Reading Reviews for Blasted
  
71 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Cherry Isla Black

27th January 2012:
Loved the story :)

p.s. Zippers were not invented in 20th centure, Isla lived at the end of 19th...

 Report Review

Review #2, by madness Marius Black

30th October 2010:
This is such an amazing idea. I know it's been a year but please update. Thanks. Xx

 Report Review

Review #3, by SilverShadow04 Marius Black

16th July 2010:
Aww this was so sad :'( why!! He had the hardest life so far and he got no happy ending -sniffles-. I wanted to cry. I love that its realistic I mean not everyone gets a happy ending in the real world but he was one of the ones who really deserved it. Great job with this one though it was really well written.

Just a few things that need mending.

but it was enough to get buy and eventually I was

I believe its suppose to be "by" not "buy"

The truth hit me like a ton of bricks.

Nothing wrong with this it just feels a bit cliched and overused.

"Please don't do", she sobbed.

I believe you mean "go" not "do".

Other then that fantastic story even if I am upset lol.

-Sandy

 Report Review

Review #4, by SilverShadow04 Cedrella Black

16th July 2010:
I loved this, it was so sweet and sad and sweet again and you had action here as well. I love me some action ^_^

There was just one little typo

Septimus noticed my discomfort and stopped, pulling my closer to regard me...

It should be me instead of my. :)

Sandy

 Report Review

Review #5, by SilverShadow04 Alphard Black

16th July 2010:
I appreciate the distinct differences between both Alphard's and Isla's voice you did a very god job with that and Alphard was pretty amusing.

 Report Review

Review #6, by SilverShadow04 Isla Black

16th July 2010:
This was wonderful, I got all emotional and wanted to cry sure it might be because I'm very moody at the moment and I was listening to appropriately sad/sweet music to accommodate my reading but this was excellently written. A strong start and a strong finish. I now want to read a full story about how Isla and Robert met and fell in love ^.^

-Sandy

Oh you had a little grammatical error at the top.

People fear elapsing time more then death itself.

It should be "than" instead of "then"

 Report Review

Review #7, by mischief_manager Marius Black

15th February 2010:
Make it 67 favorites. This is awesome1 And such an original idea! Update soon!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! This story is a bit of a sticky point for me - it's difficult for me to write because each chapter is like a short story compressed into a chapter.

I'm really glad to hear you enjoyed this. Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Laugharama_llama Isla Black

5th December 2009:
That was beautiful! I love how you showed that Isla didn't want to disappoint her family -- not everyone can be Sirius, can they?

I'm not going to write anymore because I'm so excited for the next chapter :D

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed this and was intrigued to read on - especially as the original draft was written two years ago (a bit more than that now, I think) and though I did edit it a bit, it's largely the same as it was.

Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Fireball Nymph Marius Black

15th November 2009:
OH my god I'm soo sad :( I feel like crying. I wanted them to be together :(( This was a great chapter because of that though, because I was expecting you to let them be together. Well, anyway, lovely :)

Author's Response: Aw, I'm so sorry I made you feel like crying but in a way I'm happy I managed to convey enough emotion to make you feel something :)

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed this! Thanks for the read and review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by angelchaser13 Marius Black

14th November 2009:
Aw, you shouldn't have made them break up! *sniffles* But this was wicked amazing, as usual. Your best chapter yet, padme_alejandra!

Author's Response: I feel like any other ending wouldn't have worked with Marius' history - how could someone who was never loved as a child be able to love someone else, you know? But thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks for the read and review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Jellyman Marius Black

9th November 2009:
Amazing! This was definitely my favourite chapter so far...with the possible exception of Alphard because I really did like him :D

It had such a sad ending! I love, though, how all their dramas seem to stem from their families ignorance and hate. I loved the ending. Really, it would have been slightly disappointing to see them together. Like, Marius' childhood would have prevented him to love anyway simply because he wasn't exposed to it.

Amazing work. I'm really enjoying these stories, I look forward to the next one!

