Reading Reviews for Epitaph of a Good Man
  
373 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HermyLuna2 Bizarre Love Triangle

26th August 2015:
I like the image of Tonks and Moody arguing under a disillusionment charm and invisibility cloak. A tiny mistake: he remained quiet and moody when no one engaged him in a conversation. Sirius being fake manic is very true to his character.
The “fake boyfriend turns real boyfriend” has become a bit of a cliché, but the way you have written it makes it still interesting to read. “a practical solution to my Dawlish problem” Right, Tonks!
OH MY GOD! I felt second hand embarrassment for Tonks when I read the part about the clerk ;). She never gets any relief, does she?
Aww, I think Tonks brightened up Remus’ life totally. I’m not really liking your Andromeda so far… She seems rather prejudiced. On the other hand, coming home with a werewolf is probably the same as coming home with a convincted murderer. Her dad seems more relaxed. I liked how Tonks accidentally was enthousiastic when she told Remus her parents liked him. Reading Harry being described as ‘sulky’ by another character was rather amusing. That he was also described as often ridiculed was sadder though.
How did you lose your eye?” Oh,, great subtle conversation starter Tonks! For some reason I find the sentence that comes next Moody stared at me appraisingly as he took a bite of his General Tso Chicken also really funny.
All in all, this story was… very intriguing and not at all like I expected. From the title, beginning and songs (good choice..) I imagined a serious story. But, true to Tonks’ character, it turned out to be humorous. It doesn’t really seem to fit at first, but I like that you tried something different. If you were going for tragicomedy, I think the tragic aspects could have been fleshed out a bit more. However, the comedy style was really funny and also fitted the overall style of the Harry Potter books, which I always love to see in fanfiction. Werewolf, baby!
I unfortunately don't think it will be soon with other things I have to do/other reviews I postponed writing for a long time, but I will be back to read the rest, one day! I really enjoyed reading this story and I am excited to read what will happen next. I think you’re a good writer.

 Report Review

Review #2, by HermyLuna2 Fast Car

26th August 2015:
It is typical for Sirius to insist that Remus isn’t dangerous. I like how you made Tonks meet Remus as a werewolf. That she has dated Dawlish even once is already hilarious. “I’m only good at making other things explode” hahaha, oh Tonks. You get her down to a T. She is just funny through and through. Remus’ answer to Kingsley that women like her won’t go for men like him was just beyond sad!!
It’s funny that Andromeda prefers Bill over Remus. I never thought about it, but now it is a headcanon of me as well that Andromedia wanted to set Tonks up with Bill.

 Report Review

Review #3, by HermyLuna2 Unbelievable

26th August 2015:
Hornivore-guy. I had never heard of that before, but a quick Google search told me that you only get this result from an online test if you have answered yes to some horrid selfish questions. I already pictured Tonks as the unlucky-in-love-type before Remus. HOW CAN MOODY BE ANYONE’S TYPE?! Not because of his appearance, but because of the combination of it with his behaviour, his age and his…everything. Still if anyone would fall for Moody it would be Tonks. Interesting plot twist. Tonks asking him if he could see through clothes was funny, especially when Tonks just did not believe his answer anyway.
I like how you make Tonks as the type to always seem like she is about to lose her marbles accidentally, she is so clumsy and chaotic and distracted and being in love has made it even worse. Sirius calling the kettle black perfectly sums up his character. Remus’s lack of experience when it comes to love is quite tragic. One little thing though; I would usually not write about characters saying something feels indescribable, because it reflects badly on you as a writer – I know usually people don’t know their feelings, but it’s your goal as a writer to describe them in the best way you can and otherwise it’s better to just not describe them and let the character’s actions speak for themselves (my opinion, feel free to ignore it if you don’t agree).
I like the backstory you gave Tonks, and it fits with what we know of her. I like that Tonks and Remus are bonding in their own way. Dawlish is such a good for nothing lowlife. I wonder why Tonks is reading Witch Teen, does she still like it at her age? That's kind of funny! Though almost everything about her is funny here really.

 Report Review

Review #4, by HermyLuna2 How Soon is Now?

26th August 2015:
I like that Tonks keeps her broom in a guitar case, that is very true to her character. I can really picture the scene with Ginny in my head. Sirius not acting any more immature than usual was a good observation. Seeing as Sirius didn’t look nearly as content as you do, I’m guessing it’s the lottery 1-0 for Tonks.
It clearly shows Tonks’ infatuation that she fantasizes about Remus grading schoolwork, lol. I like that you describe Moody elaborately. Poor Tonks for thinking Remus complimented her while he complimented Harry. Poor Snape too for always being the butt of jokes. And lastly poor Remus for being protective like always when confronted with love. Tonks’ dream was very….interesting, I’m curious what will happen next. How can anyone have a romantic dream about Moody?

