Reading Reviews for Sacrifice
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by inkismyworld Sacrifice

6th June 2008:
Rip my heart out why don't you!? That was one of the most intense Regulus/Lily fics I've read. You made the love scene intense without being smutty- great job overall!

Author's Response: I'm sorry about the ripping of heart, but I'm so glad you like it! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by deeps85 Sacrifice

4th April 2008:
very well written
liked it... a lot... no more words to describe

Author's Response: lol, well sometimes simplicity is key. ;) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jessi_Rose Sacrifice

25th August 2007:
Absolutely, 100% brilliance. This is probably one of the most captivating tragic love one shots I've read. I love the way that you incorporated that quote, made it your own to suit this one shot. It's an amazing read. I never understood Lily and Regulus... but the way that you write them here - wonderful!! =D 10/10

Author's Response: Aww! Thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by DarkeningDawn Sacrifice

28th July 2007:
Amazing is really the only word I can find to describe this one-shot. :] I haven't come across many Regulus/Lily stories but this one was great. You're a very gifted writer. :] You get a 10, because of this story was awesome!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Dojh167 Sacrifice

13th July 2007:
I quite liked this one, although I would have loved a little more. I have never read any Regulus/Lily shippings, and must say I have never even thought about them as ever being a couple. I know it would be very unlikely for the books, but as a fanfiction element is extremely interesting.

The story was intriguing and slightly dark, which I quite liked. Again, I liked how you did not specify what it was that upset Lily, how close she had been with Regulus, before, and what happened afterwards. But you did a good job of giving a little glimpse of each of these aspects as well as leaving us to wonder and imagine, as we hp maniacs so love to do...

Great job on another story!

Author's Response: Again, thank you very much! I am glad that you liked it, and, between you and me, I set out to do a ship that wasn't huge because I like to challenge myself sometimes. LoL. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by xxMugglePrincess Sacrifice

5th July 2007:
I really liked it, but it was kinda sad. :)

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by fred Sacrifice

27th June 2007:
ooh interesting chapta - very different in a gud way - i wish there was more - well done a gud short story! lv sarah xXx

Author's Response: LoL, thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by sarahblack Sacrifice

2nd June 2007:
Rain, you know I have an obsession with Reggie, and I absolutely like this one-shot. Its one of those fan fics that JK hasn't even had cross her mind, but Regulus being close to Lily wouldn't suprise me...

(This next bit is ALL wishful thinking) Maybe since Lily stood up for Snape, she tried to stand up for Regulus as well. Maybe Regulus wasn't as ungrateful as Snape. Maybe Lily was nice to him on a regular basis. Lol... I definitly know thats wrong... but I had to put it out there. Ah, its just another fan fic base. Stupid theories.

-Sarah from MS. 10++

Author's Response: LoL, actually, that's basically what happened...Sirius went one step too far in his bullying of Regulus, and Lily put a stop to it.

 Report Review

Review #9, by firefawn Sacrifice

30th May 2007:
Wow! Just give me a moment to collect myself here.

FLIPPING FROGS OF FANTASIA! THAT WAS FANTASTIC!

Jaggy, that was just...the term 'perfect' comes to mind. It's not often that one reads a story, and especially a one-shot, where they can step back and think, 'Wow, the writer really could not have done anything better. It's perfect just as it is.' That being said, NEVER CHANGE THIS! First, I must admit that the content of the chapter caught me off guard. I just read the summary (which is fabulous as well, short and sweet) and clicked onto the story expecting it to be full of a rather arrogant Regulus trying to tick off Lily Evans by attempting to make her 'chat' with him. So you can imagine my surprise when I realized within the first few sentences that the entire thing was about to turn into a heavy romance! Jeesh! You like surprising people don't you?

As for the descriptions in this story, they are simply fantastic. You were detailed, while not being overly so, and yet you managed to capture the essence of what both characters were feeling, letting the reader somehow get into their minds and hearts while reading this. Getting a reader emotionally invested into a story, and let alone into a one-shot (which is a far more difficult thing to do, considering how short of a time that the writer has to draw the reader in), is a huge accomplishment, and you have definitely managed to do that with this story.

While the dialogue in this was very limited, I must say that each word was amazingly well executed. The fact that there was so little talking in this made the words that were spoken just that much more powerful. Also, the qualifiers around the lines of dialogue were excellent, particularly the "he managed hoarsely at last" line. I also found the fact that you gave Regulus' qualifiers, but not Lily, to be particularly interesting. It somehow made Lily's words all the more profound and hurtful. This is simply fantastic... Can I recommend it in my next chapter? Seriously, I'm extremely horrified to not have stumbled upon it before...

