Reading Reviews for Away From Me
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jchrissy Away From Me

19th May 2013:
Ash. Cliches aside (which I still enjoy) this was awesome. Obviously your writing had gotten a lot better since this, but this is still really, really good. Usually when you click on someone’s older story it’s very rough, but even your older ones are still so awesome.

Hermione and Draco is something I actually don’t dislike. Lady Malfoy was my first story on here :P. And I think I’d really love a story about them getting together as adults, maybe after they’d both lost their significant others. So I really loved that this took place so many years forward, and even when they did get together in the past, that it was still in their adult hood.

You know how everyone says stuff about people, like ‘they’d never do that!’ Well, okay. Cynic side talking here, but you never really know what someone would do. If Ron and Hermione’s fighting had been bad enough, if she was watching so much they’d worked for crumble and they weren’t seeing eye to eye and couldn’t get along, something like that could very well happen. No one ever thinks they’d cheat on their partner nor plans that, but it still happens all the time. Because people get hurt, they get fed up, they get sick of whatever is making them so sad and they forget the reasons that they thought they’d never betray someone they love. Anyway, what I’m trying to say, is though I think it’s very unlikely, I don’t think it would be impossible for Hermione to make that kind of mistake.

Though I’m sure you’ve read so many stories in the queue like this now that you’ll totally disagree :P.

Having Ron’s death shake Hermione so deeply is a clear fact that she loved him very much. So no matter what happened in the past, they worked together and worked things out. And to have such an amazing wizard die such a... muggle death :(. it’s so sad that his mother outlived him. Molly should never have to outlive any of her children again :(.

Hermione’s emotions felt very real during this. Especially her need to do the mundane to keep it together. Take care of her house, clean, try and be normal. I loved that Ginny wasn’t going to let that happen, though. She was going to stay there and help Hermione whether the girl liked it or not. I was kind of sad we didn’t see more of the Potter/Weasley bunch, but I suppose since this story wasn’t actually theirs, that’s understandable :P.

Ohhh the twist about Connor. I did NOT expect that. And even when Draco started saying that she’s lucky he looks so much like her, I thought it was just going to be some remark about how Ron’s ugly or something, haha! And then when I started getting it! You’re a sneaky author, you. And it was actually really nice of Draco not to try find out until after Ron had passed. It showed that he did have respect for Hermione nad Rons marriage, and wasn’t going to disrupt everything.

It’s not going to be long now until I have everyone on your page (besides Snily :P) reviewed. Which means you need to get yourself going on writing, missy.

You’re awesome. That is all.

 Report Review

Review #2, by slytherinchica08 Away From Me

3rd January 2013:
Omg ash! Im in love with this oneshot. I had already liked it right away but let me tell you that the ending really did it for me. Ill be adding this to my favorites thats for sure. I love how while their is no actual relationship between hermione and draco in this it tells us about a time when there had been and that she had had a son because of it. Oh i just want to gush about this story so much! As a huge dramione lover let me just say that i love what u did in this story. I can even say that i love that there isnt a happily ever after for the two but you also leave it so that maybe hermione would some day work up the courage to tell her son that he is dracos. Very wonderful oneshot. Great job!

~slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Well I'm so glad you liked this story!! :) I wrote it before the 7th book had been published, clearly, so it's a little dated and no longer canon. Though when I wrote it, it was TOTALLY cannon ahaha.

I really enjoyed writing it because I loved the Dramione ship, but I hated non plausible dramiones. So I wrote this as kind of a challenge for myself, that I could do it and do it well.

I'm so very glad that you took the time to come over and read it!


 Report Review

Review #3, by caomoyl Away From Me

21st July 2011:
OMG Wow! That is so amazing!! You nearly had me crying, and that is impressive!!! I think this is the first time that I have wanted to give Draco a hug. He was written so beautifully. And I was not expecting Connor to be his son. I had never thought of Hermione as a one night stand sort of woman, but in the circumstances it was in it totally made sense!!

It is probably the only Dramione I have ever enjoyed reading (not that I have read many) It wasn't over the top and lovey dubby. It was nicely done.

Cao

Author's Response: Yay!! I'm glad you liked it! I know, That twist is kinda weird, isn't it? I clearly wrote this before DH was written, so it kinda isn't canon anymore, haha. If I were to re-write to make it canon, I don't know that Hermione and Draco would have had a son, but I like my idea before DH :)

I'm glad you enjoyed reading it! Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by ThatRomantic Away From Me

1st September 2010:
Aww. Poor Hermoine.

Love the story. Very similar to the ones I write!

