Reading Reviews for The Magic-less Cruciatus Curse
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lana Draco's mind at Lunchtime

5th June 2011:
Oh my! It was long, it was funny, it was amazing...and it actually made me feel sorry for Draco and made me like him, even though I so do not like him. I love Ron and Hermione and I loved the way you depicted them through Draco's eyes. The nicknames he had for them were just adding to the awesomeness of this story! 10/10
Lana

 Report Review

Review #2, by Muggle born 12 Draco's mind at Lunchtime

3rd December 2009:
loved it i usually hate malfoy story though weird

Author's Response: I usually am not a fan of Draco stories either but this one was about R/Hr and Draco's feelings which just made it fun to write and I hope fun to read.

 Report Review

Review #3, by ravenclaw_girl308 Draco's mind at Lunchtime

30th September 2007:
I love the way this shows the Ron/Hermione, and the way Draco talks (or thinks/hates) it is so real 11/10 (if we could go that high)

Author's Response:
Ok I have to admitt it. I love this chapter... I mean one-shot.

The sequal is a whole beautiful chapter in From Summer to Battle: a Story of LoVe.

My main stroy which as grown longer and I will work on in between everything.

Thanks for the review


 Report Review

Review #4, by Clowee_tee Draco's mind at Lunchtime

19th September 2007:
Haha! We've become reviewing partners now haven't we lol?

Loved it, like i have all of your other works. I must say this really interested me, you picked a brilliant name for it. Very attention grabbing.

As for the one shot itself it was up to your usual high standard. I wish i could write missing moments, but i would totally contridict the books. Which you manage to never do!

These are truely inspired! Loved it as always.

Chloe

xxx

This review was requested on the forums like.

Author's Response:
Yes we have become reviewing partners; isn't this fun. Your work is of a high standard too...

and about the oneshots not contirdicting cannon....

well I work REALLY hard not to but Seamus Day Out does a bit. But I've finally managed to figure out how to work it in... so watch out for the rewrite.

My good friend and writting buddy MeNuncle helped me with the names.

Glad you loved it - I did too.

Thanks for the review


 Report Review

Review #5, by hanoverpretz01 Draco's mind at Lunchtime

15th September 2007:
hahahaha.
this made me fall over laughing. loved it

Author's Response:
I agree this story always makes me laugh.

I love it too...

Thanks for reviewing


 Report Review

Review #6, by Generally_Insane Draco's mind at Lunchtime

2nd September 2007:
This was a completely different view into Draco's head, and I really enjoyed the style. 'Scar head' and 'Weasel' are used often, but Frizzball was one I'd yet to here. I liked the names--quite funny used in the context, and I can almost see Draco using them.
Is there a specific time in HBP that this is set in?
Anyways-I didn't spot any errors, but I wasn't particularly looking ;). Like I said, it was a whole new outlook, for me, on Draco. I've never seen inside his head--and the few other times that I have, it was never in true Draco spirit. This was, so good job for that.
10.10 Anj

Author's Response:
It is set the day after Ron and Lavenders break up... Just after the snow in Charms. The nicknames are amusing.

Draco's head is a scary place but it was an enjoyable POV to explore. I hadn't seen anything like this before I wrote it either so it did make it fun.

I like that you thought it to be the Spirit of Draco...

Thank you and 10/10 WOW!!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by PadfootBlack16 Draco's mind at Lunchtime

15th August 2007:
well...this was different. It wasnt really a story i would have read on my own, and it diffenetly just isnt my type of story. But that isnt to say it isnt good.

Your descriptions are very well done. The thoughts you put through Dracos head are superb.

Though the one thing i didnt like was the length. I guess its mostly because it just wasnt my type of story though, but it just seemed to long.

other than that it was good, and ill give it a 7/10

Author's Response:
Oh I'm sorry you don't like it but glad you think it's good anyway. Different is what I was definately going for.

Getting into Draco's mind was easy... it was getting out that was the trouble.

I know it was long but Draco does think alot.

Thanks for the review and the score... Cool!


 Report Review

Review #8, by catie07 Draco's mind at Lunchtime

15th August 2007:
omg that was the best a bit disappointed it wasnt a dramione but it was good all the nicknames
i just laughed all the way through
gr8 xx

Author's Response:
LOL the best disappointment. I'm sorry dramoine didn't happen. But I'm a Ron and Hermione shipper so not in my HP universe.

This chapter... I mean one shot... does relate to From Summer to Battle: a Story of LoVe so keep an eye out.

Catie07 I laughted throughout as well.