Author's Response: There was another gap between the writing of this chapter and the previous, though this one was a few months rather than a few years XD So it's lovely to hear that even in a shorter amount of time, there's been a noticeably improvement!

That's exactly what I thought and I'm glad you caught on to it. I didn't think it'd be appropriate for Marius to end up in love when love wasn't something he'd grown up with. Rather, he only experienced the opposite, and as a result couldn't properly love Mary.

Thanks so much for your awesome reviews!!! They mean the world!!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jellyman Cedrella Black

9th November 2009:
Cedrella and Septimus are too cute together! I definitely could see an improvement in your writing since the first chapter, probably because of your break. Septimus and Cedrella were gorgeous and the Blacks were suitably horrid!

Great work!
(You didn't think I would stop reading, did you? :P)

Author's Response: Haha well I certainly didn't expect you to keep reading, but I'm so happy you did! (Though, again, kudos for tackling Blasted XD)

The dynamics between Cedrella and Septimus was something I really enjoyed writing, so it's great to hear that it translated well!

Thanks SO much for reading and reviewing!! Your reviews have made me smile :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Jellyman Alphard Black

8th November 2009:
Oh God, I adored this chapter! You characterised Alphard in such a AMAZING way and I am quite simply in AWE. He's amazing - snarky and horrible but I adore him! In contrast with the previous chapter, I liked that this one was a reflection - it worked so well.

Also, the reason he gave for helping Sirius was priceless! Haha, lovely work, I'm really enjoyed this!

10/10

Author's Response: Though this is rather old, I have a penchant for this chapter that I really can't explain. So it's nice to hear that other people enjoyed it as well! He was just so incredibly fun to write - and it's not like I write about old men everyday, so it was a refreshing change of pace for me XD

Hahaha yes, oh Alphard and his alcohol...

Thanks again the for fantastic reviews! It means so much to me that you took the time to both read and review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Jellyman Isla Black

8th November 2009:
Okay, after seeing your lovely review this morning, I knew it was time for me to get off of my lazy bum and come and review some of your stuff! (Which, actually, is something I have been meaning to do for God knows how long, seeing and as you are featured and all :P)

Anyway, needless to say I was NOT disappointed AT ALL and was MORE than impressed! What a unique, refreshing and original idea you have here! I just love the concept; investigating the blasted members of the Black family is such a clever and interesting idea! "Blasted" is such a good title too, by the way, and your banner is amazing!

Getting on the the specfics of this chapter, I just loved it. An interesting idea to have it on the day she was "blasted", per say, rather than having her reflecting back on it at an older age. It makes it a lot more relatable and sort of puts you there, if that makes any sense. Isla had a wonderful characterisation and Robert was a sweetheart!

Amazing start, I'm looking forward to reading the next one!
10/10

Author's Response: Aw, reviewing is never necessary but I love it all the same XD But LE GASP I commend you for choosing Blasted, of all my fics, to read! And the first two chapters at that! And you got through them!? Kudos. I wrote these first two chapters about two years ago and while I did edit them some months back, I never feel like I got them quite right.

It's so nice to hear that! I remember way back when when I thought of this idea and I pretty much squeed so hard. I'm a wee bit obsessed with the Blacks (if you haven't noticed from my author's page) so it was the perfect fit. And I quite like the title, too, though I have no idea how I came up with it. Usually I'm really lame with things like that. THE BANNER! Fsdd slkjgkshkza. Gah. I know, it's so pretty, isn't it? hysteria over at TDA made it. I love her stuff!

I'm so glad you enjoyed this! Your review has brought a smile to my face :) Thanks so much for taking the time!!!


 Report Review

Review #15, by darinmeg Marius Black

7th November 2009:
ahu.. is that all. He doesn't accept love because he is a squib. WHAT! Amazing chapter although I would have loved a happy ending.

Author's Response: Oops, that's probably a fault on my part. I guess I didn't make it clear enough that Marius didn't end up with Mary because he was unable to properly love after what his father did to him when he was growing up - he never experienced an ounce of love from his family as as such was stripped of the ability to love as an adult.

