681 Reviews Found

Review #1, by jj Confession

9th March 2012:
story is getting better every chapter

 Report Review

Review #2, by jj At the Burrow

9th March 2012:
i like your turn on the protection Lily gave Harr

 Report Review

Review #3, by jj Truce

9th March 2012:
so far so good nice start

 Report Review

Review #4, by parashar_harry 'Mirage'

6th October 2011:
hello
the moment i found this story i. i can't stop myself to read it
really awesome story.
any idea when u post next chapter

Author's Response: Oh, hello,

Very excited to fun and new eager reader since I haven't updated in ages. Well good news is that I'm going to try and use NaNo to get it moving so hopefully I should be posting again soon.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Bella_Portia 'Mirage'

1st May 2011:
Well, welcome back. I had forgotten how much I enjoyed your story. (Like I'm anyone to talk -- I think I had an 18 month gap between installments.)

Count on Draco to behave as a child of entitlement, whatever the circumstances. What would he have done if the only place open had been a McDonald's?

I am so glad you brought back Father Sean. I always thought he was an excellent character, almost a stand-in for the reasonable, moral Muggle forced to confront facts that shattered his world-view.

Now, perhaps I forgot the thread of the story, but I'm guessing that Molly wasn't Molly but was another Order member (given the darkness at the end, I'm guessing Fred or George) under the influence of polyjuice potion.

I know how difficult it is (believe me, I do), but I really hope you'll find the time to write more. I like this story so much.

Author's Response: Oh, I have been meaning to reply to this for ages; in fact I thought I had done (going senile here lol). I was actually watching all the movies this weekend and I think I might have got a little of the inspiration back. It has been such a long time that I am going to re-read my own story so that I can make a note of loose ends that still need tying up.

Draco yes, although this character is going through a considerable transformation I thought I ought to let him retain some of his aloofness.

Father Sean will play some role in the end, not 100% certain re the exact details yet though. I really like this character too. When you get into pottermore check the backstory for McGonagall... I thought Jo's original thoughts somehow have elements that I have also used (telephathy? lol).

You are totally right, Molly wasn't Molly and your guess is actually very close...

I know. I definitely must make an effort to continue writing this. Thanks so much for your encouragement, it really is helping me get the motivation back.


 Report Review

Review #6, by mark clark In the Mousetrap

15th March 2011:
love the story so far...do you plan to continue it???

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much. Yes, sorry about the huge gap posting. I must definitely continue it especially since I have had the end in my mind since well before I started, although the bits in the middle I guess are the harder part to figure out. The fact that you have read it all and enjoyed it so far is definitely encouraging. I must definitely get onto the next chapter very soon.

 Report Review

Review #7, by ThePaladin_ 'Mirage'

21st October 2010:
Beautiful chapter :D Can't wait to read the next one. Truth is that Umbridge's choice to allow Percy to keep and examine the cloak confused me abit. What could he have done with it anyway? He specializes in bureaucracy, if you get what i mean. It would be much more efficient of her to hand it to a trustworthy unmentionable or something, or, if she is lacking one, that i doubt, at least keep it in her office and examine it along with Percy. What I want to point out is that he is not expert enough for her to trust him blindly with such a key item. Obviously it helps the plot move on smoothly but lacks realism a tiny little bit. Am I right?

Other than that, I want to congratulate you on your work till here. Can't muster the concentration needed to leave separate reviews on every chapter so I just have to say it all here. You really deserved more than just the one Dobby award you got for the story. The best I've read in ages. I mean I haven't seen such character depth and such unique yet realistic behaviours since EdwardOllivander's and LogicalRaven's time :)

Keep up the good work, hopefully long enough for us to see a sequel.

Peace

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much for your wonderful and very helpful review. I'm sooo glad that you are enjoying this story. I feel terribly flattered by your comments I must say.

I have to agree that yes, Percy is not an expert on objects in any way. It is true though that Umbridge trusts him. I'm still wracking my brains to find a suitable explanation as to why this happen to include in my next chapter to make it more realistic but I cannot really think of anything specific. Thanks so much for pointing it out though. It gives me some food for thought.

Again, I can't express enough how happy I'm that you like my characterisation so much. I'll try to post again soon.


 Report Review

Review #8, by sinwillys822 'Mirage'

12th October 2010:
i am glad that she was at least able to get the cloak back, can't wait to read what happens next.

