Reading Reviews for Something Lost
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm Something Lost

14th July 2013:
I’m back again, and you get to have my 700th review *throws confetti*! I usually avoid Sirius/Lily stories like the plague, but I’m determined to get over my fear of them so I’m going to try this!

What has this story done to me? I managed to read this story and have my heart break for poor old Sirius for not getting his Lily. Gah, this is just so weird and definitely goes against my OTP. I’m trying not to fight the weirdness as I like to embrace as many ships as possible but this is so unknown to me.

I think the main reason why I liked it, even if it did involve a heart-broken Sirius is because they weren’t together, it happened in the past, and now James was marrying Lily. It triggered such a broad range of emotions in me which made me really happy because I love stories which do that to me. There was the sorrow for Sirius, joy for James and Lily, anger at Lily for not choosing Sirius, delight that she was still with James. I could go on but it would be a bit tedious to read I would imagine.

The way you described their first kiss was really great. I could sense it coming with Sirius’ thoughts about her beforehand and then them playing around in the snow. I liked how it just happened; it was out of nowhere but not unexpected and it seemed right for them. The conflicting thoughts in the head when they were kissing were great and added another dynamic to the story with whether it would continue or not.

Minor note – it was in first person! I love your first person and I aim to read as much of it as I can.

The wedding part was rather tragic. I liked how you made the point that Lily was still walking up to James as if she still could chose him even if she was meant to marry James. I’ve read another story like that but with Remus instead and it’s always interesting to ponder whether it would actually happen or not.

I really loved this one-shot and it’s made me want to give Sirius/Lily stories another chance!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Congratulations on your 700th review! It's lovely of you to have written it for one of my stories. :D

It seems like there are two kinds of Sirius/Lily stories: the ones in which Sirius loves Lily before James, and something happens between them, OR the ones where Sirius and Lily cheat on James. I did write one of the latter once, and it was a lot harder to do because it feels so wrong to go against the biggest OTP of the Potterverse (and also, more importantly, because it's a challenge to make it fit into canon characterizations of both Sirius and Lily). I had a lot more fun writing this story and "The Third Man", which fall into the other category of Sirilys - stories of this kind have a certain sadness to them, fuelled by Sirius's loss and regret, rather than the guilt that drives the other kind of Sirily.

The romance aspect of this story is very quiet, now that I think of it, with their kiss being accidental and just /there/ rather than part of some larger, more complicated relationship. Using Sirius as narrator meant that most of the ship happens internally - he loves her, but there's not really any evidence that she loves him back to the same degree.

I'm really pleased to hear that you enjoyed this story in spite of your trepidation, and it means a lot that you want to try reading more Sirius/Lily stories because of this one. It's a fantastic compliment, and I appreciate it. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #2, by The Empress Something Lost

16th February 2009:
I LOVED this! I've never been a huge fan of Sirius/Lily fics, but this was wonderful. My favorite line is the last "Sometimes, that's all a person can do: look into the night and wait for morning to come." Wonderful!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm not much of a Sirily shipper myself, which might be what's making this story easier to take. I really appreciate you taking the time to read and review. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #3, by moon_black11 Something Lost

1st April 2008:
aw.w.w.w.w.w.w.w.w.w.w.w.w.w.w.w.w.
that's so sad!

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by war and peace Something Lost

16th December 2007:
so sad.. yet endearing to sirius' character. very sweet

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #5, by Bears Kitty Something Lost

28th September 2007:
this would have made a great novella

Author's Response: Lol! Maybe... if I liked the ship any better. :P Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by GinnyWeasley447 Something Lost

7th September 2007:
OMG! That was like, the BEST story ive ever read on the website (counting mine boo hoo) You add such good words that i could never ever think of. And i call myself a good writer. LOL

Author's Response: Oh wow, thanks very much! The best? That's a wonderful compliment and I really appreciate it. =D

 Report Review

Review #7, by GryffindorSeth37 Something Lost

4th September 2007:
Wow! That really sounded like Sirius! This is great! Beautiful! Really.