 Report Review

Review #5, by HermyLuna2 Dancing with Myself

26th August 2015:
I like how you described Tonks’ defining trait, her clumsiness, very vividly, she is such a hilarious character. I also like the details you put into your writing, Crookshanks licking up the butterbeer was funny, I wonder if he got drunk? I can easily imagine Tonks’ father liking rock n roll. Congratulating Tonks on making a mess was a very Fred thing to do. ‘Domestically challenged’, haha I like that. I like how McGonagall follows Mundungus on a distance. It was a typical Tonks moment to forget about how she still had Moody’s nose when he arrived, and created a nice image. I like that Tonks was nervous about feeling accepted, which is true to real life for people in her situation. It was hilarious that you included the part where the Dursleys called Tonks about having won the best kempt lawn competition. Vernon is in a league of his own indeed.
SHE EVEN TRIPPED OVER CROOKSHANKS!! That was hilarious, not so much for the poor cat though of course. Remus seeming awfully domestic – haha! Oh dear he doesn’t make an all that great first impression does he? First the suspicion that he and Sirius have something going on and now this!
I thought Tonks’ kiss was a little bit out of nowhere, but maybe her scorn for him was a way of hiding her crush on him for herself. And after all, she seems to be the brave and impuslve type.

 Report Review

Review #6, by HermyLuna2 The Crossroads

26th August 2015:
Hi Rose!
Here's your very late baby shower review from me...
I had written them, then I went to a friend and forgot so I couldn't post them, and then I just forgot again!! Sorry, that's the story of my life really! I forget everything!
Anyway...

This story is just terrific already!! I love the title, and the way it starts. You get sucked in due the mystery about who is telling the story. I love that it is a biography of Remus by the one who caused his death. Only later I realized it was Tonks, but it was very good not to reveal her identity at first. I really like the way you have written about how she got involved with the Order. Especially Kingsley’s introduction of Sirius was great. Your writing style is expressive and pleasant to read.
I think “I hadn’t met” must be “I had never met” but I’m not sure since English is not my first language. The way you describe Tonks’s feelings about Sirius is very well-written. And especially how she describes Remus, because it seems realistic that for them it wasn’t love at first sight at all.
You made a typo( Durselys). It doesn’t matter to me though. Everyone in this story is very true to their character, which is the most important thing in a fanfiction to me. I also like how you made Molly more than the usual stereotype.

 Report Review

Review #7, by merlins beard Bizarre Love Triangle

22nd August 2015:
I’m being nitpicky again, sorry.
I tapped the parchment and muttered, “gemlio,” before I walked out with the extra piece of parchment I made, my head bowed slightly.
I think the spell is gemino - it duplicates stuff.

I turned around, my flushed at Remus’ words, to see Mom fussing over a salad. there’s a face missing in there I guess.

OH MY GOD ROSE, I JUST READ THE REST OF THE CHAPTER NOW!!!
HOW, WHY,... WHAT? I don’t even know who to ship anymore here….

Okay let’s start at the beginning.
Planning their friday night dinner reminds me of Fred and George planning a prank. I love the way Remus and Tonks act all in love with such ease when they visit her parents. It’s easy to spot that there’s something there between them. That makes the rejection hurt Tonks so much worse. And then Moody is there and spends time with her. And she’s a young woman who needs affection. I understand why she kissed him. She does have a tendency to fall for older guys doesn’t she?

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #8, by merlins beard Fast Car

22nd August 2015:
I never liked Dawlish much, and I can just see him act this jealous and stupid. I think Tonks did so well though, staying reasonably calm and then stunning him and getting out of there. AND OH MY GOD SHE WENT TO REMUS WHILE HE WAS TRANSFORMED!!! I LOVE THIS BIT.
Of course Sirius is reluctant to let her go, but I love that she insists and then stays and comforts Remus while his presence comforts her as well. And it’s so cute that they sleep in the same bed even though Remus refuses to admit his feelings.
And he’s so thick, thinking she wouldn’t go for him… Of course she would. Remus is the kindest guy ever, and he deserves happiness so much more than the others.

That scene with Andromeda and Ted was so much fun to read. It was easily visible by the way that Tonks defended Remus and threatened alienation that he really does mean a lot to her, even if it was all just a lie. I can just imagine the reaction of Sirius when she tells him that she pretended that Remus was her boyfriend. I see it as quite the enthusiastic slapping-on-the-back kind of thing. Of course it would have been tough for him to hear that his name is a reason for Andromeda to ask her daughter to stay away from Remus.

