Reading Reviews for Broken Promises
  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by silver phoenix Broken Promises

10th April 2008:
Holy moley. I had NO CLUE it was Cho. This was incredible. I LOVED it. The last line killed me...I thought "you" was Ginny and it was about Harry, but...wow...

Author's Response: silver phoenix,

Yay! I'm so thrilled that you not only read and reviewed, but you let me know who you thought the fic was about. I love to hear who my reader's believe they are reading about until they read that line. It's really fascinating to me to see whether they guess or not. =)
I'm so glad that you enjoyed this. "Love" is an awesome compliment, and I'm blushing most certainly!

Thanks for your time!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #2, by amritab529 Broken Promises

22nd March 2008:
Wow, that was amazing.
Truly.
I loved it a lot.
Great great great job.
I wish I could give you more than a 10/10!

Author's Response: amritab529:

Ack! I'm so sorry it took me this long to get back to you! There are no excuses. Especially when you took the time to read and then leave me such a phenomenal review- thank you! I'm really thrilled to hear that you enjoyed this. You're very kind. :) Thank you!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #3, by Tatjana Broken Promises

24th February 2008:
you've done it once again
what a beautiful piece of writing

Author's Response: Tatjana,

Thank you! You are so kind, having devoted all of this time to reading and reviewing for me- it's such a compliment! If you ever check back here again... I'm curious: did you realize who it was about before the end? When did you figure it out? :)

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #4, by Shamoogrl101 Broken Promises

23rd November 2007:
This is truly amazing. i really don't know what else to say. The flashbacks really warmed me up to the story. I wanted to know who the characters were. I cannot express how this fills in the blanks on Cho and Cedric. This is the connection i have been waiting for and I wish you could continue writing more on this. Great work, really spectacular.

Author's Response: Shamoogrl101,

Wow, let me assure you, your review left a smile on my face for days- truly! I'm so glad you enjoyed this, it was one of my first writing endeavors, but has maintained a spot in my heart. :)
More? Hmm... I'd not really considered it... perhaps? Thank you!!!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #5, by kiwigirl Broken Promises

27th October 2007:
that was so good! i loveth your stories! you must definetly write a book. in second person, or third or first, or even tenth, i don't care! loving it so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so much! i think your one-shots are perfectly crafted! i love the way you manage to capture everything of importance, without going overboard, or cutting stuff out. keep writing! everything i read of yours is the most amazing i've ever read. if you ever write a book, i will become your #1 fan. i love it! love love love! very much! one little thing that i don't love as much though... when you are writing about cho in the stands, i think that the way you spoke about the crowd was a leetle bit confuzzling, though later that was all cleared up. other 2nd person fics i've read are really confusing, but this one was so good. i really like the way that i'm not sure who "I" am, until near the end. it could've been ginny, if your going that way, or cho. i didn't look at thet character list, though i usually do, and i think that really heightened my experience. loved it once again!
hopefully helpful
kiwigirl

Author's Response: kiwigirl,

*major blush* Have I told you lately how absolutely sweet you are? Writing a book in tenth person... that would be an interesting feat indeed! Thank you, thank you, thank you, so much for your uber kind words.
I'm glad the stand scenes were sufficiently cleared up later, because I was vague and "confusing" on purpose there. I'm so glad that you didn't cheat and look- I love to read fics like that myself. :)

Definitely helpful. Thank you!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #6, by llamasanta Broken Promises

15th September 2007:
...Wow, this is just... wow.

Author's Response: llamasanta,

My goodness, thank you so very much for the read and review!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #7, by Ydnas Odell Broken Promises

11th August 2007:
Wonderful. It is so hard to find goof quality fan fic of this ship. Most people are overwhelmed by this ships emotions.

Do you like writing this person? There is one ship I've never seen and thait is a canon ship. That is Cho/Michael Corner, do you think you can write that?