Seth

Author's Response: Thanks very much for reviewing! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #8, by HrXd Something Lost

18th August 2007:
this was amazing. I loved the detail and the way that you wrote Lily and sirius wonderful job.

Author's Response: Thanks, Sammy. I really appreciate hearing from you. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #9, by joojoo Something Lost

10th August 2007:
That's so *sobbles*.
Poor, poor Padfoot. So brave of him to pull away for James. So selfless of him. And you wrote it all so amazingly... I must salute you and your efforts. The scene was set really perfectly.. and everything was just fab. I heart it!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, joojoo! ^_^ Poor Sirius is right, and it shows how amazing he is because he had the guts to step away for his friend. ='(

 Report Review

Review #10, by Armand Something Lost

8th August 2007:
i liked this story very much. a look into the depth that is Serius Black. bravo!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! =D

 Report Review

Review #11, by Kristina1990 Something Lost

31st July 2007:
Wow... That was REALLY well written, you know that, do you? This is my first attempt at reading Sirius/Lily hints and I'm not seriously considering on doing it again, but I am impressed.

You conveyed Sirius' feelings really well and the review into the past with the snow fight was cute. I could imagine the two there, laying in the snow... *lol* Strange thought though, nevertheless.

Well done!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so very much for this review! To write this was an experiment, and it's such a surprise to hear that it's gone so well. =D

 Report Review

Review #12, by PadfootBlack16 Something Lost

11th July 2007:
very good...no, cross that...GREAT story. I loved it. Its tremendously (sp?) well written, the description is superb, the dialogue is great, and the plot is wonderful. I agree with you that timeturner is the best sirius/lily writter on HPFF, but you come close. The way you manage to keep them both in character adn describe Sirius` emotions..it feels like you are standing right there with the characters instead of reading the story.

There are no typos that i could find. Nothing to change really...

so, yea, no cc to actually give. This is great. Going in my favs for sure.

10/10

cheers,
pad

Author's Response: Thanks very much, Andrew! =) I'm glad the story lived up to timeturner's example so well - it was interesting to write a ship I don't follow or believe in, but I enjoyed writing it for her. I really appreciate hearing from you. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #13, by CJ_Black Something Lost