I'm glad you enjoyed it otherwise, and thank you SO much for taking the time to review. It means more than I can say!! :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by SnitchSnatcher Marius Black

7th November 2009:
Amazing, amazing, amazing!

I'm beginning to think that you can't write anything BUT amazingness. Seriously, I loved it.

The opening sequence was a bit heartbreaking, but I was so glad that he managed to get away from his father and that git of a brother of his, Pollux. I think it's awesome that he was so good at art. That while it set him apart from the rest of the wizarding world, it's what brought him and Mary together.

Speaking of Mary, I thought she was really sweet. Fragile without being overly delicate, if that makes sense. Like, she's got that soft personality, but she is, by no means, a pushover. I really liked that. She had a backbone and because of that, she and Marius are going to have a lovely long and happy life together. YAY FOR HAPPY ENDINGS!

Great work, Dani! Keep it up! I can't wait to see the remaining chapters! ILY

Molly

Author's Response: Molly, you're such a doll. Your reviews bring such a smile to my face! You're a huge reason why I do have incentive to write - all your ego boosting does wonders for my inspiration XD

I'm glad you liked Mary. I did, too, and was seriously considering letting them end up together but I just couldn't do it. It wouldn't fit as well as them ending up apart - Marius' father stripped him too much of the ability to love for that to be possible. Poor boy. (I have noticed that the boys of this fic [Alphard, Marius] always seem to end up alone while the girls [Isla, Cedrella] end up happy. I think I'm just mean to males lol)

I'm halfway through!! Yay. Thanks again for the review Molly, you're the best


 Report Review

Review #17, by MizMiTrev Marius Black

7th November 2009:
I like your story alot. It has a real understanding of what these people are/were going through in difficult parts of their lives, usualy caused by their families.
I salute you!
Keep up the great work and I can't wait for chapter 5.
9.5 out of 10!

Author's Response: That's exactly what I wanted to get across! At first, I really only touched upon why they were Blasted but as this fic developed I found I was giving my characters more and more background. And yes, mostly caused by the insanity that is the Black family (though I do love them for it!)

Thanks for the lovely review!!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Dora Tonks Marius Black

7th November 2009:
This chapter is so great!

Marius is characterized wonderfully and in such a believable way. The story flows smoothly and keeps readers wanting to keep going.

The ending was shocking and one can't help but feel bad for poor Mary and Marius. I know I feel so sorry for the two!

I can't wait for the rest of the stories!

Author's Response: It seems with each chapter I write, the more I grow to love the characters in them. I grew so attached to Marius - to the point where I really wanted to give him a happy ending with Mary, but I couldn't bring myself to do it as I realized i wouldn't work with the story.

Thank you times a million for reviewing ALL the chapters. It means more than I can say! And I'm glad to have found someone else in the vast world of HPFF who does that - I can't stand to read a chapter without reviewing, because I know how happy they make me!

Updates will come as soon as I decide on who to write about next. I've been shying away from the more developed canons (Sirius, Andromeda, Tonks) lol because it's so much more fun for me to be able to so fully develop almost new characters. Though I may stick to the girl-boy trend I've seemed to create and the next chapter just may be Andromeda or Tonks!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Dora Tonks Cedrella Black

7th November 2009:
Another excellent chapter!

I must say I love Septimus and Callum here; they're so much like the Weasleys we all know and love :)

Author's Response: -squee- And I loved writing them! I honestly got to the point where I was considering writing a companion piece to this that goes into more detail about Septimus' life. He was just so fun to write!

Thanks for yet another wonderful review. You're utterly fantastic!!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Dora Tonks Alphard Black

7th November 2009:
Another great chapter!

Alphard's character is really well written. I love his blunt but funny attitude, but I do feel sorry for the guy. I especially like the little twist you put on things by having him admit he was drunk when he wrote the slip for Sirius.

Keep up the amazing work! :D

Author's Response: I'm rather fond of Alphard as well. In fact, I've become more attached to the characters in this fic than many others (as made evident in the way longer chapters lol). This chapter was fun to write so I'm glad it came across as funny, and that you did feel for Alphard as that was a huge underlying aspect of this chapter.

