42 Reviews Found

Review #1, by good_reasons Sirius Black's Story

23rd August 2009:
Definitely a story worth reading: it gives the younger Sirius so much more depth!

10/10

 Report Review

Review #2, by shade_of_lovely James Potter's Story

30th April 2008:
Amazing!! I love your writing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by shade_of_lovely Sirius Black's Story

30th April 2008:
This story is great so far! I always imagined Sirius as the rebel from a very early age, but this story gives a great perspective on the values that were drilled into him by his father. Poems could use a little work, but overall spelling/grammar was nearing perfection! I can't wait to read the next chapter...!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Luna_ Lovegood Neville Longbottom's Story

6th August 2007:
That was very good, it was a joy to read. I really like how you told us what Neville was thinking.

Author's Response: Really? I thought that was the only way of doing a Sorting fic... whatever. Thanks for the review!

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #5, by Luna_ Lovegood Pavarti Patil's Story

6th August 2007:
I love how you described Pavarti. I love this chapter

 Report Review

Review #6, by Luna_ Lovegood James Potter's Story

6th August 2007:
I like how you added your own take on things.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Luna_ Lovegood Sirius Black's Story

6th August 2007:
I like the way how you fashioned the characters.
There were some funny things I liked in it.

Author's Response: Thank you. Glad to know you like the characterizations and bit of dry humour placed :)

~the nutty imp


 Report Review

Review #8, by 0MFGZshes__DEADLY Neville Longbottom's Story

17th July 2007:
Awh, that was short and sweet. I've always loved Neville as a character. He's so endearing. I absolutely loved how you portrayed him in this. Great work! 8/10

Author's Response: Aw, thanks. I love Neville, and I just couldn't help but try my best at him. I'm glad you think I did a good job.

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #9, by 0MFGZshes__DEADLY Pavarti Patil's Story

17th July 2007:
I really liked it. I've never read a fic about either of the Patil twins as primary characters.

I love how independent you described her and the personal battle you showed in her concerning her "twin" status. (Sorry, I didn't know how else to word it.)

Very interesting and enjoyable.

Author's Response: *humms* reviews are cool, reviews are nice, I can't rhyme, but I play dice!

'Thank you for reading and reviewing!
I've never ran into any Patil twins fics, but when Imp posted the 'challenge' to the forums I knew I just had to write a shot on Parvati.

I'm thrilled to hear you liked my take on the 'twinness', I'm not a twin myself so I did took a risk on writing something I don't have personal expirience about.

I'm so glad you liked my take on her, thanks again for reading and reviewing!

-DandN'


 Report Review

Review #10, by 0MFGZshes__DEADLY James Potter's Story

17th July 2007:
I thought it was okay...
I felt like James cursed much too much as compared to the other characters.
I liked your story over all, but I didn't particularly like the last paragraph or so, when you were describing the thing about his Sorting.
No offense, but it felt kind of tacky as compared to the rest of your plot.
But overall, the work was alright.

 Report Review

Review #11, by 0MFGZshes__DEADLY Sirius Black's Story

17th July 2007:
Awh, I liked it. In the very beginning he reminds me of Draco Malfoy, what with his arrogance and incredibly posh attitude.
I especially liked the four line verses of what was supposed to be the Sorting Hat telling the story. I thought it worked perfectly.
I also really liked how you made Sirius 'change' and how you made his relationship with Potter, Lupin, and Pettigrew evolve.

All in all, it was incredibly well done. 10/10

Author's Response: Figured he and Draco was brought up the same way .. Pure Blooded family with money and all.

Thank you. Great to know that you liked the way this story moved and his slow change.

~the nutty imp


 Report Review

Review #12, by myriad Sirius Black's Story

12th July 2007:
This was an interesting take on Sirius' early days at hogwart's. To be honest I wasn't really sure if I liked this chapter or not when I first started reading it. Sirius is one of my favourite characters and I just didn't like how arrogent and mean you made him, but by about half way through I realised you did it for a reason. He definitely redeemed himself by the end of the chapter. You've done an excellent job. I've never read anything quite like this. I look forward to reading more.

