Reading Reviews for Dementia
  
78 Reviews Found

Review #1, by raeganlynnae Dementia

28th January 2014:
Oh. My. Wow.
You are an absolutely amazing writer, I have honestly never read something quite this... gripping, entertaining, suspenseful, over all great story and I am so happy that you took the time you did and wrote this. I honestly thought it would be Hermionie and Draco. But Pansy and Harry, I can see how her mind has been warped by the war and by her believes into what she thinks is correct, in asuming that Harry is in fact the wrong do-er in this war, when we all are aware of a certain nose-less man. You are absolutely amazing and I can't wait to read other things you have written. Please, never stop writing no matter what. You have an amazing talent that needs to be shared and cherished, I know I don't really know you but just by reading this I wish I did, because this story also shows how deep of a person you are, and how you are willing to dig down to the thoughts and manipulations of others to get a completely different view of things, I know I've said this a few to many times but... YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! Ugh I'm sorry if I'm rambling but I'm just so... well honored I guess to be able to read such work. Once again, wow. Just wow.
-Raegan :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by Iryelb Dementia

3rd December 2013:
Well, I don't know about best plot twist but I certainly liked it well enough.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Malak "Mal" Mohamed Dementia

26th August 2013:
OH GOD THIS IS BRILLIANT WOW I'M IN AWE WOW

 Report Review

Review #4, by ginerva_molly_weasley Dementia

14th July 2013:
This story is so striking. I was searching through the Dobby award winners and when I clicked on yours I was blown away.

Dementia seemed like such a muggle thing yet with all the pain and heartbreak thats gone on in the wizarding world you can see how people might want to forget what happened and how they would retreat into themselves unsure of what is reality and the world that they perceive to be real. She wants to believe that she is trapped and that they're trying to get her to change sides yet all they're there to do is help her and that is truly sad.

Your description in this is what makes it so powerful particularly when you talk about her fingernails and how they have been clawing at the door. You can almost see her desperation to believe that she was trapped and that she was never going to get out. Also the idea that no-one was coming for her really tugged at my heartstrings because if you don't remember your life or what these people are trying to do then she must have felt so alone.

The twist with it being Harry and Pansy at the end though is very nice. I expected it to be someone else, maybe Lavender but Pansy worked better as it really shocked me!

This was wonderful!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Cissy Dementia

3rd September 2012:
This is amazing. "She was a prisoner of her own mind" is so inspirational. You are a brilliant author!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Risa27 Dementia

12th May 2012:
Um.
Wow.
I really don't know what to say.
Good job.

 Report Review

Review #7, by CassiePotter Dementia

17th February 2012:
Wow, that was incredible. You're descriptions are fantastic, and I had really vivid pictures of what was going on in this story. It really was chilling, and the end was really haunting. 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Pottermore Dementia

25th June 2011:
WOW. I did not expect that! All the way through I was trying to decide who she was, not in a million years did I think of Pansy. WOW!

 Report Review

Review #9, by JennEd Dementia

3rd January 2011:
Way to blow. my. mind.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Lily Evans Green Dementia

27th December 2010:
Whoa. This is REALLY good! I thought it was Draco and Hermione 'cause that's what it sounded like for most of the time. Wow! I'm shocked. You're a great author, you should be published!
10/10

 Report Review

Review #11, by missmasquerade Dementia

1st May 2010:
That was disturbing, but I honestly mean that in a good way. It was beautiful. I had no idea who the characters were at first, obviously, but I love how all my sympathy went out to Pansy, and how I felt some sort of anger towards Harry (all before I knew the characters). I think that's how you wanted it to be, because it's all about perspective, isn't it? That was amazing. I loved it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by J_O_I_Rowling Dementia

1st December 2009:
you know, i feel really confused at the moment. in turmoil. when the story started off, i thought it was hermione in the room, and malfoy taunting her. and at the end, it was harry and pansy. was that how you wanted the story to affect the reader? it seemed so definite, and then everything is turned upside down. her family they killed? i was so sure it was hermione.
nice work, on the story, by the way.