Also, this paragraph, and the following line, were what really got me emotionally invested into the story. The opening sentence was amazingly well done, and totally caught my interest, but it was this paragraph that really drew me into this:

Ragged and unsteady though her breathing was, and tearstained and pale though her face was, she looked up at him at last. She reached up and brushed away some of the hair that fell into his face. He shivered at her touch, but didn’t move, his soft eyes on her always.

She didn’t want to talk, and he knew it, nor did he mind it.


Fantastic work yet again. This adds a depth to Lily that one would never have guessed at, and yet...it is realistic as well. After all, while for many love is found with only one person, there are plenty of people out there who can admit that there was more than one person with whom they could have been happy with. For Lily, that was apparently the case. The quote at the beginning was also very appropriate. I'd so rate much higher than a 10 if the scale went up higher.

Author's Response: First and foremost: Thank you for yet another outstanding review, and you're more than welcome to recommend this in your next chapter. :D

This story was...well a challenge would be an understatement. I knew that I wanted to put Regulus with Lily, I just knew because it's not that popular of a ship, but at the same time...I needed to get across the message that there's a good reason why they didn't last, even if they were in love.

The back story that I did manage to slip in a bit is that Lily was friends with Sirius first, and through that companionship she knew exactly what could happen to Regulus if he chose her, and while Regulus was willing to do it, she wasn't.

But their relationship didn't have much talking...like at first they got to know each other, but it didn't really take much for them to. I'd love to write what led up to this someday, but at the moment I've got so much going on...

Anyways, thanks again for the review, and I'm honored that you loved it so much. :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by anna Sacrifice

29th May 2007:
i love it! i just wished there was more!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! ;)

 Report Review

Review #11, by brighteyesx3 Sacrifice

22nd May 2007:
I liked this alot, i read it right before i had to leave this morning, or i wouldve reviewed a little sooner, but i thought this was amazing & powerful and reeeallyy amazing, have i mentioned that?

Ta darling ;]

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it. ;)

 Report Review

Review #12, by DenijaForShuggyBlack Sacrifice

16th April 2007:
Love. Story and author. :P
Amazing story. ^^

Author's Response: LoL, thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #13, by al3x Sacrifice

31st March 2007:
Right so, the sacrifice regulus has made is being with her...and she cant forgive him for that, so she said yes to james. Oh, maybe im no good with puzzles lol. God, in love with two people, tut tut ^_^ LOVED this, obviously...=]
Alex xx

Author's Response: In a manner of speaking, yes. Thanks to Lily helping Sirius so much, she knows exactly what Regulus was risking being with her, and while he was willing to take those risks for her, she wasn't willing to let him. Poor sod...lol.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Unicorn Girl Sacrifice

24th March 2007:
wow! I loved it, amazing piece of work

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by Dracana Sacrifice

18th March 2007:
Not confused, lol. I think this was wonderful; written with such depth and passion, you allowed me to see the image you were portraying. It was beautiful.

Author's Response: Woot non-confusion! Thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by _alechia_ Sacrifice

17th March 2007:
wow, that was really powerful. if you have a mo, would you please read something of mine and tell me what you think? thanks so much

Author's Response: if i get some free time, which might be a while. Thanks for the review! :D

 Report Review

Review #17, by Radcliffe_PotterFan319 Sacrifice

14th March 2007:
Very good. AMazing.
10/10 ^_^

Author's Response: Thanks! :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by missxodork Sacrifice

13th March 2007:
Great job!! This was certainly an interesting :] I also love the quote you added in, which really added to the effect of the story. I'm pleased I came across this, especially since I rarely find a random fic that I'm actually interested in. So congrats :) Give yourself a pat on the back. lol

Author's Response: Well thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #19, by Vatina Sacrifice

13th March 2007:
Loved it! Regulus/Lily! Interesting ship, never would have thought of it, it's amazing.

Author's Response: Thanks! :D

 Report Review

Review #20, by theenix Sacrifice

13th March 2007:
Wow, this is amazingly well written. I sort of got it, but still slightly confused lol.

Author's Response: LoL. Well part of the way is good. :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by Tigress Blackflame Sacrifice

13th March 2007:
Wow, I really like this story. Cliffhanger! I must get to read more!

Author's Response: Well thank you! But I'm afraid this is a one shot. ;)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login