I love this story because it one of my orginal chapters and I spent a whole lot of time on it; although it did get reworked a lot.

My friend on this site MeNuncle helped me with the names though - so I won't go taking all the credit.

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #9, by muggleotter Draco's mind at Lunchtime

14th August 2007:
i loved all the nic-names! and this is also one of the few D/H fics i like ( probaly becasue D/H dosn't happen D just wants it to happen) this was really brillant. keep up the great writting

Author's Response:
I know if you ask me... which you didn't but I'll say anyway... we don't have enough fics were Draco doesn't get what he wants.

Like longing for Hermione but realise she's off the market. D/Hr not happening is one reason I love this fic of mine.

The nicknames were VERY fun and I had help so they made me laugh even more.

Watch out for the sequal to this which will come in the form of a chapter in From Summer to Battle: a Story of LoVe.

Thanks for the review


 Report Review

Review #10, by Might Have Ben Hur Draco's mind at Lunchtime

13th August 2007:
15 pages worth!? Jeez. This was incredibly emotional and realistic. I like how you brought in other canon senarios to justify your version of Draco. I also found your references to your other fics to be entertaining as well. There were several grammatical errors though. Actually putting them in proportion with the length of this, there probably weren't that many. Honestly, I don't think it had to be that long. Some parts were overused, making the whole thing run on and on. The emotion more than makes up for it though. Spectacular. Beautiful work and thank you for yet another wonderful missing moment.

Author's Response:
Yes luv this is 15 pages long. I love that GH proved my version of Draco though. Of coursr there were grammar errors it's me.

It prob will be edited down to be a bit shorter...

No prob on the missing moment though. Just give me one and I'll run with it!

Thanks for reviewing


 Report Review

Review #11, by Might Have Ben Hur Draco's mind at Lunchtime

13th August 2007:
15 pages worth!? Jeez. This was incredibly emotional and realistic. I like how you brought in other canon senarios to justify your version of Draco. I also found your references to your other fics to be entertaining as well. There were several grammatical errors though. Actually putting them in proportion with the length of this, there probably weren't that many. Honestly, I don't think it had to be that long. Some parts were overused, making the whole thing run on and on. The emotion more than makes up for it though. Spectacular. Beautiful work and thank you for yet another wonderful missing moment.

Author's Response:
Yes luv this is 15 pages long. I love that GH proved my version of Draco though. Of coursr there were grammar errors it's me.

It prob will be edited down to be a bit shorter...

No prob on the missing moment though. Just give me one and I'll run with it!

Thanks for reviewing

I think we've done this before!!!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Might Have Ben Hur Draco's mind at Lunchtime

13th August 2007:
15 pages worth!? Jeez. This was incredibly emotional and realistic. I like how you brought in other canon senarios to justify your version of Draco. I also found your references to your other fics to be entertaining as well. There were several grammatical errors though. Actually putting them in proportion with the length of this, there probably weren't that many. Honestly, I don't think it had to be that long. Some parts were overused, making the whole thing run on and on. The emotion more than makes up for it though. Spectacular. Beautiful work and thank you for yet another wonderful missing moment.

Author's Response:
Yes luv this is 15 pages long. I love that GH proved my version of Draco though. Of coursr there were grammar errors it's me.

It prob will be edited down to be a bit shorter...

No prob on the missing moment though. Just give me one and I'll run with it!

Thanks for reviewing


 Report Review

Review #13, by rosai_gryffindor Draco's mind at Lunchtime

5th August 2007:
well i was going to say that draco hates a lot in this fic, but you said it for me in your authors notes!! haha! so i'll say something else instead, like, aw poor lonely draco, all he wants is to be friends with the gryffindor trio...and have hermione of course.
you really got into his head with this fic, i have to congratulate you on that! at first i found it hard to read with dracos names for the different people, but i got used to that. (good name choices btw, so very...draco!) i also liked how it tied into your other fics! my only critisism woud be that it was a bit too long, making it quite hard work to read (although very good) and draco repeated his thoughts quite a lot...
but apart from that, great job! :) you are very clever with picking up on missing moments and writing about them!
rose :D

Author's Response:
Believe me I didn't mean for it to go on for that long. Everything I write tie in because they come from the same place: my head! I had help with the nicknames MeMuncle is an angel creatively... I had fun with them though.


You ever get in one of those intraspective moods that everything you though kept on boiling down to the same few thing? That's why the same thoughts kept on going around his head.

I love missing moments! All my stories goes around them...

Glad you liked it!

