Reading Reviews for Wind Tamer
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by bootsy_mine I am the trunk of a tree...

19th May 2010:
Congratulations SkinAndBones! Your story Wind Tamer has been nominated for Best Romance Aware at Livejournal's Draco Awards Community in the "HET" round 2010!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Tink_token I am the trunk of a tree...

8th February 2009:
Beautifully written. A real 'stand by your man' piece. And i loved the analogies and metaphors of nature you used throughout it. Well done. x

 Report Review

Review #3, by tmkline I am the trunk of a tree...

4th February 2008:
Only one word to describe this...Beautiful.

Author's Response: only one thing to say to that.
thank you :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by LovelyMioneWeasley I am the trunk of a tree...

1st September 2007:
...*jaw drops* I've read so many good things on this site and this excells them all by far. It was...poetic and romantically written that I found myself in mystically awed the entire time I read it. Your writing is simply amazing and you are so talented like a Miss Kate I know (MajiKat-love her!) You are amazing and so so talented. This was my favorite and I'm adding it to my favorites as welll as infinity/10. Spectacular job!
xx Lindsey

Author's Response: aha Kate is lovely. love her. and love her even more because, as I said, if it wasn't for her Pansy/Draco story I probably would have never written this, and it's probably one of my most praised stories. I just, worked hard on it, and it's the prime example of a great outcome coming from hard work, ya know?

I'm so glad that you like it, and that I pulled off romantic?! that makes me so happy! lol. I thought it was kinda ansty when I wrote it so at times i was a little worried lol, but again, glad that yo ulike it!!

thank you for the fav!!!! xD
yay!
*love* xxx


 Report Review

Review #5, by Zacharias_Smith I am the trunk of a tree...

21st August 2007:
Wow.

Absolutely amazing. This was one of the most beautiful stories I've read, fanfiction or not. It was so beautifully poetic and symbolic and descriptive. I don't really know what to say other than how incredible it was and that it was flawless!
You are a shockingly talented writer!

xKatiex

Author's Response: ah!! no no no don't say that! *blushes*
thank you for such the lovely review. you didn't have to say anything much really to make me smile lol!


 Report Review

Review #6, by SabinaBoo I am the trunk of a tree...

17th July 2007:
This was so enchanting, it is beyond words. I am sitting here in my wobbly chair, gaping and gawking at my keyboard; grasping for all the words that you took when you wrote this. The first paragraph sucks you inside it, and from then on you can think of nothing, save for the descriptions and the deep emotions this stirs. Oh, and of course the occasional "Damn, I wish I wrote that."

You inspire plagiarism, my dear.

And you deserve so much more than a ten for this. I wish I could offer more.

Pansy and Draco have always been a favorite of mine, yet nobody has ever been able to do them justice, until I read yours. This is definitely going in my favorites.

I think you are my new favorite author. :3

Much love. :)

Author's Response: wow, and you have just left me speechless with this review!

I seriously, I want to say thank you, but as you say, those two words just don't seem to protray the feeling that you're reviews have given me.

I've always liked writing, but I think it's people like you, who give incoraging reviews and support that truly make writers, because I know I've tried to write before, and I've always lost intrest, but here, because I'm always getting support, whether it be encouragement or constuctive critism, it really drives me to keep writing.

writing makes me happy, I think I would be doing it know matter what, but to know that I'm also making other people happy, and bringing them a bit of enjoyment, that really is amazing.

and I think that is a good way to explain how i feel because of this reviews. It's wonderful to hear that I'm bringing a feeling of awe to people, something that I've felt so many times from other writers, and it just makes me all fuzzy inside xD

Thank you.
just, thanks :)

xxxxx


 Report Review

Review #7, by IceShards I am the trunk of a tree...

7th July 2007:
i liked it! cute and very. um, naturie?

Author's Response: lol, well thank you

 Report Review

Review #8, by SiriusGal I am the trunk of a tree...

3rd July 2007:
omg, that was so beautiful. It was so poetic--both the writing and the dialogue. The metaphor was so perfect, the tree and the wind. I would have never thought of that. Beautiful. Great story. Bravo. Adding it to my faves.