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much for your review. Getting them after I haven't updated for so long just makes me so happy! Well, the question is was it really Molly? This of course puts Percy in a bad situation. First Umbridge and her loose Draco and now this! Someone is not going to be too happy with Percy, that's for you.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Happy Grasping at Straws

12th October 2010:
Did Ron and Hermione have some sort of split up? Because they are never around each other.

Author's Response: No, Hermione and Ron are together. They have had the odd argument at times but they are pretty much a couple. I guess the main plot in this fiction is not centred on their romance, more on Harry/Ginny, but good point, I will try to include their relationship a bit more in future. You will she more of them two together once the three of them move into the apartment Harry is buying in London. This should happen from chapter 34 onwards (not yet posted I'm afraid). Thanks so much for your review.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Karkaroff The Faithful Departed

2nd October 2009:
Thanks for writing a cool chapter and I liked how Umbridge was put on hold on the telephone and then the Muggle Prime Minister just brushed her off as he probably thought it wasn't bothering him over. Is Percy a Death Eater or something? Please update soon thanks as I am enjoying the story.

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much for following this. The telephone vignettes were almost a revenge on my part against being put on hold myself regularly by telephone systems in real life. lol

Percy, well, we saw him talking to the Dark Lord in chapter 21. I cannot as yet disclose his true allegiance though, he might be a DE or just obsessed with promotion or he could indeed be a double spy. It shall all be revealed.

My apologies for having updated so little of late. I must get on with the next chapter. I have most of the plot worked out in my head but I have a lot of gaps to fill also in the story for it to all fall together. I'm on holiday next week but I'll try to post the week after.

I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter.


 Report Review

Review #11, by celticbard In the Mousetrap

26th July 2009:
Hi morgana!
It's celticbard from eHPf, here to review as requested.

Wow! This chapter was intense. I loved it! The short, compact scenes really helped the action move forward without an hitch and I truly enjoyed getting inside each character's head for a while. The Trio certainly seem to know what they're doing, either that or they're insanely lucky. For some reason, I think it's a mix of both. ;)

It was also nice seeing Aberforth and Ariana in this chapter. I just love the way you're weaving DH canon in with this fic. It gives the plot so much depth, while at the same time, making it unique.

And now Draco's in a jam! Argh, I'm seriously sitting on the edge of my seat. ^_^ No good deed goes unpunished, I suppose. Will Harry and Co. risk their necks to save him this time? I hope so. Draco seems to be making an effort to reform himself. Any hiccup could really shatter what little trust he has with Harry.

As always, I enjoyed reading this fic, morgana. Please feel free to stop by my thread and request another review anytime. Take care!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Thanks so much babe. Yes, one minute Harry is in trouble, the next he's free and Draco is the one in a muddle. I guess it feels a bit like landing in jail in Monopoly, now that I think of it.

I'm very pleased you enjoyed the various POVs. Many people see this as a fault. I personally chose third person omminiscent for this fic because of the freedom it gives the author. I'm very pleased to hear that you didn't find it confusing or anything.

Now, luck or skill? Very good question. Like you, I think there are elements of both. Hermione is smart for instance but watch out for Ginny. I write her as someone with very strong intuitive skills (she is the 7th daughter after all). She's not always psychic but sort of very intuitive and the connection between her and Harry will be important.

Will Harry help Draco??? Well... none trust the other 100% although at this stage they are both willing to try...

It's hard to decide in this fic whether to follow canon or depart from it since this is AU and I started before DH came out, yet I decide to include Ariana and Aberforth and people seem to have enjoyed this little vignette.

Thanks ever so much. I means a lot to me. x


 Report Review

Review #12, by Bella_Portia The Faithful Departed

19th July 2009:
First of all, I thought the quotation was an excellent choice - although the payoff doesn't come until the very end of the chapter.

I think this chapter was just wonderfully imaginative and moved along beautifully. I noticed that you decided to stay away from the "torture" problem while still maintaining suspense. The question of what was going to happen to Draco while he was at Umbridge's mercy ran throught the entire chapter, and I thought it worked nicely for the reader.

Where you say, "although the Minister herself had ensured - by her methods of interrogation - that he would be out for the count for quite some time" -- what does that refer to? Did I forget something? Is that a reference to using veritaserum?

