Reading Reviews for A Broken Hallelujah
  
63 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Eve A Broken Halellujah

4th January 2013:
Tears...stinging...my...eyes.

Why?

At first I was like- OK she kissed him it'll be all good soon! Then my smile died on my face.

Again. Beautifully conceived.

 Report Review

Review #2, by DREWHHR A Broken Halellujah

10th August 2010:
this song is not one of my favorites. dont get me wrong, i loved it the 1st time i heard it. but we used 2 listen to this in my theology class EVERY DAY as like a prayer time and i got rly aggravated with it. HOWEVER, this is a rly good fic. do not like the sad ending tho. haha. great job! keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #3, by annabelle granger A Broken Halellujah

3rd April 2010:
like i said before, i'm not neurotic, maybe a bit weird but i actually enjoyed the story as sad as it was.
come to think of it, Hallelujah always made me cry whenever i heard it (though the first time was in One Tree Hill, Season 5; the second in Alexandra Burke's hit single, and then in the O.C. i dont think i've ever heard the original version). I also dont know why, maube it was the song or not, i cried when i read this too. Kinda stupid, huh, well, yeah, i know.
it was painful to watch a dispassionate harry and a distraught Hermione. i felt like going to the gryffindor common room to give harry a piece of my mind. well, i wouldnt have made more progress than hermione since i dont have the patience and i lack the willingness to let my pride take a hit trying to knock some sense into the heads of obnoxious guys.
anyway, all in all, (i'm drying my tears now), it was an awesome story.
As Usual.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! Yeah, I tend to burst into tears whenever I hear the song as well -- it's a combination of the song itself and the memory of what occurs in The O.C. while it was playing.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by HogwartsGirl618 A Broken Halellujah

2nd October 2009:
I think I'm having an out-of-body experience right now. You just completely convinced me how Harry could turn into someone who is truly selfish, realistically. And how he could withdraw into a shell after killing Voldemort because of his martyr complex - his downfall. And if I haven't made it clear yet, I loved this one-shot! It was fantastic! You really made me feel the anger and pain Hermione was feeling, the frustration, the need. The piece flowed brilliantly and your grammar, to my eyes at least, was flawless =). 10, but with your work I could expect no less. =) Amazing piece! xoxo

Author's Response: Oh, wow, thank you! I'm really glad you enjoyed it. It was difficult to write, but one I felt that was necessary at the time.

And heee, that's lovely to read about the grammar! I'm a bit crazy about it myself when I read other writers' works, so I'm really glad!


 Report Review

Review #5, by xCailinNollaigx A Broken Halellujah

30th July 2009:
Woah, that was dark. I loved it. Strangely enough, I really did love it. It's only strange because I'm usually not for angst fics, but this is brilliant. Great idea to use the song, it really fits.
Everything said is very true, and you write their characters so 'canonly' and perfectly. They're not OOC.
Very good one-shot, I loved it! The hopelessness of it all was heart-breaking, and the dialogue was amazing, but sorrowful.
Emotionless Harry was a nice touch, so many people go into that state when grieving. Anyhoo, I loved it.
xCNx

Author's Response: Thank you! I really enjoy writing angst. I know that many DO get turned off by it, so I'm glad you liked it. =)

 Report Review

Review #6, by TyrannicFeenix A Broken Halellujah

1st May 2009:
Damn you and you're sad stories. I'm all choked up now. I'll have to read a really cheery one now. But it was still amazing. I'm not sure if I was imagining the right version of the song but all I could hear was the one they used in Shrek. But it still conveyed the feeling well.

Author's Response: Heh. I\\\'m really, really sorry! Hopefully my lighter stories make up for my angstier ones. I\\\'m glad you still enjoyed it, though! I definitely tend to be more fond of my more somber works, even though my humorous ones tend to be more popular, so it means a lot that you liked it.

Thanks for reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #7, by dangel A Broken Halellujah

17th April 2009:
Ok that was depressing!

