Reading Reviews for His Best Girl
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Angela His Best Girl

5th July 2011:
did you really say someone is as annoying as an ant?

 Report Review

Review #2, by Zaphira His Best Girl

6th June 2008:
I really loved this - it was so sad, and I normally hate sad, but it was written so well that it doesnt matter.
The line The moment you’re willing to be miserable just to make someone else happy, that’s love right there. - that almost made me cry, that she'd give up so much for him, even if she won't get what she really wants.

 Report Review

Review #3, by tonks938 His Best Girl

29th March 2008:
Gahh, I hate it when the guy and girl aren't together. Well, only if I like the guy and girl together. :pp
But this was really good.
98504976948/10

 Report Review

Review #4, by MElizabethPenn His Best Girl

21st September 2007:
*sniff*
If you don't let those two get together, I'm never reading this fic again.

Lol. j/k
But seriously. If you write a sequel to this, I will love you forever. This was such an amazing story. I think the best thing about this story is that a lot of us girls can identify with Rachel. I know I've been in the same situation before.
Great story!

Author's Response: Yeah, I know. We all know that best friends falling for each other is sort of cliche already actually, but it DOES happen in real life. And in Real Life, it isn't always a happy ending.

I know I said I will probably write a sequel, but now that I think of it, I think I'm just leaving it at this. :) This is reality right here, if you know what I mean.

Replying to your review sort of made me sad. :( Brought back memories. LOL. Yes, this is actually based on personal experience, that's why.

Anyway, I'm glad you liked it. This one-shot is very close to my heart so it means a lot to me that you enjoyed it. Thanks for leaving a review! ~Trish



 Report Review

Review #5, by FoundriaPenguin His Best Girl

30th August 2007:
great story!! it was so real though.I almost cried!! "accio sumo" i loved it. :D hehe well keep up the good work on your other stories! this was, again, a great story!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! This is actually more real than you think, so real is what I am striving for. ;) Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking time to read this little one-shot of mine! ~Trish

 Report Review

Review #6, by taylorj828 His Best Girl

17th August 2007:
Hey Trish! Finally I've come for the long promised review! hehe. This was a lovely read, though I admit, a bit painful. Not because of the quality, but because of the reality. Can I just say, being the friend can be tough. Heh... urgh...

So, first of all, nice poem, or whatever that was, in the intro bit. "You're friends." Eugh.

And she is SUCH the best friend. That stinks. She actually waited. Poor dear.

Aw why'd he snort/laugh at her? Doesn't he know that could make her feel bad or insecure or something? Silly boy. I feel so bad for this girl. *sigh*

He always tells her to wait on him, but he doesn't wait on her. It stinks being the friend, unless that's really all you want, lol. I guess I've been in both places as the friend - wanting more, and being content with friendship and not wanting more. It certainly changes how it feels and the expectations.

Ugh this is so painful! When Oliver says he knows... golly... You're tearing me up here!!

Well, it was a lovely one-shot. There were a few things that were slightly off, like a preposition or article missing, or a certain phrase that might normally be said differently, but otherwise the story was lovely, and so painful... You definitely made it realistic and captured the truth and the emotions of the situation! Excellent work! (o:

Author's Response: Wow...I'm speechless, Jenn. Probably because I've already talked to you about this review already. :P Thank you very much for it. Just receiving a review from a really good writer is just an honor! I'm glad you liked it though I know you're not a big fan of OC stories and that you are just obsessed with the trio. :P

Thanks again! Talk to you in MSN! ~Trish


 Report Review

Review #7, by hullo His Best Girl

12th August 2007:
it's ok.

Author's Response: Thanks. ^_^ ~Trish

 Report Review

Review #8, by Astoria_Launay His Best Girl

8th August 2007:
I cried.
Not the Bawl-Your-Eyes-Out, Wail-Your-Head-Off kind of way though.
Just hit really close to home haha.
But It was fantastic. I love it when someones writing triggers my emotions.
Top stuff.

Author's Response: Oh wow, you reviewed this too! Thank you so much!

