Reading Reviews for Yoke
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marlene McKinnon Umbrellas

20th December 2007:
So I have just discovered this story. I've seen it around but never really gotten to reading it. Then I realized that you were the author and just couldn't resist. And I'm quite glad.

This is just another reason for us all to love you. This chapter is particularly intriguing, I must say. Your writing never fails to entertain me. I don't have time to read on now, but be sure I'll come back and finish this. Just thought I'd leave you a quick review first.

Come back soon, updates are much needed =)

-Courtney

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Courtney. Honestly, you're too good to me. Always reviewing like you do. :]

I'm so glad you like my writing and enjoy my stories, despite their blatant lack of plot, ha.

You're amazing.


 Report Review

Review #2, by pink_rook Chagrin

27th October 2007:
This is like... the most original fic I've ever read.



Author's Response: Wow, thank you! You're too sweet. :]

 Report Review

Review #3, by xxMugglePrincess Umbrellas

1st September 2007:
It seemed interesting, I enjoyed it. :)

Author's Response: Thanks. =]

 Report Review

Review #4, by Pronunciation_Hermy_One Arcane

12th July 2007:
SiriuslyMissed,

Argus is without a doubt my favorite character- I love him! I'm so thrilled to have found your story. It was recommended to me by SereneChaos, and I ran right over here to read. There certainly isn't much written about my poor Filchy-poo, but you've written him so marvelously! I was a bit confused about Anna for the first two chapters, and by the end of the third, I gasped out loud when I realized what you'd done here! This is so exciting; I can't wait to see what happens. Wonderful job!

~C/PH1


Author's Response: Thank you so, so much. You'll have to remind me to thank SereneChaos for recommending my story to you, I'm so flattered. I'm so glad you're enjoying in and that you truly like the direction I took the story.

Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write me that review.

=]


 Report Review

Review #5, by AndrinaBlack Chagrin

11th June 2007:
Another enjoyable chapter!
In this chapter I especially noticed the way you used non-verbal communication a lot. And you did it very well!
And now you still keep us waiting for the transformation. I can't wait! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I know, I've been dragging out the transformation a lot, but it will be coming up soon, I hope. I'm having a bit of writer's block so... I don't know.

 Report Review

Review #6, by AndrinaBlack Quixotic

6th June 2007:
I think I'm really seeing something catlike in Anna as I was almost expecting her to start purring when they were entering the restaurant. I had really fun reading this chapter. It is a good idea to have them to go to a magical restaurant as we don't see that in the books (except pubs). I also liked very much how you made the restaurant to be. I liked this a lot: "elderly woman is shrieking at her plate for producing a small coffee cake instead of a seasoned steak"

Author's Response: Haha thank you so much! I enjoyed writing the restaurant scene, and I thought I'd add a bit of humor with the woman and the cake. And yes, Anna was very catty, haha. I'm so glad you like it so far and take the time to comment on each chapter. You're wonderful. =]

 Report Review

Review #7, by AndrinaBlack Velleity

1st June 2007:
I think I have been talking about just Filch in my previous reviews. But I have to say that I really like Anna! She is such a warm person and so interestingly temperamental I really like her.
Again a very good chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like her, it's really hard to create a character, which is why I never use original characters if I can help it. Though, I usually stray so far from canon they end up becoming original characters anyway so I guess it doesn't really matter, haha. Anyways, thanks again. =]

 Report Review

Review #8, by AndrinaBlack Inveigle

1st June 2007:
Oh, the ending was so cute! He finally said it aloud!

Author's Response: Haha, yeah. Uncharacteristically cheesy, more like.

 Report Review

Review #9, by AndrinaBlack Palpitate

30th May 2007:
"I sigh exhaustedly and close my eyes, begging my body to relax and my mind to stop echoing my thoughts so I can at least try to get some sleep." I can so relate to that! It's so awful when you are worrying about something and you can't sleep because of that and the best thing would be to sleep so you would not have to worry.

As you said in your response to one of my reviews Filch does not seem to be quite in character at this point of the story. But I like it this way. In the beginning he was quite rough and now he seems softer, when Anna has softened her up. I believe that the thing is just that Filch is at his nicest with Anna, and then he doesn't get along with children and will turn awful and bitter to them at Hogwarts. Well, that was my little Filch analysis.