I hope I’m still making sense… anyway, the gist of all this is: I love this story. I can’t wait to continue.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #9, by merlins beard Unbelievable

22nd August 2015:
I love the Hall of Knowledge. Is it like a huge library at the Ministry? I have a very clear picture of it in my head… I think I might have seen something like that in a movie… the clerk is a bit of an idiot though.
Dawlish is such a creep. I didn’t expect him to follow her home though… This chapter was a bit slower than the others, a nice change in pace. I love every moment Tonks spends with Remus, and especially when they are so cute together. it’s perfect that he stays with her just because she asks him to. Aw, I love Remus’ rabbit. I still have a monkey so I completely understand the attachment to stuffed animals. A pillow named Elvis is new though, but very fitting for Tonks.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #10, by merlins beard How Soon is Now?

22nd August 2015:
Hey Rose, can I start with nitpicking?

This passage sounds a bit awkward.
After adding my broom to the others to be used that evening, I brought the case to a closet upstairs where I checked my hair. It looked alright for violet though it wasn’t exactly my color. Molly was going to send them to Privet Drive after we arrived.
I had to read it 3 times before realizing that Molly was going to send the BROOMS after them. I was under the impression she was sending Tonks’ hair at first, which didn’t make much sense.

I love how you combine canon with your own story, touching in some places and then going into way more detail in others. It’s beautiful to read and I enjoy every moment of this.

I’m falling in love with this story, mostly with the way you write Tonks, and it makes me want to write her too.
And REMUS IS ALREADY TRYING TO KEEP HER AWAY. SHUT UP YOU IDIOT, YOU DESERVE TO BE LOVED.
Oohh there IS a little Moody/Tonks in here, at least in her dream. I ship them SO HARD since you mentioned it in the cabin. I can’t wait to figure out where this goes. And why Tonks told Remus she wants to be FRIENDS. FRIENDS . Now why’d she have to go and do that?

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #11, by merlins beard Dancing with Myself

22nd August 2015:
Oh my god I love this chapter. It’s cute and fluffy and exactly what I wanted to happen. For a moment there I thought there might be something there between Tonks and Moody when they left together.
I’m not sure why Molly seems to not like Tonks… It’s kind of sad, because she’s fun and sweet and eager to help.
I love that Tonks is one of the people smuggling Norbert(a) to Charlie. It just sounds like something she would do.

AND THAT MOMENT WITH REMUS! I WAS CHEERING HER ON SO HARD! I’m SO HAPPY that she just went for it. If that’s not going to bring them luck the next day I don’t know what will. I’m so excited to read about Remus’ reaction, so I’m going to cut my rambling off here and read on.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #12, by merlins beard The Crossroads

22nd August 2015:
Hey Rose. I’m back and still reviewing.
This is such a sweet chapter. I’m amazed at how easily you tie canon and fic moments together. Reading this feels like an effortless extension of Canon events. I never thought about when Tonks joined the Order, but it seems to make sense that she didn’t change long before they go to pick up Harry.
I LOVE the insight we got in the “family dynamics” of all the people who live at the Burrow. So Remus and Sirius wouldn’t mind sharing information with the twins (since they don’t get mad at them for the Extendable Ears), but Molly freaks out and destroys their stock. It’s a little unfair that she sends all the kids to bed just because she’s mad at Fred and George.

I love that Tonks contributed something useful in her first Order meeting. She’s going to fit in very soon. That moment between her and Remus at the door was very sweet.
I can’t wait for the next chatper.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #13, by Aphoride Dancing with Myself

6th August 2015:
Hi again, Rose! :D I'm a bit later back to this than I thought, but I ended up having to do more than I thought yesterday, so that's why... anyway I'm here now! :)

Okay, okay, I know it's at the end of the chapter, but I have to talk about that last scene, with the kiss. I loved it, you know? There's something so great about Tonks being so free and fun and flirty, and just... young, especially when compared with Remus (and Sirius, too) who feels and seems so much older, comparatively. Sensible and down-to-earth and all of that. Plus, it was just done so well - it felt so real and just right in terms of the events of the chapter, you know - not awkward or random or anything. Gah, it just worked so perfectly! And I did laugh at her apparating mishap, haha , and the thought of Sirius, perhaps, teasing her about it - though that last phrase 'it certainly didn't seem like much would come of it' sounds incredibly ominous... :/

That aside, I love Tonks so much. Like I said up there, hehe, she's so young and so fun - she really feels like she's early twenties, enjoying life and the idea of being in a secret organisation almost as much as being in it itself, haha, with the whole cloak-and-daggers thing :P I love she's so sheepish about her clumsiness and how it manifests itself a lot more around Remus than anything else - and I love how you tied in the thing with Molly not wanting her to help later on because of it, with the incident with the butterbeer, haha. Poor Tonks... though laughing it off is better than crying! ;)

Also, I have to mention as well, her phone call with Vernon was great. Just so great :P He was so pompous and so oily and just... just exactly right, haha. (Though I was confused it said she was at her desk? I thought magic and technology didn't mix? :/)

