Reading Reviews for The Very Best Thing
  
367 Reviews Found

Review #1, by StephSnape The Darkest Day

24th April 2011:
OMGosh! thats so sad! :( it made me cry. Poor Sev!

Author's Response: Yes, it really is. Poor Sev always loses the one he loves.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Vermouth Dreamwalk

15th October 2010:
Have you seen the movie Inception? Sometimes I wonder why couldn't Christopher Nolan direct the HP series, it sort of went into decline ever since Chris Columbus left. Agree?

Anyhow, this chapter was to me a solid inception, I read it once and then couldn't get it off my mind. Great work! 10/10

Also, I couldn't help but compare Amelia to Clarice Starling. (sometimes I even imagine her looks as those of J.F.) Both went through hell to kill a serial killer, but the results are different, Amelia was traumatized while Clarice won a brief peace from her "screaming lambs". How was this so? I felt there should be more other than the reason that Amelia could feel emotions, because both in the book and movie, it was shown quite clearly that Clarice never recovered from not being able to save the poor lambs from dying, and later on she related to the poor flayed girls as her sisters, and she really understood the emotions. Very close to being magically empathetic. Then, after reading the previous chapters some more times, it clicked. Their bosses.

You never went into detail about Amelia's boss, apart from the fact that his daughter behaves like a $#%@, he looks down on women and has a despicable heart. Allow me to compare him with Jack Crawford. Crawford is by all means strict - he banished an agent to the Aleutians for "commiting a major f***-up" , but he actually cares for Clarice, and that is what I think makes all the difference. Was Amelia's boss frank and honest enough to tell her "you do not have to like me or my methods, just remember from now on you know everything that I do"? Did he express gratitude to her hard work? ("Starling... we never would have found him without you. No one's gonna forget that, least of all me.") Did he show fear when he realized she could get killed on her work? ("There's no on here, Jack." "...Clarice!") Did he offer her his arm for comfort after she killed the maniac, and tell her that her late father would be proud of her? Apparently not.

My conclusion: Clarice was orphaned, fought hard to advance in life, but at least she loves her job and her job actually loves her back, whilst Amelia had a bad boss, and sort of drifted away from her family after taking the job, even though from your description, her family consists of the sweetest people in the world. That's why they were affected differently post-serialmurdercase.

Well, that's my personal opinion. What do you think? It's good to get all of this out of my system. Hope you're not offended or anything.

Vermouth

P.S.

Oh, could you be so kind as to explain why Fireflash wasn't there to help when Amelia met her untimely death? The question has been plaguing my mind for months.

Author's Response: No, I actually haven't. But maybe I should watch it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Vermouth Dreamwalk

15th October 2010:
Have you seen the movie Inception? Sometimes I wonder why couldn't Christopher Nolan direct the HP series, it sort of went into decline ever since Chris Columbus left. Agree?

Anyhow, this chapter was to me a solid inception, I read it once and then couldn't get it off my mind. Great work! 10/10

Also, I couldn't help but compare Amelia to Clarice Starling. (sometimes I even imagine her looks as those of J.F.) Both went through hell to kill a serial killer, but the results are different, Amelia was traumatized while Clarice won a brief peace from her "screaming lambs". How was this so? I felt there should be more other than the reason that Amelia could feel emotions, because both in the book and movie, it was shown quite clearly that Clarice never recovered from not being able to save the poor lambs from dying, and later on she related to the poor flayed girls as her sisters, and she really understood the emotions. Very close to being magically empathetic. Then, after reading the previous chapters some more times, it clicked. Their bosses.

You never went into detail about Amelia's boss, apart from the fact that his daughter behaves like a $#%@, he looks down on women and has a despicable heart. Allow my to compare him with Jack Crawford. Crawford is by all means strict - he banished an agent to the Aleutians for "commiting a major f***-up" , but he actually cares for Clarice, and that is what I think makes all the difference. Was Amelia's boss frank and honest enough to tell her "you do not have to like me or my methods, just remember from now on you know everything that I do"? Did he express gratitude to her hard work? ("Starling... we never would have found him without you. No one's gonna forget that, least of all me.") Did he show fear when he realized she could get killed on her work? ("There's no on here, Jack." "...Clarice!") Did he offer her his arm for comfort after she killed the maniac, and tell her that her late father would be proud of her? Apparently not.

My conclusion: Clarice was orphaned, fought hard to advance in life, but at least she loves her job and her job actually loves her back, whilst Amelia had a bad boss, and sort of drifted away from her family after taking the job, even though from your description, her family consists of the sweetest people in the world. That's why they were affected differently post-serialmurdercase.

