Reading Reviews for Eleanor Digby
  
200 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm Let It Be

12th December 2012:
OK I don't normally go for Remus/Sirius but, I have to say this story was really cute and good. I thought the way Sirius was portrayed was really different in a good way and I loved how Eleanor was such an unique character :D

Author's Response: Yay, it's great that you enjoyed the story! :D I'm especially glad that you liked how Sirius and Eleanor were portrayed. Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by TenthWeasley Let It Be

8th December 2012:
KNEW IT. Well, I confess -- I did see the slash warning that this story carried, and began having suspicions early on. And now I'm replaying all these little bits of story in my head, and everything makes so much more sense now, and I am very, very impressed that you were able to write such suspenseful confusion! I am sitting here in my bed now just processing this story. And I think I'll miss it, you know, though I've just finished it. I really enjoyed this!

Eleanor, from the very start, was likeable -- and I think the thing that made her that way was because to a degree, she didn't like herself. And it's so much easier to see yourself in someone so imperfect, because as human beings we are essentially created to be imperfect. She doubts herself, she doesn't have a great outlook on her personal appearance, and everyone has days like that. I'm so, so glad you wrote her. So many people avoid writing Mary Sue-esque characters (as people seem to think Mary Sue is symbolic with the bubonic plague, apparently), but yours is the first character I've seen go one step further and not just become not-Mary-Sue, but real. She doesn't get the guy; how often is that story played out upon the real world?

But in a way, she needed Sirius, even if he didn't fall in love with her in the end. Sirius showed her things about herself she didn't think were possible. I loved all your Marauders in this! It's easy to fall into traps when writing them, but you avoided them all: Your James actually sounds like someone who could be Harry's dad, and your Remus is so in canon with how we see him later. Sirius isn't a playboy and I cannot thank you enough for that! And I think the one I liked most of all was Peter, because you did something so, so many people fail to do: You made him human. Knowing how he betrays Lily and James, and knowing his sniveling sort of personality from his older canon self, it's so easy to write him in a poor, pathetic light it's almost sickening. And that's something I know pretty darn well, if I may say so myself. So I loved what you did with him here. And even knowing what he becomes, I hope he and Eleanor work something out between the pair of them. (Cruel, Susan, to hint at it and end the story so quickly!)

I seriously enjoyed this story so much. It caught my eye because of the title -- I'm a massive Beatles fan -- but I stayed because the story was just great. In six chapters, you've hooked me in as some people couldn't do in sixty. This is why I am such a huge fan of your stories: They're so different, so versatile, but always so, so good.

Brilliant job, and thank you for writing this -- I'm so glad I read it! And I'm sure I'll be back before too long, reading another of your stories, because it's hard to stay away! ♥

Author's Response: The slash warning does rather give it away, though the gossip in one of the middle chapters could be enough to account for it. Haha, it's one of those stories that forces readers to go back and seek out the clues - it's something I've done in later stories too, and it's always fun to see how readers react to these kind of plots. It's one of the reasons why I prefer to start writing a story only once I know how it's going to end - I need that definite knowledge of where I'm going so that I can scatter clues and properly foreshadow on my way there. And somehow, it works. :D

Eleanor is likely the best OC I've ever written because she is very normal, more like some reader caught up in a story than an actual character who belongs in the story. :P It was easier than I expected to write her, and now that I think of it, I miss writing someone like her because she's just so honest and transparent, forever that wallflower type who haunts stories, but rarely takes the spotlight, except to transform into some butterfly. But Eleanor doesn't do that, which is what I like about her - she's still Eleanor at the end. She's less naive and probably a better person, but she hasn't changed who she is, not for Sirius or for anyone else. I'm really glad that you like her - it means a lot that you found her likeable and realistic. That's just the kind of feeling I wanted readers to have about her. ^_^