All of your characters are so great in this, you know - they're all so spot on: Molly, Remus, Sirius, Moody (and Moody terrifies me to write, tbh, so I'm so impressed you do him so well - he semes so impossible to do!)... it's just amazing how well you do them all and how easily it seems to be as well! :) I really love the way you include so many details in this, it's incredible - from Molly shooting looks at Tonks and Bill chatting, to Moody and Tonks being so close, to Tonks being one of Charlie's friends who picked up Norberta (which, fyi, I loved as an inclusion!), and the suggestions of how to pick up Harry and Moody's paranoia over the route to take and how to do it with all apparating at different times and so on... there's a real skill to doing things like that, and making a story so canon-compliant and detailed on that level is so so hard, and it's so impressive when you see it done this well :)

I'm so so excited to see what happens after the kiss - what the aftermath of it is - and Tonks' perspective on them going to get Harry. I'm so invested in your characters already, in how their relationship goes, and I really can't wait to see where you go with it and where you take them from here :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #14, by Aphoride The Crossroads

4th August 2015:
Hey Rose! :) Dropping by for this month's BvB fest! I'm usually pretty intimidated by novels, so this is the perfect opportunity for me to catch up on both Epitaph and HIKML, since the aim is to review as much as possible (and since I'm working occasionally, haha, or meant to be at least, it provides a good excuse ;)), especially since - I don't know if you wrote it this way or not - I kinda want to read them alongside each other, since it seems to make sense as an idea?

Anyway, ridiculously long introduction aside, I love this. I always love missing moment stories - Remus/Tonks, Bill/Fleur... - but there are so few of them, and so few which are good, too, so I'm so so glad I finally decided to stop by on this :)

I love your Tonks. There's something so thoughtful about her - which isn't a characteristic people often associate with her - in this, which I adore because it really brings a different side to her, a different look at her, which I always love in characters. I love, as well, how you retained her kind of spunky, randomly-blurting-stuff-out side, and the part of her which is a bit more childish, with the noses, too - it just makes her this fascinating, rounded, real person as a whole, you know?

I really like how you started it with a missing moment, too - with the meeting where they decided how and when to go and get Harry from the Dursleys - and how she'd only just joined at that point - it really helps amazingly to put things in context :) Plus, it was a lovely contrast to the very opening of this, with the sombre paragraph about how she led to Remus' death and all, which is so heartbreaking to read as a thing, because of all the guilt and bittersweet and pain in it :( (But is also extremely beautiful, as well, so it works out ;))

Your writing in this was so great, too - I loved the way you wrote this from Tonks' pov and directly from first person: it gave this beautiful honest quality to it, and sounds so much like I'm almost talking to her, or reading an email from her or something, which is such a lovely quality to get :) Also, the details in this were stunning, as well as the little references to canon (the changing noses with Ginny and them, her tripping over the troll leg :P) - they just made your description so gorgeous and so perfectly right for this, and really brought the emotions out of it, too - especially the pain at the beginning of it. I love the dialogue, too - you've got everyone so spectacularly in character, and I love it so much. It's so incredibly impressive! :)

Okay, okay, so I'm so sorry I haven't been here before - I really, really reget it now :) I'll be back soon! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #15, by cherry_pop94 Dancing with Myself

30th July 2015:
Hello Rose! Here for the second swap!

This chapter is really good! I love how Tonks was the one to make the first move, I mean, I always assumed that it was her, but it's nice to see it played out, you know?

She's such a spunky person. I love how the best lawn idea was hers. I can just imagine Tonks laughing her head off after that phone call with the Dursleys. She's in a pretty serious situation, but she's just got so much humour in her! And the way she's so clumsy - it's totally adorable!

And she's fitting into the Weasley family and Order so well. The Weasley kids love her, as they should because Tonks is a delight. And the bit with Molly eyeing up Bill and Tonks, a perfect touch!

I'm really excited to read more of this. I love how it's essentially the romance between Tonks and Remus (and we all know how TRAGICALLY that ends), but there's so much more to it as well. We get to know the Order, how the war really works and how it started, as well as so many characters we don't see often. I'm really hoping for another Charlie appearance, personally!

Can't wait to read more of this!

Stefanie

 Report Review

Review #16, by cherry_pop94 The Crossroads

30th July 2015:
Hello Rose! I'm here for the review swap!

This story is really great! The first chapter has definitely caught my attention! I've always loved Remus and Tonks, so I can't believe I haven't stumbled upon this before now!

I like how you haven't fallen into the cliche of 'and then I saw him and I knew.' Remus is a pretty unassuming guy, and I'd assume based on his age, not Tonks' usual type. It makes much more sense that's she far more interested in the going-ons of the Order than of this random middle aged man. But still at the end, we got a delightful little spark!

You've also done a really excellent job with the other characters - Sirius, Molly, Mad-Eye, Ron, Hermione, Fred, and George. They all seemed really true to who they are in the books, which is such a tough thing to do!