I also liked the humor. Some of the segments were hilarious. The bit in the first "subchapter" with Percy coping with that cellphone (and that ringtone) was pretty funny.

There were a couple of technical things I noticed, that I'll just mention as they come up in each "subchapter."

Did you intend the entire chapter to be in bold (it is easy to read that way), or is that an error?

"Percy had offered to take the supposed Invisibility Cloak with him to privately carry out some checks. The Muggle device, although slightly bewildering at first, was in fact less complex that he had anticipated." -- The juxtaposition between "invisibility cloak" and "muggle device" [i.e., cell phone] is a bit confusing.

Second sub-chapter -- Harry, Hermione and Snape

Exhibeo Striptorem - s/b exhibeo scriptorem.

This chapter reviews a lot of ground. It think it does it quite effectively in the dialogue between Hermione and Harry.

The materializing hair is eerie. One thing I'd kind of like is to know more about the spell involved. (Perhaps I should know from having read it earlier, but I forgot.) But does Revelio, in addition to causing the locks of hair to appear, summon Snape? It was unclear to me how that worked. Or whence he was summoned.

"'I will answer to the Supreme Being when my time comes, not to you, Potter.'" -- interesting that you make Snape a non-atheist.

I thought Snape was being excessively sarcastic when Harry correctly guessed the source of the second lock of hair. It could have come from Draco, after all. ("The Jeopardy category is, 'Women I have been in love with.' Please answer in the form of a question.")

Next sub-chapter: Umbridge and Percy
This was a very funny section. I really enjoyed huffy, arrogant Umbridge trying to pull rank on a telephone operator and then on the Prime Minister, who probably thinks she's out of her mind.

"Surely, he wasnít going to loose its assets because of it," he rebuked. Ė s/b "lose"?

Next brief sub-chapter (Harry, Hermione, and the banking people)
This was succinct and got the story to the next place.

Similarly, the brief check-in on Draco was almost cinematic. Gives you a very clear picture of Draco, drugged and not too far away from desperate straits. Nice job with this.

Escrow closes really fast (or, at least, thatís what it sounded like). Morgana, I really think only you could have written these few paragraphs and had them fit so nicely and clearly into the story.
--
I have no comments for the very final sections, where Harry is tossing and turning, and struggling, and stretching his mind, and trying to force his will to invoke Narcissa to aid her son. I thought it was a spectacular end, right down to the very last sentence, where the MOM is displeased.

I look forward to reading the next chapter.

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much for the wonderful review. It's also very helpful that you point out some aspects that maybe a little confusing.

Yes, the ins and outs of the torture were giving me headache so I decided to imply it without describing it too explicitly. I'm really pleased to hear that the suspense was maintained and that you enjoyed how the rescue went.

The methods of interrogation refer to Umbridge having done that burning curse that had made Draco unconscious. I'll probably add a sentence or so to make it clearer, thanks for pointing that out.

Snape's beliefs, yeah, he is not the easiest person to read in that regard, but I thought he probably believed in some supreme force but originally I put it there more to show Harry that he's not in a position, as far as Severus is concerned, to demand that kind of explanation.

No, the chapter wasn't meant to be in bold. I posted when there were issues with the site so I'll go and change that.

Loose was meant to be 'lose' also, that's a typo, so that has to be fixed too.

The Umbridge/phone scene was total indulgence on my part. I absolutely hate being put on hold for ages in real life and I thought that would baffle her. The Prime Minister, well, I really enjoyed the canon scene in HBP. She was basically trying to get him to allow her access to Harry's Muggle bank accounts and the guy thought that it was a very silly request, only an inheritance matter from what he could make out.

I'm so so pleased that you thought that the chapter worked well. I was really stuck on this one. Hopefully, I won't take so long to post again.

I'll get to your chapter tonight or tomorrow at the latest.

Thanks ever so much.


 Report Review

Review #13, by sinwillys822 The Faithful Departed

10th July 2009:
wow i can't wait to read what happens next, hope u add again sooner. until next time.
a loyal reader.
101010101010

Author's Response: Oh, it means a lot to me that you have keep up with this for so long. I\\\'m sorry that it took me so long to update. Hopefully, I won\\\'t keep you waiting so long for the next chapter. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by AriesGirl40 The Faithful Departed

10th July 2009:
I've waited for so long for a new chapter, just wanted to say Thanks, and it was a good one. Maybe another at the end of the month?