Author's Response: aw, thank you for the review and thank you for the favorites!


 Report Review

Review #9, by liandhate I am the trunk of a tree...

2nd July 2007:
i love it, absolutely amazing. i loved the way you described pansy's thoughts. wonderful, don't ever change anything about this story. i thought the length was perfect, any more would have ruined the story.
10/10
li


Author's Response: aw, thank you thank you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by ElissandrAnne I am the trunk of a tree...

30th June 2007:
Wow. It is so poetic. Very different from any HP fanfic I've read so far - and I've been reading on more than this site. I did like the way you portrayed her, Pansy. The way she knows how her mother saw her, and how her father sees her, and of course, Draco.

But she's none of these, in her opinion. The ways she sees herself, she's less pretty, but stronger. And what really counts is the image one has of oneself, right?

I loved the end. You're right, it couldn't have been longer. You wrote your story. There is a beginning, a middle and and ending. ;)

Good job!

Author's Response: aw thank you so much. I'm so pleased at the replies to this story, and it's really dear to me, so it makes me ever happier that so many people are fond of it.

I'm glad that you think the length was good. it was probably the one thing that i was most worried about, so that makes me happy,

again,
thank you!!!!
!!!
XD


 Report Review

Review #11, by Romina Stephanie I am the trunk of a tree...

28th June 2007:
Merlin, you've left me speechless. Which makes this hard, because I promised you I'd review this! Anyways, I'm glad I did, 'cause this is one of the best one-shots I've ever read.

The length of your story is, according to me, perfect. You've included enough to give a clear picture of Pansy's feelings, on how she sees their relationship, and her sadness when it comes to the fact that he has to kill. The writing is one that I admire; the descriptions, how you compare her, him and their love with the nature, it's just... brilliant.

The characterization of Pansy was great; you caught her grief and her love on the spot. I liked Draco too; this showed more of an affectionate side of him. But personally, I've always seen him as one that doesn't shows his feelings all that much. Not even to Pansy, no matter how much he loves her. So this was a different way to show him, but a good one nonetheless.

Well, I have nothing else to say really. Just that you've left me awestruck. This was beautiful, brilliant and bittersweet.
- Stephanie

Author's Response: You left ME speechless. geez, I want to write a nice reply and I've spent two days thinking about what to say to you (more then just a thank you!) becuase your review was just so nice!

I'm glad that you think the lenght was good. I was really questioning whether I gave enough to the back story, but then I thought, does the back story really matter as long as the reader understand that Draco has to kill? does it matter why, or could I simply leave them to make up their own back story.

and I am really happy with how I did Pansy, so I'm glad you like her too. I never saw her as a completely stuck up 'b*tch' like everyone thinks she is. After all, we all thought that Draco was just a git, and then after the sixth book we realized that he is a real person with real problems and real feelings, so doesn't that mean that Pansy could be like that too?

all I really have to say is thank you! your review left me speakless as well, and it's seriously such a great feeling to know that other people like what you write enough to be 'awestruck'


 Report Review

Review #12, by HScarlett I am the trunk of a tree...

27th June 2007:
You recieved a 9/10 from me. I rarely give above a seven.

Both Pansy and Draco seemed a little out of character to me in this one-shot, but I loved it despite all of that. Pansy is one of my favorite characters in Harry Potter (which explains my avatar in the forums, I guess) and I can't wait for a break in my stories so that I can write about her. She's so cruel, so cold-hearted and yet she seems so intense and insecure, even in the little we see her in the books. I think that what you've done with her here, giving her real emotions and a real voice, is fantastic.

Have you ever read anything by Janet Fitch? She wrote "White Oleander" and "Paint it Black" (two of my favorites). Her writing is filled with metaphors and extremely poetic language. Your similar talent with those artful descriptions (as well as Draco's nickname for Pansy) reminded me of her.

You have talent. I don't think you need an author snagged off the review forums to tell you that. It's pretty apparant.



