Reading Reviews for The Long Black Veil
  
118 Reviews Found

Review #1, by niamh The Long Black Veil

25th March 2011:
wow. my first sirius/lily and my first one shot. I am so impressed. this is some fantastic writing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by writtergirl56 The Long Black Veil

17th July 2010:
Aww!! That was so sad. This is the first Sirius/Lily fic I've read and I really like it!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Maddie The Long Black Veil

3rd July 2010:
Oh! That is so sad, I love it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by allie_0608 The Long Black Veil

11th August 2009:
aww, poor sirius! i really felt for him in this one.. especially at the end when he erased the affiar from her memory! awesome song to base it off of btw. i love both versions of it.
10/10
-allie

Author's Response: It's one of my favourite songs. I adore the Johnny Cash version. And this piece only came together because the song kind of ... slipped it into place, if that makes sense. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #5, by padfoot4ever The Long Black Veil

9th June 2009:
I love the song The Long Black Veil. It's amazing. I was thinking of doing my own songfic with it so I searched to see if anyone had beaten me to it (luckily I was thinking Narcissa/OC rather than Sirius/Lily!). And by the way, it wasn't actually Johnny Cash's song originally, it was written by a guy called Danny Dill and Cash just covered it. You should listen to the Mick Jagger/Chieftans version, it's brilliant!

Speaking of brilliant, I really really enjoyed this story. Although I love Lily/James I've always been intrigued by the whole forbidden love thing between Sirius and Lily. I really felt for Sirius in this fic. He knows he'll always be second best. Your writing is great, well done! :)

Author's Response: No, Johnny's haunting baritone fits the song so unbelievably perfectly - beats out Jagger any day. Though I do enjoy both. And I didn't know who wrote it, thanks for telling me.

I think the forbidden thing is one of the reasons I found this fic so easy to write, it had that whole not-allowed-hate-ourselves-for-it angsty vibe which I loved.

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed this. Thank you so much for taking the time to review.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Sweet_Stuff_1988 The Long Black Veil

27th February 2009:
I liked your story, it was really sweet and sad. But that ending just made it brilliant. Almost shedding a tear at how sweet Sirius is in this story. Great writing :)

Author's Response: The accidental ending that people keep praising me for. It wrote itself, really. But I'm glad you enjoyed it nonetheless and thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #7, by lyrix82 The Long Black Veil

25th October 2008:
What a brilliantly written story! I've so enjoyed reading it.I am beginning to accept Sirius/Lily stories, I haven't really read them much before because I have been so wrapped up in other ships but I'm beginning to like the angst involved in the L/S ship.Excellent job, thank you! xx

Author's Response: No, thank you for the review. I really appreciate you taking the time to leave it, and I'm sorry it took me so long to respond.

 Report Review

Review #8, by amieharry_ginny The Long Black Veil

25th October 2008:
*sniffles* This was so so so sad *pouts* You know it should be a crime to write such sad stories. But seriously this was such a moving story i still can't believe how amazingly beautiful this was.

Even though i'm a huge follower of J/L and i don't like seeing them with anyone else but S/L is an exception lol :D It was just amazing the way you portrayed Sirius's remorse and his feelings were so clear. The way you expressed their feelings was touching. Great writing and i absolutely loved the plot. Wonderful Job. 9/10

~Amie

Author's Response: I hope the missing point in my final score is because it's not James/Lily :p I'm not a Marauder era fan myself, so hearing from someone who likes those characters that something I wrote about them was good means a lot. Thank you so much.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Ford the Prefect The Long Black Veil

27th January 2008:
"Nobody knows but me."

Wow! That's really about all I can say. Wow! I find your stories to be very moving, and this one especially so.

~Doug

Author's Response: I wasn't sure I'd do any good with Sirius/Lily ... or the Marauders in general. But I've received only positive responses, so I suppose I didn't do too badly ;)

Again, and I really think the word isn't enough, thanks, Doug.


 Report Review

Review #10, by MoonNRoses The Long Black Veil

19th January 2008:
You know, your stories should carry a warning label. "Tears may ensue... Do not read at work." It was amazing. Yes, I'm an avid James/Lily supporter but I do like reading different stories from time to time. This one was amazing. You really pull out Sirius's loss. He lost the girl he loves to the man he loves more than himself. It's just so sad and yet you made it so believable. Very well done.

~Crystal

Author's Response: Haha, next time I right a tearjerker, I'll try to remember that warning. I'm not really a Marauder fan; I rarely read them and it's even rarer that I write them, but I am very proud of this piece. I love the way it turned out. And, as always, Crystal, I loved your review. Thanks.

