14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Alopex A Day in the life of Moaning Myrtle

12th February 2009:
You know, I've often wanted to read a story about Moaning Myrtle, but this is the first one I actually have read. I've never actively gone looking for one either, though.

For the most part, I thought it was quite good, and I could really picture it. However, I thought the "I'll just think about my death some more" was somewhat overdone. You have Myrtle think that several times. It seems like an odd thought to have even once, although obviously Myrtle spent a lot of time thinking of her death. Other than that, however, I think you captured her voice well.

An off-topic thought that occured to me: In this story you refer to Myrtle mentioning that sometimes she gets flushed into the lake. I've wondered about it before, but I was grossed out anew by the idea of raw sewage floating in the lake. Surely they don't really flush all the toilets into the lake? Maybe just Myrtle's; or maybe there's a spell to clean it up?

Author's Response: I haven't actually seen many Moaning Myrtle fics around and this idea just popped into my head one day and I thought it would b interesting to write something from her POV.

It's funny that you didn't like the 'thinking about her death' parts, as I always got the impression from the books it was something she did do quite a lot, hence why I portrayed her that way. I guess it all has to do with different perceptions. I'm glad you thought I caught her voice well other than that though.

You know, I never thought about the sewerage in the lake either. That really is kind of gross. I suppose the sewerage must go somewhere though. I think it is totally viable that there is some sort of spell to manage it.

Thanks for your review.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Puddles_566 A Day in the life of Moaning Myrtle

26th October 2008:
Wow...That was truley interesting. I have never read anything like that... And by the way I fixed the mistakes I had...Thanks again for pointing them out... =)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, I always like to try different ideas with my writing. And I'm glad I could help with your fic :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pegasus1979 A Day in the life of Moaning Myrtle

26th October 2008:
I really like the idea for this story, but I'm not sure you've quite pulled it off. It seems a bit dis-jointed. It doesn't flow very well.
It's almost like you just wanted to get as much as possible into the story from the books and it goes a bit all over the place.
If it's from Myrtle's point of view, maybe a bit more descriptive writing would be good. Like, yes, you've said she doesn't like being flushed down to the lake, but why not? What does she go through? What's so bad about it?
I hope that makes sense, and think that this, with possibly a little more padding out beyond what is in the books, has the potential to be a really good and amusing one-shot.

Author's Response: I'm not surprised that you thought it didn't flow well and that you thought it was a bit rushed, as this was one of the first fanfiction pieces I ever wrote and my writing style hadn't really developed much then. Thank you so much for all your suggestions, even if I never go back and edit this story, I will definitely keep those suggetions in mind when writing other stories. Thanks so much for taking the time to review.

 Report Review

Review #4, by dracoslover1 A Day in the life of Moaning Myrtle

13th October 2008:
Good story. I like how you took the weepy Myrtle that we know and made her a human being who has passed away. I especially liked the part where she said she liked the Ravenclaw prefect. It made me giggle. Your descripitions are great.

Author's Response: Myrtle isn't a character many fanfic writers write about, so I thought it would be interesting to explore her as a person (or should I say ghost). I'm glad you liked the part about the prefect, I thought it would be typical of Myrtle lol. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #5, by FanofCards25 A Day in the life of Moaning Myrtle

12th October 2008:
The story was kind of flighty ... but so is Myrtle. I only saw a grammar mistake or two ... other than that it was written well. Keep up the good work ... and happy writing! 10/10

Author's Response: This was one of the first fanfics I wrote, so I'm not surprised if there were a couple of mistakes and if it was perhaps not quite so well written as my later fics. I'm glad you still enjoyed it. Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #6, by CheleCooke A Day in the life of Moaning Myrtle

7th October 2008:
THIS IS AWESOME!

I've never seen anyone write about Myrtle in a convincing way, and you've really nailed it. Like your other fics I've read, it's fun and easy to read.

I love that you seem to pick the ideas that others don't. I actually have a challenge in the Forums called 'The HP Chapter Challenge' - I think you'd write some amazing pieces to some of the ideas in there.

CheleCooke

Author's Response: Thank-you so much! I thought it would be interesting writing something from Myrtle's POV. As you can see from my other fics I like to write things that are different to the norm. I find it interesting exploring characters or situations that may not have been explored before.

Your challenge sounds interesting, I just wish I had the time to enter, but I already have two WIPs to finish and another story in the works!


 Report Review

Review #7, by MyronWin A Day in the life of Moaning Myrtle

6th November 2007:
Another fine example of...expanding on minor characters (I almost said "fleshing out," but that wouldn't be right as Myrtle's a ghost and has no flesh). And another example of the fine writing I have found while reading your stories. I think I saw a minor error (thank goodness she is not perfect...) when 7 paragraphs from the end, Penelope says "Well Penelope is a prefect, too." Shouldn't that be Percy? (At last a boo-boo. Maybe I can submit something here..)
Sorry, did not mean to dwell upon it. It did in no way affect my enjoyment of your story. I liked how we could tell when it occurred by what was said and what happened in the story rather than being blatant bout it. But then, couldn't someone else have thrown a book through her? Keep up the great work and I'll keep reading it. I won't go so fast as I do not want to run out of your stories to read. Thank you for your story.

Author's Response: Thank-you again for another review. In response to the line: "Well Penelope is a prefect, too.", it wasn't Penelope speaking, it was one of her friends remarking on the fact that Penelope is a prefect as well as Percy. Sorry if that wasn't really clear. And don't worry I do make mistakes from time to time, even though I tend to be a bit of a perfectionist lol. And you should totally submit something here!

It was Ginny who threw the book, so I'm glad you were able to pick up on that subtle detail.

I'm glad you continue to enjoy my writing. You'll be nearly up to reading my novella soon lol. I try to update fairly regularly on all my WIPs, and every now and then I submit a one shot in between, so hopefully you won't run out of anything to read. :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Book077 A Day in the life of Moaning Myrtle

27th October 2007:
That was filled with awesomeness!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your 'awesome' review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by JuicyJuice A Day in the life of Moaning Myrtle

4th October 2007:
This was cute. Very simple and a bit nasty, like Myrtle...but it did make me feel sorry for her. I liked the details you added, like the wedding cake, and how she once asked that boy out and then at the end when (I assume) Ginny threw the book into the toilet...Very characteristic of Myrtle over all. Nice job! Poor Myrtle...

Author's Response: Thanks so much :)

I'm glad you liked my characterisation of Myrtle, she's an interesting character. And yes, it was Ginny who threw the book/diary into the toilet.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Novadestin A Day in the life of Moaning Myrtle

30th September 2007:
lol silly Myrtle xD good job

Author's Response: Thanks for the review ;)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Count Baker A Day in the life of Moaning Myrtle

28th September 2007:
That was fun!

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #12, by emi potter A Day in the life of Moaning Myrtle

20th September 2007:
ooo she is miserable living her death in that toilet this is set in CoS isnt it? i thought this was a great idea to show how myrtle lives her days
10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. Yeah she was very miserable. This idea just came to me one day and I just had to write it down. I find it's interesting exploring minor characters.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Falco Peregrine A Day in the life of Moaning Myrtle

28th August 2007:
A very nice bit of light reading. I think your portrail of Myrtle is right on.

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Sarchale A Day in the life of Moaning Myrtle

29th July 2007:
Lol.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login