Thanks for another wonderful review! It means so much to me that you've taken the time to so do :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Dora Tonks Isla Black

7th November 2009:
I'm glad I found this story!

Isla's worries are entirely believable and it's no wonder she's in such a state on her wedding day! After all, family means a lot to people, even if they are cold and uncaring, and Isla's worries are so natural.

Writing about the blasted-off-Blacks is such a good idea :)
Keep it up!

Author's Response: That's exactly what I wanted to get across. Family is family, and it's got to be hard to betray that bond even when your relationship with them is precarious! So it's great to hear that that got across.

Thanks so much for taking the time to review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by dream_me_a_dream Cedrella Black

29th July 2009:
hey, tessae from the forums! so sorry it's been so long, life has been crazy lately!

really can't think of anything to critisize, other than I think one chapter doesn't do this story justice. :-) I'd like to see more of the characters, especially the events that brought the characters together. but other than that, it's great! :-)

Author's Response: Oh, no problem! I can completely relate. Plus, you're the one doing the favour for me ;)

I'm glad you enjoyed it! It's really only meant to be one chapter just to give the reader an insight as to why a particular Black has been blasted, but the fact that you enjoyed it so much and wanted to read more means the world to me!

Thanks so much for taking the time to review!!


 Report Review

Review #23, by JKRowlingFan22 Cedrella Black

21st July 2009:
This is a very creative story line! It is a bit confusing at the beginning of the chapters, but it all makes sense by the end... so you don't really have to worry about that. Perhaps give the characters a bit more of seperate personalities, but that's the only thing that slighty needs work. The rest is perfect!

I like stories about the black family... and I'm glad you focused on the ones that got blasted off the family tree. How many chapters do you think there will be? Great job on the grammar.

The story is intriguing and fun to read. This story keeps your attention. I would have say my most favorite chapter was the third one. It had the most adventure and the characters, I feel, were some of the most developed. Each chapter gets better and better, so I cannot wait to see what happens in chapter four! Update soon and keep on writing! Love your story!

JKRowlingFan22

Author's Response: Confusing? Eep, I'll have to work on that and keep an eye out :) And thinking about it now, Isla and Cedrella do have very similar traits and narrative voices - the only defense I have to offer in regards to that is that they were very much in the same position and born into the same family, so they're bound to be similar!

Thank you :) I'm rather fond of the Blacks and lesser known canons, so writing their story was on natural for me. There will be eight chapters in total, the next being Marius Blacks.

The third is my favourite too, probably because there is a two year gap between the writing of the first two chapters and the third - I grew as a writer in that time and it's reflected in my writing.

Thanks so much for the lovely review and I'm so sorry for the time it took to get back to you!!!


 Report Review

Review #24, by angelchaser13 Cedrella Black

16th July 2009:
Aww, this is the best chapter of BLASTED yet! I love Cedrella, and Septimus is so much like JKR's Weasley boys that it made me laugh. Excellent work!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Your review made me smile :) It's so great to hear that Septimus is reminiscent of the Weasley boys. It means so much!

I'm very happy to hear that this was your favourite chapter ^_^ I was extremely nervous about it, it being way longer and written in a different narrative style than previous installments.

Thanks for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Dark_One Cedrella Black

13th July 2009:
This story is a FANTASTIC idea, I can understand why 53 people favourited it. I was sat here, reading this chapter, urging Ced on, hoping for the happy ending. Beautifully written. As for fitting in too much, I think that the amount of information you have is fine, but you could do with going back to the scene with the fire and adding more as I felt you rushed this just a bit. But besides that, it is a fantastic read!
10/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much! :D It\\\'s fantastic to hear. I got really attached to Ced and Sep while I was writing this and I think it shows in my writing of them.

Ah, the fire scene. That was my fear, actually, spot on. I was just too afraid to add more. I thought it would deter people from reading a near 5000 word chapter. I think the 4500 word chapter has, as the reviews are way down. But I will definitely look into expanding that scene. Thanks for the review!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>