30th June 2007:
Hi again, Violet!
As you may or may not know, this story has been in my favorites for quite a long time. It is by far one of the best one-shots and stories I have ever read. You are such an amazing writer, I really admire you and look up to you because your style is very enjoyable and addicting. Also, I noticed, for the first time in my entire reading career (lol), an impeccable story. No grammar mistakes, no misplaced commas, no spacing errors – nothing. I just had to compliment you on that because I’ve never seen it in any other fic before. Once again, this proves you are a dedicated author and that you respect yourself as one. Truly admirable, that is.
You have a great talent for descriptions, and I’ll probably never figure out how you manage to capture the readers from the first few words. It’s amazing. I was so caught up with this fic I didn’t even hear my sister yelling across the room. And that’s extremely hard to miss. But really, you are the best when it comes to setting up the scenery, I could visualize everything so easily. And like usual, you never overwrite. You have a unique personal style that practically make it impossible for readers to ever get bored of anything you write. I’m willing to bet a quite large amount of money that if you were to write an entire novel filled only with descriptions of a single place, I would never get bored. It’s just…truly admirable. The snowball fight was great, lovely descriptions there especially. It was so rich and colorful and on top of that, filled with emotions. I could feel the hesitation, the awkwardness, the fire, the anticipation…everything. And of course, the part where Sirius was expecting to be attacked by a Death Eater or something and instead got a snowball from Lily – humorous and light, and very, very refreshing.
The emotion was so intense in this fic, and you did a great job on describing it through Sirius’s eyes. It could be felt without actually being written, because no guy will wallow in self pity or make things over dramatic, even in his own head. For that, I feel the need to congratulate you once again. I could understand Sirius perfectly, the jealousy he felt that in the end was overpowered by the devotion and loyalty he felt towards his best friend. It was beautifully sad, though the overdrama was avoided by the smart remark about the angel and the devil sitting on each of Sirius’s shoulders. That made me smile. A good funny line always cracks things up and makes them better. And I could totally see Sirius making one even in his darkest of moods – it’s very much like him. I love this Sirius you’ve shown us here.
And Lily – oh my God. Seeing Lily through Sirius’s eyes is always a revelation for me, because I hate her to no end. But the way you portrayed her here – far from being perfect and a goodie-two-shoes (which is the way most people write her) made me genuinely like her. She looks so beautiful when described by you, so interesting and kind that I really can’t help but relate to her and forget my dislike towards her. She is original and realistic, a human person with feelings and not a silly girl with a badge and a big mouth. I mostly liked the fact that she never hated James, but felt indifference toward him, which probably hurt so much more. I can’t stand it when people write her as this crazed banshee whose life solely revolves around insulting, slapping and turning down James Potter.
But then again, I wasn’t expecting you to write anything of the sort – you are a most respectable writer, and you really banished all the clichés with this fic. All of them – it’s unbelievable. It’s so original and creative, so well written and different than any other Sirius/Lily I have ever read. And speaking of Sirius/Lily – you wrote that pairing perfectly. You and timeturner are the best when it comes to writing them, because I have rarely seen anyone handle this ship so well. Romantic and sweet, but not at all cheesy, and sad but not overdramatic. I love the jealousy Sirius feels, the sacrifice he makes, how hard it is for him to know that it could’ve been him in James’s place. Very believable and just simply beautiful.
Ah, and the graphics. Oh my God, the graphics! This is my favorite banner of all times. You’re such an amazing artist, I always take a look at my author’s page just to see the banners that had the incredible luck to have been done by you. You’re a gifted artist and a very gifted writer, and overall one of the most amazing people on this site. And if you were expecting criticism, well, I’m sorry to disappoint. :))
Oh my God. I really didn’t do a great job on keeping this short now, did I? :-S. The ending was one of the best endings I have ever seen. It connects to the beginning very nicely, giving a deeper meaning to what Sirius is thinking and feeling. And this line – “Sometimes, that’s all a person can do: look into the night and wait for morning to come.” – was perfect. Wonderful. Amazing. This story really enlightens the archive with its wonderful descriptions, realistic and incredibly well written characters, astounding displays of emotion and of course, splendid graphics. Congratulations for writing such an awesome piece. 10/10 is nowhere near enough, you’d deserve a much higher rating that the archive unfortunately doesn’t possess. I can’t wait to read the rest of your stories! Much love, CJ

Author's Response: This review is almost 1000 words. Some people write stories shorter than that. CJ! I'm really thankful for your review, and I'm pleasantly surprised that you enjoyed this little story so much - it's not one of my personal favs, but hearing from you that it's so good really means a lot. =)

Maybe the fact that it's not my ship and I know little of it helped this story from becoming cliched, and made it different from the other Sirilys out there. The ending is probably the best part of the story, I agree with you there (this poor story gets little love from me! even the banner isn't one of my best, lol). That last poetic line was probably inspired by forsakenphoenix, who writes lines sort of like that, only better. ;-) Thank you very very much for such and in-depth review. That you took the time to write such a review is an honour. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #14, by wicKeDwitch1316 Something Lost

3rd May 2007:
Ooh, I read this before! I can't believe I didn't review, *scolds herself*. Anyways, I simply loved it! Now Sirius/Lily really depresses me, but this was very well written. The details used when Sirius is describing Lily in the beginning are amazing. One thing: "especially in a snowball fight cum snow-wrestling match" . . . what does that mean? I'm sorry, but I'm from New York and the word "cum" isn't very nice. I'm sure you didn't mean it that way, but . . . just thought I'd point that out so nobody got offended. Sorry if you meant that totally innocently and nobody else noticed and I just have a dirty mind . . .

