Reading Reviews for From: Krakow, To: Home
  
167 Reviews Found

Review #1, by You Know Who June 1941; Part I

20th August 2009:
Mazel Tav, She shall learn!!

Author's Response: Indeed, she shall ;D

 Report Review

Review #2, by You Know Who February 1941; Part III

20th August 2009:
I'm proud of you for knowing about this. Since I'm Jewish and has some personal connections I want to know as much as I can. I reconmend these following books:
In Hitlers Shadow
Jewish Literacy
The White Rose Pamphlets.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks. I have a friend in college who is also Jewish, and I'm minoring in religion, with concentration in Judaic studies now. ;D I'll take those recommendations down! Thanks so much for the time to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Nava June 1941; Part I

18th August 2009:
Please please PLEASE write some more. This is a moving tale, considering that I made the connection between the Harry Potter war and World War Two a while ago. I enjoy this story immensly, so please continue writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Nava! I hope to have this finished this summer, things have just been going so busy I haven't had the time nor muse, but little Minka can't wait for too long in her journey! Thank you for the time!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Labby April 1941; Part I

30th May 2008:
I'm so glad Minka's parents took care of Alfred and had it all planned out. I don't want them to have to separate and it was really nice for her grandparents to treat him as their own. Of course Krakow isn't exactly the most pleasant of places, but at least there's some family together for now for support. Your description in this story so far has been wonderful - you've done a great job with that. I'm looking forward to more updates! Great job so far!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Labby March, 1941; Part I

30th May 2008:
Another great chapter! So they're moving now finally to Krakow? I wonder what it's going to be like there.. probably not great conditions. Again, I'm glad Alfred's there with her, hopefully they won't have to separate. I'm getting a bit scared of what's going to happen with her grandparents if something else happens.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Labby February 1941; Part III

30th May 2008:
Ah.. Alfred's journey is so sad, just like most everything else in this story and the time period. Poor puppy.. I hate it when the dogs die. :( I'm glad Alfred's found Minka and that he'll be safe for at least a little bit. You have to do what you do to survive. I wonder what's going on with Minka's family right now. At least Minka has a bit of a distraction to not have to think about him. Alfred's company should help a bit. Great chapter once again!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Labby February 1941; Part II

30th May 2008:
Oh yay, Alfred! At least he's safe for now. That will do well to give her some type of hope. I liked this chapter and getting a little more background into her parent's life. So her mother was pregnant before she married? I wonder if there's something more to that and the wedding and everything. That couldn't have been well received. And her grandfather just went mute? I wonder why.. was it because he was laid off from his job? Off to read more!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Labby November 1940 / February 1941 Part I

30th May 2008:
Oh no.. Josef? :( I'm sure Minka feels so alone now. Her family's been captured? That's not good at all, especially since it's so early in the war. Have they been taken to a concentration camp? They certainly risked a lot by having that delivery boy send a letter. I hope that doesn't come to harm them in the end. Hopefully, he's trustworthy. Anyways, great chapter once again!

Author's Response: I can tell you the delivery boy is trustworthy. c; He's the one spark of hope but is ironically the bearer of bad news all at once. I've yet to decide if Minka will see her family in the end... Hmm.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Labby November 1940, Part I

30th May 2008:
So she's finally told the truth about what's going on. Poor child. I'm glad she does know exactly what's going on, but it must be terrible for her. I just want to give her a hug. And who's at the door? Aleksander? That's scary.. I hope it's Alfred or her family. This was a great chapter once again! You're really good at making me not want to stop reading.

Author's Response: Haha, thanks! I like making people not stop reading! It's awesome! And means more people read! XD Thanks again, Labby!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Labby October, 1940; Part II

30th May 2008:
Ah.. so it was Aleksander who caused the train to stop. Haha.. of course Minka was blaming herself. Minka's grandma must be a pretty powerful witch being able to do the wandless magic. I'd like to know a little bit more about her and her family.. it's definitely interesting. Again, I loved this chapter and I love the journey you're taking Minka on. Great job so far!

Author's Response: Minka's grandmother is one of those stubborn ones. You know the ones in modern day can't take care of themselves but absolutely refuse a wheelchair, power scooter or a caring-home? Yep. That's Minka's grandmother. xD Her family is very very interesting. I'll have to develop them more, possibly make a prequel. I don't know. c: You'll have to wait and see.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Labby October, 1940; Part I

30th May 2008:
It might not make it to the destination? Another cliffhanger? You're pretty good at those because I don't want to stop reading. This chapter was pretty nerve wrecking to me. I'm sitting here hoping the Minka can make her way through the situation, nervous that she's not going to just like she's going through. Your description is so vivid, it really creates the scene. You've done an awesome job with this story so far!