And it made you cry. I never really know how much this story affects the readers, and I actually didn't mean it to be that sad. :P But oh well, it's a good thing this touched you in some way.

Thank you very, very, VERY much for reading and reviewing this too! ~Trish


 Report Review

Review #9, by AliBlack His Best Girl

4th July 2007:
Aw, shucks! I feel so special. Thanks so much for being my validator. It surprised the heck out of me and it was definately a good one. :D You are the coolest.

Anyway, this was so cute. I was so expecting him to give up the other girl for her but it didn't happen! So unexpected but still the sweetest thing. You definately managed to surprise once again. I loved the use of flashback and how it kind of just blended in. It was like you were really with her the whole time through present and thoughts, like a real person.

I think what makes it more than a story is that people can truly relate to the situation. A lot of stories are about getting the guy or girl and yet more often than not, you don't. Sometimes you really have to resign yourself to a loss. It's almost a happy sadness, the kind when you sit and cry with a smile. This really touched me because it's happened to me before, kind of. He never realized it or was that sweet on V-day, but after I realized the things that would get in the way, I decided that I could go on just admiring what a great person he was and what a great friend, knowing it was never going to happen. It's almost a relief, like a closure knowing your place, loving someone but not going any further. It was such a deep experience because it made me aware of the beauty and complexity of life's situations. How it sometimes ends up being more than the black and white of friends or more.

It's hard to describe how this made me feel, but at least I can say that I relate to this and it touched me more than any other fanfic I can think of. I was expecting it to be good but it caught me off-guard with that and I loved it. I do feel sorry that I can't accurately portray what it feels though.

Kudos and thanks again.

Author's Response: I know how it feels and yes, it's really hard to express it through words so I really know what you mean. :) Why else would I have written this? Too bad for me, I still haven't come to the point of closure and acceptance, so this fic is sort of a "dream" or a "goal" for me more than it is a reality. If you know what I mean...

Anyway, even your review is very well-written! LOL. I really admire your writing so it was a pleasure to be the one who validated your chapter. Plus (!), I wanted to be the first one to read that chapter. Which reminds me, I have to go over and review it too! Haha.

Your review really made my day. Congratulations on being made TA! You totally deserve it. Thank you and you're very much welcome! =D ~Trish


 Report Review

Review #10, by RupertsPheonix His Best Girl

16th June 2007:
Aww. This is so sweet. I saw it advertised in your other story and thought I'd check it out! =)

Favourite lines:
--"Oliver had always been Oliver. He was also my self-inflicted pain, a preposterous diversion, a momentary bliss, my blame-worthy experience, my annoyance, and yet, he remained to be… my happiness."
--"The moment you’re willing to be miserable just to make someone else happy, that’s love right there."
--"Sorry if I’m annoying as an ant sometimes."

Very, very good. I have no critiques for you! =) 10/10!

--Kate/RP

Author's Response: Hey, it's you again! LOL. You have absolutely no idea how much it means to me that you've actually read this too! :) I'm very happy you loved the lines. But, most of them aren't mine. They're just SMS messages sent to me, inspiring this story. =P Thanks again, Kate! *hugs* ~Trish

 Report Review

Review #11, by PirateForever His Best Girl

16th June 2007:
Awww. *cries.* Mazing one shot though, depressing, admittadly, but still very good. Poor Rachel...:'(

Author's Response: Yeah, it's sort of depressing. But, I just had to write it. Thanks for reading this, PirateForever! It's very much appreciated!! ~Trish

 Report Review

Review #12, by HermyJane His Best Girl

27th May 2007:
That was just absolutely beautiful! I really felt their relationship and Rachel's feelings. Poor girl, and I hoped that miraculously, Oliver would fall for her, but for some reason it made it a better story that he didn't. You had me laughing at the bit about the ant, and I love how you made their friendship so real and true to the world. The flashbacks definitely helped it, and the valentine was so sweet. Definitely going in my favorites; I think this story is so lovely! 10/10

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you very much for that. Hearing it from a great writer is such an honor. :) ~Trish

 Report Review

Review #13, by moony_is_mine His Best Girl

15th May 2007:
love this story your a very good writer

Author's Response: Glad you loved it! Thank you very much for the compliment :) ~Trish

 Report Review

Review #14, by Seamusfan1 His Best Girl

24th April 2007:
Nice one, Trish! I ahve been so enjoying Max, but I really like seeing this stretch of your imagination and writing ability! I so enjoyed this new version of Oliver and the OC.

