Reading Reviews for I've Always Known
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rhoanna I've Always Known

26th May 2009:
Not quite as good as Foundations, but beautiful.
P.S. Dumbledore is gay.

Author's Response: Well, I'm still glad you like it. Minerva's probably my favorite character, if you can't tell :) And I do know that Dumbeldore is gay, but I think I might have published this before that was announced? I don't quite remember. But in my heart I'll always be an AD/MM shipper.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lovely_Slytheriness I've Always Known

15th November 2007:
aaw this is so sweet! I always hoped they´d end up together... too bad jk decided albus liked that bloke (lol! =)

oh well, this was very sweet. I´ll check out your other stories, too xD

~Linnéa

Author's Response: Thank you! And may I say that I still cling to AD/MM no matter what JK has said. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by babblingbumblingbaboon I've Always Known

13th October 2007:
Aw.I like the ending! =] It was a good story overall and it had some really interesting things. Personally, you got her personality down perfectly.

7/10

~Baboon

Author's Response: Thank you! I appreciate the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by diana_hawthorne I've Always Known

30th September 2007:
oh, so sad, but so well-written! Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Fleur Delacour Potter I've Always Known

26th August 2007:
My favorite paragraph is the second one. The description is wonderful. I can really picture it in my head. I also like the Albus/Minerva pairing. The spacing between the paargraphs is a bit much, but otherwise this story is well done.

Congratulations,

Fleur

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #6, by harrypotterhugefanforever I've Always Known

16th August 2007:
Awesome

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #7, by mmcgonagall06 I've Always Known

23rd July 2007:
Aww, that was cute! 10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Minervas_soul I've Always Known

12th June 2007:
Ahhh...such a sweet ending!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by goodbyetrain I've Always Known

19th May 2007:
I enjoyed this a lot. [: It seems as though every sentence eventually culminates into the very last one perfectly. Minerva's feelings are spot on, the feelings of not belonging and even longing.. it's safe to say I'd have a hard time writing her, haha. :D More room for my admiration, at any rate. Fantastic work.

Author's Response: Thank you! I was a little concerned that her thoughts wandered around a bit, but I'll take your word for it! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by TheFalk I've Always Known

14th May 2007:
aww.
i think a sequal would be cute

Author's Response: It would, but I would call that story murder!

 Report Review

Review #11, by GriffinClaw I've Always Known

8th May 2007:
I like that, you write her POV really well. I like her thought process.

Author's Response: Thanks! I love Minerva. Our minds work in the same ways.

 Report Review

Review #12, by minnie I've Always Known

8th April 2007:
“I already know, Albus. I think I’ve always known. I love you too.”

I had to swallow a few times when I read this. It's so ironic and so like Minerva to wait to long to admit something so important!

Author's Response: Yes, but I love her. She's such an amazing character!

 Report Review

Review #13, by taylorj828 I've Always Known

5th April 2007:
Wow. McGonagall one of your favorites, did you say that? This was a great piece; I’m glad I read it! But how to voice my thoughts… It’s a sad look at the situation, written from a unique viewpoint. I’ve read some other people’s McGonagall’s, but I feel like this is a great depiction of her after Dumbledore’s death. I don’t envy her having to move into his office, his room. Wow, her feelings of helplessness, being lost without him – who doesn’t feel that way right now? And yet, she’s the Head Mistress. She isn’t allowed to feel that way – she has to be the leader and make the decisions and somehow act as though everything is O.K., will be O.K. Is it? Will it be?

This is just splendid, and I’d love to read more like this from you. (o: I’m normally a Trio-story reader, but I like reading about main Canon Characters, especially if they’re well written. But I think in a story like this, I love the depth that extends beyond love-story fan-fic. Now, I realize the last line is McGonagall telling Dumbledore she loves him too. And, however you meant it, the reader can choose to take it quite a few different ways, if so desired. I choose to take it in the sense of a love that extends far beyond crushes, flirting, and butterflies. She loves him – she needs him, she’s lost without him… Not because she is so weak that she can’t function without a man, without the ‘love of her life,’ but because he’s Albus Dumbledore. (I feel like that should be enough said, though I realize it isn’t, but it’s difficult to explain what I think.)

Honestly, I’d parallel this to… Harry and Hermione, perhaps. Hermione isn’t in love with Harry, but I have no doubt she loves him. And Harry is, at times, her leader, her guide, her savior, her best friend, a true confidant, and someone she would trust beyond all others… I think this is the same sort of relationship with McGonagall and Dumbledore (though on a very simplified scale). Anywho!

