Reading Reviews for Thursday's Child
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by henryjones Thursday's Child

4th March 2008:
so um... wow. this was amazing. it made me sort of sad how lily was so, idk, arrogant, because i would like to think that she was a nice person, but i guess theres 2 sides to every story, no? i loved the look inside petunias head during her conversation with sirius. the conversation seems normal, and if it had been without petunias thoughts, im sure she would have come off as the small minded one, but the way you wrote it pointed out that she really isnt any worse than the rest of them. thank you for doing justice to petunia! ;)

 Report Review

Review #2, by hypercell Thursday's Child

1st March 2008:
Wow. That is sad. And Very good. A bit confusing, but good. Really, Really good.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pretty Purple Pelican Thursday's Child

15th December 2007:
Very painful to read, but very real. I really liked how you kept the Marauders in a bad light, except for Peter. I really, really liked your Peter, even though we only saw him briefly. I also liked the hint at his "new job." Poor Petunia. She is definitely a sad character. Well done!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Flourish and Blotts Thursday's Child

24th August 2007:
This was wonderfully written! Petunia's point of view was extremely well done, I've never seen such an accurate depiction before. At the same time I was able to still like Lily but understand really clearly how Petunia felt. Bravo!

 Report Review

Review #5, by candlesflame Thursday's Child

19th August 2007:
I can't say I've ever seen Petunia displayed so accurately before!! You managed to show her grievances with the wizarding world (some of which I happen to agree with) while still showing she isn't the nicest person you'll ever meet (no truly nice person would mistreat a child!!). Sirius was well shown also; how he interferes because it is related to James and is kind of arrogant without meaning to be. Anyway, this was wonderful.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Daanana Thursday's Child

24th July 2007:
‘You may be one of them, but you’re one of us too, yet you call us muggles like we’re alien.’

Somehow this line did it for me. The whole one-shot was wonderfully written and makes us see Petunia in a whole different perspective. And with the new book published, I think you might even have been right.
It's very believable that Petunia doesn't really hate Wizards because of their magic and stuff, but in a way they took her sister away from her. And that Lily didn't want to wed in a church, made me dislike her somewhat. She changes locations for her wizard-friends, but for her own sister, she doesn't. I don't know; I just liked this story a lot. It's one of the best I've ever read on HPFF. Great job.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Green Sky Thursday's Child

2nd July 2007:
Very insightful. I think you've mixed in cannon enough to make this view point very believable. Kudos.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to review and comment, and I am very pleased to know you felt the viewpoint to be believable.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Azrael Thursday's Child

27th June 2007:
Wow. I like the new spin on Petunia, that it wasn't jealousy, or need of any sort of normalcy that drove her to hate magic, but just longing for her sister to return to her and her family. Excellent story!

Author's Response: I never thought Petunia to be jealous, as her hatred in the books has always seemed to be just that…real, bitter hatred. And she did effectively lose her sister, which must have been hard. I am thrilled you enjoyed this and thank you for taking the time to leave a comment =)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Sandra Thursday's Child

4th June 2007:
I really enjoyed this story. I loved reading Petunia's point of view on the whole thing, and how she felt abandoned by her sister. It would be a good reason for why she hates magic so much. In a way I can understand why she's so angry at Lily. Where it says that when Lily returned from her 1st year at Hogwarts and demanded a new room of her own, it probably signalled an unwanted change for Petunia. First her sister leaves her family to learn magic, and then Lily (probably in Petunia's eyes) abandons her again by not wanting to share a room with her sister, which she had since childhood.

For Lily she probably saw nothing wrong with doing this. I mean their father could have used the excuse that lily was growing up, but for Petunia it must have seemed as if Lily was insensitive to her feelings on the whole subject, or didn't care?

You've done the marauders characters very well. I find Sirius and Peter's ironic though. Sirius was one of the few Blacks to not be prejudiced agaisnt muggles and mudbloods, yet to Petunia he appears that way. He acts, to her, as if he's better just because he's magic, and in her own thoughts expects her to 'fall worshipfully at his feet'. Yet he's not like that in the books, and he's just lookign out for Lily because Lily is the soon to be wife of James his best friend.

Peter I found ironic because he's so nice to Petunia. It's strange to read because no matter how nice he acts you just know that in the future he will betray Lily and James. I think Peter is supposed to be a pureblood? The very person who shows Lily real concern or kindness, is the one who will be the cause behind Lily and James death. Sad really.

I thought this was a great one-shot. You've shown Lily's bitterness and disdain towards Lily and magic in general, and also her love for Uncle Vernon. You can also see the resentment towards her parents, especially her father :)

How have you been? I've been trying to contact you for ages, and never get a reply. I was worried something bad had happened, or you had abandoned Harry Potter fan fiction altogether.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Violet Gryfindor Thursday's Child

1st June 2007:
Wow, Siren, this really is an amazing one-shot. You actually made me feel sympathy for Petunia, and dislike Lily and the Marauders - they were horribly condescending to Petunia and their attitudes towards her explains her treatment of Harry. The parallels between how she felt she was treated and the way that she would later act towards Harry were chilling, yet you kept them from becoming too similar, which would have been overdone if you had. This story really shows the distance between the muggle and wizarding worlds - it was like the characters were trying to talk over the distance, but could not fully understand each other because of it.

And now I will stop babbling and reiterate my adoration for this story and your writing style. It's wonderful to read another story of yours and just as great to read something about a usually neglected character. =)

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your lovely review Vi =). I am very pleased to konw that you liked this. Especially that you felt sympathy for Petunia, who I feel deserves some sympathy in this respect, regardless of how badly she has treated Harry. I have often wondered exactly how the two worlds manage to co-exist in the situations where they cross over like this, and it always seems (from JKR's pov) that the Wizarding side gets preference over everything else. Hermione spends all her time away from her family to be with her friends, so why would Lily not have treated her own family in the same way? I think you can understand why they do it when you read the books, but never really consider how the people they left behind must feel about it.

And feel free to babble all you want =) I am thrilled to konw you enjoyed this, and thank you for taking the time to let me know.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login