This story was meant to go against all the popular cliches of Marauder fanfiction. By the time I'd written this, I'd had enough of all the silly Sirius/OC cliches as well as the more general romantic comedy cliches. Not only are those cliches unrealistic, but they're also unsatisfying after a while. What I like doing with Marauder-era stories is making the characters as human as possible. So while Sirius does have this rebellious attitude and is fairly worldly, he's not a total playboy - that's something that his fangirls have given him (both those within the story and those who write the stories :P). The same goes for the portrayals of all Marauder-era characters, and it's happening now to the Next-Gens as well (which is why I wrote "Winner Takes All"). It's wonderful to hear that I was successful in this project - the characters are important to me, more so than the plot, and making them into fully-formed (or nearly so) people is my goal with every story I write.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this story! I'm very happy that you enjoyed reading it. :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by MazK Here, There and Everywhere

20th May 2012:
I love it! Absolutely fabulous so far!

Author's Response: That's great to hear! Thank you very much! :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by maskedmuggle Let It Be

29th April 2012:
Hey!

I know this is definitely one of your older stories, but I was just looking for something short (but not a one-shot) to read and came across this :P I really liked this - Marauders is always one of my favourite eras and I just really liked your writing in this. It was really great and made it super enjoyable to read. I liked Eleanor - her character is quite different to the typical girls Sirius would usually go out with.

I must admit I was pretty slow and didn't really pick up on any hints until I got to James and Peter's conversation with Eleanor, but I did like the ending! :) Although at the beginning I was kind of rooting for Sirius/Eleanor to work, I think the way you ended up was definitely better! Anyway, this was an enjoyable story to read, and I really hope I have time to read other things of yours, especially your newer stories! :)

Author's Response: Wow, I'm so glad that you stopped by to read this story! It's nice to write something short, but that isn't a one-shot, too - long stories can be just so tiring sometimes, not to mention hard to keep up (and it's the same for readers - I always lose a tonne by the time I finish writing a novel). It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed this story, though - I really appreciate the compliment! ^_^

The hints are pretty subtle and many of them just sound like those rumours that go about high schools regarding over-close friendships. The focus on Eleanor's thoughts throughout this story makes it a lot harder to pick up on the hints, too. It was wonderful to end a Marauder-era story with Peter in a positive position, and I'm happy that you liked the ending. It certainly shocked some people when I first posted it. XD

Thanks again! I hope that you enjoy the newer stories as much as you did this one. :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by deluminator Let It Be

15th January 2012:
A brilliant final chapter and- I hope this makes sense- I think you wrapped up things nicely by leaving the end open.

After finishing this chapter I found myself pondering what may be next for Eleanor Digby. Perhaps she ends up with Pettigrew for a little while? He seems to be very much into her and I am sure she now realises that she and Sirius are not a perfect match!

All in all, this story was such a pleasure to read.

Author's Response: That makes a lot of sense, actually, in an odd way, but all the same, it does. :D It's the feeling I was hoping to leave off with - giving closure while also gesturing toward how the story will continue. In a way, there is more than enough room for a sequel, but what's coming for any story of that era would be much darker and far more depressing. That'd be the major hitch in writing more about Eleanor and Peter. He does like her, although I can't be sure how much - unlike Sirius, however, I have a feeling that Peter respects her more and feels more of a sympathetic connection. They're birds of a feather in many ways. :)

Thank you again for your wonderful reviews! It's been great to revisit this story through someone else's eyes and I've enjoyed reading through your thoughts and reactions. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #6, by deluminator Got To Get You Into My Life

13th January 2012:
My favourite chapter.

I just loved reading everything that went on around Eleanor, everything that passed through her mind and all the feelings that she felt. Sure, she is insecure and naive but it is all rather endearing and I am so fond of her so I do hope she comes out of all of this for the better.

Author's Response: Your favourite! :D That's fantastic to hear - some previous reviewers found this a more confusing chapter, so hearing positive feedback on it is wonderful news, certainly relieving news to hear. It's very much internal, and that could be why some felt it less clear - Eleanor is very confused herself at this point, and I hoped to convey that in this chapter as well as the way that she is, like you said, overwhelmed by all of the things going on around her. She's been sucked into something larger than herself, something that she doesn't even understand, and that proves to make things difficult for her.