Author's Response: Ydnas Odell,

Thank you so much for the read and review! I'm so glad that you thought I did an acceptable job with this ship. The emotions are overwhelming and it was very difficult to write! I did like writing Cho, actually, which is a surprise, because as you probably know from SAYS, I'm not her biggest fan. :P
You know something? I don't think I've ever seen a Cho/Michael Corner fic, either... Do I think I can write it? Hmmm, I would have to think about that. I don’t have any plot bunnies at the moment, but to be honest, I’ve not given it a lot of thought before now. Tell you what: if anything ever comes to me, I’ll be certain to let you know, and you be sure to do the same. Thanks for the idea! :)

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #8, by SereneChaos Broken Promises

11th July 2007:
Oh my...really? No...and the last line...no...
I'm sorry, you've got me a little choked up...most particularly becuase of that last line...

"No one, not even Voldemort can hurt you now, because you, Cho Chang, have just died."

It's put so simply, and that makes it all the more powerful.

At first I thought this might be a Lily/James...mostly becuase you mentioned stands and I thought of Quidditch, but then I read some more and thought it could be a Draco/Pansy or perhaps even Lucius/Narcissa (I know, in hindsight they seem a little unlikely, but the term "Broken Promises" came to mind), only to find out you were talking about Cho...

Rather surprising actually, never thought of that...

This was brilliantly done, and the second person is something that I usually don't like to read, but yours was absolutely wonderful.

You should write more often...both your stories are amazingly good and I know that anything else you come up with would be just as great.


Author's Response: SereneChaos,

I swear to you every time I read one of your reviews I'm left with this permanent smile etched on my face. You absolutely make my day! And, I hate to admit I giggled, especially because you were choked up (squee!) but, really- you made me laugh with that opening. :P I love it when my reviewers tell me who else they thought this fic might be about- I’m always so curious!
I’m thrilled to hear that second person was actually enjoyable for you to read here. That is, of course what I’m aiming for.You see, generally when contemplating writing a fic, I sit for awhile and try to decide how best to put my readers through the greatest amounts of anguish and torture… :P *kidding*
Well, I have something that will be posted as soon as the queue is reopened, so thank you for the pre-post vote of confidence! I’ll be interested to see what you think :)
Ah yes, before I forget- I saw your congratulations and vote of support on the forums for the Dobby’s, and I’m flattered to no end. Thank you so much, that means the world to me! Thanks again for being so faithful in reading, reviewing, and of course, keeping on of my favorite fics updated consistently!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #9, by GRAWP_WANT_STORY Broken Promises

3rd July 2007:
that was really good. i loved the ending, it was sad but it rocked. i had no idea this was cho/cedric until the end. v.original

Author's Response: GRAWP_WANT_STORY,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to read and review- I'm so flattered! I love to hear that you thought it was original as well. That's a compliment of the highest regards!

it was sad but it rocked

*giggle*

I end up feeling that a lot when I read fics on HPFF, and I'm just ecstatic that you felt that way about something I wrote!

Thanks again!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #10, by Jennybear Broken Promises

3rd July 2007:
Beautiful, really beautiful. Usually I'm not a big fan of second person fan-fics, but this one was *really* great. I love reading Cho/Cedric fan-fics (even if they do make me sad). You are amazing at portraying emotions through your writing, and you can tell when everyone except rock-hearted people are about to cry.

I didn't figure out it was about Cho and Cedric until he actually said her name, it really kept me guessing.

Great job, seriously. :)

Author's Response: Jennybear,

Wow! Thank you so very much for not only taking the time to read this, but for sharing your thoughts on it with me in this review. I'm absolutely thrilled to hear that you loved this; it makes me blush and squee! :) I always love to hear whether or not my readers figured out that they were reading about Cho and Cedric before it is revealed, so thank you for mentioning that as well. You’ve flattered me unbelievably, dearest!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #11, by edenvirg Broken Promises

24th June 2007:
Wonderful! You kept me guessing up to the end. I had an inkling it had something to do with the Triwizard Tournament, but at first I thought it was about Krum. Haha. :) I love your descriptions, your parallelisms, and all the symbols you used. :)

Congratulations for a magnificent one-shot! :)

Author's Response: edenvirg, Thank you for such an amazing review! It always makes me smile when someone says they didn't figure it out until the end. Naturally, I'm proud of those who do... but the guessing game was what I was going for :). I love that you figured out the Triwizard Tournament part! :D Thank you, really, for such an awesome review!