Author's Response: *caughtredhanded* Janet Fitch is one of my favorite authors. I think her book 'White Oleander' was one of the books that got me into writing, because she has just a strong and raw way of setting things. It's great to hear from someone else who knows her :) Although usually I am not as poetic as her (I would never be able to pull it off) I really injoy trying my hand at it every now and then, and It's great because i can usually come up with a gem like this :)

I've heard from other's that they thought Pansy was a bit out of character, and like I've said to them, it's really all on how you see them. even my own opinion on minor characters changes day to day, so it's hard to really stick to one cliche.

wow, this was such a nice review though. It's very refreashing to hear someone put their opinion so bluntly. you don't sugar coat what your saying at all, and I like that.

thank you again.
just,
thank you :D



 Report Review

Review #13, by toomanycurls I am the trunk of a tree...

26th June 2007:
I don't think the length is an issue. I really enjoyed the poetic style it has. It reminds me of some awesome poems/stories I've read.I really enjoyed the imagry too. ^_^ It was all very symbolic.

Author's Response: thank you!

 Report Review

Review #14, by pigwidgeon385 I am the trunk of a tree...

26th June 2007:
Wow - this was fabulous. The writing is beyond beautiful. However, Pansy? JK paints her as a narrow minded, foolish girl. You show another angle - however, it is a tad OoC. I don't think she could pain a beautiful picture. Maybe make her spoken words a bit plainer? But - wow. This was beautiful.

Author's Response: well, I've said it before, we don't learn enough about the minor characters because JK gives you Harry's point of view. and Harry is only human, he doesn't know everything.
Honestly, we have barely heard enough about pansy to make the asumption that she is narrowminded either. All we really know for sure is that she hangs around with Draco, and that's pretty much it.

anyway, that's just my arguement, it's really hard to say when it comes to canon because most minor characters we don't learn enough about.

thank you for reading


 Report Review

Review #15, by Ydnas Odell I am the trunk of a tree...

26th June 2007:
Poetic.

But to much so. I think most people will enjoy this a lot, but I found it to dense to complete. Too me excellent writing is clear and simple writing.

I don't think I was the target audience for this though. I don't see the point of writing arty if it impinges on the story you have to tell. But that's just me I think. Given that most of the really popular fics are these really fruity types.

The tree and wind simile is an excellent idea though.

Author's Response: well, thank you for reading anyway.

I think I wrote it to be poetic, because all in all it is just a short one-shot.

I know what you mean though, because I am one of those people who don't usually like poetic stuff either, but I just felt like doing it, and with Poety, if you are someone who lieks you, you can find so much more to the story when using the poetry.

if your someone who doesn't see the point of poetry in a story though, you will have a hard time continuing through it, because you won't see the meaning.

glad that you read though, thank you


 Report Review

Review #16, by ciararose I am the trunk of a tree...

26th June 2007:
Wow, that was intense and AMAZING. I love the way you write about both characters, you portray them very acurately. The description and metaphor is amazing, and a little confusing at times but it definitely flows well. The dialogue in the end is perfect. Great job!

Author's Response: aw thank you very much!!

 Report Review

Review #17, by mischiefmanaged I am the trunk of a tree...

26th June 2007:
This is a wonderful Draco/Pansy stories. Free of those cliches that have Pansy as an extremely annoying girl who seems to hover around Draco. I loved the beginning, it seemed to make me read on further. And it's not short at all. =) Good job!

Author's Response: thank you thank you!! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by PadfootBlack16 I am the trunk of a tree...

26th June 2007:
well that was...different...but in a good way. I dont think Ive ever read anything quite like it.

Your descriptions of Pansy and Draco are just marvelous, the way you compare them to each other, and to elements like the moon, the wind, winter, etc is something I have never though of doing, or at least no in the fashion that you did with this. You seriously have a great way at describing things.

That conversation at the end was also very well written, and I liked it quite a lot. Love the line: "you are a wind tamer." by Draco. Just loved it.

Its quite a poetic story, and ive never been quite into them. But this was...different and I liked it quite a lot.

This is going in my faves, let me tell you.

I am trying to findsomething to criticate, but I cant find anything! lol...there are a few comma errors here and there and the first few paragraphs I probably would have written as one, though it would have been a bit too long.