Author's Response: Ah, yes. I know that feeling well, too. It's unbearable. I want so much to sleep, but there a million thoughts racing through my head that I have to completely think out before I can think about closing my eyes. Bleh.

Yes, I know Filch isn't very in character. I've said before that I write the characters to fit the story, not the other way around, though I do try very hard to incorporate some of their characteristics. Filch is a softie right now, in part because of Anna, and also because he hasn't experienced losing someone like her before. Now with the idea of her being gone, he's beginning to creep into that shell, slowly, very slowly, but surely. So I think as the story progresses it will be much easier to identify the Filch we read about in the books.

Hopefully. That's what I'm trying to accompish here. People grow and change, and essentially I hope to express to my readers why exactly Filch transformed into that bitter, old man. He couldn't have been like that his entire life, could he?

Thanks again for your review, it's so nice to hear your thoughts about what's happening and take in your analysis of the characters and the direction they're heading in. Thanks you so much.

=]


 Report Review

Review #10, by AndrinaBlack Deluge

29th May 2007:
Again you write really well how they feel and especially about Filch's thoughts and feelings. But the waiting for the transformation moment is just killing me!!! You are building the excitement up so well to that point.

Author's Response: Haha yes, it's been dragging out quite a bit, hasn't it? Almost there, I'll try to finish it up soon, but I've been consumed with my other story and school... just everything. Thanks again for all of your lovely comments, and of course, the absolutely GORGEOUS banner you made me.

I can't tell you how much I appreciate it.

Thank you. =]


 Report Review

Review #11, by AndrinaBlack Pococurante

29th May 2007:
Another good chapter!
It's getting so exciting too! I'm wondering if she stays as a cat all the time or if she has been able to change back.

Author's Response: Hmmm, you'll have to wait and see! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #12, by AndrinaBlack Arcane

23rd May 2007:
It's so amazing how you can write about Filch and make him sound likeable but still in character! I have to say again that I love your descriptions!

By the way, I was guessing all wrong about the woman in the first two chapters and got it right in the third.
(I PMd you at the forums.)

Author's Response: Haha, I'm not so sure he's very in character, but if I've accompished that, wonderful! Thank you so much for all of your compliments. I'm speechless. =]

 Report Review

Review #13, by AndrinaBlack Solitary

22nd May 2007:
I'm back! This is such a wonderful story! You are really good at descriptions and in giving just small hints about the persons! Though now I think I know who both of them are.

Are you still looking for a banner? I got kinda inspired of this and made something. It might not be anything you like or the kind you wanted, but if you are interested can I contact you through pm on the forums?

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you're enjoying it. I'd kind of given up on a banner, but I'd love to see what you came up with! Aww, thank you. =]

 Report Review

Review #14, by SereneChaos Chagrin

24th April 2007:
Haha, seems a little short, but still good, I like Anna's little outburst, hahaha.

Author's Response: You think so? It's actually longer than six of the other chapters in word count, but it might not seem like it because I put in a lot more dialogue and a lot less of the meaty stuff, I suppose.

But, anyways, I'm glad you enjoyed it and that you're still reading. =]


 Report Review

Review #15, by Rosmerta Quixotic

20th April 2007:
Ooh...haha, that was cute! Thanks for the new chapters ;) They are sooo cute together!

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! I'm so glad you're enjoying it, I think they're cute too. =]

 Report Review

Review #16, by SereneChaos Quixotic

19th April 2007:
Haha, that old woman...I can imagine that and it's sooo funny. This was a really great chapter, it was nice seeing them out in the world intead of their stuffy old apartment.

Author's Response: Haha, yeah. The chapter as a whole was pretty pointless, but I needed something to move it along and thought it would be nice to see them out and about. Glad you enjoyed it!

And thank you so much for reviewing! =]


 Report Review

Review #17, by AndrinaBlack Melancholia

17th April 2007:
Still very good!
Now I'm quite sure about the man. Gus and the ending of this chapter gave it away. I'm still not sure about the woman. The description doesn't really fit how I imagined... or could it be.? or...? Well I'm not saying anything because I don't really know.

Author's Response: Yes, I thought the man was pretty easy to figure out, and I think you'll understand soon enough who the woman is, if you haven't all ready. The description is a tad deceiving, I would say...