I also really like your writing style. I'm not quite sure how to describe it, but it's just... like direct.

Anyway, I thought this was a really great chapter! On to the next one!

Stefanie

 Report Review

Review #17, by Tonks1247 Bizarre Love Triangle

29th July 2015:
Heya!

I saw there was another chapter up this morning, and was quite pleased with my timing, having the other two chapters read and reviewed in time for a new set to come out. It’s quite exciting to be able to read a story getting updated as the chapters come out! Also, gonna throw this in for the new BvB review battle, since it fits the requirements and I was gonna read it anyways…

So. With this chapter. I quite enjoyed the Tonks and Moody stuff going on. Their banter back and forth, and the teasing and the hanging out…it’s so natural for the two of them. They really are pretty close, it seems, and they seem to have this understanding of each other that no one else really seems to have. It’s nice to see that, and have it so well explained and portrayed. I’m not quite sure how to take the kissing there at the end though…it definitely felt natural with how it came in, and I’m quite eager to see how that plays out in the next chapter…

And of course, all the Remus and Tonks stuff was great! I loved reading this list making from Tonks’ perspective. I’ve really come to adore stories written in tandem because it’s so fascinating to see how different people see a specific situation. It changes so much based on what a character believes or finds important in a moment, and it is really great with the two stories you have it going with.

I also hate the tension between Remus and Tonks. All this, ‘oh let’s kiss’ and then Remus comes through with his mantra of avoiding love and he hurts Tonks every time and tries to deny she feels anything…it really is a terrible way to love. Especially because it puts doubts in both of their minds about the obvious feelings they have and when the outcome is likely them finally just being together…well, I just wish love wasn’t so difficult. xD

I did find quite a few little things in this chapter…

“Our faces were mere inches apart when Molly came down the stairs in her bathrobe on and let out a gasp of surprise.” –I think on is an extra word in this sentence

“- I chimed in when they mention something to do with the Auror office…” –in this segment, mention should be mentioned, just to fit with tenses.

“I turned around, my flushed at Remus’ words, to see Mom fussing over a salad.” –I think you need another word in this sentence (cheeks flushed).

“Remus had his arm around me as we walked away from the house, and continued to do so when we were out of site from the house.” –Site should be sight

“Kingsley, who was keen on information from the first Order, called over and to him asking see it.” –I know exactly what this sentence is saying, but the wording is a little off at the end. An extra word or two maybe?

Despite those few things, I quite enjoyed this chapter! I am looking forward to seeing the fallout of this Tonks/Moody kiss because it was kind of out of no where but not, and with the stuff going on with Remus and Tonks…well, it should be interesting…

-Mikaela

 Report Review

Review #18, by Tonks1247 Fast Car

29th July 2015:
Heya!

So. I figured out a new chapter was up a couple days ago but was stuck in limited wifi land until last night. By the time I did get home and had time to read, I was falling asleep and just decided to turn in early. BUT! I had time today. Which means the first thing I did was forgo my list of things to do and came to read this instead! (Remus’ POV is next! I just feel more put together reading this one first and then the other…)

Moving into this chapter, I quite enjoyed it! I’ve accepted the fact that I have indeed read this story before and I know so because of this chapter. I absolutely loved this chapter the first time I read it and the second time through is just as good! I love how Tonks decides to go to Remus, ignoring the fact that he was going to be a werewolf for most of the night and that Remus likely didn’t want her there. I love how she just sits and talks to him and says she just didn’t want him to be alone when part of it was that she didn’t want to be alone herself. It really is amazing how naturally you were able to depict this scene as well, because it’s difficult to write a scene where one of the characters is a werewolf and cannot really respond to the conversation (not that I’ve ever attempted it because I honestly never really thought about having a scene like this…which is sad because it’s pretty amazing!)

Also, I love Kingsley showing up at Remus’ place to a rather awkward situation. I feel you definitely described Tonks’ perspective and reaction to the situation quite well. I can see her totally trying to pull it off as casual and almost making it that far. I also love how he gets dragged in as her ‘fake boyfriend’ due to her parents questions and how he agrees hesitantly to go with it, and Sirius’ joy. I honest to goodness cannot wait to read Remus’ chapter about this situation because it’s gonna be good…I can just feel it!

There were a couple small things I noticed in this chapter:

“I woke up the next morning and started slightly, forgetting where I was until I saw Remus’ head resting against and smiled.” I think there is part of this sentence missing towards the end there.

“In a moment of domestic clarity, a rare ones at that, I put some oatmeal and brown sugar in two bowls and poured some piping hot water out of my wand.” –ones should be one (Also, I love Remus’ comment about the kitchen having not exploded…made me laugh!)

Other than those two small things, this chapter was quite lovely! I enjoyed it and cannot wait for another! Until then, one of my favourite lines/moments this chapter:

“In what otherwise could have been a romantic moment, my stomach gurgled loudly.”

