Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Seer
  
433 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marshal Epileptic

29th April 2017:
So excited to be back for another chapter of this story. I have been really enjoying this story! I particularly like how you have handled Harry. He is very much him in my opinion and also very much a dad just like you made Ginny very much a mum on the other chapters.

The way you have set up for James to bee a seer has been very interesting and I like how his abilities are coming with some serious side effects. I also love how you have been handling epilepsy. This fic is fantastic and I am excited and happy to be reading another chapter of the story. I am curious where things will go from here.

THere is a lot that can happen what with James' playing of quidditch which may now be lost to him due to the risks of flying and sudden seizures and then his issues with Albus still being better than him, it is a lot to take in for a young man and you having his mind running around like that is interesting. I look forward to reading more of this story after capture flag the flag is done! Be sure that I will be back for more as this story is super fantastic!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Yoshi_Kitten Epileptic

29th April 2017:
Took me longer that I would've liked to get back here. Unfortunately, I missed my chance to do chapter 2 during the last round of CTF, however, I have read and it, was AMAZING!! Before I start on chapter 3, let me just say that I was absolutely amazed at how well you described Jame's first seizure. It was so terrifying, yet so incredibly accurate. I'm a medical assistant, and I have been in the medical field for 10 years now. I have clients currently who have seizure disorders, and I can say with confidence that you have nailed everything SO accurately here. I am so impressed with how well you have done your research. And then, in this chapter, the way you described all of his side effects, and then his treatment plan thereafter. I for one appreciate that you took the time to get all of that right!!

I'm so glad that Harry came back for James. You really have done a great job with his character. I am still curious as to what secret mission he was off on, but I feel like there will be time to find all of that out later. There is so much mystery going on here already, I absolutely love the direction that this is going. I just feel so bad for James; especially if he cannot play Quidditch anymore because of his diagnosis. Certainly they will think of a way around this? There has got to be some sort of safety plan they can out into effect so as to help him still be able to play. like, maybe someone can be on standby to catch him of he starts seizing and falls off his broom? Or would they consider it too great of a risk> I hope not, because I know how badly that will crush him. James loves Quidditch!! Please don't take that away from him!!!

Obviously, from the story title & summary, I can assume that this “brain change” of his must have something to do with James becoming “the greatest Seer the world has ever seen.” And James clearly has not discovered this new power yet, as Healer Eubank theorized. But the part where he brought up the theory about Merlin was my favorite thing yet, OMGosh!! This is so interesting, and I am so totally engrossed in this story right now. I don't even want to read anything else tonight because I just want to keep on reading this, haha!! Gosh I hope the flag is in here somewhere, haha!! Wouldn't that be SO nice!?!

But seriously though, even if it's not, guarantee I WILL be back!! I may not review every single chapter, but I will pop in from time to time to let you know where I'm at and how I'm liking it. I already love it though, so I'm sure it'll only get better from here!! I've added it to my favorites. I didn't see a link to an HPFT account for you, but I really hope that you make one soon and post this story up on there!! Because I SO want to nominate this Novel for a FROG award, haha!! Seriously, this is one of THE BEST fan-fics I have ever read!! ;)

~Deana

 Report Review

Review #3, by Scooterbug8515/Marshal Just a One Time Thing

28th April 2017:
*bows* Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! You took the time to be concerned with medial accuracy! You have no idea how much I love you for that right now! Like seriously! While my knowledge is not the greatest in this particular medical case I know enough to not that you were very realistic here. I have a nursing friend who screams (almost literally) every time a story or show does something medically inaccurate.

As for the emotion of the chapter you were spot on with that as well! Like seriously you did Ginny fabulously here! Harry too! I loved him, the immediate worry and concern that came off of Harry the minute he heard Ginny's voice. Then I loved him all the more when he said he'd be there in two minutes. It does say a lot for the seriousness of the situation indeed but it also speak so well of Harry as a person and character.

You have been doing a brilliant job with this story. I am not often a fan of next gen but this is flowing so nicely and you are crafting a very lovely story and I have enjoyed my reading thus far!

 Report Review

Review #4, by ABlack Just a One Time Thing

28th April 2017:
I rarely stumble across a Next-gen fic that I like, so this is an unexpected pleasure. You have a such grasp on Lily, James, Albus and Dominique and breath them into life!

Your description of the James’ seizure is painted so vividly you can practically feel the air thick with tension. I’ve seen seizures before and it’s so utterly painful not being able to do anything but wait and see. For all that she’s a talented witch and has access to magic, it must be doubly hard for Ginny as she has to watch her son thrash about. Such a relief when it’s over and she can step into action.