Thanks for the review


 Report Review

Review #14, by Jessie Draco's mind at Lunchtime

28th July 2007:
Absolutely wonderful!!
Really,someone writing characters' actual thoughts is really refreshing,instead of the story going forward too fast and without real contemplation!

A'ight,now I sounded really philosophical,but can you blame me?

Will defenitively check out your other stories.

Thumbs up!!

Author's Response:
Well thanks for the encouragement... Draco is a very contempative character and I'm glad you'll check out my other stories woohoo!!!


 Report Review

Review #15, by NevillesSoulmate Draco's mind at Lunchtime

27th July 2007:
Your stories all kind of relate to each other, don't they? I thought this was very long, but very good as well. There were a few typos, but nothing you can't fix.

Author's Response:
Yes they do. They all relate to eachother because have but one mind and therefore continum to draw from... I am still Queen of the typo's.

I couldn't help this one being long Draco is long winded and hateful... like Umbridge


 Report Review

Review #16, by Snitchsista Draco's mind at Lunchtime

19th July 2007:
Sorry, meant to type . . . .

100/100!

:)

xx

Author's Response:
Typo... Like me the Queen of typo's is going to tell you off!?!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Snitchsista Draco's mind at Lunchtime

19th July 2007:
This was 'bloody brilliant!' I loved it from start to finish, and I'm not just saying that. The characterisations in it were unbelivable. I really felt as though I was hearing Draco Malfoy's voice as I was reading the story! There are so many things to pick up on, but I particuarly loved the whole Dramione aspect. Even though I don't think that this will happen, it was the most PERFECT thing to expand on, and create reasons for his shut down of pity and compassion from the end of the sixth book. I loved the fact that even though Draco is seen and portrayed to be this heartless, snobby character, you give him some depth and emotion.

I used to be incredibly incredibly silly, but I have learnt now. Writing Draco as immensely evil is wrong. It is an insult to the character, unless you can find and back up the reasons with solid excuses. (See Dracana's 'A Lust For Revenge.') Anyway, this was so amazing, honestly honestly. I didn't even realise I was nearing the end, because the explanations were gripping, and true to his character. Loved all the names for the trio, and the other people.

Unfortunately, I can't be too much longer on this review, because I have a day with a record producer, (It's so cool, I love to sing!) but anyway, this was fantastic, and it is going straight into my favourites. Hang on, wait one second . . . . about to select something from the text:

hate her chocolate eyes, I hate that I want to drown in them. I hate her hair it’s just a ball of frizz. It falls everywhere so you can’t help but notice her. Especially, when it falls around and down her back; it’s as if her hair invites the imagination to wonder what it would feel like to play with those curls or how the toffee brown would look against her bear skin.

That honestly was magical, as I knew from the start of the paragraph that Draco secretly liked her, but in a subtle, clever way. The words, 'I hate her chocolate eyes', and everything. What wonderful oxymoron usage, perfect!

Um, I was just wondering . . . .

Could you have a quick look at one of my new Draco one shots called 'The Sorting Of Draco Malfoy' as it does kind of what you've done here, but on that fateful day at Hogwarts? No wrrires if you can't, but equally, (as you :) felt with me) I would love to hear your opinion on it?

Thanks so much for writing such a great story, and speak soon!

100/1000

:)

PS- Thanks also for saying I write evil Draco well. I can't deny I love writing him like that. However, now that I've grown up, and accepted, I've realised things, so, yeah!

xx



Author's Response:
from you the don of Draco that means alot... I think this is bloody brilliant too...


 Report Review

Review #18, by MeNuncle Draco's mind at Lunchtime

19th July 2007:
I think this is brilliant- but then you know what i think because i tiold you in the e-mail but i know that you said you added things in and thought i'd take a look at the finished piece. I love this things you added, they fit in really well and it wasn't a problem about McLaggens name- you thought up most of it anyway so i couldn't possibly take credit. Thanks for all your support and friendship and also thanks for always giving me a good read without failure!

MeNuncle

PS I am online now- if you get this later then check if i'm still on (i will be on as "appear ONLINE" thanks again!

Author's Response:
The version you got was only 6,000 long - can't believe I this went on for so long - although Draco was very hateful.

It isn't hard to support a great friend like you!


 Report Review

Review #19, by nana_banana_xx3 Draco's mind at Lunchtime

18th July 2007:
Wow. That was, er, long. Not bad, just long. lol!

I really did enjoy reading it though. The Draco in this story was not too OOC (*claps*), you used those canon moments, and Ron and Hermione were adorable.