Thank you so much for your wonderful reviews and for your support of Eleanor. I'm really glad that you like her! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #7, by deluminator Hello, Goodbye

13th January 2012:
I really enjoyed this chapter.

It is incredibly brilliant to read a story that is not only well written and thoroughly enjoyable but to also have a main character that is not perfect in the classical sense, not even remotely, is great. I think Eleanor is perfectly imperfect.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It's fantastic that you've enjoyed this story so much and for those reasons. It means a lot that Eleanor is a perfect OC, even with all her imperfections - or in fact because of them! It was a great experience to create such a character, especially after having read so many Marauder/OC stories where the girls are perfect in the wrong way, losing their realism. I like to think of Eleanor as more of an average person, even the average teenaged girl. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by deluminator The Fool on the Hill

11th January 2012:
I like that you let the characters develop and communicate on their own, with their thoughts and actions. It makes the story all the more engaging.

I am also liking the subtle (and not so subtle) hints to something between Sirius and Remus. Cannot wait to see how things turn out!

Author's Response: That's a wonderful compliment! It's just what I try to do - it makes it a lot easier to let the story and characters take their own path. At the very least, it gives the appearance of natural behaviour - even contradictions can be realistic because no person is straight-forward and easily categorized. It means a lot that you find the story and its characters engaging!

Haha, you've caught the hints far faster the most readers did. XD It does add an element of suspense/doubt to the story, and on my end, it added a lot of fun to the writing process.

Thank you very much for your reviews! I look forward to seeing your reactions to the final few chapters! :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by deluminator Here, There and Everywhere

9th January 2012:
Solid second chapter. I am thoroughly enjoying this story.

Your characterisation of Eleanor is brilliant. The thoughts that pass through her mind are an entertaining read and I think she is a realistic potrayal of a naive teenage girl. I know there is so much more to her than that (and I cannot wait until it shows) but in her current situation she just seems so naive.

Author's Response: Thank you! This was an odd chapter to write, I guess because the whole scene with Sirius made me very uncomfortable - I can't even imagine what it must have been like for Eleanor. It's wonderful to hear that Eleanor is a realistic character - I wanted her to be just that, rather than the usual OC I was coming across at the time. She's average, though most of the problem is that she makes herself that way. There is a lot more to her, but she spends so much time repressing it and denying it that it's hard to grasp just what it is.

And she is also naive, mostly when it comes to social situations and especially when it comes to romance. She never loves Sirius, but she does have a serious crush on him (a cliched thing, actually, the unpopular girl crushing on the popular boy). He does, however, teach her a lot. ;)


 Report Review

Review #10, by deluminator Norwegian Wood

8th January 2012:
I love The Beatles (really though, who doesn't?) and Eleanor Rigby is definitely a favourite so there was no way I could come across this story and not proceed to read it immediately.

This chapter is a brilliant first chapter and I was enthralled from the very beginning and all the way through to the very end.

I came for the title and stayed for the incredibly well-written and engaging story.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! It's great to see people reading this story again - it's old, but dear, mostly because it's different from most other things I've done (not to mention that my plan for it worked, I finished it, and I do like the ending :P). It means a lot that you chose this story to read and review! I hope that you enjoy the rest of the story, too. :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by shadowcat2 Here, There and Everywhere

25th December 2011:
most of your stories that i have read is very serious (and so not about sirius. ignore my lameness. :P). i am loving this story so far. i just hope Sirius's intentions are not bad and Eleanor doesn't get hurt.

Author's Response: lol, it's true! Even the stories about Sirius are pretty serious, but this one... I wanted to mock the popularity of the Sirius/OC story, especially the cliched ones, so I went all out with this. It was a lot of fun to write, though. :D

It's great to hear that you're enjoying it so far! I won't give away anything about Sirius's motives and Eleanor's fate, but it will certainly get interesting. ;) Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Eleanor Digby Norwegian Wood

23rd July 2011:
Well, like one of your other reviewers I read this out of interest as I share the same name! My married name is now Eleanor Digby (look me up on Facebook for proof, based in the Northamptonshire UK). Still a novelty, for me, being teased at having a name similar to the Beatles song, but know that after a while it will become tiresome! Loved reading about this character, nice to have someone admire Sirius Black, who in MHO is a highly under rated character! Well done indeed.
Eleanor Digby xx