Author's Response: Cliffhangers are my trademark in writing c; I love doing it, because not ending with a cliffhanger doesn't feel right to me. I can leave a chapter rounded-off. It doesn't feel right. Thanks so much, again Labby! You flatter me more than my ego needs xD

 Report Review

Review #12, by Labby September, 1940; Part V

30th May 2008:
Oh no, a cliffhanger. I'm so glad there's more to read now because I can't. Poor Minka and poor Alfred. She's just going to have to leave him behind. I hope that everything works out for her going on the train. How terrible for her to be so alone in such a scary world. This story is so sad, but you're writing it so well and I really like it so far. Great job!

Author's Response: My response to this was somehow deleted! Nonetheless, thanks Labby - for another wonderful review. I wish I could pick this up again, but I seem to have lost my chapter list and summary list. If I can find it, I'll most certainly start. I can't abandon this, it's my baby. And I'm glad readers can connect with Minka c:

 Report Review

Review #13, by hermiones_patronus April 1941; Part I

27th May 2008:
Aw, Ginni! Another brilliant chapter, as was expected. Minka's grandfather is a smart one, that's for sure. ; ) I'm such a huge fan of your work! You really know how to characterize well and your details are exquisite.

As a side note, if you ever need a banner for anything, I'd be honored to do one for you! (I'm a junior artist on TDA and my username is Abyssica there)

10/10 for this chap, though i wish it was longer! :P

Author's Response: I think Minka's Grandfather and Alfred are my favorite characters ever in this story! (Minus Josef c;) I'm rather depressed that I've forgotten about it, but I'm trying to write it up without my notes on the next chapter now at school. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Labby September, 1940; Part IV

26th May 2008:
I've been meaning to get back to this forever, so finally I'm here. I'm still really enjoying this story, and I feel like the journey's really going to begin here. This is such a sad story, especially to know that it actually happened (okay, not the magic part, but everything else). I know there were a bunch of kids separated from their parents in the journey to survive and it's sad that it had to happen this way. It will be interesting to see where she goes and if she is able to continue with learning magic on her own, and even how she'll cope without her family. Great job so far!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Labby. I'm very pleased that you like it!

 Report Review

Review #15, by henryjones March, 1941; Part I

2nd May 2008:
yay! a new chapter! although it was quite sad. but thats not exactly a new thing with this story. im still curious though, as to when the whole magic thing is going to come up. and speaking of things i wanted to ask about, i thought they were all in hiding, so that they wouldnt have to go to a ghetto... anyway, brilliant chapter. i do love this story. your writing is pretty incredible. please update soon! ;)

Author's Response: Sadness is common in this era, I have to agree. And I'm glad (well, not ecstatic, because honestly - I don't want to make anyone clinically depressed! xD) that I can evoke those true feelings from readers. YAY YOU! YAY ME! Oh oh, the magic plays a big part later on, as she struggles to survive.

And just because they were in hiding, never meant they couldn't be found. The Germans were persistent. They found Anne Frank, did they not?

Danke schoen, henryjones!
♥ Ginni


 Report Review

Review #16, by painfullygone March, 1941; Part I

27th April 2008:
I thought it was okay. Not as great as your other chapters, but its still leading to more, which I like. Please come for another review, because I do enjoy this story.

Author's Response: It was more like a filler chapter, dare I say so? There will be more, don't you worry! Danke schoen!
♥ Ginni


 Report Review

Review #17, by AnnaKay September 1940; Part I

21st April 2008:
Yay! A story that involves some history, and the facts are correct! Great job. I love the WWII time, and you seem to really know what you are talking about.

Great job on the story line. You gave some really good information but yet kept some out, to really keep me interested!

Author's Response: Ooh, you're like me then! A history nerd! At least, for WWII!! xD Haha. I hope I know what I'm talking about, I haven't been reading books over and over again from the library for nothing!

Thanks so much, AnnaKay!
Danke! ♥ Ginni


 Report Review

Review #18, by Azumi March, 1941; Part I

16th April 2008:
As always Gin, you astound me with this chapter. You always leave me hanging for more. Congrats doll, it's a wonderful piece of work!

xxx

Author's Response: Thanks Azu! I miss you love, and keep eyes open for updates more and more!