Author's Response: I'm sorry! Hopefully you still enjoyed it. Thanks for reviewing! :-)

 Report Review

Review #8, by jamesf141 A Broken Halellujah

16th April 2009:
Yes. I know. I'm not logged on. Because I wanted to review it again.
I can't even remember reading this, but it's ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!
You have outdone yourself. You have combined two of the most awesome things in the world (your fanfiction, which is the best fanfiction in the whole wide world, and Hallelujah, which is the best song in the whole wide world) and made the most fantastic, amazing, wonderful, emotional fanfictions I've ever read. Even if I've read it twice without realising.
I have no shame at all to admit that I'm crying now. Two reasons:
1)That song always makes me cry (although I prefer Rufus Wrainwrights cover version :P)
2)That was the best thing that I've ever read!
I'm going to stop rambling now.
SUPER AWESOMELY, WONDERFULLY, EMOTIONALLY, FANTASTICALLY PERFECT!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so, so much! This really means quite a lot to me. I always prefer my more serious works, but I was never too certain about this fic, to be quite honest. To read your comment really makes me feel more confident about having posted it.

Hallelujah is a wonderful song, isn\\\'t it? No matter how many times I hear it I always tear up. Just gorgeous. I\\\'ve never heard Rufus Wainwright\\\'s version - I\\\'ll check it out.

Thanks for reviewing!! :-)


 Report Review

Review #9, by nothing_is_normal A Broken Halellujah

2nd January 2009:
Fab story, you really know how to capture emotions, or lack of.

Where'd you find that picture of harry and hermione on your banner? i've not seen it.

Great work, i love reading your stuff.

10/10

xxx

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I actually don\\\'t recall where I got the picture, but I think a safe bet is to check Emma Watson\\\'s main fansite. It\\\'s probably up there.

Thanks for reading and reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #10, by bdrman A Broken Halellujah

13th June 2008:
Oh my gosh. When did this banner go up? I just noticed it. It is beyond awesome in its awesomeness. (?) Anyway, isn't it illegal or something to be so good at things? First your stories, then your videos, and now you banners- which were great in the first place- now I have to read this story all over again. Gee, thanks.

Author's Response: I was kind of fooling around on paintshop while making my The Sister banner, and I created this nice coloring, so I decided to redo two of my banners (this one and The List). Hee. I'm really not that good, though. There are some AMAZING banner makers on this site...it's scary. @_@

Thanks for...reviewing? It's not really reviewing, but you know what I mean!! :-)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Tom_DracosGirl A Broken Halellujah

13th May 2008:
A well written emotional exchange between Harry & Hermione, I thought you got the balance just right between them. Nice work as always.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reviewing! :-)

 Report Review

Review #12, by potterspal1818 A Broken Halellujah

16th December 2007:
wow. so emotional. i was crying. and, i was listening 2 hallelujah at the same time i was reading this, so it made it all the more emotional. amazingly written and beautifully finished. A+

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm glad you liked it. Hopefully you didn't cry too much! Hallelujah, the song, by itself will make you cry (which I'm betting is why you DID tear up). It's just that beautiful.

Thanks very much for the kind review! :-)


 Report Review

Review #13, by fanatic1 A Broken Halellujah

29th October 2007:
great story... loved it... lots of emotion for an emotionless person! lol

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm glad you enjoyed it. And LOL. :-)

 Report Review

Review #14, by jamesf141 A Broken Halellujah

25th October 2007:
Wow...Again.

Amazing...again.

You're far too good.

*Cries* Very emotional story, really gets through to the reader's imagination.

Wow.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you. That means so much to me. Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! :-)

 Report Review

Review #15, by mokshasoma A Broken Halellujah

4th October 2007:
I am surprised that we can write an emotional story so well, i thought u can only write romantic comedies and again i will say that u have made me fall in love with this ship though i only read ur stories about them, i don know how many times I have said the same thing, but u see i can't help it.
And I thing i have asked u before also that if u do have written other than HP fanfiction do send me my e-mail ID is:
moksha_soma2002@yahoo.com or somapurkayastha@gmail.com.
Keep writing well.
Love
Soma

Author's Response: Thank you very much! And yeah, I write semi-angsty ones as well, though they're normally not too good...

But yay! Anything I can do to get people to reconsider their opinion on H/Hr makes me happy. Hee. But you should definitely check out other H/Hr stories. It's worth it.

I'll do my best to email you, but my memory's not too good. Did you put me on alert? That might help (though I personally don't know how the alerts thing works...).