Author's Response: Do you? That's a very strange coincidence - I never imagined anyone actually having that name when I came up with this story, but it's even more interesting that you were teased about the Beatles song. I'm sure that it became tiresome quickly to hear that from people.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review this story! It was wonderful to hear from you! :D


 Report Review

Review #13, by Debra20 Let It Be

15th July 2011:
WOW! I WASN'T expecting that, even though, now that I think about it, from the beginning, everything was building to reach this point. There were these tiny details here and there that could very well signal this kind of ending.

I absolutely loved it! So different from the rest. Even Peter has a shred of hope. Looking back, I think that he might have liked her for some time. The way you described his words and actions when in her presence, make it clear, to me at least, that he was interested in her from earlier on, and was not happy or approving of Sirius' relationship with her. I am very glad that you have given him some sort or ending too, possibly a happy ending. He is really disregarded in most Marauders stories.

If all your stories end like this, I might read them all :D. Seriously, it was a brilliant idea! You handled the possibility of a relationship between Lupin and Sirius very well, never giving away too much, always maintaining it vague, just enough to make readers wonder if that would indeed be the reason behind all those rumours, AND keeping them in character. Even now I'm not sure if they do have something going on :))

Congratulations!

Author's Response: Haha, It's great to have surprised you with the ending, though it's equally great that you were able to trace back the clues. Writing this was oddly like writing a mystery because I knew what I wanted "the trick" to be in the end, and just had to build up to that point slowly, giving hints, but never giving it away (I actually do this a lot, when I think about it, very strange).

You loved it! *squees* That means a lot - it was quite a risk to take with a Sirius/OC story because it's very unconventional and just the thing to anger/frustrate the hardcore OC-shippers. Peter certainly does have hope now that Sirius is out of the way. Ellie was blinded by Sirius's charms, but Peter smartly waited things out, knowing what the outcome would be, and hoping that Eleanor would turn to him in the end. I imagine Peter have a stricter moral centre, but he's too quiet to actually say anything, especially in front of his friends because he'd be worried about angering them - it makes him appear weak, but it's more shyness and a lack of pushiness. But it does make him perfect for Eleanor, and I'd like to think that they had some sort of happiness for a little while. ^_^

Read them all? Well, I don't think they all end like this. With a twist, certainly, but not always with a happy one - rarely happy, actually. Thank you very much for the lovely compliments! It's wonderful that you enjoyed this story! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by Debra20 Hello, Goodbye

12th July 2011:
Even though you say this chapter might be mistaken for a filler, due to lack of plot, I didn't feel it that way. We got to see more of Eleanor's emotions, and that's always enjoyable. The way she doubts Sirius, and the rumours following him, and how she doubts herself! I'd bet she's actually prettier than she thinks she is. I wish she'd have more confidence in her looks and personality.

And Sirius and Remus. WHY is everyone talking like there was something going on between them. I imagine this story is written somewhere around the time when they are practising to become Animagi for Lupin. If it's not that, that I have nooo idea what the truth is. The mysterious tone you keep writing with is perfect! It fits Sirius stories, especially this one, so well.

I love the fact that Lily perceived Sirius for more than the mischievous, good looking prankster everyone knew. This detail in particular explains why would Sirius become Harry's godfather later on. She must have known he was kind, despite his show-offs and Snape mistreating.

Author's Response: Yes, exactly! It's the kind of chapter that I love to write because it explores character psychological rather than just providing another event in the plot line. Because I wasn't planning on making this story very long, I felt the need to get into Ellie's head more closely in at least one chapter so that readers could understand her better and see her situation more clearly. It helped me a lot to dig deeper into her character, at the very least. ;)

That they were practising to be Animagi actually works as an excuse for their behaviour - very good guess, probably one the best that I've gotten for this story. But you'll see - I hope that the real solution doesn't disappoint.

