Reading Reviews for Last Man Standing
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by thenoblehouseofblack The Snakebit Blitz

26th July 2007:
even though ive read deathly hallows, i really enjoyed this. you have a style similar to jo rowling and its definitely a good read :)
not sure what your plans are with this but...
if you write it...they will read (at least i will)

sincerely yours,
thenoblehouseofblack

Author's Response: I'm not sure what my plans are either. Eleven Years Later is obviously priority number one for the moment, and honestly, I've got a lot of other plot bunnies for post-DH fiction.

But the ending for last man standing was going to be SO different from anything I've read, that I almost feel obliged to myself to write it. So keep an eye on this space, and you never know. Something might turn up.


 Report Review

Review #2, by thenoblehouseofblack Sweet Summertime

26th July 2007:
love it.
simple as that :)


Author's Response: And that's all I need to hear! Thanks NobleHouse!

 Report Review

Review #3, by 001anonymous Sweet Summertime

23rd July 2007:
Yay! So you're still continuing this even after DH has been released? Good, good. I'll be following this story. lol

Author's Response: I'm not so sure that I will continue the way I had originally planned. But my ending was so different from what happened in DH, that I do intend to write my ending at some point. But who knows. I may just write the whole fic. It was going to be very different, with the trio going to back to Hogwarts and whatnot.

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #4, by spriteleigh The Snakebit Blitz

9th July 2007:
This review is a bit slow on the uptake, but I wanted to show my appreciation for your work! I really admire the polish of your language. There might have been a few tiny errors, like you said, but I think it's a great idea for you to get readers, because that's the best solution. I don't have any experience with workshopping, but I'd be happy to have a look if you still want the help. I also loved Ginny's gift; it's a poignant little way to show why Harry likes her. And the orchids... hilarious! Harry's threats seemed in character but out of canon for the put-upon, ever-suffering but rebellious little guy, and then instead he plays a little joke! It shows he's developed as a character since the previous books but is still our Harry. And all the best of luck with the rest of the novel; I'll be reading.

Author's Response: Thank you ever so much Spriteleigh, I truly appreciate your review. And have I mentioned how much I love your nom de plume?

My language is polished? I think that may just be the second nicest thing anyone's said to me (The first of course being the "Yes" I got out of my fiancee when I asked her to marry me). I do take pride in picking just the right word for given situations - though I do wind up falling on my face sometimes. Malapropisms are my worst enemy.

And yes, there are errors. I've asked the generous Solar (who offered to subject herself to my unedited writing - Merlin help her) to read through my chapters before I post them, so hopefully there will be fewer errors in the future.

I spent hours (days?) agonizing over just what Harry was going to get for his birthday from Ginny. It is fantastic that you liked it as much as I did. It's also the first bit of research I had to do for the fic, and I do love my research... any excuse to go back through the books, eh?

And the Orchideus bit was the whole inspiration for writing a full length fic. The Leaky Cauldron was holding a fanfiction contest to see who could write the best chapter on Harry either arriving at or leaving the Durlsey residence. That was my idea. Unfortunately, the chapter ran on a bit, and became far too long to enter in the contest (not that I'd have entered anyway... I think).

I'm also happy that you think I did all right by Harry's character. This has been a major stumbling block for me in the past. If you were to go back and read "Staff of Chiron" (I wouldn't recommend it, except for the chapter "The London Underground" - my favorite idea ever, and one JKR seems like she's going to "borrow" for Deathly Hallows), you'd see that I tended to make Harry a little nancy boy. He cried constantly and had these bothersome things called feelings... Seriously though, he is the weakest of the trio as far as my writing goes. Which makes it ironic that I do all of my fics from his point of view. Someday I'll learn.

Speaking of Harry and his feelings... this next chapter has caused me days worth of grief. I re-wrote the first half of it maybe a half-dozen times. I'm still not terribly happy with it, but I finally said to myself: "Self, you'll never get to the parts you really want to write unless you stop agonizing over this." So it's currently being Beta'd by Solar, and we'll see what she says about it.

Wow, have I rambled...