Hehe, great job!
-Mikaela

Author's Response: yo yo yo!

:D I'm always excited when you have time for a review - or TWO! I do think Remus' perspective makes more sense after reading this (which kind of irks me now that I think about it but I always envisioned these being read together or one after the other).

This chapter is quite memorable with everything that happens with Dawlish. Tonks is quite set on seeing him and isn't easily dissuaged. This scene was tedious to write - and I think you saw the downside of doing the parallel to this in HIKML - as it was so one-sided and I didn't want it to be boring.

Kingsley is quite the older brother to Tonks (here and in the future). He shows up at awkward times and says the awkward older brother things to Remus that someone needs to. Sirius is quite giddy with the situation - at least on the surface.

! Thank you so much for pointing those out. I was able to fix them right away as I was already editing something else. :D

haha, Tonks does ruin her own romantic moments at times.

Thank you so much for another wonderful review!
-Rose


 Report Review

Review #19, by Tonks1247 Unbelievable

16th July 2015:
Heya!

You know, I’m really beginning to feel bad for the readers who used to have to deal with the cliff hangers I wrote in my stories. Like, I haven’t written any recently, but like…reading this with the ending like it is…I’m kinda anxious for what’s going to happen and the fact that I have to wait to find out is kind of killing me. This is really cruel to inflict upon people (but no worries, I also totally love it because it makes me think about what could happen and makes me excited for a new chapter and I am honestly really melodramatic in reviews…).

So. I’m going to start with this whole Dawlish thing because that’s where the cliff hanger comes into play and he was just being a right old creep. I’m not quite sure if I believe he’s doing it on his own. I think he may have a little encouragement from Scrimgeour, as Scrimgeour is the one who seems concerned about where she’s spending her time and what she’s doing. I feel like if Scrimgeour were to ask Dawlish, it kinda makes sense as to why he’s creeping around her house. Which, like, unnerves me that he just so kindly invited himself in. I hope Tonks gets some good curse or something in at him because he’s just…he’s being a creep and it’s not cool!

Her little side thoughts going between Remus and Moody have me interested. I mean, I can see where she kinda gets on with Moody, but at the same time…I don’t know. It just seems a bit weird. I can’t quite explain why in any way that makes sense out loud…though I do like their back and forth banter. Totally cracked up with the whole seeing through clothes and outgrowing the bra colour think. It was pretty entertaining…

And as for Remus? I was giggling just a little bit with where he came in. He’s so awkward with Tonks, which is just…it’s so fitting for his character. He’s awkward and isn’t used to having this big social thing going on in his life due to being a werewolf and the stigma that’s put on him but he still subjects himself to these sorts of situations…like, him laying down with Tonks had me giggling so much because he’s so awkward about it and then when she wakes up she teases a little with the four times the rest and then suddenly the conversation is serious and Remus really cares about what happened and just…it was really really nice. Remus’ character has such a great counteracting dynamic that’s so well balanced…I quite adore it!

OH! ALSO! FRECKLES! That was such an adorable little scene! Like, I’m pretty sure that entire little scene there was my favourite because Remus was so open about something like that and then Tonks talks about Elvis and then it’s back to business and it just…it was a lovely little scene amongst all the stuff going on and it was quite lovely!

Another great chapter! :D
-Mikaela

Author's Response: Mikaela!!

I'm so sorry to have left you with a giant cliffhanger - there are a few of them in this story. Only a few are kind of intense. I love melodramtic reiews. :D

There's a lot to Dawlish's behavior and it unfolds through the story. I won't say more here though! Scrimgeour is quite overbearing in his attempt to find and weed out any Dumbledore supporters. Though, now that I've seen a bit of him in DH (I wrote his before that came out) I feel he might have been less dogmatic. But, yes, this is the first episode of Dawlish is the creep no one wants to work with.

I've always seen Tonks and Moody as two kindred spirts - they're both so very themselves and offbeat. Moody does show a bit of his less serious side around her, which is nice. I like to think it's why she was so upset at his death.

Remus is always awkward - and I love him for it. I've always thought that Remus both thirsts for friendship and companionship while shunning the idea of him being a good persont o share those things with. he's very conflicted but does induldge himself in moments like sharing a bed wtih Tonks. I couldn't see Remus not inquiring about someone's behavior like that, just part of his own natural curiosity.

I'm so glad you liked Freckles!! I'm so fond of that fictional stuffed animal o.O

Thank you so much for a fantastic review!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #20, by Tonks1247 How Soon is Now?

12th July 2015:
Heyyy.