Well, that's my personal opinion. What do you think? It's good to get all of this out of my system. Hope you're not offended or anything.

Vermouth

P.S.

Oh, could you be so kind as to explain why Fireflash wasn't there to help when Amelia met her untimely death? The question has been plaguing my mind for months.

Author's Response: You're right. Amelia's boss sucked, and she was vastly underappreciated. Or rather, he appreciated her when there was a case nobody could solve, but otherwise he was a mysogonist.

Also Amelia deliberately distanced herself from her family during that time--she didn't want to involve them in her job, she believed in keeping her home life and her job separate.

Fireflash wasn't there because Amelia didn't tell him she was going after Nightshade one last time, she went after her solo, not realizing just how deadly she was.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Vermouth The Pretty Poison

30th July 2010:
The surprise is very good!

I know quite well that it's a little late for some constructive criticism, but what the heck.

I am assuming that by the time you wrote this, you haven't yet finalized the 'soulbound' concept that you were so found of using later on. What I am trying to figure out is this: Why hadn't our dearest Amelia visit Severus sooner, at least in his dreams, to offer him some comfort? (I know that I'm undermining the entire storyline and the surprise effects) Is she such a sucker for surprises?

Moreover, Fireflash owes Severus an explanation big time. How did their partnership fail when the two were tracking down Nightshade?

I bet that you will see this one, sometime near the London Olympics? I wouldn't mind how late but I'd like to know what you think. Please do reply. Thanks

Vermouth

 Report Review

Review #5, by Vermouth All Fathers Are Overprotective of Their Daughters

30th July 2010:
Colin refers to his apprentice as Arista-san and she calls him Sensei? Real nice. For a layman, all those Japanese honorifics are surly hard to memorise. . .

Does this mean the Hunters' martial arts are derived from karate and aikido?

Author's Response: Yes, they are derived from karate and akido. That's why they use the terminology. It seems more respectful that way.

Oh and I have more of Worth Saving to post but have to wait till the vacation is over to put up the chapters. I also have more of Moon Fire too, unless I already posted Midnight's Promise, I can't remember.


 Report Review

Review #6, by David Wang Part One Severus & Amelia--A Quiet Place

12th December 2009:
177 days until College Entry Exam and I'm still here. I must be crazy...

Anyway, I'll review other chapters when I have time.

I'd say this is one of your most beautifully written Severus-OC parings. You know what your storys I read so far make me feel(especially after watching HTP)?

The words dissolve into ink blots, drift down, hits the bottom. and solifids into characters and surrondings. Yes, just the Pensieve in the film. Boy am I entoxidated by your stories!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Wanted Free7 Arista Eileen Snape

3rd September 2009:
Seriously, how do you come up with all this? I mean, this story is almost like a book! AMAZING! 10/10

Author's Response: Uh, I have a very good imagination!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Wanted Free7 Part 2 Potion Master's Daughter--Ch. 10 Her Mother's Daughter

3rd September 2009:
Wow that's gotta be extremely hard for Sev. I mean he finds out he has a daughter he never knew about. Wow. Amazing chapter, 10/10!

Author's Response: It is. Very hard. But he's doing his best to come to terms with it.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Wanted Free7 The Darkest Day

3rd September 2009:
Whoa that was sad. Great chapter! I know what the surprise is. . . .10/10

Author's Response: Yes, I hated writing that part! I know, you should!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Wanted Free7 Remember Me

3rd September 2009:
Ha ha, "all the other delinquent puppies." That's really funny. I'm really sorry to tell you this but I've deleted The Malfoy Girl. There were to many problems and I didn't want to get banned from the site. I also had writer's block. Please don't get mad. Amazing chapter! ! ! I love this story. 10/10

Author's Response: Yeah, my brother-in-law used to tell his dog that when he misbehaved. I thought it was hilarious! Hey, no problem. Sometimes you just have to scrap a story and start over again so don't feel bad. Maybe you'll write a better one.

 Report Review

Review #11, by sinwillys822 Save the Last Dance

31st August 2009:
ohh i can't wait to read the sequel

Author's Response: Great I really hope you like it as much as this one.

 Report Review

Review #12, by sinwillys822 Dreamwalk

30th August 2009:
aww that was very sweet they helped each other out, can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Yes, they did and they will continue to do so. They really do love each other.

 Report Review

Review #13, by sinwillys822 Draco Familiaris

28th August 2009:
awww very sweet, luv your writing it is very addictive.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad to hear you say that!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Deatheaterbabe Save the Last Dance

26th August 2009:
omg i think im gonna cry!

that was lovely!