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #12, by lia_2390 Broken Promises

25th April 2007:
Ahh, Courtney. This was deep, very deep, in fact, I nearly cried at the end and I'm not just saying that because you're my favourite reviewer, I mean it. I like how you kept the identities a secret until the end, and only putting in subtle hints. I think you've worked the second person p.o.v very well too. Putting the readers in her place, making us feel what she felt and see what she saw. At the end, especially this line -No one, not even Voldemort can hurt you now, because you, Cho Chang, have just died., I was like, "oh, chaa".

Very well written hun! 10/10=]

Lia.


Author's Response: Lia,

I truly hope you know how much I love to hear from you and to read your updates. You've touched me doubly here- taking the time to read one of my fics, and also calling me your favorite reviewer? You're too kind... and a bit of a liar, lol, but I thank you anyway! It's my pleasure to review "The Time has Come"... I love it!

"oh, chaa".

Awesome... lol, I love it, you nutter! :D Thanks again, Lia... you truly made my day with this :)

~C/PH1


 Report Review

Review #13, by Scriblerian Broken Promises

16th March 2007:
Courtney, I am so, so, so incredibly and inexpressibly sorry for taking this long to get here. When you showed me this story for the first time, I remember being stunned into near speechlessness. And now, reading it again, I've found that pretty much the same is true. I am stunned. And completely teary-eyed at the moment so you'll have to excuse me if I sound like a total sap...lol.

So, first I have to commend you for being brave and taking a risk. I say that in reference to the use of the second person POV. I know, without a shadow of a doubt, that I could never ever pull that off. In fact, I know most people cant. It's funny, they told me in my creative writing class NEVER to do 2nd person because it "offends the reader" and makes them "feel like they have no control", etc. blah, blah, blah...But I almost want to print this story out and shove it in their face and say, "SEE! It's possible! You can write an amazing story in 2nd person! She did it!" lol. I'm serious!! I dont know how you did it, but it worked. I actually think the 2nd person POV is what made this story work too. I can't imagine it any other way.

I say this because it makes it so much more personal and hard-hitting. I felt what Cho felt. I felt her anguish at the end, and her love and heartbreak and joy and happiness. It was genius of you to do that. I mean it. Brilliant doesn't really begin to cover it...

But when I first read the story, another brilliant touch of yours was keeping the identities of the characters a secret until close to the end. It sucked me in immediately. I had no clue at first that it was Cho and Cedric. And when it dawned on me what exactly what was happening, I think I literally gasped out loud. It was a total shock. You wove this story perfectly. Enter me being stunned into speechlessness. lol.

He recaptures your hand and smiles- that smile that makes you weak in the knees and plucks at your heart strings until you’re certain the music swelling within your chest is audible by all.

See, this is why I love your writing. It's like poetry. It flows and the language is beyond beautiful. I feel like I could learn a lot from you. lol. And you moved from the present to past so fluidly. The whole story was just perfectly paced and set up. Again, I am stunned.

You would make them pay, you would make them hurt, just like they had made you hurt right then.

I loved that line. It's a great example of the raw emotion you convey so wonderfully in this story. Everything was so real, though I shouldn't be surprised because you are incredible when it comes to that. And the move from utter joy and happiness to despair and anguish was just...wow. I couldn't read fast enough towards the end. And I couldn't stop from tearing up either. Especially with that last haunting line. Wow. Just...wow.

