Reading Reviews for Mannequin Display Case
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by jenrabbit Mannequin Display Case

9th May 2008:
Erm, okay.
Interesting insight, I don't often think about Alice Longbottom, but I can picture her like that. Execelently written, you're an extremely talented author, hold onto THAT magic, save it up, and don't ever let it go.
kisses
~*Jenni*~

 Report Review

Review #2, by insideout orange Mannequin Display Case

17th February 2008:
I read Alice just before this, and it was interesting to see two very different perspectives from one author. Alice, I felt, was more tortured, confused, like the actual mind of an insane woman (as if I know, right?), while this was more like organized thoughts from a woman trapped in her own mind or something. But not really crazy. It was a little more heart-wrenching, for me anyway, seeing conversations she had with Frank, and how life was progressively getter darker for them but she didn't want to grow up. It's difficult to say which I liked more, since they were so different, but I loved them both. You're an amazing writer, and I'm not entirely sure what I was talking about so I hope my review made sense. :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! And don't worry, it made sense!

 Report Review

Review #3, by war and peace Mannequin Display Case

6th December 2007:
how sweet! alice's mind isn't regularly explored post-torture, you're right. in fact, i haven't seen any that go down this path. but you sure set the benchmark high if anyone tries now... an amazing fic.

Author's Response: awww, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Gun Metal Mannequin Display Case

7th November 2007:
How do you review a story like this? It's a lovely story, really it is, and I like it a lot. I like Alice, and I like how you made her less than perfect, because perfect characters can never be main characters. She's entirely different than my characterization of her, of course, but that's okay. I like that.

She reminds me of Luna, a little: "You look like Frank Longbottom." I like that, too.

Author's Response: i love reading alice fanfic because everyone characterizes her differently! thank you!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Fieryprincess Mannequin Display Case

19th September 2007:
I read Alice first and now I'm thinking it would have been better if I read this one first cause the differences are major. I liked it though. It had more of a sense of reality. It was kind of ironic, in my opinion, that they put her in the hospital when she finally left the crazy. Being in a hospital as if some sort of display would drive me insane too so I can relate with Alice on that.
And I've talked to a mannequin too, actually. They never answered me though. =P
10/10

Author's Response: Yeah, they're definitely very different. Thanks so much for this review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Angel_luvs_harry Mannequin Display Case

28th August 2007:
I don't know why but while reading this is just made me feel so heart broken for poor Alice and so in love with Frank for loving her so much. Most people if they got too annoyed with a person they would leave them in an instance but Frank even with her craziness, stuck by her side...and the part "And you used to care about me.""That's where you're wrong. I never stopped." is a real tear jerker!!!
Another excellent fic i've read from you, I think your going to be one of my favourite authors on this site. *Goes off to add as favourite*
Your writing style is really unique and I love it. Excellent work.

Author's Response: Oh gosh, you are much too nice! It's kind of funny that you reviewed this story, since I wrote it way back in like, April and I haven't gotten any very recent reviews on it, but all of a sudden, I got two in the span of like, two days. Hah. Anyway, I'm really glad you enjoyed this! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #7, by DontBeSilly Mannequin Display Case

27th August 2007:
I really liked this story. It was sweet and sad, all at the same time.

Author's Response: Thanks a bunch!

 Report Review

Review #8, by norapotter Mannequin Display Case

21st August 2007:
awww, this was sweet. i loved how the her mind seemed so sane (or as sane as anybody would be in a hospital like that) from her point of veiw. you did a good job making the crazyness come across as if it were normal. good job. this is so sad. : (
wonderful job.
it kinda makes you think about how reality has an effect on dreams. here her memories (reality) effect how she acts now with the bubblgum wrappers and she is in a dreamlike state (you get that sense from the writing.)
again, i loved this.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! This is kind of the sweeter, more sane of my two Alice fics and I'm really glad that you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by L J Conks Mannequin Display Case

11th August 2007:
Eh. I feel strangely near to tears? I'm not even sure why it's sad; there's just this little bit of a great lot of emotion peeking out from between the dots of the i's and the wholes in the o's. Like Alice and Frank are one of those jig-saw puzzles. I can't tell, I can't read, when they're happy and when they're not. Like there are just these cracks in their wonderful romance, and maybe it's Frank's indifference and maybe it's Alice's insanity and maybe it's neither.

Definitely some tones different from your "Alice", but equally and thoroughly and enjoyable read. A light one, too, even if it's heavy in meaning - quality over quantity. No matter what, though, you always make her an interesting character with an interesting perspective of her surroundings, inside and outside and sometimes behind her. Wonderland prose.

Author's Response: I wrote this one back in April, I think, and I agree that it's definitely a different sort of perspective of Alice than in "Alice". I'm glad that you enjoyed this one just as much! And you know, I find your reviews to be ridiculously well-written, so I'm going to -at some point- run over to your account and read your stories!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Proud Hufflepuff Mannequin Display Case

9th August 2007:
Aww, this was so sweet...yet so incredibly angst ridden. I just want to take Alice from the story and give her a great big hug. ^_^ You've brought all of her emotions out, but I think that you could have done a bit more on Frank's behalf. I feel like he's just kind of stuck there. *shrugs* Maybe that's just me, though.

-Carrie

PS: I think you mean 'scent', not 'cent'.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review & critique, Carrie! And hah. My proofreading skills pretty much stink. I'll fix that when I stop being lazy.