Author's Response: Thanks so so much for keeping up with this story, especially since it took me so long to update. Yes, hopefully I will post another one before too long. I have some ideas as to what happens next. Thanks so much for your encouragement.

 Report Review

Review #15, by twixie The Faithful Departed

10th July 2009:
Well done!! I've waited a long time for this chapter and it was well worth it!! Sooo-where is Draco now? And what are Umbredge and Percy going to do???

Author's Response: Thanks so much, hun! Real life got caught in the way big style and also I was very stuck on this chapter. It makes my day (and even week to know that I have still some faithful readers despite my huge delays in posting).

I\\\'m about to enter soon the second part of the story as it were. Harry has now the keys to the apartment and that\\\'s a bit of a milestone as the story goes.

Don\\\'t worry, you will see more of Draco and find out what\\\'s happened. Were the clues strong enough to give an incation as to what went on (yes, it has something to do with Narcissa through Snape and Harry).

Umbridge may as well kick herself. She has been outsmarted for the time being.

Honestly, it means a lot to me that you have followed this through so far!


 Report Review

Review #16, by celticbard Ways and Means

3rd July 2009:
Hi morgana!
It's celticbard, from eHPf, here to review as requested. ^_^

Well, the rising action in this chapter is positively wonderful! I found myself sitting on the edge of my seat while reading. Everything is really coming together. Draco is starting to prove his loyalty and Harry, I sense, is finally getting closer to one of the Horcruxes. The appearance of Snape and Trelawney really worked so well in this chapter. They were both perfectly in-character and I simply love what you've done with Snape. I could just picture him working quietly in a Muggle bookstore, retiring to his quiet apartment at night to listen to opera and drink fine red wine. You certainly have him down-pat. And Trelawney's drunken ramblings were hilarious. Poor Harry, he's having quite a rough time stuck with her in the Room of Requirement.

Draco has continued to earn my appreciation in this chapter. He really is trying, isn't he? Good for him!

As always, it was a pleasure reading this chapter, morgana. Out of curiosity, how long will this fic be? Do you have any more chapters planned out? Please feel free to drop by my queue again and request another spot. I can't wait to find out just how Harry escapes Hogwarts. ^_^ Take care and have a good weekend!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much. I\\\'m quite flattered that you find I\\\'m still maintaining the intrigue. Draco well, he seems to be moving in the right direction but he will really be put to the test later on.

I\\\'m particularly pleased that you like the Snape scene. I tried quite hard to imagine him in a Muggle context. He\\\'s an important character in this story also, although his allegiance is hardly a mystery now. Trelawney\\\'s presence in the Room of Requirement is relevant to the plot but she won\\\'t be a central character overall. I had a bit of fun describing her in such drunken state. Poor Sybil! I wonder if you have any ideas as to who might have sealed the room. Hopefully, not the most obvious.

I think this story is going to end up being a very long one. I\\\'m currently working on chapter 32, in which I have been stuck for months. I decided on the ending before DH was published and will stick to it. I have several plots worked out but not the whole thing. In a way its harder now after DH because when it comes to the points I haven\\\'t had planned for ages, often I don\\\'t know whether to follow canon or to depart from it. Yes, the quill is important however Harry still hasn\\\'t got a clue as to where it is. The message is also very relevant and complicates matters a great deal. I plan to include some European locations when it comes to the Horcrux hunt.

I\\\'m so pleased you are enjoying this! Thanks sooo much!


 Report Review

Review #17, by celticbard Trials and Tribulations

6th June 2009:
Hi morgana!
It's celticbard from eHPf, here to review as promised. I must say, I've been reading this story for such a long time now, but you still manage to surprise me! ^_^ This chapter had a strong sense of rising action...I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. The situation has grown quite perilous. Harry is trapped at Hogwarts with almost no contact with the outside world. Thank goodness Ginny was astute enough to notice her bracelet.

Also, I love the way you outlined Bill's approach to the Gringotts break-in. He was very methodical. And Draco's chat with Father Mckenna at the beginning was absolutely brilliant! McKenna is just a wonderful OC and I commend you for his originality. He definitely is a convincing priest and I just loved how he was able to figure out the complex nature of Draco and Harry's relationship.