What can I say? I love thorough reviews :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Solar The Snakebit Blitz

3rd July 2007:
Wow! This is really good! I'm glad I found it when it was still new. I'm adding to to my faves! Keep going and don't give up. I'm kind of confused what happened in the last two or three paragraphs. He left Tonks there? Does beta just mean you e-mail chapters to the person, and they sort of edit it for you? If that's all, I'd love to do it. I have a lot of free time right now. My jaw literally dropped when you spun in that idea about Tonks being Jen part of the time. You're brilliant! I really enjoyed it and I'm anxious to see how it's going to turn out.

Author's Response: I'm sorry you were confused Solar. Yes, Harry attempted to reach Tonks so that he could side-along apparate her away, but he was horribly outnumbered, and couldn't see his opposition. He may be brave, but he's not stupid (well... ok, he's a bit stupid). Perhaps I'll re-write that last bit to make things a bit more clear. I certainly rushed through it, as it wasn't actually supposed to be in that chapter anyway. It was originally supposed to end with Tonks falling down the stairs in a flash of green light. The repercussions of which would have been explored in the beginning of chapter 3.

I greatly appreciate your offer to beta-read for me, and I'd like to take you up on it. THe more people that read chapters before they get posted the merrier. I tend to be alright with grammar, spelling and the like, but from time to time I make really dreadful errors that I don't catch for whatever reason. It's always tougher to find mistakes in your own work than that of others.

Unfortunately, I have no real way of getting in contact with you. If you'd like to send me an e-mail, my address is J_K_Butcher@yahoo.com or alternatively, you could send me a PM in the forums if you are a member.

And as for me being brilliant... HA! Thanks for the laugh (and for the review!).


 Report Review

Review #6, by elanorosavan The Snakebit Blitz

24th June 2007:
I love this story so far. Ginny's present is just right! I cant wait for you to update again! Excellent so far.

Author's Response: You have no idea how much that means, as I literally pulled a Vernon and started pulling out my mustache trying to come up with the proper gift. Thank you so much.

As for an update... hmm... guess that means I'll have to start writing the next chapter :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by unknown The Snakebit Blitz

23rd June 2007:
good chapter


Author's Response: My very own secret admirer returns! Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Green Sky The Snakebit Blitz

23rd June 2007:
I had thought Jennifer WAS Tonks. Ah well, I'll settle for partial correctness. Although, the OC does seem kinda random (but JKRowling wasn't above dropping some random characters into the mix herself).

I liked that Harry tormented the Dursley's a bit...but didn't actually hurt them. It seems like something that Cannon-Harry would do.



Author's Response: Random? Yes, completely. Thankfully she'll never appear again, as I didn't particularly care for her either. Many thanks for the review and your continued support.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Green Sky Sweet Summertime

19th June 2007:
Good start. Very well-written.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #10, by sarah_rene Sweet Summertime

17th June 2007:
I actually really liked the first chapter of this fic. I loved when Mr. Weasley told Harry that his family needed him, which I totally agree with, just like I think Harry needs them to survie in the long run! Great work!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing, and I'm glad that you enjoyed that bit in particular. Believe me when I say that Harry will have to rely upon the Weasleys (all of them) in order to achieve his ultimate goal in this story.

 Report Review

Review #11, by unknown Sweet Summertime

17th June 2007:
good story, how could jennifer not now what a toaster is? unless she isn't a muggle

Author's Response: You might be on to something there. Then again, maybe not. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #12, by ILoveLost1888 Sweet Summertime

17th June 2007:
Hi! I love it. Is this Harry and Ginny story?? When Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows cames out and they are still doing this webs?? How many chapters are in this?? 10-10! Jackie UPDATE

Author's Response: Well I can tell you that I do indeed ship Harry/Ginny and Ron/Hermione almost exclusively. However, I will not give anything away regarding future developments in the romantic lives of the trio. I fully intend to continue this after DH is released, as I have my own ideas for how the HP saga should end, and I'm 100% positive that my ending will not be used by JKR. As for the number of chapters... your guess is as good as mine. I have definite outlines for some 12 or so set pieces, but few of those will fit in a single chapter. I'd estimate somewhere between 20 and 25, though I could be very far off with that estimate. And as for an update, I'm writing it right now. Many thanks for the review.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login