Anyways, wonderfully written! 10/10

Author's Response: Aw, don't worry about it - if I'd known you'd already read it, I would have picked another one. Anyways, thank you very much for reviewing - I'm glad that you liked the story. Haha, with that word, I sort of meant if as a "cross between", I didn't even know that it was a bad word somewhere else! =o Sorry about that. =(

 Report Review

Review #15, by Hermione33 Something Lost

23rd April 2007:
Wow, this is amazing. I wish I could write like this. :P

Author's Response: Aw, thanks very much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #16, by Dras Leona Something Lost

23rd April 2007:
I love it! Your amazing. I'm actually not to fond of Sirius/Lily, but I don't mind reading the one-shots when I need something to do. This one was really worth it, so congrats on another great story.

Author's Response: Thanks a lot! =D It's actually really great to see people who don't usually like the ship, but still end up liking the story. Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by goodbyetrain Something Lost

16th April 2007:
Amazingly beautiful. I even feel like anything I might say wouldn't even be good enough. So I'll just say that your story has moved me completely. I enjoyed it very much. (:

Author's Response: I'm sure that whatever you'd say would be good enough for this story. =) Just that it moved you tells me a lot, and I really appreciate it. Thank you very much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #18, by silver phoenix Something Lost

11th April 2007:
Wow. I'm not a big fan of the Sirius/Lily pairing, but this was so beautiful. Filled with such longing, love and regret. Very good ^^

Author's Response: Thanks very much, silver phoenix! ^_^ It's great that you still enjoyed it, even with the pairing.

 Report Review

Review #19, by padfoot and prongs foreva Something Lost

4th April 2007:
wow...beautifully ritten!!
i love sirius/lily fics!! mostly cuz i like seeing how james/lily came to be without hard feelings!! grt job!

nice description and omg i'll totally take him haha!!
lyl lyl

Author's Response: Aw, thanks very much!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Tearlit Something Lost

3rd April 2007:
Aw sweet and sad and lovely.

Author's Response: Thank you! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #21, by insideout orange Something Lost

31st March 2007:
Aw, that was really sweet. I've never really liked Sirius and Lily together, but I love how you wrote their relationship. I thought your portrayal was of Sirius was great as well; I always get a little annoyed when I see people writing Sirius as this guy who's always hitting on random blonds. I could keep going on with everything I loved about this, but I'll just leave it at this: You are an excellent writer.

Author's Response: Haha, I get annoyed with that portrayal of Sirius as well - it just doesn't fit with how he is in the books at all. I guess that's why I write stories like this, haha. Thanks very much for reviewing, I really appreciate it. =D

 Report Review

Review #22, by Shii and Nel Something Lost

31st March 2007:
I used to think that this ship was pretty unstable and just an excuse for an unlikely romance, but your realistic descriptions made the ship very believeable. I don't know if I'd just on board or remain neutral, but either way your fic was fantastic. I knew you were a great writer, hence why I read it despite its ship.

Your descriptions were amazing, most people don't ever portray Lily as an normal girl when she was a teenager, so when you mentioned that she was, indeed, once an awkward girl, well... The weirdest things can draw you into a fic, but that was it for me.

:) 10/10, most definitely!

Author's Response: Haha, I agree about this ship, since I'm an L/J er - only timeturner can make it work, and trying to copy her style worked for me, it seems. =P Thanks very much for the review, Amy. It's great that you enjoyed the story. Writing Lily is really hard for me, so making her "normal" usually ends up being the only way to make her believable. It's great that one little thing like that was able to pull you into this. =D

 Report Review

Review #23, by CornishPixie Something Lost

31st March 2007:
Aw. You know, I always thought that Lily and Sirius wouldn't be a good couple...but your story severely changed my mind. Now I feel even MORE sorry for Sirius...because I could see this actually happening at the Potters' wedding...and now I feel bad because Sirius was alone, and DEs DID catch him.
-pout-
That was wonderfully written. I love the way you portray the young Sirius. Most people 'Over-Womanize' him, you know? Make him into some gorgeous guy who wants into girls' skirts and doesn't care about them really. I don't like Uncaring!Sirius. I like this Sirius. Very good job! I don't think I even found one spelling mistake or anything. And I could SEE what was happening too.

Astounding.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so very much for this review. *blushes* My first time writing a ship I don't even believe in and this is what happens! Haha, it's quite something, but I'm really glad that you liked how the story turned out, and that it convinced you of the ship. ^_^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login