Courtney, I didn't think you could top your last story with anything else. That one left me speechless too. But this one could give it a run for its money, no doubt about it. I couldn't pick between the two of them for the life of me though. They're both brilliant. Amazingly so. :) Fantastic job with this oneshot hun. I can't believe it took me so long to tell you all this. Cause I mean every word. Please, please write more! I like being stunned and amazed. :) lol. *hugs and glomps always* -- Scribbie

Author's Response: Scribbie,

The fact that you apologize in the first line of your review for taking ‘so long’ (you’re crazy by the way) to review… and then I take 4 months to respond to your review, is highly amusing to me. I’m so sorry! It’s not that I was ignoring you dearest, I promise. It’s simply that you left me so speechless I didn’t know what to say!
How is it possible that you make me laugh, and yet want to squee and huggle you to death all in one breath? It’s a gift, I tell you. A gift.
I shake my head, reading this review. I love you to death for it, because I’m so happy to think that you liked it! You lot are always SO supportive, and I know I’d have never had the guts to post anything without you. I think you’re a bit crazy… but I appreciate it all the same! :D
Now, get hoppin’ on Runaway before Goofy makes an appearance wielding a blork, alright?

*SAYS style huggle glomps*

~Courtney


 Report Review

Review #14, by Lady_Vana Broken Promises

6th March 2007:
Wow, that was really good. I know that the second person narration is difficult to do. Great job!

Author's Response: Lady Vana,

Thank you! I think that was the first "wow" I've gotten... I'm all flustered by it! *blushes*
Seriously though, thank you so much for the review and compliments. I see that you've written a few things, and I'm going to head over there to check them out now. :) Thanks!

~C


 Report Review

Review #15, by Frenchie Broken Promises

6th March 2007:
Oh, that's sad. Very good though. It took me a while to figure out who "I" was, but I'm rather proud of the fact that I figured it out before the name was revealed. =) I really liked the second person perspective, it really enhanced the whole story. I'm also very glad someone wrote about Cho's feelings about Cedric's death, it makes a very good story. Excellent job, 10/10!

Author's Response: Frenchie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review! I'm so glad to hear that you liked it... even thought it was a bit sad. And, I'm proud of you too for figuring out who it was before the end. I'd like to think it was difficult to do but *shrug* I wrote it, so honestly, I'm not sure :) Cedric and Cho needed a story, I thought... glad you agree :D
Thanks again!!!

~C


 Report Review

Review #16, by Anony_Mouse Broken Promises

5th March 2007:
I want to say that my mouth almost literally feel open when I realized who the speaker was. And that was exactly how it was supposed to be.

You did a great job, Courtney! The second person.wow, you've really made it work well, and there just aren't enough fics with good second person, now are there? Even before I knew the identity of (*drum roll*) CHO (*gasp*), I was totally in love with this fic. Your description, your style.everything. Courtney, it's wonderful! I'm sorry I didn't review sooner; didn't know it was up till now! *guilty grin*

Can I also say that I love your motivations behind this fic? You've created this fic, that works as a Cho back story for nearly every "Cho bashing" story there is. I think she became slightly bitter (and, okay, hysterical-I mean that in the crying, not funny sense, though she does cheer us up at times!) after Cedric's death, even, maybe...and then hence Cho became evil! Though, I'm not even sure I really want to call her that. Is "evil" the right word? You've made me feel bad Cho, and that is a compliment! A big one, at that!

As I was telling Priscilla (Potterholic), about her Cho fic, it's a funny thing, because although we, as the readers are on Harry's side throughout the books (at least, I know I am! *narrows eyes at everybody else*), yet Cho's perspective goes against everything we want to believe in. It's just a comment, since it applies to so many of the (good) Cho fics...that although we are enjoying the "Cho" fics, a part of us feels bad for Harry, since he wanted her too. Never mind that Harry/Ginny (or whoever others ship) rules, but.well, that's just me personally. I never minded Cho as much as some people, until I read "Her Secret", and now I'm divided again. That is a good thing.

This was so, so, so good and such a wonderful, courageous thing to do! I loved it, Courtney-I love reading fanfic authors who don't do the "standard" thing. I dare say, in only the two stories you have posted here, I have found one-and I can't wait to see any more stories you might come up with

Huggle glomp, 10/10, and an add to my fav's!

-Mara, :-)

Author's Response: Mara,

I remember my jaw literally dropped when I had seen this review- it was so detailed and amazing. I wanted to cry; I was so touched that you had taken so much of your time to review my fic! You are a doll and a half, dearest… Truly!

