Reading Reviews for The Trials of Pursuit
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Laugharama_llama The Trials of Pursuit

30th October 2009:
Hahaha! Aw that was absolutely adorable! I really want to write a story in this format too, it looks like a lot of fun. I've been itching to do it, but I don't want some mean reviewer to comment saying that he/she's seen this format too much. I got a comment saying that when I used a "once upon a time" in my story. But you know, "once upon a time" is probably much more used than this format hahaha!

This story was so so cute! I love your characterization and especially how you started to switch to Fleur when she started to become interested in Cedric! One thing that bothered me (but only a teensy bit) was the French. I don't know any French, so I was just curious as to what it meant and all. It's not really a bother actually, just curious. :) Great job!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! It's a fun format to use, and a lot of people do use it (though perhaps not as many on this site). I think as long as you can make it work, you should be fine. And that's pretty lame that someone called you out on using "once upon a time." Contrary to what that person thinks, that's a phrase that's never going to get old. :)

Since you asked... "une vue tres jolie" means "a very pretty view," "Salut" means "hi," and "comment ca va?" means "how are you?" "Venez ici, s'il vous plait. Je dois vous parler" means "Come here, please. I need to talk to you." The main reason I didn't translate the French in the story, or in notes at the end, was because Cedric doesn't speak French, and the story's mostly in his point of view. But I probably ought to have put something in there. I admit, though, my French has gotten pretty rusty since I wrote this, so it took me a while to remember what everything meant. XD


 Report Review

Review #2, by redherring The Trials of Pursuit

4th September 2009:
Wow, this was amazing! The pairing was brilliant and wonderfully original, and your writing was just beautiful, as well. Absolutely 10/10 :)

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #3, by windchaser The Trials of Pursuit

15th April 2009:
I love this! I love the originality of it- you don't see Fluer/Cedric very often (ahem, at all). I also really liked the repetition throughout- his french and her pointing to her foot. It made it light and funny- the "Er, salute. Comment kah vah" line made the story, though :). I think I laughed out loud, and it was so easy to picture him saying that. Really good story- rather fluffy, too, which was nice XD.
P.S. Oh, and the format was interesting, as well, I've never seen a fic like that.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Cedric/Fleur is one of my favorite pairings, and I wish it would get written more often. Haha. I love imagining Cedric speaking French - he really would botch it up, I think. XD

 Report Review

Review #4, by IS bookworm The Trials of Pursuit

20th December 2008:
Interesting! That was an interesting way to write a story. I liked it. Keep writing! :&)

Author's Response: Thanks! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by TwilightPrincess The Trials of Pursuit

20th December 2008:
If there were enough words in the English language that could sum up how amazing this was, I would wrap them all in ribbon the size of the sky and give them to you on a silver moon.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by Gutterflower The Trials of Pursuit

19th October 2008:
I've just read pretty much everything you've written in very fast succession. I couldn't stop to review, so I'm doing it now. I hope that's OK.

You're a fantastic writer, I mean really, really good. You have a mastery of the present tense that I can honestly say is unparalleled by any other author I know of, and a way of reinventing old characters and making them exciting and better than the expected cliche that I, for one, am incredibly jealous of.

I loved the unusual pairing in this one; it's rare to find one without the standard cliches. The form of the writing is wonderful. I love the simplicity of your descriptions, and I don't mean that in a horrible 'it's too simple' way, I mean it in a thoroughly 'congratulations for not falling into the trap of over-describing' way. I also liked that you didn't stick to one point of view; including Fleur's side in place of the seventh time broke up the narrative nicely.

It wasn't overly romantic, it wasn't overly fluffy. It was realistic, sweet, simple, and believable. (You know, as far as Harry Potter fanfiction is ever believable...) Congratulations.

I could spend hours typing about your others stories, boring you to tears with my comments, but I won't. I do, however, want to say one last thing.

Lockdown.

Oh my God. It was mind-numbingly great. I loved Sirius Black in a way I've never loved his character before. He was so...real. He wasn't a playboy or an insensitive wart, you didn't fall into the stereotype of making him god-like. He had the right amount of arrogance, the right amount of confusion, the right amount of interest in Daphne. He was honest, and funny, and nice.

And Daphne! Completely the opposite of Sirius's usual matches, and better because of it. She was perfect. They were perfect for each other. The Hufflepuff common room was another stroke of literary genius.

I could go on for ages. But I'll conclude with something I think sums up my ramblings nicely: Lockdown was one of the only stories I've EVER been able to visualise immediately, without even thinking about it. As I was reading, an image just popped into my head, fully-formed and ready to go.

You're incredibly talented. And I'm 'favourite-author' -ing you.

(Oh, and sorry for the ridiculously long review, I would have reviewed all of your stories separately, but thought I'd do it in one hit to save confusion.)

Author's Response: D'aww. THANK YOU SO MUCH! I'm so glad that you've enjoyed my stories! :D

And thank you for the comment about simple descriptions. I think I used to overly-describe things, so it's good to know that I've been able to tone that down a lot.

I'm glad you liked Sirius in Lockdown! I never thought he'd be like how he always is in fanon, so I set out to make him, as you say, more real. AND I'M SO GLAD YOU COULD VISUALIZE IT IN YOUR HEAD! ♥ I don't run across a lot of stories like that, either, so that's a huge compliment.


 Report Review

Review #7, by canta_loupe The Trials of Pursuit

29th April 2008:
AH! That's so good. Like chocolate. Sweet. I really loved your writing style for this piece. Very coolio.

