Reading Reviews for Lay Me To Sleep
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Victoria LH Lay Me To Sleep

1st May 2011:
This was very very dark. Depressing.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ford the Prefect Lay Me To Sleep

28th February 2008:
This is powerful, moving, beautiful. The description of Hermione is also somewhat haunting.

The older I get, the more I appreciate the view of death as a release from life, rather than simply the end of life, regardless of what may follow. And for that reason, I was really taken with the Draco's death scene.

Very nicely done.

 Report Review

Review #3, by 15th weasley Lay Me To Sleep

29th December 2007:
huuum lots of blood
my kind of book
lol im a very sick person ... in my eyes anyway

 Report Review

Review #4, by Lovely_Slytheriness Lay Me To Sleep

19th November 2007:
I just had to check this one out. And wow. This is one of the most beautiful stories I have ever read, truly. Where to begin? I adored the introduction; the thoughts on the rain. I love rain, too, and it was just a very peaceful and sincere part to read.

As we were told how Harry and Ginny died, I cried. I mean really, cried. As in sobbed, it was just so extremely sad and heartfelt! And your descriptions are just like… WOW. Astonishing. One paragraph that captivated me was this one:

“How many Death Eaters had she slaughtered? Plenty. The one question that taunted her was - how many of them were innocent? They were just fighting for what they believed in, after all - just like her. How indeed could she call them evil when she herself had gone so far as to murder, hate and cause pain to those that opposed her views? She was just as bad as them. There was no evil, there was only belief, and how people interpreted it.”

I loved it, it was philosophic and almost poetic at the same time; I swooned. And Draco's death was wonderful, it really was, in a sort of weird way (he is my favourite character after all, I should certainly not ENJOY his death, but I did, lol.)

I guess what I'm trying to say here, as I ramble on with this review, is that I loved it. I loved it so, so much. Grand story love! 100/10.

~Linnéa


 Report Review

Review #5, by Dracos Summer Sweetheart Lay Me To Sleep

27th October 2007:
Wow How Do I Describe This Story ?
Heart Wrenching ? Emotional ? Magically Written ?
It Really Is Just Fantastic !
And Defo Worth Tha Smudged Mascara :)
Im A Fan...

Dracos Summer Sweetheart

x

 Report Review

Review #6, by Pax Aeterna Lay Me To Sleep

18th September 2007:
Beautiful :-) You have me in tears now.

Author's Response: Aw, sorry for making you cry, but I'm so glad you liked this, and thanks for taking the time to review, it means a lot. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by noraxslytherin Lay Me To Sleep

13th September 2007:
OMG! wow, this was amazing! the descriptions were breath taking! you've done a spectacular job!!! amazing! :]

-nora.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so very much, nora!! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by posers_sux Lay Me To Sleep

4th August 2007:
Aw, how tragically sad. I liked it... though she didn't mean to do it, she probably help his dying that much easier for him. He wasn't alone, at least. It could have been anyone, really, but it was just nice... in an eerie sense.

But... why, if she had watched Bellatrix curse Ginny, hadn't she cursed Bellatrix before she got Ginny?? I mean... she wasn't too bad off (clearly, as she was walking around and everything), so why didn't Hermione help her friend?

Anyway, that was very interesting. I really did like it. And, I see you've got a bunch of other short stories, so I'm going to have to read a few of those, too :P. Good job!

-Dana

Author's Response: Well yes, I suppose that's true. Although for Draco I'm not sure if he'd prefer to be alone rather than dying beneath the eyes of Hermione Granger herself.

I didn't want that to be the main focus of the story - revenge. I wanted simplicity and description, as well as acceptance of death and just something more . . . powerful than most typical themes of stories. I wanted something different, and I think that if she had gotten revenge on Bellatrix that would have shattered the point and illusion of imagery I was trying to portray in my story.

Thanks once again for your thoughs, Dana.


 Report Review

Review #9, by xfirespritex Lay Me To Sleep

19th July 2007:
.wow. *bows to you*

Author's Response: Ha, thank you.

 Report Review

Review #10, by LovelyMioneWeasley Lay Me To Sleep

12th July 2007:
What a sad, heart-breaking ending for the Final Battle. You did a marvelous job with the descripations. They were fresh and beautiful in that start of a new day kinda way. You really felt for the charcters and they drew you in. You did a fablous job connecting with the reader and that in and of itself is an accomplaishment!
Love,
Lindsey

Author's Response: I really enjoyed writing this one actually. I feel it was more original, as in I haven't seen anyone else doing this yet, which makes me favour this one-shot a little above the others.