But I'm glad you like it. =]


 Report Review

Review #18, by AndrinaBlack Umbrellas

17th April 2007:
I liked this a lot. I don't dare to guess who it is about because I'm not sure at all.

I really love the way you focused on the umbrellas! That and the red hair made me see a picture in my mind of the scene where everything else was quite grey except the hair and colourful umbrellas. I hope they were not black umbrellas ;)

You describe it all so well that it is at the same time beautiful, but I can also see the uglyness and greyness of it. By the way, I had a look at the rest of the chapter titles and I really like them!


Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I'm so happy you like it and I'm glad you were able to imagine the whole scene in your head. Oh, and I'm glad you liked the chapter titles, too! I tried to make them very meaningful and get the deepest meaning out of the chapter to express with them.

With "Umbrellas", I was trying to put focus on the fact that by definition, as you can see in the chapter summary, and umbrella is something that covers or protects. The woman used her umbrella to protect Gus, but it was also a mental sort of thing. When she helps him up and brings him home, she's protecting him from the storm, but also something more, which I think you'll see in the rest of the story.

Haha, I didn't meant to go off on a huge ran there, but I'm so glad you brought that up. It was really an important point I wanted to highlight. Again, thank you so much for your review, I really appreciate it.

=]


 Report Review

Review #19, by SereneChaos Inveigle

10th April 2007:
Awww...it's rather sweet, with filch getting the courage to say that. Another great chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you're still reading! I love seeing new reviews, it makes my day.

And today was especially crappy, so thanks =]


 Report Review

Review #20, by Rosmerta Inveigle

10th April 2007:
Bravo! This is such a delicately woven story, very well done! I can't wait for the rest of it. This such a great explanation/twist to such obscure yet vital characters.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I was inspired after reading Chamber of Secrets and thought it would be interesting to create a story out of that bond and give reasons as to how and why it came about.

Again, thank you. I appreciate reviews so much, it's nice to know that people like my work!

=]


 Report Review

Review #21, by jkgiggle Melancholia

9th April 2007:
What's filich's first name? is it him and Mrs. Norris, is it Dombldore and Mcgonmagall? Who? Who? tell me!!!

Author's Response: Haha, you'll just have to keep reading! I hope you're enjoying it!

Thanks for reviewing. =]


 Report Review

Review #22, by SereneChaos Palpitate

3rd April 2007:
Aww...I really wish that I didn't already know how this would turn out.they're so sweet together!
Can't wait for the next chapter!

I'm getting sooo addicted to this site...

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it! I know it must be getting boring now since you know what's going to happen, but I may throw in a few surprises.

And it is quite addictive, isn't it?

=]


 Report Review

Review #23, by SereneChaos Deluge

27th March 2007:
Oh, Anna seems really dedicated. and poor Filch can't do anything to stop her...I can't wait to see when she actually changes into a cat though.


Author's Response: Ahh, yes. That will be coming up in a chapter or two. I'll probably work on it a while though, I want it to be really good.

Thanks for reviewing =]


 Report Review

Review #24, by SereneChaos Arcane

25th March 2007:
Oh wow! I was right about the guy, but I knid of thought that the girl would be...well, I thought it would have been Madame Pince. Wow, this was a bit of a shock, it never occurred to me that it could have been that person. Well, I guess that goes to show how quick I am. oh, well, at least you don't have to worry about being obvious...

This was a really quick update, I read up til ch 2 yesterday.


Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad I surprised you! If it makes you feel any better, I originally was planning on making the woman Madam Pince, but I ended up changing my mind last minute because I thought I would try to explain his... er, awkward obsession with that character, haha.

Thank you so much for reviewing! I hope you're enjoying it, I'll be putting up another chapter today, I think.

=]


 Report Review

Review #25, by ravenclawprincess Melancholia

24th March 2007:
oh wow, lo siento, i'm very sorry. i did not realize at all that i might be giving away the names, until i read the other reviews. SORRY. if there's any way to delete my reviews, you can do that, because i didn't mean to spoil it. i'm terribly sorry!

Author's Response: No, no! It's fine! Really, don't worry about it. I never said you couldn't put your guesses or thoughts in reviews, I don't mind. I just don't like revealing myself, haha I don't care if you do!

=]


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>