Author's Response: Haha, thanks! It's always good to be compared to chocolate. XD

 Report Review

Review #8, by Lolo_Lex_gryffindorgals The Trials of Pursuit

5th January 2008:
that was beautifully written! i really love your writing style!
excellent job! 10/10!
~~Lolo

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by thedarklordvoldy The Trials of Pursuit

29th October 2007:
That was really good. I have to admit, i was a bit doubtful when i saw the ship but it was written in a really interesting way that even though it was strange ship it made it really good!

Author's Response: Thanks! I fell in love with the ship very randomly, I must admit. XD But I'm glad that you enjoyed this, regardless of your doubts!

 Report Review

Review #10, by iloveseverus The Trials of Pursuit

18th September 2007:
that was lovely.

Author's Response: Thank you. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by inkismyworld The Trials of Pursuit

2nd September 2007:
Awww this is the first time I've read this couple and I like it :) Though it was a tad confusing at parts because I don't know French but I got the general gist of things :) I also liked how you split up the paragraphs , it made it easier to read.

Author's Response: I have to admit, that was sort of my intent, in a way. I was trying to tell it from mostly Cedric's point of view, and I thought he'd be pretty befuddled if someone started throwing French at him. XD Heh. Anyway, I'm really glad that you enjoyed this, in spite of the fact that you've never read Cedric/Fleur before. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by FreakOut13 The Trials of Pursuit

19th July 2007:
Amber! This is amazing! An absolute favorite. I'm so glad I decided to read it! You portrayed Cedric and Fluer so well! I envy you for having that quality. *hugs* Great job, hon.

10/10 -- but more if I could.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you, Ann! *squees and huggles* I think it must be one of my favorites, too...

 Report Review

Review #13, by queencrown The Trials of Pursuit

16th July 2007:
aw! I love the Cedric/fleur pairing! I love how the ninth time - how she was so close she could kiss him if she wanted too! I loved that!

Author's Response: Me too! It's so sweet! ^^ I'm glad you enjoyed this!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Xxmy_chemical_romancexX The Trials of Pursuit

8th July 2007:
that was SO COOL! When I read the end I was like, 'wait what?' but then I re-read it and i'm like HOLY CRAP! I liked it alot! Very nice french, not that i speak it, or anything.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so very much! :D The French was fun to do... I tried to make it so that there wasn't too much of it, since not everyone speaks French. XD

 Report Review

Review #15, by the nutty imp The Trials of Pursuit

28th June 2007:
Cedric/Fleur ... now that's a rare pairing. Fleur's accent was nicely done ... I cannot tell how many itime I've seen authors butchered it. *L* and I like how she kept reminding him of her foot. I also like how you segregated their meetings. You couldn't help but wonder had Cedric lived would there had been more to this?

Author's Response: Thank you! XD Accents are generally butchered, though I think that Fleur and Hagrid's are especially so. And there probably would have been more to it, had he lived... *sigh*

 Report Review

Review #16, by SereneChaos The Trials of Pursuit

23rd June 2007:
Aww, that was sweet. I like how you wrote this, separating every time Cedric sees her, it makes the story seem all the more sweeter because it's almost as if he's counting the number of interactions with her. Yay! I liked it!

Author's Response: Thank you! That's the feeling I was sort of going for! I'm very glad that you liked it... I loved writing it. ^^

 Report Review

Review #17, by Islander The Trials of Pursuit

21st June 2007:
Excellent story! Cedric/Fleur is an interesting pairing and indeed out of the normal. Which makes me glad. It's so fun to read all these rarepairs you're writing! :D

So would this story be a bit AU, or is Cedric just sneaking behind Cho's back to give Fleur a goodnight kiss, etc.? I think it's the latter, because... well, I don't know why, but it's just seems a bit more fun that way!

Have you encountered writer's block with "Highly Improbable"? It hasn't been updated in a while. If this is the case, I do so hope your Muse comes along and fluffs up the plot bunnies of the story, because I love reading it! Keep up the uberlicious work!

Author's Response: Thank you, Islander! I stumbled across this ship and I just fell in love with it. I couldn't help but write a bit of a tribute to it! And I do love rarepairs...

I'm a bit mad that I forgot to explain that in the story... Originally, I was going to insert a small snatch of sentence like, "When Cho wasn't looking," or something like that... she's hiding by the punch bowl. XD So it's definitely the latter! (I don't like AU at all. Heh.)

More updates are on the way for that! :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Zokara The Trials of Pursuit

17th June 2007:
Aw. Very sweet. But I thought Cedric went to the Yule Ball with Cho? Anywho, very good.

Author's Response: Thanks! He did go with Cho, but I'm pretending that he and Fleur met up a couple of times to dance when Cho was off getting punch. ^_-

 Report Review

Review #19, by Novatrix The Trials of Pursuit

17th June 2007:
Ooooh, ah! "Je dois vous parler"! I just finished French for the rest of my life, so seeing it and a fellow "must practice!" student made me giggle. Your story is so sweet, and I think I've found a new OTP to add to a very long list. Your style is extremely powerful, and I felt that the divisions worked extremely well. You clearly have a powerful command of English as well -- your delivery is precise and striking. The line "Er, salute. Comment kah vah?" was priceless! Although I pursued this one-shot on a whim, I'm in awe and will review your other stories in greater depth shortly.

Author's Response: Thank you! I think by writing this, I've fully convinced to do the same - add another ship to that enormous list! XD I wrote the whole fic around the "Er, salute. Comment kah vah?" line, actually! A while ago, I was looking at some sort of French practice thing, and that's exactly how my stepsister read it off to me! Ha ha! It was too great not to use! Thanks again! I'm flattered! ^^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login