Romantic
xx

Author's Response: Well thanks so much for reviewing this, I really appreciate it!! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Celtic_Dreamer7 Away From Me

15th August 2010:
Wow, Draco Malfoy. I wasn't expecting him. I was expecting someone else, lol. Again, your descriptive writing style had me hooked from the beginning and I could not look away until I had completely read all of it. I love the twist of her youngest son being Draco's but I don't understand why she chose not to be friends with him. The way you wrote him, I almost felt sorry for him. . . Almost. Great job, yet again.

~Celtic~

Author's Response: The whole point of this was for me to try to write something that could be Dramione in canon, because I'm such a canon writer and things have to fit into it.

This obviously was written before DH, and I don't know why I chose the younger son to be Draco's anymore. I think too much had happened in their life at that point for Hermione to just be like...ok, we can be friends. Poor Draco lol.

Thanks again for coming to read this, I appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #6, by SiriusxRemus4life Away From Me

12th June 2010:
Wow, this was such a good story. I loved it so much it made me sad. Poor everyone. I'm glad Draco had a son. It was sweet but, sad that he never met. I wish you would do a sequel for this fic. 10/10
~SxR

Author's Response: Well thank you so much! I never considered writing a sequel to this, it's been so long since I've written it, I don't even know if I could get back into the characters the way I once was, but I definitely won't rule anything out! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Alopex Away From Me

30th October 2009:
Happy HPFFSAD!

I was quite intrigued to see at least two stories on your author's page that involve the HP characters later in life. As in, quite a bit later, not just in their 30s. I rarely, if ever, see that. I count it fairly unusual when the main characters are older than 20, really.

I enjoyed your characterization of Hermione. I found her to be in character. Although she certainly can be emotional (weepy) at times, she's also tough, and I think the stoicism she was displaying at the beginning fits her. Her thoughts throughout seemed Hermione-ish as well.

I thought the way Draco's story was written was a bit bland and list-like, but if you're catching up after 20 years, I suppose it's quite likely that you might list some sort of "big" things in that fashion. How've you been? Oh, fine, nothing much, just started keeping bees, go an a Muggle cruise every November, built a ketchup factory, and have been in Witch Weekly seven times! You?

*cough* Getting back on track here . . . what I had intended to say at first was that I didn't think there was sufficient development to justify Draco visiting Hermione, and especially not to ask to be friends. However, you cleared up the reason near the end. I'm not crazy about that little plot twist, myself, but it does make the rest of the story seem more believable.

I found myself rather touched by Draco's anguish/despair/weariness/regret at not being able to get rid of the Dark Mark (erase his past, really). I don't really like Draco, I think he's a bit pathetic, but I do sympathize with him, and you brought out that in him which I sympathize with.

This was an interesting story, and I commend you for taking on older characters. I wouldn't have enjoyed this story as much if the same circumstances had happened to characters half that age.

Author's Response: Dearest Alopex,

I thank you so much for this review from HPFF SAD!! This story of mine is actually one of my favorites. I really enjoy writing characters when they are older, and I think its something that doesn't happen often enough. I'll probably go there again.

the plot twist was a little much, but it's funny, because when I sat down to write this, I didn't plan for the last child to be Draco's, it just came out that way. But I wanted it to be abrupt and controversial, so I'm glad I scored that at least.

I'm glad that I piqued your interest a little bit in this particular era of stories. This one shot was an experiment because I wanted to write a plausible Draco/Hermione, and though the ship itself is entirely unlikely, this was the only way I could find to make it real!

Thanks again so much for this!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Tanya Away From Me

20th August 2009:
omg! you write beautifully. i am sad now (and that is a compliment)

Author's Response: Thank you very much :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Isha_Rose Away From Me

18th December 2007:
Oh my, that was so terribly heartfelt. It really moved me, and I felt genuine sorrow to read of Ron's death and Hermione's lonliness. It's truly incredible to read of these characters at 60, because it's so unlike anything else. I love how you kept the dynamics between them the same however- particularly between Hermione and Ginny. It was awfully touching. And Draco admitting that he is lonely was really powerful. I adored this!

Take care

X

Author's Response: I am so happy you liked this. I'm glad you could accurately empathize with the characters, as that was the intent. I'm so happy you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Dobby8 Away From Me

21st October 2007:
This was a very good story. I won't ask you to read mine, because you've already validated many of my chapters and I thank you for that!!! But anyway, your story was awesome. Very sad indeed, but really good.
10/10
Dobby8
\~(*)~/

Author's Response: Well I do what I can :) I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by taylorj828 Away From Me

8th September 2007:
Wow. I definitely didn't see the one-night-stand coming, nor one of her children being Draco's. That was a shocker. This is such a creative piece of work. It caught my attention because it was so much later in life, when they're in the 60's. I don't think I've ever seen a story like that... It was so sweet and sad and hard all at the same time. I don't often like stories about older people, but this was so... I dunno, interesting!