 Report Review

Review #11, by marauder_lover The Long Black Veil

30th November 2007:
Wow, what a great story! I am a huge supporter of Sirius/Lily and I think you did this so well. I love the memory charm at the end, very nice original touch.

I love the way you show the night before and then the Wedding day, but from different perspectives. It was great, well done! And I love how you included both of their loyalty, particulary Sirius. Loved it.

Author's Response: I myself, not really a Sirius/Lily fan. Not a Marauder fan at all, if I'm being honest. Oh, and I can't take credit for the memory charm, it wrote itself before I even knew what was happening ;)

I did it from two different perspectives because I felt that it was a story that needed to see both of their feelings on things ... and well, I really couldn't write the wedding day from Lily's point of view as she didn't know what had happened anymore.

I'm so very glad you enjoyed this, I'm quite proud of it. Thank you so much for taking the time to review.


 Report Review

Review #12, by love2thewweasleys` The Long Black Veil

21st October 2007:
Hey, the ending of thgisw chapter was wonderful, i mean it was so terific!

Author's Response: Thank you, but I should point out this isn't a chapter, but rather a whole story in itself.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Fields Of Innocence09 The Long Black Veil

6th October 2007:
omg!! i love it!!
i never expected the twist at the end, that is so sad! =[
i love sirius and lily stories, they're a good pair.
10/10

Author's Response: I myself am not a big reader of Sirius/Lily, so when it comes from someone who loves the pairing, a positive review means all the much more. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Crysal The Long Black Veil

5th October 2007:
Wouah! That's so well-written. Amazing! An awsome piece of work. 10/10 of course!

Author's Response: I do try to write well ;) Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #15, by BamMargera <3 The Long Black Veil

5th October 2007:
wow ur story was so gd! i almost cried! *tears* 10/10

Author's Response: I'll have to work harder next time then, to ensure I get those tears ;) Thanks a lot!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Catey007 The Long Black Veil

2nd October 2007:
that was excellent but what was the end bit?. did Sirius make Lily forget what they had together?

Author's Response: Yes, he did. Thanks for taking the time to review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by XxCarminaxX The Long Black Veil

29th September 2007:
oh my..so sad..

Author's Response: But in the good way, yes? Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Hopeless Romantic The Long Black Veil

28th September 2007:
I wasn't sure about it to begin with because as you can tell by the name I am into the big happily ever after thing but that ending was one of the best I have ever read it was so sweet.

Author's Response: Ha, yes, your name does give away your preferences. I'm very glad you decided to read it still and even happier that you ended up enjoying it. Thanks for taking the time to review.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Enchantlize The Long Black Veil

22nd September 2007:
Its a great story, its well written and I like the whole plot. I adored your descriptions and well done. 9/10

Author's Response: This is the kind of review I love, the ones that tell me exactly what you liked about it. Thank you so much.

 Report Review

Review #20, by MissPensieve The Long Black Veil

19th September 2007:
That was amazing. the ending was so unexpected, but amazing!!!

Author's Response: I'm proud of that twist, so thank you!

 Report Review

Review #21, by adnelakiss The Long Black Veil

15th September 2007:
Oh god, that crushed me at the end. I knew there was more to it than that when he kept talking about ''making the right choice this morning'' and there it is. Absolutely shocking and just so angsty and sad, I couldn't believe my own eyes. It was brilliant but brilliant in the way that only slow tragedies can be.

And the descriptions of the white veil and how he looked at Lily as she went down the aisle were just so greatly done. You are a writer with a paintbrush in your hand; forming masterpieces.

I'm probably never going to forget this story. There's plenty enough made by the love of Sirius and Lily but none that will be encased in my memory as this one.

Thanks soo much!

Author's Response: I was going for tragic, and I'm very happy that the ending shocked you, I'm extremely proud of that little twist and do love it when my reviewers comment on it.

Your words have managed to make me blush, not an easy feat, and since all I have to give in return is a heartfelt thank you, that's what I'll give.

Really, I mean it, thank you so much for this wonderful review. I appreciate it more than I can say.


 Report Review

Review #22, by OneDamselsKiss The Long Black Veil

15th September 2007:
OMG! That was bloody brilliant! Never has a story torn me so! Great job! I really love it!

X's nd O's

The Damsel

Author's Response: I'm very pleased that you enjoyed it. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #23, by hogwartsismy home_2 The Long Black Veil

12th September 2007:
wow wow wow so good

Author's Response: That'll do. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #24, by cfm887 The Long Black Veil

9th September 2007:
This was a fantastic story! Very well written and the ending was just tragic enough. Perfect!!

Author's Response: Just tragic enough? I like that. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #25, by monkeygirl100 The Long Black Veil

7th September 2007:
That was a great story. I hope to read more of them.

Author's Response: I hope you read more of them too. Thanks a lot!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>