I like that you have Ginny be a bit bewildered when using a cell phone – the inclusion of Muggle technology was handled well. However, I‘m curious as to why she didn’t simply use her Patronus to send a message to Harry. One one hand, it would have been quick and something Ginny was familiar with. On the other, it wouldn’t necessarily allow for the conversation that followed with Harry. Hmmm …

Anyways, the medical bits were well done. I appreciated the effort you put into making it realistic, but would the wizarding world have called it a seizure or used the term tonic clonic? A wizarding idiom would have been nice, like a brain storm or something to that effect. Then Harry could have had to question it and come to the conclusion it was a seizure.

Overall, you did a wonderful job on this! That I want to read more this Next-Gen fic is probably the highest compliment I can give you!

~Alexis

 Report Review

Review #5, by scooterbug8515/Marshal Seize

24th April 2017:
This is a very interesting start. You have really drawn the sympathy for James as a character. Honestly I have never seen a fic where James is sort of second string between him and Albus. It is interesting that Albus is the successful brother. Of course you had to go off and make things worse for James getting sick and having the seizure. I'm guessing this has to do with the epilepsy you mentioned in your author's notes at the start of the chapter?

Anyway a nice start to the fic, you did well of developing how the siblings interact and how the characters are as people, you've done a nice job of giving them depth and unique personalities.

Also I like how you've laced a few subplots into the story as well, not only does one walk away from this chapter with concerns about James' health but also that Harry is suddenly on a load of missions that are unexpected and it appears that Ginny is concerned on some level. You leave a nice promise of interest in the coming chapters of this fic. So great job on a great start!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Yoshi_Kitten Seize

24th April 2017:
Hello, RoxiMalfoy from the forums, here for CTF!! First of all, let me say that I am super impressed with how much you have so obviously put into this story!! I confess that, out of habit, I almost clicked the story at the top of your AP first, but then I noticed that it was actually a sequel to this one. So I hurried up and came over here to this story first. I like to read things in order, so I never read sequels without reading the original story beforehand! But to already have so much written for this world that you have created for your next-gen characters, it makes me really excited to read on! I feel like this epic adventure is about to unfold, and I cannot wait to see what happens next!

Your descriptions of all the Potter children were great, but I think Lilly was my favorite. Your attention to detail when you were describing her looks and personality were fantastic!! I especially like the bit that you included about her being so straight-forward. I myself have been told by others that I can be too honest at times as well, so I feel like I can relate to this Lilly a bit in that aspect. The boy's were great here too. You have captured their sibling bond extremely well here, especially when they were arguing in the beginning over who was better at Quidditch. I couldn't help but to laugh when James kept hitting Al with his broom, haha!! He really is a sore loser, isn't he?

And there's Harry and Ginny! I never thought of them spending so much time away from home, but I suppose now that the kids are older, I guess they would spend more time getting more involved in their careers. It's a new perspective on them, different from anything else I've read, but I like it so far. It definitely sets the mood, because you can tell right away that the empty household has a negative effect on the kids. Your imagery in that scene was really good, and it continued to grow throughout the chapter as well. I really loved the part where you talked about Ginny, and how well she knew each one of her children individually. She reminded me of Molly in that paragraph, and it made me smile. =)

And then we got to see a little bit of James' rebellious side. While his response to his mother did bother me a bit, I do find it rather believable that Harry & Ginny would have a difficult time disciplining their children. Although, I am glad that they do all seem to be well-behaved for the most part. It wasn't like James to normally disrespect his mother, he just wasn't feeling well and he was in a bad mood, like he said. And given what happened next, I can hardly say that I blame him. Poor James!! GAH!!! That ending, holy cow!!! Talk about a cliffhanger!! Now I definitely HAVE to read more to see what happens next. Regardless of whether the flag is hidden in here or not, I shall be adding this one to my favorites list, and coming back to read more as soon as my crazy schedule will allow it, I promise!!

I really loved this; from beginning to end! Your attention to detail, and your descriptions of everything were just amazing!! I was able to visualize nearly everything throughout this entire piece. And the little table with everyone's name, age, and corresponding Hogwarts House that you included at the end was so nice and informative. You have seriously put a lot of time and thought into this, and it shows!! I can tell that this a lot has gone into this story, and I am really excited to find out where it goes next!! Thanks for such a great read!! =D

~Deana

 Report Review

Review #7, by PaulaTheProkaryote Seize

4th April 2017:
Hey there! I’m here to make sure Ravenclaw wins the CTF at HPFT/read your lovely stories.

