Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Life Lessons
  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Meeeeera Life Lessons

18th May 2009:
Oh, you're good! That was so sweet, and philosophical and ... lovely :). I really liked all the valuable lessons you added into the story, and how well they tied the plot together. I liked how you used the life lessons to tell us about Lily's life, and her time at school, and how she felt about the things that were happening to her. And the little bit with James at the end ... aww. As for the description of the little Harry - well, the characters as babies always make me giggle :).

I guess what all that added up to was me trying to say: I really, really liked this story! Keep it up :).

Author's Response: thank you so much! you are so sweet! Lily and James are two of my favorite characters...their lives were just so tragic and intriguing...

i like thinking about the character's when they were younger...baby characters make me laugh too!


 Report Review

Review #2, by onestop_hpfan18 Life Lessons

2nd November 2007:
i liked it. great oneshot. 10/10

Author's Response: thank you so much! i'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #3, by jameslily1313 Life Lessons

22nd September 2007:
thats soo good its not evn funny i luv it lots and lots and lots! kinda sad but thats lily/james' life 4 u isnt it i always want 2 cry wen i think bout their short lives. they nevr reachd 23! but i dont really cry, i just feel bad evn tho theyr jsut j.k.r.'s imagination at wrk. i always think theyr real

Author's Response: oh wow, thank you! lily, James and the rest of the marauders are my favorite. i love thinking about thier lives...and i totally agree with you, thier lives are so tragic. i also always feel like crying whenever i think about thier lives! again thanks for the nice review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by potterprincess07 Life Lessons

3rd September 2007:
Aww...this is so sweet.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Weasley twins rock Life Lessons

9th July 2007:
So very, very true every single word. A very emotional and though provoking fic that is extremely truthful and yet harsh in it's reality. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! i love this story as i have adored that quote since the first time i read it.

 Report Review

Review #6, by btortellini2006 Life Lessons

2nd July 2007:
great story, very well written, nice job!

Author's Response: Thank you! i'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Potterholic Life Lessons

27th June 2007:
Aww, that was so sweet! I like how you talked about the Marauders training Harry to be a little troublemaker and how he started swearing. =P I love the quote, and I like how you split it up. I could picture Lily doing that, especially if she knew about the Prophecy. I like your characterization of Petunia. It’s sad to think they had been really close once. The flashbacks were done nicely, too. The only problems I see are with spelling, punctuation, and grammars. The spacing was a bit too much as well. It’s nothing a beta, or a quick edit, can’t fix though. Overall, it was really good. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: i'm in the process of finally trying to get a beta so the grammar/spelling stuff will be fixed hopefully soon! yeah, i love thinking about how harry would be as a child and how the marauders would be with him. my little cousin was swearing the day i wrote it so i just had to work it in cause inspiration hit! thank you for reviewing! i'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Might Have Ben Hur Life Lessons

27th June 2007:
Though good, it was a little too preachy for my taste. Lily's experiences that backed up her lessons were vague. You should have stuck with more canon characters instead of going off with OCs. As for Edward and Annie Potter, if they were Lily and Petunia's parents, which is what it sounds like, I don't think their last name would have been Potter. It doesn't quite work like that. 'Twould be Evans. If you meant James' parents, (by why would you?) then Petunia probably wouldn't have been all that upset about it. Sorry, but I'm not really diggin' this story too much. It was well written, but I'm still not particularly fond of it.

Author's Response: thank you! the Edward and Annie Potter mix-up was just a mistake in the way i had laid out the sentence and is being corrected...i guess thats what happens when i write late at night! i'm sorry you didnt like it that much...but thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by SkitsandBits Life Lessons

27th June 2007:
Hello. Sorry if my review is a bit delayed. Reality caught up with me...

Technical Stuff: You called Lily and Petunia's parents the Potters(Edward and Annie). Potter is Lily's married name and Edward and Annie should be James' parents or they should have been the Evans.
There are times when you can't distiguixh thoughts from dialogue. And it seems that you just forgot to put quotation marks (seeing as she is story-telling she should be speaking continuously.)
There are times when your tenses are awkward. Like a simple past should be a past progressive and things like that. I couldn't point them all out. A beta should. :D
You also have the tendency, I've seen, to use the same words in two sentences (one following the other) which is very awkward (especially if the word describes an action).
In Lily's paragraph about her sister, "confident" should be "confidante."

On to commentary:
Contrary to all my technical corrections and "problems" with the story, the thing I liked about it the most was the fact that it was flowing very nicely. It did seem like Lily was just telling Harry things as they popped into her mind. Like the story-telling wasn't pre-meditated and I like that. Very realistic.
Her memories are very credible though I would have liked that you mention Snape (you know, in a portion where you say that he'll meet people he won't agree with too much) But then, I might seem a bit biased..

All in all, Lovely and an 8/10 because of all the technical things I mentioned and other things..:D

Author's Response: Thank you! i'm going through and editing this story next so i'll really look into the technical stuff that you mentioned. i tend to write stories late at night and stuff like that kinda gets past me even though i know it (like the thing with the Potters...where did that come from?) thanks for pointing it out! i'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Blue Flame Life Lessons

26th June 2007:
Such a cute one-shot!! I like this idea and the plot, very unique, I don't think I have read one with Lily talking to Harry as a baby. its very cute how you have her telling him about the ups and downs and life, and telling him how he should never take it for granted.