Lily's a sharp one, I imagine, and since she could see past James's good looks, I liked to think that she could do the same with Sirius, only she found something very different than pureblood arrogance. Ah! Now you've caught me out thinking Sirily again. Must stop this. *runs away*

Thank you again for leaving such a lovely review! It's nicer than I thought to revisit these old stories - at least you're reading the good ones, and not the scary bad ones that I would feel guilty removing, but really wish that I had long ago. :P This story is one that I'm more proud of, and it means a lot that you're enjoying it. :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by Debra20 The Fool on the Hill

12th July 2011:
Oh wow, why does it always happen to stumble upon conversations you weren't supposed to be hearing?

This chapter was fun to read! It's great we got to see Lupin and especially Peter, whom some authors inexplicably forget to add when writing Marauder stories hehe

Author's Response: It's fate. It has to be. :P Like whenever you're talking about a person, and they magically appear behind you? It's impossible, but it always seems to happen because of Murphy's Law, I guess.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed this chapter! I had fun writing the Marauders in this story, and it means a lot that you liked their portrayals here. ^_^ Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Debra20 Here, There and Everywhere

6th July 2011:
I'm loving this more and more, by the minute!

'He seemed to laugh at almost everything, especially the topics that were supposed to be sombre in nature' - this made my stomach lurch. How tragically different he is now than when we meet him in PoA, GoF and OoTP, with his gaunt face and almost bitter expression. When reading this, I had to stop because an image of a mirror sprang into my imagination. I saw Sirius's old self looking into the mirror with an almost helpless expression, but the image he saw reflected was that of his younger self, full of life, laughing. That really pained me :(

'He knew how to laugh, but there was always the little bit of darkness in his eyes that made the laughter seem so distant, so unreal' -OHH this is such a wonderful phrase. It's pure genius! I find the way you balanced his personality traits really well weighted. He gives the impression of a player, but the hints you provide here and there, that that isn't everything about him, makes one wonder what else could he be hiding underneath his shell. I can't possibly imagine him being the frivolous type everyone considers him to be.

Can't wait to read on!

Author's Response: It is very sad to think of what Sirius must have been like before everything went wrong in the war. I remember in the books, it was mentioned that in the Potters' wedding photo, that he was laughing, so I think that triggered this aspect of my characterization of Sirius. Usually, I write him in a darker light, but I didn't here partially to suit the genre that I was mocking, but also because a dark Sirius wouldn't attract Ellie in the same way. She may lean a little toward the bad boy image, but not the tortured soul type. I like to think that she'd love Sirius for being so light-hearted and happy - even if it isn't the case beneath the surface (but she wouldn't know that it was surface, not until she got to know him better).

I love the idea of making characters two-sided, which is how most people are in real life (if not more-sided, depending). How people put up a facade behind which they hide their more honest selves - Sirius makes a great character for this, and I'm glad to hear that you like that play with his character in this story. :D

Thank you again for a wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Debra20 Norwegian Wood

6th July 2011:
I think I already love Eleanor! Even though her character gives hints of low self-esteem, it doesn't feel pushed at all! She is very believable, in her acts and thoughts.

I'm already tremendously curious to know why Sirius needed her, and did not chose anyone else for his 'request'. I hope it's explained later on. I can already feel awesomeness at how this little 'game' of theirs will progress :D

Author's Response: Thank you! It's fantastic to hear that you like Ellie - she was a sweet OC to write, very realistic and refreshing from what I'd written and read before. I tried to imagine as best as I could what a girl of that age would think and feel in these situations, and I'm really glad to hear that it worked. :D

It will definitely be explained later on. *evil laugh* Though there are hints throughout - we'll see if you catch onto them. :P

Again, thank you very much for reading and reviewing! It's much appreciated! :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by icegreen89 Let It Be

21st June 2011:
It's well past 3.30 AM and I'm up just to read this. It's very, very well done. Really great.