I've always thought Draco was probably filled to the brim with hate. It's been made clear by Jo that he's not exactly a happy person. This was a nice story into the mind of Draco. Although I love the idea of Draco/Hermione, I don't think Draco really has feelings for her. I love to read about it and even write some for my own enjoyment on occasion. I still like Hermione/Ron better though, so I'm glad that that is the actual pairing in this story.

The little names Draco had for different characters were great. Lanky Ponce. lmao! Wonderful job darling. The only CC I have is that sometimes things got a little bit repetitive. Like you addressed certain issues multiple times (the mead and greedy Slughorn for example). Other than that, you did a lovely job!

xx

Author's Response:
I am a TOTAL Ron and Hermione shipper. I just love the idea of the spoil brat wantig the one person he can't have.

This is the closest thing to a D/Hr I will ever write. Anyway I needed Ron and Hermione to be like that to upset Lavender for Seamus Night In.

Oh I had to keed going back to Slughorn being greedy, the Mead and the CC because this is angst and he was wollowing in self pity.

I literally can't stop myself writing directly from JK's rich cannon. I am a missing moment junkie: both reading and writing so if you like that kind of thing keep reading my fics.

Thanks for a lovely review it really makes writing worth it.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Cassidy Black Draco's mind at Lunchtime

18th July 2007:
its really good! fabtastic job!

Author's Response:
Why thank you very much I enjoyed it greatly.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Zacharias_Smith Draco's mind at Lunchtime

18th July 2007:
Wow.

I absolutely LOVE your stories and this was no exception. The thought process was so believable and in character. I am normally far from convinced by Dramiones but this was the first one that I actually genuinely enjoyed and felt was realistic.
This was mostly because you captured the monologue style so well. You never tried to make him out to be all soppy and sentimental and 'nice', but you still portrayed his heartfelt feelings - in a way that Draco might present them to himself.

I liked your use of repetition ('I hate...'), it worked well. It also worked that you started doing this, then stopped, then started again.

I loved how you brought in other fics you have written subtly as well.

Some random bits that I particularly enjoyed -

sneaking off to fish in the lake - Ahhh Draco's secret hobbies.

who else could have warned the Order about Scarhead and co going to the Ministry last year? I was in the office when Scarhead gave him that nonsense coded message. - I like how you bring in canon reasons why Draco doesn't trust Snape.

He’s being so gentle and tender not his usual self at all. Her arms are around his middle and he’s cupping her cheek with one hand so she stays in position for him. He’s speaking to her in a gentle voice so only she can hear him. - So cute! I lurve Ron/Hermione fluffiness and this made me happy, even if it didn't please Draco!

I hate Frizzball because she’s a mudblood and I’m a Malfoy. I’m a pure blood we just shouldn’t mix; we shouldn’t even be in the same school. - This passage flows very well with the right rhythm and drive pulsing through it.

my public face - I like that he recognises he has a public face and a private identity.

I hate that Weasel recognised Scarhead first and ruined what could have been a very advantageous friendship. - Very in character - he would have liked to be friends with Harry, but doesn't necessarily feel this is for sentimental reasons. It would have 'worked' better.

Only thing I can really think of to criticize is it could perhaps have survived with 1000 less words. There were some parts to the thought process that went on just a little to long or were repeated a bit too much and you risked losing originality and flow from this at times. But overall, I was surprised at how riveting a fic with no particular action/events in it could be, just a monologue!

PS: I absolutely LOVED the nicknames. Genius. And really showed how he tries to distance himself.


Author's Response:
The names well they started with Weasel and went on from there...

I thought well Draco really doesn't like anyone so he would make up names for them because why would you learn the names of the people you hate?

By the way, watch out for when Draco comes up in From Summer because this was going to be the chapter before it but it stands alone. However to 'get' the chapter you need to have read this cos there's more of the same.

I love this story too and wish it hadn't gone on for so long but I couldn't help it. I'm glad you liked the monologue stlye of this peice it took me ages to do.

Fishing is Tom Fenton's favorite hobby so I thought I'd bring it into here because it surprised me but I thought it works for him.

I can't help but bring my other fics into it because they come from the same place and in my head this is what's going on that Harry doesn't see.

I didn't need to invent a reason for Draco hating Snape because the ending of OotP made it plain why he'd hate him.

Thanks for reviewing your a star! I'm glowing with pride and happiness...


 Report Review

Review #22, by cricket89 Draco's mind at Lunchtime

18th July 2007:
I love how you've written this. It's one of the few draco/hermione stories that actually sound remotely canon. good job

Author's Response:
Why thank you. I loVe this one-shot too... Draco is so hateful its fun.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login