped it would, so I changed it. I guess I should go back and change that sometime. Thanks for the praise and review!

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #15, by HrXd The Door?

16th July 2007:
Okay I think that you wrote Ginny rather Oc to me, and I think that you should go back and work on her traits. Umm the beginning wasn't as dark as I would have liked it, and the description lacked what it really needed. There were several grammr mistakes. I think that you spent to much time on the door. Umm you made the chapter rather short, thus we didn't get that much detail as to the appearence that Ginny took on, that would have been nice. I also think that Ron wasn't that great of a character fro the story. I would have expanded the length of the story, given more description, and emotion to the characters and aslo some nice conversations. I would give this story about a 5.6/10 because of the things mentioned above.

Author's Response: Well, it was a descriptiveness challenge. I guess it was not enough... but I just couldn't really make it longer, I wanted it to be over. I can't really do dark well, so I give up trying. I'll maybe go back and revamp it at sometime, but I'm kinda busy lately. Thanks for all of the advice, though. I'll remember it.

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #16, by Vera_Black_Potter The Door?

16th July 2007:
LOL! I loved it. Ginny... :P!

Keep it up! 10/10

~Vera

Author's Response: Despite what people say, Ginny is NOT a Mary-Sue. I guess she just clicked with the story idea.

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #17, by JustSuper The Door?

16th July 2007:

woohoo I like this very much beta of mine.

She will go down in history as the girl who opened a door!

Like your style and I enjoyed who came for her it was a twist because most authors would have had Harry get her.

Author's Response: That's EXACTLY where I got this idea! *loves Ever After*

Yah, I'm not as big on romance as some other people. Ron could find her, too.

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #18, by KristenBlack The Door?

15th July 2007:
That was really good, I love seeing the insightful side of Ginny, she is very much my absolute favorite character. I can see her being smart liked that, most likely learning that trick from her brothers. a definte 10/10!

Author's Response: Heh. Yeah, Ginny just worked with the storyline. Glad you liked it!

~ Caroline


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login