Author's Response: Really? Although it's not good that you stayed up so late to read this, I'm really glad that you liked the story enough to do so. :P It's a wonderful compliment, and I appreciate it and the fact that you reviewed. Thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #19, by Eleanor C. Norwegian Wood

3rd November 2010:
Yea, I'm not kidding, my name is Eleanor. And I've gone by the nickname Ellie forever (well for as long as I've been alive anyways). I will admit I started to read this because of the name. I plan on reading the rest, but I just wanted to tell you that I know exactly how she feels. The minute that my friends find out my full name they say "rigby" or "roosevelt". I actually had a friend (who's last name is titman by the way) who yells out "ELEANOR RIGBY!" Whenever he sees me. Although, he's like a big brother so I can't yell at him lol.

Author's Response: lol, this is awesome! Finding a real Ellie! :D It's great to know that the name still makes people think of the Beatles song. Thank you very much for letting me know!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Pygmy Puff Let It Be

16th September 2010:
Aaaw... I love the whole thing... really sweet. The last few lyrics at the end were really... heart felt... I LOVE IT.

So sweet. Ellie's such an interesting character.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story, its ending, and its heroine. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #21, by Nadia Let It Be

8th September 2010:
Hi there!

I just can't leave this story without a review.
At the beginning I want to warn you that English isn't my native language, so I probably will make few (or more) mistakes, grammatical or just use words incorrect - then just try to find a synonym which fits. And forgive me ^^.
I'm writing it during the story, not after, by the way.
Okay, you are officially warned ^^.
The first thing which makes me think is that at the beginning it seems to me that they barely know each other (especially with her prejudice), but this kind of, ehm, favor... They have to be someone more than just a classmates. Maybe not best friends, but you know, no one that scared of people like her wouldn't let anyone like Sirius get to her that easy, even if she - kind of - fancies him. She obviously has a problem with trusting other people (especially popular ones).
Second thing: this is the 70's. Great Britain. Stiff people. And you have to remember that even though Sirius wasn't like his family, he was aristocrat. Hs parents brought him up in an aristocratic way. And behavior like this (kissing in front of everyone, especially pushing someone against the wall) was something unacceptable. For aristocrats and, I think, also for other British people. But I'm not an expert, it's just a feeling.
"It was cruel and unusual punishments to have placed the kitchens so far away from Gryffindor tower while the Slytherins and Hufflepuffs - definitely less deserving - had their Common Rooms so close." Definitely less deserving and definitely not-knowing :P. This whole secret-passageways thing was, as I wrote, secret. The Marauders' secret. I can believe that there were some people, important for Marauders like for example Ellie now, but she thought that like everyone knew. And obviously from books - they didn't.
Okay, that moment with "I was thinking but don't remember about what I was thinking, but it was something about Sirius" in Sirius' presence was false (fake?, God, I don't know if any of it is correct xD). She knows what she thinks about Sirius and - for sure - she doesn't want him to know that she thinks of him too much. Or in oh-I-am-so-in-love-and-I-don't-know-what-to-do way. It would be just too awkward for her. She wouldn't admit that she was thinking about him. She is shy, self-contained and so unsure of herself.
...
Oh Merlin, I'm speechless. Or maybe writeless.
This is NOT what I was expecting. But... I think that's good. Really, this ain't story for romantic ones :P. God, I still don't know what to think. The ending is certainly the strongest point of the story. Including this moment with Peter after, hmm, that. I was still confused and it was really strange... Yay, the ending - good one. I forgot about few things I wanted to write and I have the impression that it doesn't matter, so I just leave it. Huh, you've got me :P.
Okay, I'm done with review. It become too hard xD.

I was wondering, if you can recommend me something. But, sorry - not like this :D. I don't regret reading it - of course I'm not! But I want to read something, well, which Is not that confusing xD. Funny parts, romantic parts, other parts, but easy ones xD. I saw that you have a lot of favourite stories, so maybe pick about five (less, more), the favourite ones ^^. If you have a time and will, of course.
Thanks for reading and for surprising me - it really doesn't happen often :D.