I applaude you at such a wonderfully well written story.

my points for you: 9/10

cheers,
pad

Author's Response: aw, thank you thank you.
yeah, I've read it over a few time and I'm found the odd spelling mistake and that, which sucks, but it's hard to fix stuff like that when you have to wait for validation and all that jazz :\

I'm so glad that you like it though, makes me all tingling inside.

I was really trying to go for something different, something that even I don't usually do, so I'm glad that I acheived that in your prespective :)

thank you again XD
yay


 Report Review

Review #19, by DandN I am the trunk of a tree...

26th June 2007:
*is speechless* This was so beautiful...absolutely beautiful. As if you had turned the whole one shot into a one, long, elaborate poem. The feel of this one shot was so dreamy, without actually going overboard with mysticisim (I've seen that happening, it ain't pretty, and gets very artificial very soon).

I found the different comparisons of Pansy to be ingenious. It told me as a reader how other characters saw her, and then when she denied all of them and gave her own perspective, I felt like you've captured something about Pansy that many authors miss.

Furthermore, I think the comparison of Draco and wind was also very insightful, especially this: "Does the wind convince itself that tearing homes apart is right?" truly made perfect sense to me in relation to Draco.

Absolutely wonderful piece, and I agree with you, it couldn't have been any longer nor shorter, this was the perfect lenght. This is one of the very few fics I give 10/10

Author's Response: *happy that you is speechless*

XD

thank you thank you thank you thank you and thank you! XD wow, this was such a nice review, gave me a great big smile. I love to hear that you liked it.

I have no idea where this story came from, but it just came one day, and I'm so glad that everyone who has read it as liked it so much.!

XD
love from me, thank you again.


 Report Review

Review #20, by HrXd I am the trunk of a tree...

25th June 2007:
I liked the beginning of the fic, you really managed to bring the readers into it, but you failed to keep us interested. I felt that part of the fic just repeated itself, and that bothered me. I think that the ending was nice, but you should have explianed a bit more about Draco so that we could see a picture.

I would give this a 8/10

Author's Response: well, thank you for reading. I'm glad that you liked the beganning, and i thought that I did my best with it, so I'll just have to try and work harder next time.
I didn't want to give too much explination on the situation, because I wrote it from Pansy's point of view, and of course, Pansy already knows everything that is going on. I wanted to leave it for the readers to figure out on their own, for them to make up their own back story, but I guess I see what you're saying.

thank you again for reading :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Novatrix I am the trunk of a tree...

25th June 2007:
Bones, this is breath-taking! I love your opening. You've wrought a haunting, fine, unforgettable, beautiful story here, and I haven't been able to do more than sit and bob in the thrall of your spell. Your use of description and metaphor is distinctive but never repetitive or contrived (a major fault of less skilled writers who embark on such an ambitious project). Your writing is so natural that I can't help but wonder how you wrote this. Did you do it all in one sitting (WOW.) or work on it over a lengthier period of time? I'm really, really impressed -- blown away, to be more precise. Your Pansy is a very real person, isn't she? Here you bring a great deal to two very different characters.

I pretty much gaped openly at this line: ' "And if your heart stops, doesn't mine also stop? You are cancerous, but being so makes me cancerous as well. We are one. You fuel me, my heart beats only for you my love." I replied, letting my slender fingers pet his cheek, smooth skin like silk to the touch.' Wow. Just... wow. I'm more than speechless at how beautifully you interweave poetry and concrete terms that would be unwieldy in the hands of any other author. Clearly, your ability to write and write as only you write is outstanding. I could not admire you more.

To be honest, I feel like I've fallen in love, a feeling I often have when I discover an author whose work I adore. This is going straight to my favorites, which will give me an excuse to look at your masterpiece! I've had one eye on Judas Kiss for a while now. ^_^ Many thanks for the opportunity!

-- Dana

Do I even have to say it? Ten out of ten, of course.