Author's Response: I'm a Sirius fan myself. ^_^ Just thought to try a different view on his sorting and the coming together of the Marauders. Thank you for that review, great to hear that you did like it at the end despite the unorthodox start :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by dracoslover1 Neville Longbottom's Story

11th July 2007:
I think that this is your best chapter yet. But then again, I am partial to Neville. No spelling or grammatical errors as far as I can tell.

Author's Response: Aww. I love Neville - and I love that you think my story is the best! Of course, I'm a modest girl who thinks everyone else is better than her... but I'm still touched. And I did have nutty beta it.

~ Caroline


 Report Review

Review #14, by dracoslover1 Pavarti Patil's Story

11th July 2007:
Ok, so now I am really confused. I am assuming that this is a story about random people being sorted into their house and why they were placed in there.

Author's Response: hey dracoslover!

heres the thing: this is a collection of oneshots. So, while the first oneshot started out in sirius` first year, that dosnt mean the rest have to do the same. If you look on, the next one is about one of the parvati twins (and quite good, i can say since i didnt write it). Im glad you liked it. Remember to review the other chapters as well, as they are each written by a different authos. thanks for the review,

cheers,
pad


 Report Review

Review #15, by dracoslover1 James Potter's Story

11th July 2007:
i like the story. It looks to be fun. I am confused though on one thing--it started in first year for Sirius's story and now looks to be in fifth or sixth year for James. Did I miss something here? Oh and there were one of two spelling mistakes.

Author's Response: Hi there, and thanks for reading and reviewing ^^.

This is indeed a collaboration of several authors exploring the different reasons why certain people made it to the Gryffindor House. As you can see currently we have covered Sirius, James, Parvati and Neville, and I believe in the near future several other Gryffindors will be added. I'm sorry to hear this was confusing, but I think Imp had pointed out the collaboration in the story summary .

-DandN


 Report Review

Review #16, by dracoslover1 Sirius Black's Story

11th July 2007:
Good chapter. I like how you are doing Sirius's character

Author's Response: Thank you. Appreciate the review.

 Report Review

Review #17, by CJ_Black Pavarti Patil's Story

7th July 2007:
Hey there! This was extremely interesting, I loved the topic here. Twins are fascinating, and to tell the truth, I've always wanted a twin as well. But I love how you described Parvati's strong desire for individuality. It was very, very refreshing and original, I loved the theme of the chapter. Also, I think your portrayal of her contrasting to Padma was well written and canon-wise. I seriously liked this very much.
Of course, credit also goes to you for the great style - you're a good writer, and you managed to keep my interest throughout this whole chapter. I also liked the...erm, poems, if they can be called so. I assume you wrote them - they were very good.
I liked how the Sorting Hat separated them and made them full fledged individuals. Parvati is relatable and understandable, which is always a good thing. Again, I find myself lacking any kind of criticism to give. You should check the spelling, since I noticed a few mistakes. Also, perhaps a good thing would be to add a few more details that would spice up the story. Don't get me wrong, it was very interesting, but I think it would be nice to watch a few more scenes where the two of them were taken as one person, or 2 halves of the same whole. It would add to the atmosphere and the general frustration Parvati feels. But then again, that's just my opinion.

Great story. 8/10
Much love, CJ

Author's Response: First of all thank you for reading and reviewing!

It's great to hear you liked my exploration of the Patil twins, this was actually the first time I'd written anything based on the Trio Era, and it had always made me ponder how the Padma and Parvati, being twins and all, ended up in different houses. My take on Parvati was more or less based on purely instict as what things might be Gryffindorish and yet come through as the twin dilemma ^^

The poems in the middle are Imp's handiwork, I can't rhyme if my life would depend on it *lol* Imp did excellent job creating a poem that supports what I had written in the base story, much kudos to her!