 Report Review

Review #13, by HogwartsGirl618 Dementia

29th August 2009:
Hello Celtic!
You! You! You! I cannot BELIEVE you! You are in such deep, deep trouble! ^_^. I utterly and completely fell for it! You know I am a Dramione addict and I was utterly sure that's what this was! And then - boom - it's Harry! It's Pansy! And my mind was blown and, of course, I had to go reread it over and over again and marvel at your amazing writing skills! You fiend! =) How am I supposed to review when you've left me speechless? You are so tricky, Celtic! ^_- And you have pulled off one of your spectacular endings once again. I honestly think I just died.

The way you built the characters from the beginning is quite astounding- because it makes sense both during the first read through and afterwards once you have struck the reader with your lightening bolt. Your title is a perfect fit- because that's exactly what Pansy has sunken into. She is trapped within her own mind, and the way you have written her mind being broken is incredibly realistic and vivid. I think describing the room was a perfect setup, because in a way it is a physical representation of Pansy's mind. The room was once beautiful but it has lost its sheen- the window once allowed light but now it is so contaminated only sparse rays filter through. It really is heart breaking.

Harry's character is absolutely fascinating- and what's even more disturbing is that you can clearly follow a path from his portrayal in cannon to this, using the war as a catalyst. The way he is seen by Pansy is quite transfixing to the reader, and the distortion of her mind is completely authentic with the rest of her character. One can see how Harry is attempting to get her to change to the Order's side and his frustration on the second time through, yet can completely understand and side with Pansy, despising him and everything he stands for on the first time around. I think it's a real show of mastery that you have created a story in which a reader can completely and utterly despise Harry on the first time through. I've never seen it done- and that's when you know that you truly are inside the opposition's head. Amazing - this is truly amazing, Celtic.

You handled the suspense beautifully as well- and even as the reader thought they themselves were going to snap even before Harry enters, you manage to continue to ruthlessly build the tension and Pansy's mental agony while not making it overly dramatic, unrealistic- on the contrary, it's one of the most believable pieces I have ever seen.

And of course, you write language in the way only you can. You go far beyond using it as a tool and use it as a parallel story in the sense that it follows Pansy's mental progression- from the beginning repetition in her mental cage to the ending, the longer sentences followed by the brief ones becoming the pinnacle of persuasion. "The savior, they called him." I was mentally paralyzed by that point. You are so gifted.

This is one of my favorite stories of all time- and I love your writing and I cannot believe I am lucky enough to get to watch and learn from a writer such as yourself ^_^. Amazing job, truly.

Sarah

Author's Response: Sarah - thank you for all of this. This is such a great review! (make sure you log it muahahah) You've caught on to everything I intended just as I hope would be done so I really have nothing to say other than thank you. You're the best interweb-friend a lass could hope for ^_-

 Report Review

Review #14, by padfoot4ever Dementia

28th August 2009:
This was definitely something unusually spectacular.
Dementia was such a fantastic choice for a title, because it just defines this story - we are that girl, locked away, demented, and our minds have been warped by your writing.
I mean that in the nicest way possible.
I thought from the beginning that this was a death eater versus good guy story, and I was right - it's just that I managed to mix up the characters, and I'm assuming that is what you were aiming for! It is so brilliant how you have captured Pansy's thoughts, how she sees our hero, Harry, as a bad guy when all we ever see is goodness.
To be honest, I thought the characters were Draco and Hermione. I was afraid of a Dramione ending - thank you for not writing one!
I think your technique was excellent, how you managed to keep the characters' names from the readers the whole way through, and how that revelation at the end was very much a kick in the gut for everyone! You made us see Harry has the baddie - I love it!
As far as your writing goes, I loved the opening paragraphs, the descriptions and the images you painted were so vivid. Your use of repetition throughout was really well done, and made this a most enjoyable piece to read.
Kudos!
10/10

Author's Response: Hey heather ^_^ Thank you for such an indepth review ^_^ I am so pleased that you caught everything I was attempting to convey and I am so happy that you rode along with the main heroine as I intended. Thank you so much, again, for reading this ^_^

 Report Review

Review #15, by Phoenix_Flames Dementia

27th August 2009:
Holy moly. What an interesting story.