Thanks for reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Hermionesclass101 A Broken Halellujah

20th September 2007:
OMG, that was so sad, and so well written. It really moved me.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! :-)

 Report Review

Review #17, by swish_and_flick A Broken Halellujah

20th September 2007:
that was pretty.stupid harry! but we all love him still lol and sexxi song i must say lol

Author's Response: LOL. Thank you! :-)

 Report Review

Review #18, by powowhunter A Broken Halellujah

16th September 2007:
yea kinda left it hangin ainet .

Author's Response: Er, sorry? I don't understand... Thanks for reviewing, though! :-)

 Report Review

Review #19, by OM_its G A Broken Halellujah

12th September 2007:
Incredible. I LOVE that song, and this fic is amazing. awesome job.

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much! :-)

 Report Review

Review #20, by H4H A Broken Halellujah

7th September 2007:
Oh...my...God...
That was just one of the sadest fanfictions i have ever read! But at the same time it's so fantastic (the fantastic part totally covers up for the depressing part, though).
You really do great in writing both cheery, funny stories as well as dark and depressing ones. Yeah, i think this one is really, reallly great.

At first i thought i didn't know the song, but once i read more of the lyrics i thought i recongnized it as a slightly different cover of a song that plays in one of the episodes of this TV Show i love called "The O.C." and in that episode this really important character, Marissa, dies, and it's really sad and everytime i listen to that song i cry my eyes out. So, and since i had the song in my computer, i decided to listen it at the same time as i was reading this story, and let me tell you... even though this story and that episode are completely different i kind of felt like i was watching it, so i just couldn't stop crying... i don't know, maybe it's just PMS kicking in, but this story just blew me off.

Anyway, since i've written a bunch of stupid and completely absurd things anyone could care less about i can end this review!
Again, it's a trully amazing storty, i absolutely love it and it's definitly going to my favourite's list.

Author's Response: Aw, I'm sorry! I hope I didn't depress you.

And yep! It's from The O.C. (one of my all time favorite shows). It also played when Ryan leaves The O.C. to live with Teresa at the end of season one (the Jeff Buckley version, that is. The Imogen Heap version plays when Marissa dies).

Thanks very much for reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #21, by jacque74565 A Broken Halellujah

24th August 2007:
Oh my gosh, that was GREAT!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :-)

 Report Review

Review #22, by iluv2eatcarbs A Broken Halellujah

23rd August 2007:
Basically love you for recommending Jeff Buckley's version. He is hands down my favorite musician of all time and his music is unbelievable. I own everything of his (I am COMPLETELY obsessed) and this song of his changed my life. But that doesn't really matter because it's not really about the story, lol.

But I loved the story and the song (while listening to it, of course) made it all that more powerful. I'm not really a big Hermione/Ron/Harry fan but you did a great job at writing this even though it was slightly short. This was a really good fic:D

~LB

Author's Response: It's a gorgeous song, isn't it? One of my favorites, by far. I'm not a huge fan of Jeff Buckley (simply because I never really listened to his music), but he did have amazing talent.

I'm so happy you liked it! It means so much. Thanks very much for the kind review. :-)


 Report Review

Review #23, by aharrypotterobcession A Broken Halellujah

18th August 2007:
aw really sad. but it was very well written

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked it. Thank you very much for the kind review. :-)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Penti A Broken Halellujah

10th August 2007:
GOD! how good can you be?! Most of your fics have always had a happy ending, with Harry and Hermione ending up together... I didn't know you could also write like this... I really expected to have them end up together, but, at least in my POV (i didn't hear the song yet), I was a great twist! I mean, just how good are you?! Keep it up! Damn! (I can't help it... you're just so good)

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you! That was so kind of you to say, and it really means a lot.

Thank you so, so much!! (And listen to the song! It's gorgeous.)

Thanks for reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #25, by lnkmstr10 A Broken Halellujah

7th August 2007:
Wow such a powerful story! It was sad, but yet so beautiful at the same time! I really loved this story! You did a very good job of writing Harry's anger and Hermione's anger and pain.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! That means a lot. I felt really nervous about posting this story, so your review really calms my nerves (which still exist, despite having this story up for so long LOL). Thanks very much for reviewing! :-)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>