I’m still amazed that people enjoyed my fic as second person. I was afraid it had been a risky choice, but it seems to have worked! *knock on wood* I now expect “bad choice, loser” reviews :P

I’m totally with you and Priscilla about Cho, man. It is a funny thing! And, I was completely with you. I didn’t hate Cho, wasn’t her biggest fan, but certainly didn’t hate her until “Her Secret”. Then I spent the next few months praying that JKR would give her a long and painful death… It was bad, lol, I had to redeem her.

Thank you so much dear, for not only the add to the fav’s and the remarkable review, but for your time and confidence. I’m just beyond flattered. *blush*

*huggle glomp Says style!*

~C


 Report Review

Review #17, by PureBlood Muggle Broken Promises

2nd March 2007:
Courtney! *SAYS style huggle glomps*

I said it to you before and I'll say it again. You've got SOME talent, girl!
There are few people who can keep 2nd person interesting, flowing and captivating. You've done all three things. When I first read your story, I was torn between who this story was about... was it Ron/Hermione? Maybe Ginny/Harry? Maybe someone different? And slowly it could only have been one pairing and it shocked me that I suddenly felt for Cho Chang - you know how little time I have for that cry baby.

Seriously wonderful, so beautifully written and that last sentence alone brought goosbumps and shivers. You really do have a way with words that can only be praised.

And yes, this is slightly AU - but don't we all like to be a bit romantic in our own way sometimes? AU or not- I do think that Cho had developed true feelings for that poor boy Cedric.

Well done dear *huggle glomps* ~Mona =)


Author's Response: Mon!!!

*rugby style huggle glomp* Wahey!

Your review makes me blush beyond belief, dear. Seriously, knock it off :P Honestly though, none of my fics would work without you, dear- you’re the bestest Beta I could ever hope for- truly!
I still remember your E-mail when you wrote me back that day; you were practically bouncing up and down at having figured out who it was before the ending reveal. It made me laugh so hard!
I have such a supportive network on here, and you are one of the biggest darlings in that group. Keep up the awesome Muggle work- I’m always there ready and anxious to read!

Loff ya, mon!
~C


 Report Review

Review #18, by juls Broken Promises

1st March 2007:
I like that you have chosen to show Cho in a good light. She was very heartbroken when Cedric died, and you have shown that brilliantly. I absolutely hate the fact that JKR killed him- he would have made a wonderful friend for Harry, and he was one of the braver Hufflepuffs.
I do agree with you also- Cho's dreams and hopes died that day, shaping her into a very sad person, who while trying to move on couldn't.
Huggles dear- been told to get off. ~~juls

Author's Response: Juls,
How on earth did I get so lucky as to meet you on here? No matter what site we’re on, which current plot we’re following/twisting, or what’s going on in RL, you are there supporting me. Your reviews mean so much to me. You have so many stories and characters of your own to play with- your taking the time to come over here and R&R is amazing!
You of all people know how much I loathe Cho, lol, so I’m glad that you were able to enjoy the good side of her. I’ll admit, I was tempted to drown her or throw her off the astronomy tower a few times, but she made it ‘til the end. :P
I'm with you... I miss Cedric- I think he'd have made an awesome addition to Harry's friends. And, well... he's a Puff- I have to be loyal! :D
Thanks again, Juls!!!

~C


 Report Review

Review #19, by ElissandrAnne Broken Promises

1st March 2007:
Writing in the second person works for you, it's obvious (something I couldn't do to save my life, I'm afraid). When you sent me that fic so I could make the banner, I told to myself that some people would probably be shocked when they found out who the two main characters were. hehe. You did a very good work. You can be proud of that fic.

It is so romantic, there are so many emotions and feelings there... I had the feeling I coud picture it all, as if I was watchin a movie. And I could feel for her as I was reading. How strange that one can love a character in a fic and hate her/him in another. haha.