The last paragraph really left me anxious for more. Will Draco help Harry now that he is in trouble or will he fall back on old habits? As always, I truly enjoyed reading this, morgana. Please feel free to drop by my thread and request another review. I hope you have a great weekend! Take care!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much.

Very encouraging review. I'm so pleased that I got you intrigued.

Ginny is a very resourceful person in my view, so she will be an important addition to the team. Yes, the situation for the Order as a whole is getting worse by the minute.

I'm very glad that you think my Bill works. We don't know an awful lot about this character so I often find this canon minor characters the hardest to write. I went for logical and methodical because that's what he sounded to me like in DH and maybe because of his job.

Now, Draco and Father Sean. This OC has been quite well received by readers which is very, very encouraging. Some people imagine all priests very formal but the background story I have given him would make him a lot more involved and in touch with the community. He has been around teenagers a lot and I see him as someone who can grasp their psychological make-up pretty well.

Draco, well, that's the question, isn't it? His circumstances are pretty different to what they were in canon, so it may well be in his interest to help. However, he's a very cunning type and no he doesn't see Harry as his best mate by any means. An ally possibly... I have a trick out of my sleeve with him.

Thanks so so much. Your reviews are always very much appreciated.

Have a lovely weekend also. x


 Report Review

Review #18, by celticbard Diagon Alley

27th May 2009:
Hi morgana!
I'm here to review, as requested. ^_^ Ah, this chapter brought me back to when I first read The Sorcerer's Stone so many years ago. To me, it contained that same sense of wonderment and magic that makes Rowling's books so enjoyable. I think you did an excellent job in portraying Father Mckenna's surprise at suddenly discovering the wizarding world. He seems like a very down-to-earth guy and I'm already thoroughly enjoying his interaction with Harry and Draco. Also, I think it would be quite unique if he, a Muggle priest, managed to solve the magical quandary Draco is facing.

The entire tone of this fic, the meshing of magic and religion, along with the exploration of spirituality has been entirely refreshing. I love the fact that you're trying to answer some deeper questions here. It truly adds depth to the fic.

I noticed several typos in this chapter as I read through, but honestly, they're easily remedied. ^_^ I find it helpful to read my chapters out loud. You'd be surprised how many typos you pick up. ;) I've also heard that reading a chapter backwards can help a writer spot errors, but I've never tried it myself.

As always, I really enjoyed this installment, morgana. Please feel free to stop by my thread and request another review. I hope you have a good week! Take care!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much.

I guess now that you mention, it was a bit like when Harry discovered the magical world. I remembering commenting with someone that it was hard to imagine what it would be like to discover something like that existed.

I'm really glad that you think that mixing the worlds of magic works in this fic, especially since it is really the main theme.

I must check this again for typos. I'll try your tip about reading aloud.

Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #19, by datbenik513 Blood Connections

25th May 2009:
In the aftermath of Narcissa's death many changes will happen.
First of all, now the realization comes down to several people what really had happened. An awkward reunion takes place between professor and student, and another one, as a family is partly reunited, be it under other circumstances than some of them had hoped for.
Snape also reveals his plan to help Potter on his way, no matter what he or other Order members think of him. He really is in a situation between two lines of fire and he surely will need all his skills to carry out what he's planning.
A rather unexpected turn you have taken, I should say, but it works well.

Author's Response: I'm absolutely in awe of how much you have read and reviewed in one go!

Well, I have now managed to turn Draco's life outside down (although things weren't looking good for him since the beginning of this story). He will realise that the Order are now his only hope. That guy is going to have to swallow a lot of pride to stay alive. I hope you find it fun when you get to it because him and Harry are going to have to interact quite a bit.

I was always convinced that at least one of the Malfoys would die (not Draco though). I was rather surprised to see that they all survived DH. This twist gave me really the opportunity to develop Draco as a character and the parallel between Lily and Narcissa was something that I thought after reading the vow scene in HBP.

I'm so grateful for your reviews which are encouraging, detailed and helpful. You're very good at pointing out little things as well. I'm really glad that you are enjoying this.

From now on, Draco and Harry's storylines come sort of together.


 Report Review

Review #20, by datbenik513 "Llamas"

25th May 2009:
Am immensely sad chapter. Very dark magic involved; the ritual depicted in a very powerful way.
How ironic, this twist of fate. Both Lily and Narcissa sacrificed themselves to protect their children, only the latter's sacrifice is rejected. Severus is getting another blow in his face as the second woman he secretly loved dies as well.
From now on, his situation would be far from enviable; distrusted by the Order, hunted by the DE; he would have to try survive on his own. And, he would have to fulill his vow, given to Cissy.
Jeez, I'm so overwhelmed!