So. Reading the last chapter of this story reminded me how much I adore Remus/Tonks. Which means I’ll probably be back with every new updated chapter post because I can’t help it. Which, you know, really isn’t all that bad of a thing…

I love Tonks’ character in this. She really seems just as natural in this as she is in the books and it’s really great to see that. I love the attitude she presents and how she takes things as they come. I love how she has this relationship with Moody, where it’s teasing and being ridiculous, but it’s not reserved solely for him. There’s also Remus, and pretty much everyone else who she interacts with where she’s teasing and keeping things light. I quite like it because I have always seen her character as this almost constantly happy person.

I also love, love, love her and Remus. I mean, I know it’s obvious I do, as I’m reading this, but I like how they talk and don’t try to skirt around what happened in the last chapter or their feelings (well, not in a deliberate way yet). They don’t have that teenager-y feel to their relationship and it’s really refreshing (I think I read a lot of next gen romance and I should probably stop for a while). I like how they handle things in the best of lights, including Tonks’ denial of feelings. Her dreams at the end indicate otherwise, but I thought they were quite entertaining! :D

I did catch a couple of things that either didn’t make sense or need slight alterations:

“After adding my broom to the others to be used that evening, I brought the case to a closet upstairs where I checked my hair. It looked alright for violet though it wasn’t exactly my color. Molly was going to send them to Privet Drive after we arrived.” –Okay. I think it may be how this paragraph is structured (or maybe how I’m reading it) but it seems to jump around topics and isn’t very cohesive. This paragraph also doesn’t led to the next one very well either. It seems like a sentence or something is missing to help this part flow.

“I couldn’t resist asking who Moody he knew that lost a buttocks and eyed Mad-Eye’s backside out of sheer curiosity.” –I don’t think you need Moody and he in this sentence. Just one or the other.

Besides those two things, I quite enjoyed this chapter! I’m coming to the conclusion I may have read this story once, quite a while ago, but it’s alright because it was quite a while ago and now I can leave reviews as the chapters come out updated! YAY! :D

Anddd my favourite line, cause I can’t help it: “When Sirius passed by me he commented on how I change my hair more often than some people in the room, he looked pointedly at Snape, change their underwear.”

Hehe, excellent chapter! Can’t wait for the next!
-Mikaela

Author's Response: Can I go on record saying your reviews on this are the best thing ever? They are.

I don't think there's anything nicer you could say than that I got Tonks like JKR wrote her. I like Tonks' relationship with Moody so it's hard not to talk about it a bit. She's definitely the type of happy person I'd want to hang out with.

Next-gen stories are definitely a bit more rush into love than this is. Remus and Tonks rush into something but it's not love at first. They rushed into flirtation? Awkwardness? Something.

Ahh!! Thanks for pointing those out. Your reviews are so great at giving me quick edits to make. ^_^

hehe, writing Sirius being snarky is part of my favorite bit of this story.

Thank you again for such amazing reviews and feedback!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #21, by eunoia The Crossroads

11th July 2015:
Okay so I'm terribly unobservant first thing in the morning and totally didn't notice you said you wanted a review on this. Also felt bad because my other review was so short so hopefully this makes up for it!

This is a really solid first chapter and you've introduced all the characters really well, you've done a great job of sticking to canon. I love Tonks and Remus and I love how you didn't write the typical cliche of love at first sight which would have been easy to do. In fact I love the fact that Tonks is aware that she thought Remus was pretty ordinary, I think it makes them seem more realistic and relatable.

I think you've done a really awesome job with this chapter, your characterization is flawless and I didn't spot any errors. I'm intrigued to see what happens next and I'll definitely be back to read more. :)

Author's Response: It's totally sweet that you did come back to review this too! *hugs*

I completely appreciate (and am glad) that this chapter does well as a first chapter - especially with sticking to canon as I've been a bit obsessed with it while writing this. Typical romantic cliches always bother me - especially with these two - so it's nice to hear I've steered clear of them. It's always felt disengenuous for Remus to be really standout person at first meeting. I mean... his coolness isn't surface level.

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #22, by Tonks1247 Dancing with Myself

10th July 2015:
Heya! Back from the review battle (As I should probably really be sleeping just about now…)

AHAHAHAHAHAH! This is precisely why I adore Tonks’ character and why her and Remus make me giggle like no tomorrow. Tonks just randomly decides to kiss Remus, which I’m sure has him a bit shell shocked (If I’m honest), and then disapparates away (I won’t talk about how loud I laughed about her missing her target…). It’s so casual and the light teasing that goes on between the two of them when they are together…it’s just so great because their relationship isn’t something easily definable because they don’t follow any sort of rhyme or reason. It just sort of happens in this mess of falling together and I just really appreciate how you’ve illustrated it here.

(As a bit of a side note, I get this sneaking suspicion I may have read this story some time ago because there are certain moments I seem to remember reading, but then again, it had to have been 3+ years ago so how much do I really remember? Either way, whether I have read it or not, I absolutely love it!)