This has totally boggled my mind. Down right amazing and superb! Thank you so much for introducing me to this story.

As always, I really don't have any CC for you. This was such an interesting story to take on, yet you tackled the challenge and rose above it. Way above it. Way to go!

The description in this was supremely amazing. I could seriously feel myself in it! Fantastic job, hon! Well done!

10/10

Author's Response: Hey Drue loff. I am so glad that you read this and enjoyed it! No CC at all?? Wow, thank you ^_^

 Report Review

Review #16, by The Empress Dementia

25th August 2009:
This is very well written Celtic, I love the progression of it. When I first started reading, I thought maybe it was Hermione and Draco. It fit, all of it fit, but then you completely turned the tables. From what your thread over on Aparecium said, I had guessed there would be a twist of sorts, but this was not what I had expected at all. You completely flipped everything around, and made it something different. It was like it was all from Pansy's view point, and her thoughts that ruled how it was, and then stepping back, an observer rather than a participant, to see what was really going on. I would describe it as the entire first part, when I thought it might be Draco and Hermione, as seeing only a dark window, hands, backs, never really seeing who it is, hearing voices that aren't quite identifiable and drawing completely wrong conclusions. Then drawing back and looking at the whole picture. (I hope that made sense.)
Well done! Definitely a grade A piece :)
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Shiloh - thank you for such a great review! Yes, I am rather glad to hear you say it made you think of Draco/Hermione as that was the conclusion I was hoping to suggest in order to flip it around and get the biggest reaction ^_^. I wanted to make Pansy sympathetic and by a reader identifying with her unbiasedly as they would with, say, Hermione, I thought that may come across as more shocking. I'm really glad to hear that my perspectives translated with the imagery - thank you so much for this critique!

 Report Review

Review #17, by HannahGranger Dementia

26th December 2007:
wow...that was intense...!!...but an amazing job!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #18, by rolly Dementia

15th December 2007:
Wow, that really was amazing. I really never expected that plot twist... and the way you twisted the details to fit the twist (that sounds awkward, but you get what I'm saying, right?) was just awesome!

Great job... you definitely deserve the dobby!

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much ^_^

 Report Review

Review #19, by ginny_weasley_54 Dementia

1st December 2007:
wow. amazing story. one of the best i've ever read.

Author's Response: Thank you so much ^_^

 Report Review

Review #20, by essenni Dementia

24th November 2007:
Well, the twist is great. I would have never imagined who are the real characters. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Billion Dementia

6th November 2007:
Ok, I did not see that one coming. I thought maybe it was Draco and Hannah Abbot or Parvati Patil (yeah, I don't know where I got that either) BUT was I mistaken. Awesome twist.

Author's Response: Thank you very much ^_-

 Report Review

Review #22, by Milzy Dementia

5th November 2007:
wow, that definatley was a twist and i would have enjoyed it more if i accidentally scrolled to the bottom hehe

Author's Response: Ha ha nice ^_-

 Report Review

Review #23, by joojoo Dementia

3rd November 2007:
This has been on top of my to-read list for quite a while, and I thought now that as my dad has dragged me out of bed at 10AM on a saturday morning, I may as well make use of the time. And I am so glad I did.
The elaborate descriptions, and the way you worded the situation was amazing. And wow - that twist at the end was genius. Particularly "In front of a window she herself had smeared with the dust from the furniture around her to block the world out." Absolutely amazing. Well worth the Dobby.
~joojoo
x

Author's Response: Thank you very much Joojoo ^_- I am glad to hear you enjoyed it so immensely ^_^

 Report Review

Review #24, by SilverThimble Dementia

2nd November 2007:
ooh wow that was really good! I was looking out for the plot twist but I didn't get it right...very clever! Using the song lyrics as the dialogue is such a cool idea, and it worked really well

Author's Response: Thank you very much ^_^

 Report Review

Review #25, by JustAnotherWannabe Dementia

29th October 2007:
Wow. Just wow. This was so...intense. I loved it. You have a beautiful style-very suspenseful. Amazing job

Author's Response: Thank you very much ^_^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>