I think it was a very good idea to give her point of view on the story. It's a real trauma to lose one's first love that way. And if she's not as strong as some other female characters, well, not all people are. Really, right now, I would like to hug her and comfort her - except no words can be of any confort in a situation like this.

The way the story goes from present to flashback is very well done. And the end... wow! It was a complete surprise to find out who they were. Good job, dear! 10/10!

*huggle*

Anne

Author's Response: Anne, will you look at who is finally getting the chance to respond to reviews? You are an amazingly supportive and wonderful woman who is always on top of leaving reviews right away… the least I can do is take ten minutes to respond! I may not leave my reviews as promptly as you do, but I swear, I’m reading and enjoying… promise!

Thank you for such a sweet review- telling me that I can be proud of it? That’s a compliment of the highest regard! It was a difficult one for me to write, second person challenged me. To know that you appreciated it makes me smile. :)

I’m a big movie fan… Basically, I’ll watch ANYTHING just to see or go to a movie, lol, so to have it compared in such a way… Holy Moly, Anne! :D You rock dear, and I appreciate you more than you know. Thank you!!!

~C


 Report Review

Review #20, by tiffers Broken Promises

1st March 2007:
ZOMG! COURTNEY! *DIES* OMG I finished the story and cracked up laughing. Granted that was not the reaction you were going for, but I couldn't help myself. All that kept flowing through my mind was, she finally killed that bint!!! She has been talking about taking her out for months, and by golly, she finally did it! Once that initial feeling wore off though, once again I have to tell you how proud I am. *beams like a mother at her daughter's school play* I know that it seems weird that something like this would make me proud, but you have always been so supportive of me and I am happy that you are now showcasing off your phenomenal talent to the world. *weeps a little* My little Courtney all grown up and becoming famous!

Now on to this amazing bit of work, ZOMG, it really is so beautiful. First off you did a wonderful job by making this original and using a point of view that normally isn't used. Then you go and use this pairing, that isn't used as much, and you make it beautiful. You bring a nice dimension to these characters and make them fun to read about. I especially like how you kept who the are a secret until the very end, it really let us get involved with the characters without that pre-developed prejudice getting in the way.

You write so amazingly beautifully Court that it shocks me, I am always so swept away in the story that you are telling. You make the characters come to life and I really felt like I was watching this unfold on screen. Even more amazing is it was the kind of romance that I feel is forgotten in today's films. I kept imagining myself sitting in an empty room. eating some Reisens and watching an old black and white film, because that is what you brought to this story. The kind of romance that hasn't been seen on film since Casablanca and Sabrina. You are so talented my dear and this story is so INCREDIBLY AMAZING AND PHENOMENAL, that I feel like I should be giving you something in return here for letting me read this.

As for that dedication, my dear, you have definitely enriched our chat sessions, and thank you. I don't know how I have inspired you, I am crazy after all, so if I have inspired you to join the circus, wait a few months and see how you feel :P You are truly one of a kind my dear and I am so lucky that I had the pleasure of meeting you, that is 100% from the heart my dear!!!

Wonderful my dear! Absolutely stunning, you better keep writing and blowing us away. You have so much talent and I cannot wait to see what else you come up with, because I am sure it will be just as superb as this. I wish I could rate you a million gazillion! *HUGGLE ATTACKLE GLOMPERS*

Author's Response: Tiffy Wiffy!
2 months later and I'm finally responding. I'm so sorry! Although... not too sorry, because you're worse then me :P
When you first submitted your review, and I read that your initial reaction was laughter, I think that struck me as more appropriate than anything else you could've done... you nutter! I TOLD you, I had a mission, and I was not about to give it up.
Awwww, I'm so incredibly flattered by your review (well, aren't I always? lol). And, the fact that watch old movies while eating Reisens makes me hungry. :P Honestly though, to be told you've captured a romance as timeless as the films you reference... it's an amazing compliment, and I'm blushing severely.
You, Tiffy, despite your protesting to the contrary, have, are, and I'm sure will continue to be an inspiration to me in all things. I loff my Tiffy Marie! :P

Don't let the mountain goats get ya.

~C


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login