Reading Reviews for Murderous Fiend
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by darksolider Obsession

27th August 2009:
That was really good and pretty close to historical facts. A very nice read. 9.5/10. I only realized at the summary that she never had a name because i was so into the story. But yeah really good

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jacinta Obsession

7th August 2007:
If you're correct in that Dachau's got the words "Arbeit Macht Frei", I've learned something new. I always thought it was only Auscwitz that had those words above the gateway.

I've been interested in WWII since early childhood (I'm now 19), and I can only say that I know more about its origin that most people does...

Your story is very good! I wish I could be the one yelling those words to Hitler for what he'd done.

 Report Review

Review #3, by kerricarri Obsession

7th July 2007:
A very vindictive character who's insanity was not as hysterically portrayed as I would've imagined it. But I think her insanity comes in the form of a cold ambition that her whole being was centered around and allowed nothing to sway her from the path she chose. Very focused, coldly so. But I admit, the detached style of the whole oneshot was slightly disappointing. As a first person account of a witch who had nothing left to lose and everything to gain from killing Hitler, I didn't expect such a sense of third person detachment in the...tone of the fic. However, this is understandable and I'm not going to rant and rave about this to you.

You, yourself, must consider this a personal piece. Having recently read "Night" by Elie Weisel, a Holocaust survivor, his cool detachment in his tone of writing actually infuriated me. "How can someone act so cool about these things?" I'd always wonder to myself, reading the atrocities he faced in the camps. Feeling annoyance at the author's deliberate detachment from the memories he tells in the book (which are terrible and why I know your research is accurate), I think...that people who survived such a thing can't help but recall those memories in such a way. In such a detached manner. It may not have been purposeful on your part, but I think the tone works, however much I want actual "emotional hysterics" inserted into the fic. However, it is the implications of the fic that make it "M" rated, where the "dark" aspect comes in. And for that, I don't think I can find real complaint in the tone not being "emotional" enough.

Although, I do like how you entwined the wizarding aspect into this fic. Being a witch would put a dent in anyone's religion, but she chooses to view it as a "gift," and I liked her small part in helping her fellow Jews in the camp. Religion doesn't exist at all in HP canon, and I like that you didn't dance about the topic. In fact, you gave this witch OC a major part--a Jew. Very vindictive towards the end of the fic, though, wasn't she? Especially when she tells the wizard guarding the door outside that the deed was "done." But also towards the end she seemed to ramble a little bit--then again, she only wanted to give Hitler his just deserts. Overall, an interestingly unique read with implications that aren't much explored in the fandom. Not particularly riveting, but it made me thoughtful because of said implications and allowed me to enjoy the small twists where the wizarding world made an appearance in the fic.

 Report Review

Review #4, by randomcutie69 Obsession

18th June 2007:
This was sooo good! And very well written and original. Not many people could have pulled it off, it takes a ot of talent. ^_^

And I love you banner! Can you do me a favor? Can you make me a banner for my story "The Crush", or any other story and send them to star2be16@suddenlink.net

I know its a lot to ask, but you make such beautiful banners. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #5, by Regina Noctis Obsession

12th May 2007:
OMG, you are amazing, my friend! Loved it! I don't feel that Eden is insane. . . she lost a lot, and kind of deserves to have the need to murder Hitler. PLEASE KEEP WRITING! YOU ARE SO TALENTED! ^_^ RN

Author's Response: Thanks RN!

It's been a while since I've written so I'll hopefully get around to finishing my other story soon...

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #6, by Faith Obsession

10th May 2007:
Omg! You made me cry!

I love it...Hitler didn't deserve something as dignified as that. He could die a 1000 painful deaths and it still won't be enough.

:P Bottled anger anyone??

I totally agree with this. ((Though i'm not Jewish...Or actually religious at all))

Completely amazing xxx

Author's Response: I'm glad I'm not the only one who feels that way. I guess I figured at one time that if I researched Hitler enough that I might be able to feel some sympathy for him. In one or two ways, I was right. But in many many others, I was wrong. All the research I've done has cursed him to the lowest level of hell in my mind.

I would have rather written his death more horrific and painful, but I had clear guidelines to abide by. Hitler was killed by a single gunshot wound to the head.

I'm so glad you liked it. This one-shot will always have a special place in my heart.