I actually had an extra scene in mind, concerning their twinness (is that a word? ), but in the end I couldn't deliver it the way I wanted to, so I cut it out in the end. I might take another shot at it sometime, but at the moment I have so many things to work on that'll have to wait. Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

-DandN"


 Report Review

Review #18, by searching17 Neville Longbottom's Story

6th July 2007:
yay! very good! that made me smile! and that made me blush (when i read and blush, that means the story has really touched me!) great job! 100/10! i liked this one the best!
~Estrella

Author's Response: Out of all of these amazing one-shots, you pick mine for your favorite? Now
you're making me blush.


~ Caroline.


 Report Review

Review #19, by searching17 Pavarti Patil's Story

6th July 2007:
Very good - i like your whole idea of the sorting hat and gryffindor house. nice description! 10/10!
~Estrella

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! Imp had a great idea with the Sorting Hat, I completely agree with you on that . It's also great to hear you liked my take on Pavarti ^^.

~DandN


 Report Review

Review #20, by searching17 James Potter's Story

6th July 2007:
For the safety of all students, on nights of the full moon, Lupin was taken to a place called the “Shrieking Shack”, where he would be left for his transformation and would spend the night there so not to hurt anyone. - hmmm, werent sirius and james and peter supposed to go with him? but i guess that's part of your plot. there has to be some reason though. besides minor typos we all make, a wonderful job! great work!
~Estrella


Author's Response: thanks for the review Estrella. Now about that: yea, james sirius and peter go to visit lupin on the full moon, but they go later - not with him, because the nurse takes him down there and she supposedly dosnt know about the marauders. Thanks a lot for the great review, im so glady you liked it!! cheers,

pad


 Report Review

Review #21, by Raina Sirius Black's Story

6th July 2007:
Wow, definitely a change from most other fics. This is one of those stories that make you feel all warm inside after you're done reading. I loved the bantering between McGonagall and the sorting hat in the beginning; you captured her character well with just the right amount of skepticism. I also really liked all the "tags" you used to give Sirius more life from the way he "sniggered" to the sullen voice that he used in saying he had no friends. Those aren't usually ways to describe Sirius, but it was very apt in this case. The whole one-shot was so eloquent and well executed.

The only things I have a suggestion for are the breaks in time. I got kind of confused in the beginning about where Sirius was for a lot of the scenes. It jumped so suddenly from the train to after the sorting was done, and then once again when the howler came, it sounded like Sirius was in the great hall when he was actually out sitting on the lawn. Maybe a sentence or two to cue the reader as to where Sirius was would help.

I really enjoyed reading the fics. It's so original without making the entire "Sirius having Slytherin quality" thing farfetched. Beautiful job!

Author's Response: Thank you appreciate that long and detailed review. Glad to hear you liked this take on the first meeting of the Maurauders.

Appreciate your suggestions. I'll go and try to do as you suggested. Thanks again for the review.


 Report Review

Review #22, by searching17 Sirius Black's Story

5th July 2007:
wow - a very interesting way to look at how sirius started out.great job! 10/10!
~Estrella

Author's Response: Thanks :) Appreciate the review

 Report Review

Review #23, by lothlorien Neville Longbottom's Story

2nd July 2007:
very nice. a cute little story. i love it. please post the next one quickly.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Sadly, posting it is not up to me. Thanks~ caryjanecarter

Unfortunately the other writers still haven't sent their stories but I'll have it posted as soon as I can ~the nutty imp (collaborator)


 Report Review

Review #24, by lothlorien Pavarti Patil's Story

1st July 2007:
nice story. i have a twin myself so i can relate. thankfully, we're not identical, him being a boy, but everybody still expects us to be together and always know where the other is and blablabla... great story. actually all 3 stories are great. please post the next one fast.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing!
I'm pleased to hear that the story sounded plausable to you, it's great to hear that you feel I've captured the 'annoying' parts of being a twin ^^
Thanks again for reviewing, I'm glad you liked it!

~DandN


 Report Review

Review #25, by ralj1640 James Potter's Story

30th June 2007:
Ok, I hated the swearing, it (in my oppoion) was highly unnessary. But I loved the story it had a really good plot and it showed one of the true meanings of Gryffindors. Great job:)

Author's Response: Thanks for sharing your opinion and reviewing. Highly appreciate that.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>