 Report Review

Review #19, by _DearMyLove_ March, 1941; Part I

15th April 2008:
Wow this is such an awesome story! What an original idea. I especially like the sensitivity with which you've dealt with this topic. It takes a lot to be able to write about something like this and make it sound believable and sensitive. Really love it. Can't wait to read more! :D
x

Author's Response: Indeed, it does take a lot to be able to write about history at all! Research, research, time changes (I've changed the timing on this about three times, back and forth) and more research and intensive studies. xD Haha. But thank you, I'm very pleased with myself that you all like it so much! It's amazing! I never thought this would be an actual hit!!
♥ Ginni


 Report Review

Review #20, by no name March, 1941; Part I

13th April 2008:
in german if you want someone to open the door you say öffne die tür (open the door) not geöffnet which means opened

Author's Response: That's what I get for using unreliable translators. xD Thanks! /makes change.

 Report Review

Review #21, by hermiones_patronus March, 1941; Part I

13th April 2008:
YAYZ!
a new chapter!
-is happy-
i really really really love alfred. your characterizations are so spectacular!
keep up the awesome work!

Author's Response: YAY, I know! I finally got it out and now I'm addicted to writing it again. I'm starting chapter thirteen this afternoon after lunch and take my sketchpad with me when I hand write it so I can sketch out faces, like Alfred's, etc.
Alfred seems to be gettin' the LOOOOVE factor. xD He's quite the little teddy bear.
Danke!
♥♥ Ginni


 Report Review

Review #22, by k2_vet March, 1941; Part I

12th April 2008:
I love this story! It's so original and really well writtern. It's so clever and I can't wait for an update! You are a truly brilliant writer!

Author's Response: ♥ You've no idea how much these reviews make me smile. My mum thinks I'm crazy by now. xD Danke schoen! I appreciate it!
♥ Ginni


 Report Review

Review #23, by Labby September, 1940; Part III

4th March 2008:
Hmm.. that's kind of interesting. I like the comparison between Muggles and Wizards and Jews and non-Jews. If only there really could have been a truce like that. Anyways, great chapter once agian. This just seems so real.. as real as a HP story can get. I understand how her father is angry and doesn't want her to do magic. He certainly didn't call for that when he married her mother, I guess it's hard to deal with it. Times must be hard and lots of fights between parents seems reasonable. The times must bring it on. Again, I'm loving how this is going, even though it's so sad. I really am liking this story so far - can't wait to read more! ;)

Author's Response: Labby, your reviews make me think. Don't get me wrong, I like that. You certainly dig apart the holes I haven't thought of yet. Such as the deeper relationship between Minka's parents. I'm extremely pleased you think it seems real. For all I know, this situation without the magic could have been exactly like someone's real situation back in those times. Thanks so much, Labby. I can't find words to express how appreciative I am.
♥ Ginni


 Report Review

Review #24, by Labby September 1940, Part II

4th March 2008:
Another great chapter! I love getting into some magical mind from this one. It's really interesting to think about magic and the Holocaust and what the magical community would be going through during that time. I suppose her father's right that magic probably can't protect them against the Nazis, but I'd wonder if there was some type of protection that the magical community would give. I guess it was probably different back then though. Anyways, I'm looking Minka a lot and your writing style. Your descriptions are wonderful. Great job so far!

Author's Response: Back then, the way I imagine the magical community in Germany and Poland together, add in France as well, rather - hectic. They weren't worrying about magic and what it could do for them at the moment - it was just. . . survival for the long term. And plus - no one knew if there were magical beings in the Nazi army. They would recognize a magical protection. It just wouldn't fit. Again, danke!
♥ Ginni


 Report Review

Review #25, by Labby September 1940; Part I

4th March 2008:
I saw this story awhile ago and I've been meaning to read it forever. I think it's a wonderful idea, and it's nothing like I've ever read here before. There aren't many Jewish characters in HP fanfiction and I'm so glad that you've written one. I know this is going to be so interesting, though sad. You're writing is amazing so far. I'm looking forward to reading more! Great job so far!

Author's Response: Labby, I really, truly, appreciate your reviews. The reviews I get on this story make me smile, and boost my confidence by a bazillion miles. (No rhyming intended. xD). Unfortunately, there's not a way I can make this more happy than it is sad, seeing as the time period conflicts with that and what not. Danke schoen! I appreciate everything.
♥ Ginni


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>