Author's Response: AH!
*tacklelovehugness*
thank you! I'm so glad that you liked it. haha, wow!

yes, I did do this in one sitting. it was on a sunday that I had basically nothing to do. I read another fiction about pansy (shout out to Majikat) and it got me wanted to write one. I ended up getting off the computer and free handing anything that came to my head, then I came back on and strung it all together. I'm amazingly pleased with it, so it makes me so much more happy to hear that other people like it too!

Ah Judas kiss, probably in the running for second favorite along with Playing Cat and Mouse (it's only tied with that because i Have so much fun writing PCandM). I hope you like that one as much :D

*loveforfavorite*

wow, all I can say is thank YOU! thank you for setting aside some time to give me such a wonderful review :D I would be writing even if no one reading it, but it makes me all the more happy knowing that other people approve of my work.

yay!
*morehugs*
xD
-SkinandBones aka Danielle


 Report Review

Review #22, by ralj1640 I am the trunk of a tree...

25th June 2007:
Intresting, a tree. Wow that was really good it had a bit of mystry with darkness. Um, your flow was great, my eyes just went from one sentance to the next. I think that it was the perfect length I don't think it really cold be any longer. Great job:)

Author's Response: aw, thanks for such the nice review. I'm so glad that you liked it.
thank you thank you thank you :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by MajiKat I am the trunk of a tree...

16th June 2007:
ioahdukaiuhq rkbakjhcoah

wow.

wow.

wow.

wow.

you have left me speechless and unable to form words! holy gosh hunny! you are a poet and i am in tears! thank you so much for dedicating this to me - i am honoured and flattered beyond belief!

wow. where to start? the opening made my hand fly to my mouth. so evocative and so stunning! wow.

So if I am the tree, the trunk of rough but gentle bark, then what is he? He is the wind, caressing my form like a warm summer breeze, rustling the leaves of our love with his tender breath, smelling of ocean, dry grass, wood and smoke. Mixing with my natural scent, we for the perfume of the world.

that is one of the most beautiful pieces of imagery i have ever encountered. seriously. this whole piece is incredible for its metaphor and its imagery. using nature to describe both their characters and their love...oh my, you are after my own heart there. that really really speaks to me, on a spiritual level. thank you.

We level each other's extremes, showing the world the outcome of our striking mix, and soaking up their envy like a sugary suckle, basking in their glares like content cats in the burning rays of the sun. - again, a stunning line and stunning imagery. I got this picture in my mind of two perfect beings, almost godly, standing together while everyone else is positioned beneath them. oh my. beautiful writing!!

When he does not billow in rage like a horrible storm at his hate for himself, spilling words that boom violently and frightening like the rumble of thunder, he floods the world with his salty drops of rain, falling from the silver clouds that are his eyes. The pain as he watches the lives being destroyed, all to keep himself blowing, breaks him apart. He is no longer the same wind, for even when he is not openly billowing, underneath his smooth exterior, he is still storming with hate. - that made me cry! seriously, how tragic and beautiful and ... oh gosh, i feel like i am watching a greek play or something...darling, you are incredible! what a perfect image of Draco! i love that he is the storm and the wind, and like the storm, is destructive and powerful and torn apart, and as the wind, when he is with her, he is gentle and soft and tender. wow.

wow. i honestly cannot think of anything else to say other than you are amazing Danielle!! simply amazing. i'm jealous of your phenomenal talent, and proud that i could inspire you to write this. this is a gem, and i hope that you get heaps of reviews for this. if you don't, i shall take out my trusty pitchfork and poke people until they read and review!!

Hunny, you're gorgeous!
*hugs*
Kate
xx






Author's Response: ek! thank you!
oh my god I have been on the edge of my seat for this to come out because I serious love it too., It's not often that i get a story that I'm so pleased with, but after I was finished this I was like 'wow, I really like it. it's prefect'. ah, wow.
and it makes me even happier that you liked it too. It wouldn't have been done if you hadnt' have read your story, so basically you are probably one half of the entry peice of writing.
wow, I'm so thankful xD thats all i can really say. it makes me so happy to know people like my writing, you even more because your so billiant yourself :)

yay. xD
(I'm like, beaming right now, for further referance haha)

XD
!!
*hugs back*
Danielle xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login