The part at the end was a little dramatic, but it was still pretty good, as there was good reason behind it. Very good fic, though there were some grammar, punctuational and spelling errors in there, I'd recommend a beta for those =)

Overall a really cute story :)

9/10

♣Cait

Author's Response: ah thanks! and i am going back through this story and editing it soon...which was why i had asked for reviews on this one! thank you! i'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by HrXd Life Lessons

26th June 2007:
Well you asked me to review so here I am.

Beginning: I did not like the beginning because I found that it did not really draw the reader into the story, you need something that shall stun us when a) it is the first chapter of a story and B) when the story is only a one-shot. You need to keep your readers interested.

Body (Plot, Grammar, description, ect.): The plot lacked action, and I think that if you had thought about it a bit longer you could have expanded on the idea which you had. There was description, but not enough, were are we, what does the place look like? Those are just some questions that you need to answers. The grammar was okay there were a few mistakes. You also need to learn to paint a picture in a readers mind so that they are with the characters. I understand that this was for a challenge, and I knew the poem off the bat.

Ending: The ending lacked a good closing.

General Comments: I liked that you had James as one of your characters, that made the story interesting. I liked that he played the role of the father figure, even though he was you did a good job with it. I like that you broke up the poem nicely done with that. I like that you changed to Lily, or wait I am confused with this whole story. You get a 6/10


Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! i have decided to go back through my stories and edit them. this one is the second one on the list and that is why i asked for more reviews on it! i'm glad you seemed to like it and thank you for telling me what i can work on! i'll take your suggestions into consideration as i go back to edit it! thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #12, by mischiefmanaged Life Lessons

9th June 2007:
This was a great one-shot! It was very sweet, considering what would happen to the Potters soon. There were some punctuation problems, but that's all right. It wasn't very distracting. Good job.

Author's Response: Thanks! im going back through now that its summer and editing my stories for some of the grammar problems i missed the first time! thanks for the read and review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Lillikins Life Lessons

30th May 2007:
Awww... that was beautfiul...really beautiful...i love how you condensed what some people could have written into a fan fic into one chapter.though i'd love to see it all as a fan fic :) lol.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by caryjanecarter Life Lessons

28th May 2007:
You could have worded it a little better, what with fitting in the flashbacks into the conversation w/ Harry. You had a few grammatical errors, but it was still sad and reflective. I could tell by the end of the fic you were just trying to get it done - more lenient on the punctuation and such.

I always get tearjerked while reading fics of James and Lily in this time period - it's just so tragic. Overall, not too bad. But it could've been better, and it could've flowed a LOT better. I like how you did Lily, as well.

~ Caroline

~* Team Potter Reviewer *~

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! puncutation and grammar in general has never been my strong suit and it wasnt so much as i was just trying to get it done as it was late and i was starting to get tried but was too involved to stop writing! thanks for letting me know what i have to work on!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Bibbs Life Lessons

28th May 2007:
Aww, I'm so glad I decided to read this.

I love the quote, I saw it on the challenge thread. I really like what you did with it, splitting it up and having Lily remember parts of her life that each bit pertained to. It made her so much more human, and so much less perfect than the way she is usually portrayed. I loved all of her memories.

I have to commend you on Harry. Most people treat him like he is still an infant at this age, not the toddler that he is. People seem to forget that he is fourteen months old when James and Lily were killed. I was really happy to see that you actually included him walking, talking, and yes, even swearing.

I loved the first person, I too have a one shot written in first person and it was a lot of fun to do. It also makes everything seem a lot more personal. You use it really well.

It was a great one shot, thanks for the read :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and for the nice review! i'm so glad that you liked it! I know what you mean about the harry thing! i've noticed that too. and as a nanny i have seen the swearing thing so many times and just had to add it in! Nobody's perfect and as that is how Lily is usually portrayed i decided that i wanted to make her a bit more human and relatable in my story! Its such a great quote! Again thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by emerald_princess92 Life Lessons

26th May 2007:
Awww...this is such a cute story. I felt like crying at the end. This is so wow. That's all that need to be sad. 10/10 and it's going to my favies defiantly.



Author's Response: Thanks! your reviews have completely made my day!

 Report Review

Review #17, by fallenstarr Life Lessons

23rd May 2007:
I really liked your choice of character for this quote. It was touching and showed things from multiple layers. Even though you just mentioned them both briefly I liked your characterization of both Petunia and Peter. I'm fond of the way you decided to format it. Definitely a good idea if you ask me. Good job and exactly the type of thing I was looking for when I issued the challenge.

Author's Response: Yay! this was so much fun because it allowed me to use that amazing quote and it let me write about my favorite character and show things from her view (at least how i thought she would view it!) this was a great challenge!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Amy Brooks Life Lessons

18th May 2007:
That was really sweet, sad, meaninful well you probably know since you did write the story:) Keep writing it was good!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #19, by thediarywithin Life Lessons

18th May 2007:
awww...it made me cry. Great work.

Author's Response: im sorry it made you cry! thanks so much! i'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #20, by im_super_gurl16 Life Lessons

18th May 2007:
aww how sweet! good writing too

Author's Response: aw, thanks!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login