Author's Response: Thanks! I loved writing this and there are sequels to this one.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Wanted Free7 Something Good

25th August 2009:
Snape likes the dog! Yay! Amazing chapter. 10/10

Author's Response: Yes he does and if you like Maverick you should read the two short stories about him A Friend In Need and Saving Mrs. Norris.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Wanted Free7 Dreamwalk

25th August 2009:
Well, I probably would've hated him if he did that to me. But, if you love someone a lot, your love usually wins and your not mad at them. Amazing chapter. 10/10

Author's Response: yes, that is true and he did help her and she helped him as well. It wasn't pleasant, but it had to be done.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Wanted Free7 Dragon Flight

25th August 2009:
I was smiling during this chapter. I wish bronze dragons were real. I have a question for you. Can you read my story, My Life as a Snape, when you get a chance? I just want to know if someone likes it. Thanks. 10/10!

Author's Response: me too, I'd love to ride one. I have just read it and left you a review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Wanted Free7 The Locket

24th August 2009:
Aw! That would of been nice if they got married. I hope they were. . . responsible. . . *awkward cough* Anyway, amazing chapter. You're the BEST author I've come across. In my opinion, you're better than Stephanie Meyer. 10/10

Author's Response: Wow! Now that's what I call a compliment. And in answer I'll say, yes they were and thanks very much about 1000 times!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Wanted Free7 Second Chance

23rd August 2009:
Amazing chapter. It was funny when all the birds flew on her. Severus is also strange. I mean his "girlfriend" is covered in birds, and he starts laughing?? 10/10

Author's Response: Guess he thought it was funny. You know men, they have a weird sense of humor.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Wanted Free7 Draco Familiaris

23rd August 2009:
My cat caught a mouse in our basement. I let it go outside. It was so adorable! Okay, story-time is over. Wow, dragons? Its kinda like he's playing her father, chasing away boyfriends that'll do more harm than good. 10/10

Author's Response: My cat did that all the time. Unfortunately most of them weren't alive afterwards. But that's how it is with cats. They're hunters.

Yes, it is and that's how he sees Amelia.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Wanted Free7 Part One Severus & Amelia--A Quiet Place

23rd August 2009:
I'm finally getting around to this. I've got nothing better to do. Amazing chapter. I really love Severus Snape. 10/10

Author's Response: Me too! LOL! And this is kind of a version about what would happen if Severus had a daughter similar to Harry.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Liana Save the Last Dance

15th July 2009:
This was the best!!! Thank you for letting me attend a formal dance. It's been many years. Come to think of it this was my first formal dance. I grew up in the 60s and we didn't do stuff like that. I loved Christmas. The picture given to Sev. It just seems he's at peace for the moment. And thanks so much for the recipes. I will try them for sure. I may read your shorter works and then head into the longer sequel. Thank you again. This is time well spent.

Author's Response: Aww too bad. We had lots of them in the eighties when I was in school. Middle school and high school. That was a really special Christmas for them both. He is now at peace finally, now that he has a bit of Amelia back in Arista.

Hope you'll like the other two stories.

Please do, the recipes are really good, I've made all of them and the cake is the bomb!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Liana A Giant Problem

15th July 2009:
That was super!!! The stuff you come up with is very original and creative. I used to be addicted to television but now when I'm home I read fan fiction, mostly yours. I loved the Arista dragon. Arista's problem solving skills are incredible. Thank you for letting me see a bronze dragon kick butt!!!

Author's Response: Haha! Thanks that's really cool of you to say that. And I figured you needed to see just what a bronze dragon's capable of.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Liana Snape's Rejects

15th July 2009:
When I saw the title of this chapter I couldn't figure out where you were going but it turned out to be very clever. I enjoyed the "bullies get theirs" chapter. I liked that Ducky gained some control over his stutter. Very well done.

Author's Response: Ha! I wanted you to be like . . .huh? What's that mean?

Pretty funny how they turned the tables on Marsh and her gang huh?

yes, Drake's stutter will eventually be conquered.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Liana Payback and Punishments

15th July 2009:
I can't wait to see what Marsh's punishment is. I love the song. I'm sure it did go down in Hogwarts history. Arista is so smart. I wish I were like that. (I guess that's my way of saying that the author is smart.) Great chapter.

Author's Response: Ha! That song was another one of my inspirational moments. She is, she's her father's daughter. Thanks, Liana! You just made my day. :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>