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #7, by dark-hearted rose Obsession

3rd May 2007:
*long, low whistle*

dang, girl. that was...that was very powerful. And I liked the fact that she didn't have a name...it mirrored the loss of her identity, as well as that of the people she was trying to avenge through her actions.

you are officially one of my favorite authors now! yay... *dances around*

anyway, once again, good luck on your exams! perhaps i'll call you sometime...

love,
meh

Author's Response: You'd better call me sometime Girlie! We've got to do lunch!

*beams happily* This one was rather emotionally draining to write...it took a lot out of me to get the writing to a point where I was satisfied with it.

Luff Ya!

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ydnas Odell Obsession

29th April 2007:
This is good, inspired and in a way brave because it is such an odd topic and hard to pull off well.

But you did it. You did get one minor fact wrong. Hitler's hair was blond. He really looked like the Aryan race he promoted. He was a fairly tall, handsome blond which helped to explain why he was so charismatic.

It hard to know that after when the only thing most of us have seen is the black and white news-reels, but I've seen some colorized newsreels and read some contempary descriptions of his appearance.

Great job otherwise.

Author's Response: Although I acknowledge your difference in opinion, through all my research, I've always read that Hitler had brown hair and blue eyes.

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #9, by SlytherinSweetheart6 Obsession

20th April 2007:
I loved that fic! It was so good! I am fascinated with the Holocaust, please dont get me wrong, I think it was amazing how one single person could do so much damage. I'm not Jewish, but my people have been persecuted for a long long time. Anyway, I think it WAS a wonderful twist on an HP fic, I have never read anything like it! You did very very good here! I can wait to read your other story! Again, simply wonderful! ^_^

Author's Response: I'm so happy you liked it! I did so much research on this fic to make sure that I got all the facts correct. I'm slightly OCD when it comes to getting my facts straight. I know I missed one fact on here but if I had kept it straight, the story would have been near impossible to work out.

I think I'm the only writer of Historical Fanfiction on here.

Glad you liked it!

xxxCornie


 Report Review

Review #10, by Black Soul Obsession

15th April 2007:
This has been something different from other stories I have been reading.

Author's Response: I hope you liked it! It was meant to be a completely different take on the HP universe.

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #11, by Rose Phoenix Obsession

10th April 2007:
wow. i'm crying. this is so well written, i've always been intrested by every thing to do with WW2 and this fanfiction helps portray the evil that was adolf hitler amazingly. this is a really well written story. it's going on my favorites for sure! welldone

Author's Response: *blushes profusely*

I'm so glad you liked it! I really tried to capture her emotion fully in verbal accounts because what I lack in description, I can sometimes make up for in dialogue.

I figure if I can't get people to enjoy learning about history, then I can at least get them to enjoy reading a historical fanfic...while still getting them some knowledge about specific time periods!

Thanks for the review!

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #12, by mrshermioneweasley Obsession

8th April 2007:
I wub her. I especially love: "your trap, you Whore" it totally reminded me of meangirls where Regina is all like , "Boo, You Whore!" LOL
She totally rules :P



Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! This character is one of my favorites as well. I always like to go for the unique characters. Give them more depth. The "Shut your trap, you whore" is one of my favorite lines in this fic. Actually, I have a bunch of favorites considering she's pretty much an exaggerated view of my own dialogue. The verbal exchange was definitely the most fun to write.

Glad you liked it!

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #13, by delta Obsession

29th March 2007:
Very interesting. I love how you delve into eras that aren't generally written about. Your portrayal here was very well done, and I loved the characterization of Hitler and the utter madness of the main character. You showed her progression from sane to insane very well. I liked how you still kept her religious despite magic. Anyways, wonderful job. I really enjoyed reading this. :D

Author's Response: YAY! I'm happy you liked it! She was quite interesting to write, considering I've never written as someone clinically insane before. Twas a fun challenge for me.

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #14, by Liadan Lightflower Obsession

17th March 2007:
Well I have to say that this histroically sound...umm although they shaved their heads in the camp, but I guess there wouldn't be a story if she had her head shaven.

Anyway, this was very well-written and you portrayed Eden's? obsession very well. Nice job! 10/10

Liadan Lightflower ♥

Author's Response: Yeah...after completing my research, I realized that I forgot about them shaving everyone's head, but since her hair was what kept her wand hidden from the SS Guards, I figured it was okay to overstep that detail.

Glad you liked it! Twas fun to write and I'm happy you enjoyed reading!