Author's Response: This is one of my favourite chapters. It's dark yes. The ritual is made up although I took elements from various sources, mythology, Pagan rituals but it's not something real. Snakes are very important in many ancient cults, especially due to their ability to renew their skins. They are almost associated with eternal life and youth, I thought using one would be fitting

Sevvy, yes poor thing. I wanted for him to show his emotions. Yes, he better be careful from now on. Both Draco and Harry are going to prove to be a nightmare to him. Snape is a very intelligent and resourceful wizard though so catching him is not the easiest thing in the world either.


 Report Review

Review #21, by datbenik513 Out of the Blue

25th May 2009:
This one is all about conflicts.
Well, we did know Bellatrix had never fully trusted Snape, but up until know it had never come down to wandwork. A skilled Legilimens as he is, he was able to foresee the curse coming, but from now on, he would have to watch his back. Bella is dangerous, even for her own kind.
In the meantime, the Burrow faces another conflict. Lupin has to give some answers for things he'd caused. Once the smoke's cleared, Harry can concentrate on Ginnys's "dream", if the word is at all apropriate here, as we still don't know what she saw. I loved this scene but I can't say I did like Ginny's behaviour. She's too much like my wife, too much out of the blue.
Hermione finally breaks down, after bottling her emotions after the death of her mother for too long. Guess why it's not Ron who's able to comfort her? Now? You get my point? :)
Draco is doing something which may prove very dangerous to him and to many others. Let's hope it will not be the case.

Author's Response: I always had the feeling after reading the vow scene in HBP that Bella was right about Snape. Snape took too many risks when they kidnapped Petunia and as a result they got away (albeit with casualties) so I can see that Bella would be angry and suspicious. I also wanted to show Voldy putting her down.

Now, Ginny, well the girl is fiery and she's not too happy to be taken to task for something she hasn't done but would really like to do. lol

Yes, I wanted Hermione to react later on, not right at the time. Now, Ron loves her dearly but hasn't got much experience when he comes to losing someone. Harry's had plenty and I'm not sure Ron is the best person to say the right thing in sad circumstances. I don't see Ron as some silly clown like some fanfic authors do but I still think that Harry would have taken the centre stage on this, only because he knows exactly how it feels. It's all very innocent though. The pairings still remain as they were.

Draco, yes, another one with more intuition that we saw in canon, although maybe it has more to do with Narcissa than with him (the intuition).

Thanks so much again.


 Report Review

Review #22, by datbenik513 A Belated Gift

25th May 2009:
Indeed a belated gift, which just as well mark a small victory in their quest against Voldemort, should the locket turn out to be a Horcrux. Just a very sweet touch having Dobby deliver it to Harry, and more importantly, in a sock :)
That piece - Harry "freeing" Dobby - in the second book was a very important event, as it turned out later. He's won Dobby's alliance, and as we know, an elf is a powerful ally.

Was it just a nightmare? Has Ginny really Seen anything? Is that possible that she, due to her connection with Harry, has a connection to Voldy Harrelson? I guess the answer will have to wait, but you intrigued me. Another thread in the cobweb, another possibility, another thing to watch out for.

Two thumbs up!

Author's Response: Oh, I respond to the Ginny conundrum in my reply to your review of chapter 8, silly me! The locket well, it doesn't look exactly as it should but one of the kids has the right idea. Dobby was so sweet and yes, helping others does pay off normally.

Now, even if it turns out to be a Horcrux, they haven't a clue as to how to destroy them so there is still a lot of ground to be covered.


 Report Review

Review #23, by datbenik513 Legacy

25th May 2009:
Coming of age comes with different burdens Harry will very soon realize. Being accepted into the Order is something he'd wanted a long time ago. On the other hand, being the Secret-Keeper for the Order, and at the same time prime target for Voldemort, is somewhat different, but on the end, he reluctantly agrees. Again from nobility; should he be captured and tortured for information, it would be the death sentence for each and every Order member. He's always taking blame on himself for losing someone; he still hasn't forgotten the circumstances of Sirius's death.

Dumbledore has left Harry a very important object and a very important clue in his last will and now it's up to Harry how he manages to make the best use of this information.