James reminds me of a bit of an immature little thing which makes me like him more. I like such a stark characterization from his brother.

He's definitely a sore loser. And honestly I like Albus's almost soothing nature. The way he offers his brother the snitch and the joking that he'll just let him win next time. I don't know I just like the way he is. And Lily is nice and fiery which I love.

On the possibility of wands being located up someone’s ahem I think James definitely has one and he’s just going to have to come to terms with it.

And Lily definitely seems to know how to play both of her brothers based on her whims. With the whole use him as practice thing. Also the Albus being a bit of a playboy is such an unusual characterization for him so I like that even more.

There's a lot of tension between James and Albus even though Albus doesn't seem to really instigate it so much as James seems to be searching for it. I'd like to see more of their dynamic in the next chapters. They really have a good sibling rivalry going on.

I appreciate that you've taken the time to not only add James in with the condition (i love MCs with some kind of representation) and I love that you took the time to make sure it was accurate. AH! I want to know what happens to my sweet baby James.

-Paula

 Report Review

Review #8, by Flower n Prongs Seize

4th April 2017:
Hello! I'm here for CTF.

While the fact that this is a part of a series, the summary drew me in. The idea of another prophecy coming to have such a big impact on the lives of a Potter has the possibility to cliche but so far it doesn't seem like that. (Now, if you go all "James Sirius is the chosen one!" I retain the right to revoke that comment haha.)

Some of your characterizations seem really different. The fact that Ginny is still playing professional Quidditch despite being 40-ish is really impressive. For many characters that may seem like a bit of a stretch, but it seems like Quidditch has the potential to be more like curling or archery where if you have good aim and a good arm that you can continue for longer. Also, Ginny is such a head-strong person in canon that I can definitely see her pushing herself.

I like the tension that you are already setting up between Albus and James II. All too often in fic you see the extended Potter-Weasley clan as one big, giant happy family. It's a nice idea, but I can't see it happening with that many people. I also know so many people who didn't necessarily have any MAJOR problems with their siblings but still weren't best of friends, so this is nice. I'm sure you will explore some of the reasons behind this and how this all changes in the next many, many chapters in this story (and perhaps the next?) so I look forward to seeing how it unfolds.

I'm assuming James's collapse at the end is the epilepsy you are referring to. I do appreciate somebody who takes the time to do research, so I look forward to seeing how you incorporate what you have found. I don't think I've ever seen a character who has seizures in a fic before, so this should be interesting to read about.

- R

 Report Review

Review #9, by victoria_anne Epileptic

28th March 2017:
Once more for the Chalice review spree!

The scene with James and Harry in the hospital just breaks my heart. As a regular thing, those seizures are going to be so hard on everyone.

The fact that James' brain is undergoing a change is very interesting. I wonder what it is?

 Report Review

Review #10, by victoria_anne Just a One Time Thing

28th March 2017:
Continuing my Chalice Review Spree!

Poor James! That is scary stuff!

Giving Ginny a phone is a nice idea, I guess there aren't always fireplaces around for wizards to speak face to face, a la Sirius.

The emotions in this chapter just jump right off the page, and it's heartbreaking to see the Potter's dealing with something so shocking completely out of the blue.

 Report Review

Review #11, by victoria_anne Seize

28th March 2017:
Hello hello! Lovely to meet you! I'm here for the Chalice Review Spree! It amazes me I hadn't discovered you before now, because your work is so great.

The brotherly relationship between James and Albus is perfect. I love your interpretations of the next gen characters, too. Even though the way you've described them is a bit of a shopping list (and I have a terrible memory) I'm sure over the course of the story their personalities will shine through through their actions :)

And what a cliff hanger! I know what has happened to him because of your author note, but ahh!

 Report Review

Review #12, by amzamzamz Resolute Followers

17th September 2016:
I'm loving it so far ♡ I love your idea of a new prophecy. :)
-Amanda

Author's Response: Than you so much! I'm really glad you like the idea. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Arella Seize

14th September 2016:
Hi there!

I think the first chapter is really great and thought out.

I also found it on another site called HEXRPG. Out of curiosity, did you also post it there too?

Author's Response: Oh my gosh.No, indeed, I did not publish it there. That is not me. Thank you so much for notifying me. I will take care of it.