Poor girl, poor Draco, ah... *shakes head* One of those stories where you just walk away feeling bad for them. I can't believe Draco got up the guts to come and talk to her. Ah, what Hermione might have found had she accepted his offer. But of course, it would be no easy task...

A wonderful story, dear. I enjoyed it! (o:

Author's Response: Hi!!!!! *waves* I'm so happy you decided to stop by and review (even though it takes me about 1000 years to get back to you)

I'd say that probably, I love writing about them when they are older. But not next generation stuff, writing about the trio when they are older. I don' t know why...it fascinates me. I plan to spend my life working in geriatrics so that's probably why haha.

I always wanted to write a feasible Draco/Hermione because there are SO few out there, and I thought that this would be feasible, haha. I think at that age, Draco would have had lots of time to reflect on what had happened to him, and maybe make peace with his demons. I can't blame Hermione for not wanting to have a part in that though.

Thanks so much for reviewing, it means a lot :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jill Away From Me

21st August 2007:
Wow...another great story. I feel a sorrow and empathy for Draco in this one...and I am not used to feeling that! You captured Hermione's emotions very well, and I love the twist with Draco being Conner's father. Awesome, awesome, awesome!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! Now this one I like a lot. I'd never written a dramione before and really wanted to write a feasible one...and the only way I could think of a feasible Dramione would have to be while she was drunk or way in the future. Poor Hermione, she just can't get ahead, can she? hehe, I'm so glad you visited my stories and I hope you'll read more!! Make my whole day, why don't you??!! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Rigal Away From Me

4th August 2007:
Great story
Keep writing

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by MoonNRoses Away From Me

31st July 2007:
Wow... that was amazing... and sad. You could tell she loved them both... and hurt for both... And the sadness...

I recently lost my boyfriend to heart disease. He too went to sleep and didn't wake up. I wasn't with him, but... I was still hysterical when I found out. I can see and feel how she felt. But it was good to see the love of the others around her. Even Draco wanting to be her friend... it was good to see. Very well written.

Author's Response: I am so sorry to hear about your boyfriend, when I read that, my empathy immediately kicked in. I can't imagine what you must be going through. I had a friend that died in the shower due to a heart disease. It was the day after a huge band regional we'd gone to, and the next morning he collapsed and died. It's stayed with me all this time.

But anyway, thank you for reviewing and for reading into my little story. It's one of my favorites I've written and i'm glad I could share it with you :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by DarkLadyofSlytherin Away From Me

19th July 2007:
Interesting.

I've never read D/Hr before, seeing as I simply hate the ship. However, I believe you did very well with it. I still don't like the ship, but to have Draco seduce Hermione was something I believed would happen. However, Hermione drinking? Not too sure about that.

Author's Response: Well, you have to think about the fact that she is an adult at that point. I've known many people who you would think never would drink, and then they get to college and totally go off the wheel. Not saying that's what happened to Hermione, but I think that it's safe to say that she'd have alcohol at some point in her life. thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Boots Away From Me

13th June 2007:
This is incredibly well written, it really struck a chord. I don't think that I've ever read a story that has the main characters (well, not Harry, but still) living to a healthy old age and having kids and actually having a happy ending. It's too bad Hermione couldn't bring herself to forgive Draco and become a friend. I love your perspective on the story. Your sentences were messy at points, but your story got across just fine. I liked this, 10/10, great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I agree, I think there are too many cliched fictions about the kids of the trio that it's a topic that is stayed away from. Sorry about the messy sentences, but I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by al3x Away From Me

13th June 2007:
Awww =[ That was a fantastic story and very sad!

-Alex-

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by ThestralRider92 Away From Me

10th June 2007:
Whoa. That was really something different.

And it was very good, too. It was a very nice change of pace to see Hermione old, to hear about a one-night Dramione a quarter of a century back come back to haunt her. I must say I enjoyed it a lot.

Usually, I dislike Dramione-Heron fics; because I always felt that she'd choose Ron over Draco. But this story made it seem so plausible...and I loved how Draco changed. He wasn't entirely different; he still seemed to be battling his old thoughts. And it took him near forty years to become this much better; compared tot eh usual few weeks most Dramione's depict. I like it much better this way.

This was an excellent fic, LovlyRita, and I enjoyed reading it! (I found it via the forums...you were requesting reviews, I think). THis is going in my favorites; because I think it is one of the best, cliche-less, emotional Dramione's I've read. Just one last time: great fic!