Thanks loads.


 Report Review

Review #11, by elvengirl Lay Me To Sleep

8th June 2007:
Beautiful.
I like it and there was no dialogue wich makes it more special to me.
Great job;)

Elven

Author's Response: Hey there!! Thank you very much. Yeah, big descriptive freak, is me . . . :-p

 Report Review

Review #12, by GangstaliciousBabyGurl Lay Me To Sleep

13th May 2007:
wow.that was written so well.
So descriptive, so sad, yet so painful and kind of just all the emotions there, but not feeling them. i don't think that makes much sense, but to me it does.=/ very good job.ten for you.

Author's Response: Lol, not to me . . . I'll frown over it a little longer. :D

Thank you for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Muggle394 Lay Me To Sleep

21st April 2007:
that was sweet. i cried

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad that it provoked emotions.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Frenchie41 Lay Me To Sleep

12th April 2007:
Wow. That was pretty amazing. Very, very sad, but amazing. It left me thinking, and I love that. Very nice job- it was absolutely perfect. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad this one is a thinker. :-) And what a perfect review. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Tomfeltonishot Lay Me To Sleep

8th April 2007:
Aw*tear* that was really really sad!!
wonderful writing though
i could never make a tradgedy without it sounding sappy
u did a wonderful job on it
10/10 defiently!

Author's Response: I'm pleased the angst affected you. :-p

I'm sure you could write something wonderful, don't be so harsh on yourself. Thanks so much both for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #16, by scarletheartedlioness Lay Me To Sleep

15th March 2007:
Wow, truly beautiful. You captured part of the concept of death perfectly, knowing that sometimes pain doesn't come as an agonizing searing in your heart. Pain isn't a simple thing. I think the way Hermione showed hers was brilliant. Excellent job! 10/10

Author's Response: *gasps* It's you!! Writer of amazing stories - popular author on this site. Wow!! *faints* Ok, so I'll stop being wierd now . . .

Thanks so much - I'm glad I portrayed the pain well. I do have a passion for tackling emotions within words. Thanks so much for reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #17, by MajiKat Lay Me To Sleep

10th March 2007:
*sob*

That was beautiful! Truly, i think i am going to cry...

Your imagery is astounding Dracana - you are seriously talented! I'm not sure thats allowed...

This whole piece seems like a metaphor for the futility of war. Hermione's pain is real but almost detached, as in shock and numbed grief. Your imagery is simply incredible - I was there, on that tarnished earth with her, walking among the dead, seeing what she saw.

I love the lack of dialogue - after all, who is left to talk to?

I also really loved Draco's death scene. It was beautiful, and I liked the way you made it seem natural and peaceful. I don't know what it is about this piece, but it is the most emotionally stirring one i have read so far.

I think my fav line is ,"He would be just another body to feed to the earth at sunset."

That really resonates with me because I am a pagan. I'm not sure what you know of our worldview, but that sums up death so clearly and beautifully. It really cements that life and death are part of a great cycle, one that is never ending, and one that comes to us all. okay, i'll stop being religious now :)

Simply beautiful - the word 'beautiful' cannot begin to express what i feel about this piece. I am touched, spiritually. I'm not trying to sound obsequious there, its the truth, and this is going straight to my favs. I need to read it again.

Gorgeous!

MajiKat


Author's Response: Wow, MajiKat, what a review!!

Not allowed? *picks out talent and shares it out* Lol, as if you'd need a piece!! Your works are amazing!! *cries over your Blaise/Draco story*

Oh, then I achieved what I wanted if you could feel yourself there. When I write, I see everything before me, and therefore try to encapture it within my words. I love to put forward an image and let my readers live my story, if that makes any sense.

Oh, I despise it when people over-do-it on dialogue. This piece was yet another of my one-shots that didn't need the effort of talking - besides, I'm trying to make my readers be Hermione as she walks through the field, and too much dialogue would spoil that effect.

Really? Yey!! It was full of emotions, I suppose, but in a calming sense that was mroe of a reality. This is how I'd imagine the after-math of war to be, when the ones you love are dead and you are walking that painted picture, slowly realising the horrors that have past and become, yet knowing there is nothing you can do about it but accept, and moving on. Of course, the grief will come later - this is more of a numbness than anything else.