An amazingly written chapter; pure enjoyment, this one.

Author's Response: Yes, Harry always wanted to join and it's only natural that he would. Now, I think he would make a great Secret Keeper. He's a safe bet. I don't think he would reveal anything even if torture. He would chose his own death over his friends'.

Yes, the Pensive and the wand. The Pensive will lead to very important revelations, not all very pleasant but watch out for the wand because there will be developments later on.

I'm so pleased you enjoyed this chapter so much.


 Report Review

Review #24, by datbenik513 Sweet Seventeen

25th May 2009:
OK, big boy turning seventeen, and it's party time. Harry was never too keen on birthdays since he'd never had them, living with the Dursleys, but this day is different. I loved the twins' gifts, I really did :)

This is also the day when Dumbledore's will's going to be read.

You puzzled me with them so openly wandering around London while the DE are hunting for them.

Also, I was asking myself how one can see on a credit card that it's unlimited. Even a Gold or Platinum CC has a certain limit, but they're certainly not UNlimited. Is the UK age limit 18 or 21 years to be able to buy alcoholic drinks? I remember being refused at the age of 20, even with a photo ID.

Reading on!

Author's Response: Now that I think about it, this would be the first birthday that Harry spends away from the Dursleys. I see him as someone quite fun loving in general. The trouble is that his life has been darker than most's but when things aren't too bad, I see him as someone capable of having a good time.

He's also a bit of a dare-devil and feels very much like Sirius did when he couldn't get out of the house. They do go into Muggle London which should be a lot safer for them though.

Now, Dumbledore's will. Someone mentioned when I wrote this that too much time had passed between his death and Harry's birthday. As it turned out, to my amazament, it was read on DH on Harry's birthday also. Silly coincidence but I thought oh wow! I got that one right.

Now, the credit card isn't unlimited. Hermione said, "virtually unlimited," a bit of a metaphor but basically saying the limit is huge! Lucky Harry!

The required age for drinking alcohol is 18 in the UK. Yes, some establishments may refuse if they are not 100% convinced that they are over 18. Now in the US is 21. Not sure what you got refused with ID. Now, in HBP Dumbledore offers mead to both Harry and Dudley when they were 15, almost 16, so God knows what happens in the wizarding world. I'm slightly using my own criteria here. For instance I'm making the age of consent for sex 16 (like in the UK) although it could be plausible that 17 is the right age for both things since that's when they come of age.


 Report Review

Review #25, by datbenik513 Revelations

25th May 2009:
This chapter again witnesses several things happening at the same time in the many side-plots.

The DE get their punishment for having missed Harry again.
The kids consider different ideas on the Horcruxes; now that they had to tell Ginny everything, they have to make sure all this remains between them. In the meanwhile decisions are being made whether or not allow the kids, who soon come of age, join the Order, a question not everybody has the same opinion of.

Draco is spending some quality time with Father McKenna while working on Snape's assignment; this time not Potions, rather Muggle magic, as he calls it. The Priest is a good source of information, of course, but time is ticking.

My only point of criticism would be that some of your readers might find it difficult to switch several times between different subplots in one chapter. Other than that, this is a highly addictive fic. Well done so far!

Author's Response: Oh, my God, you have read and reviewed so much now! It's made my day.

Now, one of my tendencies is to multi-plot. It's rather likely that I make it a bit too complex and can lose readers for that sometimes. I'm still undecided as to whether this (having several plots going on simultaneously) is a virtue or a fault. I guess, it's okay in moderation but I can often overdo it. It will all be tied up in the end but some of it may not be revealed after later.

I wrote this before DH and I was racking my brains as to what was it that Dumbledore experenced exactly when he drank the potion. Ginny's dream or vision is a clue (in my AU version). Hermione will get very close to the truth shortly when they are brainstorming. He theory is that Voldy put something in the potion to inform him that someone has drank it...

Ginny, well she's the 7th daughter which according to legent tend to have psychic abilities. You're right in her connection with Harry, also she was possessed in book 2. The closest Harry and her get the strongest the connection between them will be (especially when their union becomes physical, which will do later on) but this is a double-edged sword in many ways.

Draco, well, you know now where I was heading. That kid will have no choice but to grow up quite a bit in this story, although hopefully I maintain his basic personality.

Thanks so much.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>