Oh my goodness, have I ever rambled! It’s sort of a review, in the sense that your writing is so great that it spurs on wonderful thinking moments. (Those are my favorite kind of stories to read!) Anyway, I loved this, and would love to read more like it, more about McGonagall? (o: I love knowing people’s back stories, the stuff we have no idea about…! Great story, anywho, sorry for the rambling! And I’ve gone through my story and am working on posting the changes. And looking into a grammar beta. I might request you, if I can do that?? Thanks heaps for all your help!

Author's Response: Yes, I really love McGonagall; she's such an awesomely developed character, and I love the way she's stern most of the time, but she's not above breaking down sometimes. Thanks! When I started writing it, I thought it would just be another "Minerva-all-upset-because-Dumbledore-died" piece, but I'm glad that you think it's not all about her dying inside without him. I like that the reader perceives that it's not all about that, but it's about the feeling of being lost and helpless. But I'm not JK, so I can't predict if it really is OK and if it will be OK.

I really prefer to write one-shots to stories with multiple chapters, because I prefer being able to go really in-depth and focus on just one moment in time. That's why An April to Remember is so choppy, as some reviewers called it. It's because I prefer to catch a brief, described moment in time, and string a story together between them.

I really like that you think the last lines can be interpreted in any way the reader wants to. I think, to an extent, I meant it in the way that you perceived it. I like the parallel of Harry and Hermione, but I don't think it's quite correct because there is more romance than in a Harmony relationship. She almost can't function without him, much like the rest of the school, but she functions so much less than the rest of the staff and students because their relationship was that deep.

I don't mind, because you've actually made me ramble too, and I like to explain what I meant and felt when I was writing that. I write a lot about McGonagall and Narcissa Malfoy. I never realized how much I liked to write about the Malfoys, but I do, so I think that Narcissa is unconciously one of my favorite characters, especially because she's so mysterious because we know almost nothing about her. You get a lot of background in my only Malfoy story up so far, Silence. I was writing another story on the side, which I think I'll go back to once I finish with Silence.

You can request me, and I'd definitely be happy to do that for you! I'm really glad I could help you! Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by accidental dreamer I've Always Known

5th April 2007:
Wow! I really like it! I think that the part describing the snow is a little bit cliche- white blanket, come to life from a painting, etc. But I love this story, nonetheless. And thank you for the banner credit (it's tehcutiestEM).

Author's Response: Oh, you're welcome. Thank you. But I like the snow part. It, essentially, builds the contrast between how Minerva feels and how everybody else feels. Everyone else is trying to move on, and the world it supposed to feel right (because in my opinion, snow makes the world seem like it is right), but she can't move on. So, that's the snow part!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by hypergal93 I've Always Known

5th April 2007:
Cute :] So much sadness and it's a little short but it's a good chapter. Good job!

Author's Response: Thanks, but you do know that it's a one-shot?

 Report Review

Review #16, by G Prewett I've Always Known

1st April 2007:
Interesting story, I would agree that her mind is playing trix on her. One must learn that life goes on after death of those we love, one must learn that though it seems that life should be put on hold and that the world should stop spinning around you, life goes on, and if you dwell on your own despair, life passes you by.
O by the way, if you have noticed the whole it "larrytrotter" thing, it might be an April fools hoax, (seeing as Rowling her self has come out say she is okay with people writing fanfics) if you go to the "printer friendly verision" all of the names are correct.
G Prewitt

Author's Response: Well, her mind isn't really playing tricks on her, because Dumbledore really is talking to her. But Minerva (and the rest of the school) are trying to deal with letting go and moving on, and Minerva almost can't do it.

Thanks for the "Larry Trotter" hint - I'm glad you told me about the printer-friendly version. I started using that for all my reading!


 Report Review

Review #17, by L Chowder I've Always Known

1st April 2007:
it's tragically romantic...
VERY few people can correctly write a AD/MM, but you did it well.
sad, but a good sad. I love it!


Author's Response: Thanks! I think it's a good compliment that I can write different emotions well!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Choco_late I've Always Known

1st April 2007:
It would be a bit funny, having a romantic relantionship with a portrait, AWESOME

Author's Response: Thanks. But she can't - he's dead. She's just sorry she didn't say anything sooner!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Pheobs61 I've Always Known

1st April 2007:
Poor Minerva.

She seems really broken in this story good job.

Author's Response: I agree with the poor Minerva. I don't know if it's good that she seems so broken, though. I guess that was what I was going for...

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login