Greetings!,
Nadia

Author's Response: Thanks very much for reading and reviewing, Nadia! Your English is very good - you don't have to worry at all about how well it sounds. :)

You've pointed out some important aspects of the story. I was rushing through the beginning of the story, mostly because I wanted it to be very short - originally, it was only meant to be 4 chapters, but even that ended up being too short - and partially because I was so excited about my idea for the ending. Then what you said about the Marauder's knowledge of secret passages is entirely true - I've never been able to understand just how much others knew about what the Marauders were up to, even if they knew about the nicknames. It's so hard to write this era for that reason.

As for Eleanor being constrained, I don't know - Sirius definitely reveals to her a new side of herself, and she was always too socially awkward to fully realize just what was "proper" and what wasn't. And she knows that her physical relationship with Sirius is scandalous - it's part of the attraction for her, that she can have what she believes the other girls to have already had. In some ways, though, this story is meant to be a parody of Marauder-era stories - leading readers through the common conventions of teen romance, whether it be realistic or not. That's where the ending comes in as a surprise - even you were shocked! :D I'm glad that you were, though, as that's just what I wanted readers to feel. It was so much fun to write that part, knowing what effect it would have on both readers and Eleanor. Then adding Peter in at the end entirely overturns the conventions of Marauder-era stories, as he's always left out. ;)


 Report Review

Review #22, by MaraudersForever101 Let It Be

29th April 2010:
Wow. This story was absolutely brilliant. I loved it... just wow.

With the hints, I got most of them, but didn't really process it until the end. Like how the girls were gossiping in the library, I got that and what it was foreshadowing. But, how Remus was kind of always guiding him, or something (with all the firm hands on Sirius's shoulder), that I was just confused about. Now that I've read this chapter, though, it all makes sense.

I felt bad for Eleanor when she went up to the dormitory and found out, but then she had Peter. I really liked that part. It makes me wonder, if Peter ever found someone who he loved that loved him, too, if he would've become a traitor. I guess no one will ever know, but it makes a nice thought.

Well, I, without a doubt, loved this story. So... 10/10

Author's Response: Wow. This review is amazing! Because it's been a while since I wrote this story, it's surprising to still receive a review, especially one like yours. The hint with the girls was one that some readers actually skipped over, thinking it to be just a rumour, not real. The other things with Remus could have only been friendship, or one-sided affection, so those clues were more subtle (and possibly some readers thought them misleading :P).

It's great that you liked that part with Peter at the end, as that was the "crown" of this story, in which I really wanted to rebel against the cliches of the Marauder story. It'd be nice to think that, just maybe, Peter could have been "saved" from what happened.

Anyway, thank you very much for this review! It definitely made my day. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #23, by Anonymous Let It Be

10th November 2009:
I very much liked this story (:
A very good way to capture Siriuses (grammar?) personality.
ALSO; It's Beatles songs for every chapter, what could be better?

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! :D

It was interesting writing Sirius - I've always wanted to write him in a comical story, as it seems to suit his personality quite well. And how can one resist using Beatles songs? :P


 Report Review

Review #24, by tovsy Let It Be

17th September 2009:
That was brilliant. Wonderfully written. Loved it.
I also love how you portray Peter, too. He's actually a Marauder and you make the reader almost like him as a character. That, is some achievement. Three thumbs up!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It's fantastic that you enjoyed this story! :D It was a great one to write, trying to mess with all the cliches of Marauder stories and make readers see those cliches in a different light. Making Peter a sympathetic and significant character was foremost on my list of things to do with this story. He's so often neglected and treated horribly, yet he was a Marauder, too (no matter what he did afterward). :D

 Report Review

Review #25, by Reeses Here, There and Everywhere

24th August 2009:
LOL. The last line is so epic XD

Also; I hate Sirius now. ): Because I have no idea whether he's using her not. This is the sign of a good writer, I suppose, because I feel the exactly the same was as Eleanor does.

Author's Response: One must always poke fun at Shakespeare. :P

That's perfect, yes! ^_^ I was trying to bring the narration into Eleanor's head, which would likewise bring the reader into Eleanor's head. If that makes sense at all. Anyway, I'm glad that you're feeling the same way she is - that's the response I was hoping for from readers. :D

Thank you again for the review! I hope you enjoy the rest of the story!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>