You're a pagan? Wow!! I don't really know much about that - it would be wonderful to listen to some more about it from you sometime. I know that pagan is associated most strongly with nature, right? It sounds like a beautiful religion. If anti-religious though, I'm afraid, but I'll willingly listen at any time. Most religion is used as a control methord, but pagan differentiates from that. It is something more beautiful and does not rise to seize power of a person, I think. Like I said, you'll have to tell me more about it. *_*

Oh, thank you so much for such a positive response!! I myself certainly enjoyed reading over this fic once again, because of its sense of peace that seperates it from anything else I've written so far. There are many types of raw emotion, and this is just one of them. I'm sure I have a lot yet to discover and write about.

Thanks loads and loads, you cannot imagine how much this review means to me. :-)


 Report Review

Review #18, by randomcutie69 Lay Me To Sleep

7th March 2007:
OMG! I can't believe that! It was great, but... wow.
I actually didn't cry in this one... though I came dangerously close when it came to Draco... I love him!!! ^_^
Amazing story, read mine sometime... even if they're not as good as yours!

Author's Response: He he, thank you!! I didn't make you cry? Oh, there's my faliure as the Queen Of Tears then!! lol. What a name . . . any way, thanks so much, and I shall read your story, when I get time. Just send me a reminder or two if I forget. :-)

 Report Review

Review #19, by canadian warrior babe (not logged in) Lay Me To Sleep

3rd March 2007:
hey helen this is great little one shot. It was touching well descripted and I could picture it easily in my minds eye. It' sad and beautiful about draco, or any death. but in the end we relise that even if we are young now we are all dying.

10/10

Author's Response: Hello again, Jess, dear. I had fun with all this description. *_* Yes, as they say in Stormbreaker - you're never too young to die.

Thanks for reviewing. :-)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Unicorn Girl Lay Me To Sleep

2nd March 2007:
this was simply amazing. You made Hermione canon and her numbness somehow transmitted to the reader...wonderful piece of art.

10/10

Author's Response: Hey you!! Thank you!! What a beautiful review. *hugs*

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #21, by yourstruely Lay Me To Sleep

27th February 2007:
i loved it! i mean its depressing, but it was a good read!

Author's Response: Yey, thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #22, by lupa_mannera Lay Me To Sleep

27th February 2007:
Incredible. Moving. Yes, the peace of sleep, the numbness of loss and the horror of war are all themes that you addressed with just the right words. I loved it. This was stirring: ...a million deaths, all in one day. It was beautiful, how whether she intended to or not, she kept Draco company in his final moments.

Author's Response: Thank you. Oh, she kept him company yes, and in a way his death offered a small solace to her - not only did she realise she had the power to refuse killing him, even though it would have been kinder, but she had time enough to care for someone, soemthing that was simple and what she needed to distract herself from the agony of her own loss. Thanks for reviewing!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by SlytherinGirl_x Lay Me To Sleep

25th February 2007:
Wow-that was such a wondefully written, beautiful story. I liked the way you made Hermione help Draco, no matter how much she hated him.. It was amazing =] Once again, you've wrote another wonderful story-you're definately my favourite HPFF writer!! =]

Author's Response: Thank you!! I really enjoyed writing all the description. Wow, favourite? I'm very much flattered!!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Dragonette Lay Me To Sleep

25th February 2007:
That was so beautiful. So realistic. It was easy to see how torn Hermione was when she saw people she knew and people she hated. And then there was Draco. And she helped him. Now, some people would have butchered this story by making her go all sob-ish on him, and realizing love and all that junk. No. What you did worked perfectly, and so much better than anything else would of. Hermione reacted as I would expect any sole survivor of a huge battle to react. Cold, empty, but ready to help if she had to, ready to do something kind, even if she knew there was nothing she could do and she hated the person she was helping.

It was amazing. I'm so glad I read it! And btw, how did she survive when no one else did? 1,000,000,000,000,000/10!

Cheers,
Dragonette

Author's Response: Woah, what a gorgeous review!! Thank you!! *_* I loved writing this because I had great fun with the description. Yeah, that was open to interpretation - did she make him comfortable because she wanted to watch him die slowly, or was it just out of general instinct?

How did she survive indeed? *_* Up to your imagination, I'm afraid, my dear. Sheer luck.

Thanks loads, Dragonnete. This review is lovely.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login