Anyways…I love how Tonks is invited to dine with the Weasley’s and everyone else at Grimmuald place while at the same time having to pretend she has nothing to do with them at work. It’s not an easy part to play, but she does it well and it is amusing. I also must say, she’s pretty good with the whole ‘Best Kept Lawns Society’ thing. I was giggling a bit at the whole situation playing in my head, with Tonks talking to Vernon and him having no idea who he was talking to or the fact that the society is just a made up thing to lure him out of the house…really, really fantastic!

And as I close out here, I have two favourite quotes (Grammar and all that other stuff was great in this chapter! Didn’t notice anything):

“If you like it so much, I’m sure Sirius will let you have it.”

“Fred congratulated me on making a bigger mess than Ron, who spilled a container of noodles everywhere. George whispered something to Ginny that sounded like ‘domestically challenged’.”

Great chapter! Can’t wait to see more!
-Mikaela

Author's Response: Mikaela!!

I'M SO GLAD YOU LIKED THEIR RANDOM/AWKWARD KISS!! Tonks is just impetuous enough to do something like that but with just enough self-consciousness to walk away feeling all "what did I do." I'm also glad you secretly laughed at her apparation mistake. :D especially because I always wonder if I'm the only one to laugh at that kind of stuff. I didn't think Tonks was the type to come on really strong but would definitely keep an on-going flirtation with people she likes.

I came back to the site 3+ years ago and was pimping out this story - so you might have come across it then!

ha, the nice reversal of her real relationship with the Weasleys is kind of funny. I have hard time seeing her as someone who would buy into somethng like that (ignoring people she knows) if not for the fact it was entertaining to do.

Your favorite lines were also a few of the ones that made me laugh while writing this! ^_^

I can't thank you enough for such a lovely review!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #23, by Tonks1247 The Crossroads

10th July 2015:
Heya. I’m swinging by from the BvB review battle!

I absolutely adore Remus/Tonks. I haven’t written a lot of them, but I will admit there was a point in time where that’s all I would read when I was online! I had just a little bit of an obsession, which makes it even better that I’m here to read because I honest to goodness missed the two of them.

So. I really, really love what you have going on here. I love how it’s not one of those ‘oh the instant we saw each other we were in love.’ I’m not quite sure why, but I never saw the pair of them like that in my head. It just wasn’t realistic to me for them to be like that. So. The fact that they meet during the first Order of the Phoenix meeting and it isn’t a big deal is awesome. It gives time for their characters to talk and build this relationship and give a good explanation about how things moved from not knowing each other to being in a relationship, getting married, having a child…you know, everything that stems from that turning point. I’m quite anxious to see how it builds up.

I also love how Tonks doesn’t know Sirius that well and finds the Order a group of interesting characters (I quite agree with her assessment there XD). She is the youngest one from outside of the families already involved to join. She also does have a lot of catching up to do, as she doesn’t have quite the background as to what’s been going on as the others. She has a lot more of the ministry influence in her life, so to see how she could bring that in…it should be interesting!

I did note one thing at one point:

“Molly and Arthur Weasley greeted me kindly as I had I met previously and their son Bill hugged me as I walked towards my seat.” –I think there is an extra ‘I’ in this sentence

Besides that one thing, this was quite lovely! Cannot wait to come back for the second chapter. This definitely reminded me how much I adore Remus/Tonks and I just need a bit more, if I’m perfectly honest…

And, closing out here, my favourite part:

“Sirius came bolting out of the kitchen, looked around, and shot Remus a quizzical look. Remus let go of me as if he were embarrassed to be holding a woman.”

I feel bad for Remus but at the same point…I definitely giggled…

Great chapter!
-Mikaela

Author's Response: Mikaela!!!

I'm always really excited when I find another Remus/Tonks fan. At one point they were all I would write and it feels nice to be rewriting them.

Eek! I can't tell you how much your review makes me smile! I didn't think it would be realistic for Tonks to go head over heals for someone on first sight. I think the meeting was a big deal but she also met other people that night so it wasn't just about meeting Remus. I really hope you like how their relationship builds. :D :D

I couldn't imagine her knowing Sirius before joining the Order, not as an Auror at least. Her Ministry work does end up having a big impact on the work she does for the Order which will be fun.

Oooh, thank you for pointing that out. I've been combining a lot of shorter sentences and that one didn't get completely cleaned up.

hehe, it is a giggle-worthy moment when Remus gets all awkward over nothing. :D

Thank you for an incredible review!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #24, by guest Dancing with Myself

23rd December 2014:
Again, awesome start!! Though there still a few technical errors.

Author's Response: Thank you for leaving a review on this!! There are quite a few edits I need to do on this story - mostly grammar that needs to be tidied up.

 Report Review

Review #25, by guest The Crossroads

23rd December 2014:
Good story so far. Flawless except for a few mistakes in grammar.😃

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review. I hope you continue to read on.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>