Author's Response: Well thank you so much! That was one thing I worried about- is it plausible? But I've learned (from watching other people, not me) that a bit of anger and alcohol can make any situation appealing, even Draco Malfoy, haha. And It was very important to me to not have Draco walk in the house and yell "I love you, ever since we were headboy/girl together and you wore that itty bitty mini skirt and you looked so hotttt even though I still hated you the day before" Yeah....I was trying to avoid that, haha.

I'm so pleased you liked it! I'm so proud that you think it's cliche-less! Thanks so much for your wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by ladyemma Away From Me

10th June 2007:
Hello, it's LadySophieKitty from the forums! First off, before I begin, I would like to say that I am glad you found the pics, and that they are perfect! Now on to the story.

First off, you have captured Hermione perfectly. This is how I would imagine her at age 51. I liked how she had to stay strong in front of her children and grand-children, how she could show no weakness. (Almost like a guy, except for better reasons of course)

The way you wrote was very beautiful and poetic. I think I may have even learned a few words, which is always a bonus for me. My only complaint was that the way they spoke was sometimes too formal.

I really liked Draco. I liked how he wanted to be her friend (how sweet). One reason I liked that was because in most Dhr stories, they all the sudden fall in love, without even being civil first. I liked how he had been afraid to become friends with her for years and years.

What? They did it? Connor wasn't Ron's? That was quite a shock. And somewhat takes away what I said previous paragraph, and yet at the same time it didn't.

'he age' should be 'her age'

And the last thing I liked was how at last she was able to cry in front of everyone.

Can you tell I liked it? ^_^

And let me tell you, that is rare for Dhr. I mean, I like the ship, but there are so many cliches, and the same plot is being used over and over again. I am happy to say that this was very unique. I didn't really give much CC, which is a first for me. I'm going to add this to my favorites, give it a 10/10, and hopefully read more stories by you.

Oh, and two last things: one, I was a little surprised by lack of Harry (unless you mentioned he died? I'm horrible with small details)
and two, I don't even like RHR, but when I was reading this, I wasn't even thinking about that.

Sophie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for helping me find pictures, though, I really appreciate it. I'm so horrible at looking for them!

Hermione is actually modeled after my mom. I flew for the first time ever about a month ago and I was sooo nervous, but my mom was the picture of calm. Now, I'm 22 years old, but I was probably shaking like a 5 year old, haha. When we got off the plane, she told me it took everything for her to sit calmly and not be nervous in front of me. I admire that so much, and I think Hermione would be the same way.

Sorry about the speech being so formal. I just supposed that since they were in their 60's it might be nicer, but I totally see your point.

And you're right, Draco is a bit of a conundrum. I mean, here he is trying to be nice and say sorry, and then all of a sudden he brings up the affair, which clearly stirs Hermione.

I'm pretty sure I mentioned up there that he'd died in the war...if not I'll add it. In a previous rough draft I had him reading the eulogy, but that would have complicated things. I'll double check.

And RHR...I like it because it's canon, but I don't like to write it (hence why my story Cinders is so bad, haha) but I'm glad you weren't focused on that.

Thank you sooo much for reviewing, I really appreciate your honest comments and I'm so pleased you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #20, by OllyCoop Away From Me

10th June 2007:
..."lovingly convinced her that tomorrow was another day"...
That was beautiful. Beautiful, sad...realistic.
You've done a wonderful job. Your description is so accurate, when she's fighting back the tears..."moist tracks down her lined cheeks"...
Your references to age are done so well, subtly.
Draco...He's not out of character, changed yes, but it's still Draco.
And Connor! You phrased that so well, slotted it in flawlessly...it could have been a...forced twist, if you get me. It could have been horribly obvious you wanted me to do a double take, but instead it fitted. And worked really well.
I'm done.
A fantastic story though! I'll have to read your other fics (^_^)
-Olly


Author's Response: I'm thrilled you liked it!

It was important to me to describe that they'd aged, but to do it with grace. Aging is beautiful, even if the things that happen aren't as much.

The twist was a surprise, even for me, haha, and it's my absolute favorite part of the story. It's almost absolutely out of no where, and I've read that part a hundred times and gave my self a nice pat on the back, haha.

Thanks so much, I really appreciate you taking time out of your day to stop in and read my story!


 Report Review

Review #21, by sunshinedreamr Away From Me

9th June 2007:
Wow, that was bloody awesome!! I didn't see that little surprise in the end coming at all. Seriously, great job on this :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you loved it! The little twist at the end was a last minute insert for me...but I'm thrilled you liked it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login