 Report Review

Review #15, by lolhee Obsession

12th March 2007:
I really liked this story and was glad that you where able to fit another religon into it, and also that you where able to add someone that you usually don't find in a fic in it. The description was wonderful, and I really enjoyed reading it...

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it lolhee!

I always thought that Hitler would be an interesting character to write about. Imagining his insanity and life in the era is a good exercise to bring life into perspective.

Incorporating my main character's religion into the fic wasn't that difficult actually. Writing the lead-up to her in Hitler's inner sanctum was the most difficult part.

Glad you enjoyed it!

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #16, by Magic_Marker Obsession

6th March 2007:
I loved the idea behind this. Your other era fics are wonderful, especially since I'm on a major historical fiction binge nowadays.

My only issue is that in the beginning, it seemed like you were explaining the story to the reader rather than letting it unfold through feelings, images, etc. Try to concentrate more on what the characters are feeling than what is actually happening, and we'll get the idea.

Great job! Be sure to update Protector of the Crown soon! =)

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm always on a historical fiction binge it seems like.

The beginning was actually written after the entire dialogue sequence when I realized, "Hmm...I can't just have her go in there and kill him...She needs to have reason." And so came the beginning of the fic. It's my first One-Shot (As you can see from the lack of published stories...I've got one chapter waiting on my newest fic that I've co-written with one of my friends and then a new PTC Chapter will be waiting...promise!)

Thanks for the Review and I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #17, by babblingbumblingbaboon Obsession

1st March 2007:
Great story, I almost forgot I was reading a Fan Fiction!

Author's Response: Yay! I suppose that's one of my goals. To take the reader into another world. That's the goal of all writers, isn't it? Anyways, I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks for the the review!!!

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #18, by ArchAngel Obsession

1st March 2007:
nicely done..^_^ although it not involving the trio was sad.. hehehe.. never the less i like the way it shows that magic isnt just confined in England and Hogwarts.. im half German but i hate the way Hitler was.. so i see that what you did was a well called for..^_^ kudos!!! you did well on the descriptions but i think you could done a better job of describing your OC.. i can picture what's happening but instead of seeing your OC, i kind of see my self.. if you know what i mean.. but still I give it a 10!!! the break from the traditional Harry Potter is could and you did a great job..^_^

-Derr-

Author's Response: I'm actually not a big fan of Trio stories...I'm not the best at writing them so I avoid them in all my stories. I'm much better with Marauders Era and OCs...which in my opinion really take more creativity. Frankly, Harry and Ron bug me a bit so if I do include the trio, I go for Hermione. I'm a bit of a feminist (okay...so I'm completely into the "GIRL POWER" thing) but I do try to get the man in there every once in a while.

I suppose my goal was to get the reader to put themselves in my OCs shoes to get them to think of what they would do. I'm acually 1/2 German myself as well so both sides of the story are in my blood.

Glad you enjoyed it!

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #19, by harrypottersangel Obsession

26th February 2007:
Well that was quite amazing! I had expected a lot of gore in it, but it was ... well i can't say nice because that historical fact was tragic to extremes but it was wonderfully written! You should be extremely proud of this awesome one shot. Few would have jumped at the chance to write something like this (me included), so good on you.
Keep writing!
Love ~K (10/10 in favs)

Author's Response: Thanks!!!

This is actually my first one-shot that I've EVER written...I'll probably re-do the last sentence or two to finish it off better, but other than that I like it a lot as well! The closing scene was a bit more gory but I had to take it out to get it past the validaters. I think it works better without it personally...

I'm so glad you liked it!

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #20, by miss_ravenclaw09 Obsession

26th February 2007:
Wow... That WAS an interesting twist on a HP era! This story is very unique, and I really did enjoy it. I have been fascinated with Anne Frank and the Holocaust, and I find it amazing and sickening at the same time to know that so many people were killed because of their race. Great Job!

Author's Response: Thanks Miss_Ravenclaw09! Glad you liked it!

This was quite a fun fanfic to write. I'm thinking of changing this from a one shot into a short story collection of Witches and Wizards caught in the Holocaust. I think it would be an interesting concept!

Glad you liked it!

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #21, by taylorj828 Obsession

26th February 2007:
Hello.
I saw you asking for reviews in the forums. I was intrigued by your banner, because as it happens, I not only enjoy reading every Harry Potter book, but I read nearly any book about the Holocaust that I can get my hands on. I was terribly afraid that someone who knew nothing of WWII or the Holocaust was writing a story about it, and Harry Potter, and I was a bit nervous, and determined to check it out.