I also liked the fact that she realised that, "The moment you’re willing to be miserable just to make someone else happy, that’s love right there." Instead of the cliche'd versions where they are in love with eachother, and they end up together. Even though the plot is very different, the message of this story reminds me of My Best Friend's Wedding

I think that you should definitely write more one-shots, because I loved reading it and I couldn't even tell that it was your first! However, I vote that you don't let it get in the way of updating NYAG, because I am partial to that one. : 0 )

Fabulous job with this one shot, with the storyline, style and characterization! I identified with Rachel, and it is great when writers write characters in such a way that you can see where they're coming from, or even know exactly what's going on. Fab job! I expect to see more where this is coming from!

Author's Response: Oh wow. That was just an awesome review! I had goosebumps just reading that. Thank you so much!

Well, the plot isn't that different. I mean, in this world, people fall in love with their best friends everyday, right? But yeah, it's different that it ended up the way it did here.

I'm currently thinking about writing more one-shots because I really enjoyed writing this one, but of course, NYAG is still top priority, so don't worry. :)

Thank you very, very, VERY much, Seamusfan1 from the very bottom of my heart. ^_^ ~Trish


 Report Review

Review #15, by HermioneG His Best Girl

20th April 2007:
I've wanted to read this for a looong time, but I always forget. And because I'm ill and home, I decided to finally read it. And it didn't disappoint me.

I wanted Rachel and Oliver to get together, and I was sad when they didn't. But in my imagination they get together when Oliver doesn't like Marlie anymore. ;) I think I actually like this better than Not Your Average Girl, you know. I don't really know why, but I do. Perhaps it was because I could totally relate to the hidden love thing. But I think it's also because it was written beautifully. 10/10

Author's Response: Aww, thank you. Those were such good things to say. :)

Well, I want Rachel and Oliver to get together too! LOL But of course, I want this to be a wee bit different from the usual happy ending so I ended it that way. At least you still had room for your imagination, right? And, I actually like this better than NYAG as well. :) This one shot is very dear to my heart in a lot of reasons.

I'm glad you liked it. It means a lot coming from you! I hope you get well soon, dear! Thanks again! ~Trish


 Report Review

Review #16, by Gypsy_Girl His Best Girl

18th April 2007:
That story was awesome!

Author's Response: So glad you liked it. Thank you very much! ~Trish

 Report Review

Review #17, by sammy lupin His Best Girl

13th April 2007:
i like this, it's cute. would be a wonderful novella, but her, i'll live i guess if you dont write a sequel or something...

10/10!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks. :)

A sequel would be more possible because I'm very, very busy! I barely have time to update one story, what more two? A sequel is already in consideration. Maybe if I have time, I'll make one.

I'm glad you liked it. Thank you very much for taking time to review. ~Trish


 Report Review

Review #18, by jennifer williams His Best Girl

10th April 2007:
awww Trish I loved this story so much! Oliver was just adorable in here lol I think I may have created a monster in getting you to like him so much *hugs* but seriously it's great and I love Rachel

Author's Response: What are you doing here? lol! Kidding. :P

Thanks, Jenn. You know it means so much coming from you. *blush* I know you won't believe me, but I REALLY tried to think of another male canon character for this story but there's just no one who fitted! hahah. Or maybe I'm a wee bit biased when it comes to Oliver. :P

I'm glad you liked it! Get going with you stories too! lol. Love you! XOXOX ~Trish


 Report Review

Review #19, by ChizzaLazty His Best Girl

6th April 2007:
Hi, Trish! That was a brilliant very-first one-shot in your one year in writing fanfiction :) My first one-shot was about Harry and an exploding mouse. Let's just say, I liked yours better :)

Althoug I think "Not Your Average Girl" is better, I thought this one pretty much rocked too. The note was just the best, it was so sweet yet so... annoying. I feel bad for her! Marlie sounds like the worst person ever for being so perfect. Your writing is, as always, brilliant, and although as I said I liked your other fic better, the plot in this one was nice too.