But thank you so much for stopping by and informing me! I really, really, really appreciate it. I am also glad you enjoyed the story. :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by amzamzamz Just a One Time Thing

12th September 2016:
I'm glad I came upon your story, because I was reading a Dramione fic but found that I wanted to read action/advencture. + I love your writing style. :)
-Amanda

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you! I'm glad you came across it too. :) Thanks so much for reviewing. I'm happy to hear you like my style. I hope you enjoy the story! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Kaylee Epilogue: The Revival

23rd August 2016:
Hey there! I've been reading new gen fic after reading The Cursed Child. I've just binged is story in the past two days, and I really have to complement you on your well developed characters and plot. Your story did exactly what a story of the New Generation should do. You took creative liberty in aspects of the characters, but the story really fell in place with the world of Harry Potter.

Time for me to move on to the sequel!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much! That means a lot to me. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I had the same urge after I finished reading Cursed Child, too. :)

Thank you for your kind words! I'm glad you felt the characters were well-developed; that was something I really tried to achieve, so thank you for that!

I hope you enjoy the sequel! I'm hoping to pick it back up again soon after I finish revising this story. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Rose Epilogue: The Revival

28th July 2016:
omg i honestly thought that Ginny somehow died for James.
I will definitely read the sequel.!!
and again u are AMAZING!!!

Author's Response: Nope, that's not what happened but it's a clever idea! :) I hope you like where I ended up going with it, and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story! Thanks so much for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Rose In Too Deep

27th July 2016:
AMAZING chapter! And story!
Poor Al! And poor James! wow just wow!
Personally if I was the bad guy though I would have targeted lily instead but that's just my opinion!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! Your words are too kind. Thanks so much for the review! I hope you enjoy the rest of the story. :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Athena Epilogue: The Revival

14th July 2016:
Amazing story!!! I love it!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Athena!! I'm so glad you liked it. I hope to see you back for the sequel. :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Brin Prince Epilogue: The Revival

22nd November 2015:
Amazing story, plot and everything (i had started reading this a long time ago, but i guess i had lost interest (im not a big romance fan) oh but i regret ever doing that, thankfully i managed to come back after so many years... loved it and will be reading the sequel!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! Your review is so kind! I'm so glad you came back after years. That is so impressive. That's dedication!! I hope you enjoy the sequel just as much. I think it's safe to say there's less romance. ;) I tend to get a little carried away with romance once I set down a course. :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by simply_unbalanced Epileptic

10th June 2015:
Actually when someone has a seizure you do not put anythin in their mouth because they cannot swallow or choke on their tongue. They also shouldn't drink anything directly after a seizure. I know this is factual because I know someone who professionally worked with people with epilepsy and I also double-checked it on a doctor website.

Author's Response: Thanks for that! I know the research on this has changed some. I recently revised the story for medical accuracy. Thanks for the review, and I hope you enjoy the story!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Annie Epilogue: The Revival

3rd September 2014:
WOW!

This story was actually terrifying. I couldn't bring myself to stop reading. I had goosebumps the whole way through. This story excels at not focusing on romance, like so many stories do but focusing on the threats that would still surround Harry and his family, and the twist at the end? Perfect. Not many writers could get away with something so daring and innovative but you have taken the idea and run with it! Well done! I will be reading the sequel shortly!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Annie!! That is so kind. I thought I got a little carried away with the romance in the middle, so it is encouraging to hear you say otherwise! I hope you enjoy the sequel!

 Report Review

Review #22, by GhostlyCheese Like Father, Like Son

3rd July 2014:
I love the way you've structured everything so far, but when it came down to how James survived the killing curse, I couldn't help but feel confused. The creation of a horcrux occurs during the act of killing, which I understand that James did. However, in the process of forming a horcrux, James would have needed to split his own soul and allow his soul to attach onto something. For this reason, I'm not quite sure that Parker surviving makes sense, because in order to allow the soul to be split in the creation of a horcrux, one must kill. Therefore, wouldn't Parker already have been dead in order for the horcrux to be created? Furthermore, would it not have been a piece of James' soul that resides in Parker and not vice versa?

 Report Review

Review #23, by lily Wizengamot

20th April 2014:
I think this was the best chapter yet! The twist ending was so unexpected (or maybe I'm just thick).
can't wait to read what happens next!!!

 Report Review

Review #24, by naughtymango Freak of Nature

4th February 2014:
Its great, love the story line

 Report Review

Review #25, by TheNamelessBoy Epilogue: The Revival

13th September 2013:
Aside from the vast deviations from the original books-
the Imperious curse was GROSSLY misrepresented and Stupefy does not fling people backwards, it knocks them out! (+ some more, mostly concerning magic)
-this was a nice story. Good job.

P.S.-Most authors deviate but not so much (mostly).

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>