Much to my delight, you're a Jew(ess?) who knows plenty of the Holocaust. I probably can't properly explain my interest in reading about the Holocaust, but I certainly wouldn't mind talking about it with you, say in email or messages on the forums?

I'm glad everything seems quite realistic. I always thought, though, that the numbers on their arms were more than 4-numbers long.

Story wise, these are my questions: Was there a Ministry of Magic at this time? Was she underage? And even if she wasn't, how did they feel about her using magic against a Muggle, albeit a horrendous Muggle?

Excellent details about the camps, etc. - everything fits with everything I've read. Truly terrible.

Oh, and, I didn't even notice that she didn't have a name. I think I like that she was nameless. As you said, she'd lost her identity, she didn't need a name. She's no one, or she's everyone...

Well, nice, interesting, different. (o:

Author's Response: I definitely did my research on this fanfic, as well as all my others. I take my time and make sure that I have every element covered. I think you're right that the numbers are more than 4 digits long but I just loved the sound of 6012...hahaha.

I planned it so that she wasn't underage at the time of her killing Hitler...I also suspected that since it was in the 1930s, that a Ministry of Magic would have been instituted by then (Unlike in my other "Other" era fic). Since we don't know when the ministry was founded, I assumed it started around 1700 or 1800 so.

I may just have to write a sequel (if I have time!) to add to her life after the Holocaust...albeit I'm not sure exactly what plot I can come up with for it. I can't see her being in a relationship after the trauma...nor can I see her living in everyday society...

Thanks for the awesome review! I'll send you a PM as soon as I finish responding to my reviews!

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #22, by xwolfsbanexwerewolfx Obsession

25th February 2007:
LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE A MILLION TIMES FRICKIN' LOVE!

I must say, you are brilliantly good in your seperate HP eras. Hate to say it, but much, much better than your previous works. You have improved times a million and two.

I luuuv it.

Author's Response: Thanks Saffs! I'm glad you liked it!

I actually feared for a little that she was a Mary-Sue but after I finished writing...I think it's pretty clear that she wasn't. Hehe. It's definitely a different type of story...as you know it's my first one-shot and my first Angst fic...I've done some of the horror/dark things before and Drama is my specialty...as you know...

ANYWAYS! Thanks for the review and I'll talk to ya lata Girlie!!!

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #23, by theenix Obsession

24th February 2007:
amazingly written and very original. it's horrible to think of what some people would have gone through in those times and i think you captured his insanity really well


Author's Response: Thanks!

I always do my best to put myself in the characters shoes and give the most natural reaction I can think of. Insanity seemed an obvious choice for my leading lady because of the nature of the time period. The calm before the storm really. Also, since very little is known about the actual events directly surrounding the last few hours before the deaths of the Hitlers, I thought it would be a great opportunity to write a fic in this time period!

Glad you liked it!

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #24, by LupinsLove Obsession

24th February 2007:
This was very well written. I admire your courage... you chose a really difficult topic.
I have seen the "Arbeit macht frei" sign as well... I have seen the graves and the bunkers. I visited different concentration camps, already and I know the feelings they give you... I think you managed to capture them.

Author's Response: Thanks!

The topic was indeed a tough one to write about...it took lots of research to get the timings correct. The stories of the concentration camps are so chilling that I really wanted to spread the word...and even though there's only a tiny bit of HP involved, I think the word needs to be spread everywhere.

Even the camps themselves send a shiver down your spine. I visited Dachau this summer (hence the reason that it was set there...it's the freshest in my mind) and when I reached the jewish memorial, I broke down into uncontrollable sobs.

Thanks for the great review. It's my first one-shot and I really wanted to make a good one!

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #25, by TrueLoveStoriesNeverEnd Obsession

24th February 2007:
This is very good, incredibly original, and very well written, especially for a one shot. I'm very impressed. I like how that you've worked in the proper historical facts (mostly anyway) and I like how... well I just like it =)
Very well done, definately 10/10!
~Rhona~

Author's Response: Thanks!!!

I'm rather a history nut so I obsess over getting dates and times perfect. I did about three days worth of research to get this story right and I'm so glad you liked it! Interweaving the HP series with history is really fun because you get to imagine how life was like back then. And since Eva's cause of death was never known because they burned her body (and cyanide was the main rumor) I thought that the Avada Kedavra curse would work nicely.

Thanks again!

xxCornie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login