I always get affected by good fics, so now I better go read something with a happy ending to get into a good mood again. But really, it's great :)

Christina...

Author's Response: Aww, thank you very much. It means a lot to me that you have taken time to read this. I have been struggling to write a one-shot in the LONGEST time so this is quite an achievement for me. :)

I'm glad it affected you in some way and I know what you mean about Marlie, but like I said, there IS someone existing which is like her. This one-shot is pretty much based on my *sad* lovelife so yeah, everything's quite real.

Thank you so much for the comments! It's really, really, REALLY apppreciated. ~Trish


 Report Review

Review #20, by darkfire04 His Best Girl

3rd April 2007:
I loved it! There's nothing really more to say, I loved it sums it up. keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Aww, I'm glad you loved it. :) It was so much fun to write, though it is kind of sad. Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! ~Trish

 Report Review

Review #21, by QuidditchSeeker His Best Girl

3rd April 2007:
Loved it!
Hate that she doesn't end up with him in the end, but y'know...there's hope. And besides -- that's life, eh? Unfortunately my life is a lot more like Rachel's then Marlie's...*sigh*
Hey -- a question. How come your penname is "iloveron14" but both your stories are about Oliver?
Great job,
QS

Author's Response: Yeah, there's definitely hope. lol. I just don't want it to be that cliche story where the lead girl ends up with the love of her life. :P I'm glad to hear that you can relate to Rachel. Well, Marlie's sort of a Mary Sue but trust me, I based her character from a real life person. A person like her can really exist. lol.

About my penname, I actually am a huge Ron fan. I used to write him too but I don't know, after reading an Oliver story I just got addicted to him. Haha. Ron will remain to be the love of my life though. Oliver is just a crush. :P Thanks for the review!! ~Trish


 Report Review

Review #22, by Peaceful Nightmare His Best Girl

25th March 2007:
aww this was cute.
I hope you update soon.

Author's Response: This is just a one-shot so I'm sorry to say there will be no updates. :) I'm very happy that you liked it. Thank you very much for the review. :) ~Trish

 Report Review

Review #23, by AndrinaBlack His Best Girl

22nd February 2007:
Sorry, I don't have any constructive critisism. ;) Ok, well.
It's just SO GOOD!!! I have tears in my eyes at the moment. So sad for Rachel. It is so realistic, I mean her love for him.
You write Oliver very well. I think that's about how he is outside of quidditch. I think I have to read your other story with Oliver sometime too!


Author's Response: Aww, I never expected you would actually read it. =P I'm glad you did and that you liked it. As for writing Oliver, I have been having fun writing him (seeing as he is almost everything I write!) and actually, the Oliver here is quite different from the other Oliver. Oh well, you'll find out if you read it. If you do, I hope you enjoy it as well. Thank you very much for taking time to read and review! It is really appreciated! ~Trish

 Report Review

Review #24, by quidditchlover83 His Best Girl

17th February 2007:
Aw! I really liked it! It was really sweet yet sad because she knows Oliver doesn't like her that way! I hope you write more stories soon!

Author's Response: Why thank you. :) I'm really happy you enjoyed it. I enjoyed writing this one-shot and I also want to write more. I'm just waiting for ideas. Thank you very much for reviewing! ~Trish

 Report Review

Review #25, by DecemberForgotten(not logged in) His Best Girl

17th February 2007:
I really like this story. Especially the ending, I was so waiting for an unoriginal ending, but you surprised me by not getting them together. I really love this story. In fact, if I could keep logged in for longer than three minutes, I would add it to my favs! :) Congrats.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm happy you liked the ending. I did it for a change. :) It's too bad you weren't able to add it to your faves, but your wonderful review is already good enough. Thank you very much for it. ~Trish

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>