 Report Review

Review #11, by dream_spells Mannequin Display Case

6th August 2007:
Em! [It's Skye or spirt_on_wings from TDA!]
I was about to bawl reading this story! *tears edging out*
If Jo were to write an Alice/Frank Longbottom story, she'd
better find you and tell you to print this out. Fabulous!
*cries*
oh, and 10/10. ^_^


Author's Response: Ahwe, thanks so much! And uhm, ESPN much? I just logged in to review YOUR story. Gasp!

 Report Review

Review #12, by iluv2eatcarbs Mannequin Display Case

5th August 2007:
Oh wow.
I actually came across this one-shot the other day by accident and meant to read it but for some reason I didn't, until now obviously.

But I've got to say this is probably one of the best fics I've ever read. The way you made everything come together in the end was fantastic. Like the jigsaw puzzle, I was a little confused at first, I was like 'this is making absolutely no sense,' but then I got it.

I loved how you didn't have too many words with this story, if you get what I mean. It wasn't over flowery, it was perfect. I loved her description of the red dress and everything she wants to hold magic to, and not let it grown old. And I loved the last two conversations between Alice and Frank of how he didn't remember her red dress (but he obviously did) and how she wanted to hide, and that he still cares for her, it's so romantic *sighs*.

This is probably the best portrayal of Frank and Alice I've ever read on the site. The bubblegum wrappers tied in nicely with the Harry Potter books but you completely made it your own. Great job!

~LB

Author's Response: Ahwe, gosh! Wow! This is like, the nicest review ever! Wowowowowow! Thanks so much! And keep a look out because I have another Alice story waiting in the queue right now! The portrayal in my new story is actually really different than this story, though. Thanks again for making my day with such an awesome review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by stranger_than_fiction Mannequin Display Case

17th July 2007:
This is discern over at tda.
I love this fic, Em! It's so sad, but I loved it. I liked how it was a departure from regular fics, and I enjoyed the whole thing, especially the flashbacks and how caught up she was with the past. She almost seems like Luna Lovegood...this is a great fic. Going into my favorites :)

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much for such an awesome review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by egad_paisley Mannequin Display Case

11th June 2007:
I loved this, em. It's a really beautiful piece. I haven't really
seen many fics like this. It really is an inspiration

Author's Response: Does this happen to be Paisley from TDA? Thanks so much dear!

 Report Review

Review #15, by ThestralRider92 Mannequin Display Case

28th April 2007:
I never thought of Alice this way...It's very sad isn't it? She was slightly off before the curses (in a vaguely Luna-like way, I think) but now her minds just a jumbled mess of the past...

And the conversations with Frank between were really well-written and added so much to the story! Basically he "grew-up" and she didn't it seemed...he toughened as the war came on and she was still soft. The random bits with mannequins and wrappers and robins and dresses make it so...crazyish, really, but still sad...

Totally new perspective, I think, and I like it very much! Writing and ideas were great. Wonderful Alice one-shot, accidental dreamer!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much!
I loved adding the random stuff. Hah.


 Report Review

Review #16, by KML Mannequin Display Case

28th April 2007:
Cute! Does she wish she hadn't saved it? That's my only question.

I like how she's kind of retreated into her mind. It's interesting. Nice job!

Author's Response: Ummm, I'm not sure.
I think she's glad she saved it up.
Becuase it still had the magic? I guess?

And thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Ang3ls Mannequin Display Case

27th April 2007:
omg... that was so adorable... and so sad! Lol I followed this from your TDA account, where you're obviously adored because of your enourmious (yes I meant to spell it like that) graphics talents. I love the title of this. It seems that graphics aren't your only speciality.
-- curtaincall

Author's Response: Aw, omigosh, you're so nice! :D
Hah, I've always wondered if people ever click the links in my signature!


 Report Review

Review #18, by tableau Mannequin Display Case

24th April 2007:
I love how real this sounds. Beautiful and strong, like a poem. It wraps you up in a warm tangle of words and you can't stop reading. It really teaches how beautiful the simple things are.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #19, by padme_alejandra Mannequin Display Case

20th April 2007:
This was excellent, you're quite talented :) I especially love the fact it was Alice and Frank. They deserve so much more notice then they're given.

Author's Response: Thanks so much Dani and I agree about Alice & Frank!

 Report Review

Review #20, by dancer Mannequin Display Case

20th April 2007:
A very deepstory. You have quite an elegant turn of mind. Makes a body think.

Author's Response: Deep? xD Thank you so much! (If you told anyone who knew me that I wrote a "deep" story, they'd burst out laughing!)

 Report Review

Review #21, by FrogsofChocolate Mannequin Display Case

18th April 2007:
What a beautiful one shot! Very original idea as well. ^.^ I loved the paragraph about the bubblegum wrappers... I also liked the interaction between Frank and Alice, you wrote it well. Good job! This is going in my favorites. ^.^

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I love to write ships that aren't written as much as say, Harry and Hermione or whatever. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #22, by allthegoodonesweretaken Mannequin Display Case

18th April 2007:
beautiful, poetic, sad.

I normally give constructive crittisism in a review, but this one-shot left me too satisfied to want to critisize anything. "Satisfied" is a wierd word to put in a review, I know, but reading this story put me at ease in a sense. I read it like I read poetry, not like I read fics (yes, there's a big difference).

Thank you for that.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really appreciate the kind review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login