Reading Reviews for Your Own Best Friend
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Atropa belladonna On the Outside Looking In

14th February 2008:
*sniff* Poor Luna *sobsobsob*

Ok, done crying *wipes eyes* I LOVE THAT SONG!!! I always play it when I'm down and sad, because like Luna, I don't have that many friends, and sometimes I let it get to me, and I just focus on that one thing and never the good stuff. Oh well, anyways, I love this song, I love Luna, and I love the fact that you put them together in a facnfic!

*huggles*

Thank you so much! ThankyouThankyouThankyou! *huggles again*

10/10
-Atropa

Author's Response: Thank you so much! When I saw this review, it made my day. I'm so glad you like it! You're welcome, and THANK YOU!

 Report Review

Review #2, by person On the Outside Looking In

29th September 2007:
I really like that song a lot.

haha.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Nymeria On the Outside Looking In

22nd September 2007:
Are you crazy? It couldn't have been more not rubbish! Honestly, it was one of the best Luna stories I have ever read, if not the best. I wasn't even going to review as I'm incredibly tired and half asleep, but this one got me wide awake and was so awesome, it deserved a praise. I'm aware that you'd probably want suggestions on how to make it better, but I don't have any, I think it's perfect the way it is. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #4, by seeker4u On the Outside Looking In

14th September 2007:
it really great i loveit but idont want o smell ur feeat like you said to tell us that would be awkward.

Author's Response: Lol. Glad you like!

 Report Review

Review #5, by egad_paisley On the Outside Looking In

11th June 2007:
I love the insight you gave into Luna's mother's death, and why
Luna acts the way she does. And you keep the feelings of her
age in mind, too, having to be accepted, wanting to be normal, ect.
Definitely adding to my favorites (: -- Paisley.

Author's Response: Thanks, Apple! So glad you like! YAYH! :) Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #6, by pads_grl2 On the Outside Looking In

29th April 2007:
This story was really really good, if a bit repetitive, but I feel as if you showed us a Luna that is believable. I really hope you expand on this one-shot because I think it would end up being wonderful. 10/10

Author's Response: I don't think I'm expanding it anymore, but expect to see Luna more and more in my stories (just not with the Anne Frank approach). I love her a lot. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by hjg hjp rw On the Outside Looking In

26th April 2007:
It was really good, you shold make this a novel-type story!

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Redheads_sis On the Outside Looking In

10th April 2007:
That was amazing. It's going strait into my favorites. Keep up the awsome work!

Author's Response: Thank you, loff!

 Report Review

Review #9, by strange_magick On the Outside Looking In

21st February 2007:
this was a very interesting idea, but i noticed an inconsistency within what Luna says-- she states that she's in both the D.A. and the Order of the Phoenix? I don't think she'd be in the Order of the Phoenix at this point because students aren't allowed to join.
Overall, this was very refreshing and different, but Luna just doesn't sound quite like herself.
This was very well written though-- I enjoyed reading it!

Author's Response: Yes, I've been getting feedback about putting that line in. It now has a bit of explanation behind it, so it makes a bit more sense. I agree, Luna does sound quite different. I'm glad that you thought it was good writing! Thanks so much!!!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by BelleCeline On the Outside Looking In

19th February 2007:
Um, your feet smell. Gosh, I can smell it through the computer! Lol, jk. It wasn't rubbish, it was well-thought out. It's realistic, not like some things that I've read and even written. That's one of the major keys to writing. As far as Luna goes, it's prettymuch believable, except in one aspect. The only thing that I'm not too wild about is that Luna doesn't really care about what her dad writes. I guess I can see it your way if I really put my mind to it, but it just appears to me that she really does care. But don't fret over that, it's nothing big enough to worry about changing. Sorry it took so long to get to you. :D

Author's Response: lol. Thanks so much! I'm glad that you found it realistic! I agree with the dad thing, and, if I was gonna expand this into a short story collection, I was considering expanding that further. What I was going for (though it was not conveyed in the text) that Luna's mum didn't really approve of her father's "journalism", so she wants to accept it, for her dad's sake, but feels bad if it is promoting something in her father that her mother wouldn't like. So, in the end, Luna becomes overenthuastic about it, and jumpy on the topic. Also, since her mum died, I was thinking that Luna would want to bond with her dad more, so she pretty much accepted what he wrote about. Sorry if that was confusing.

And it's not a problem about the time frame. I know what it's like to have to do reviews. :) Thanks so very much!!!

~*~KeNzIe~*~


 Report Review

Review #11, by dracoslover1 On the Outside Looking In

6th February 2007:
Well, I don't know know if your feet smell.but I do know that the writing is good. It is fun to see Luna in a new light instead of the awakard social person that she is protrayed as.

Author's Response: Thank you! And also, I'm glad that someone noticed that. I was hoping that that would possibly make someone a little more apt to review. I'm so glad that you liked it; thanks so much!!!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Weasley twins rock On the Outside Looking In

6th February 2007:
Well you said tell me so I will. Sorry, if I am too blunt.
I think that you made some really good points here about her being alone with no friends and stuff and how the memory of her mother dying still haunts her. However, you have lost the Luna that we all know and love on the way. i think if you made her more like the Luna in the books then you would get more reviews and more happy readers. Perhaps take away a bit of the self pity as that is over done in some places. This is my opinion but I think that she should still like the way she dresses and that her and her dad actually believe about the stuff that is written in the Quibbler. That way your Luna is more recognisable to the one in the books yet you say that she is unhappy with her social life and social status. Sorry if you think that I am getting on. I'll break it down.

Good Points
Written well
Great points on her social status and how it hurts her.

Bad points
You lost the Luna we know on the way.
Over done the self pity a little too much in places

Suggestions
Bring back a little of the original Luna.

Is that okay? Hope that helps, you said to be honest so I have been. Well done! 7/10

Author's Response: Thanks for being honest. I can take the criticism, don't worry. You didn't crush my writer's spirit or anything. :) I've been trying a different approach to Luna, and I expected that not everyone would be jumping up and down at it. It's AU-ish, and I'm trying it, to see how it works for me.

I think that I agree, it is a little too "woe-is-me" at parts. I'm glad that you thought that it was written well, however, and I understand that Luna is quite different from what we see in the books.

This was my first try on a different perception of Luna, and I'm still learning. The next chapter is less mopey (in my opinion), and I think that some traditional Luna is easier to see in it. And yes, I did say to be honest! I'm glad that you liked it enough to give it a seven. Thanks so much for the thoughtful review; I really appreciate it!!!

~*~KeNzIe~*~


 Report Review

Review #13, by Anony_Mouse On the Outside Looking In

5th February 2007:
Wow, you've really made us see a side of Luna that hasn't been shown before! This was bitter and even slightly raw, but it perfectly described, I think, a hidden side of Luna-and that was your point, wasn't it? ;-) I don't know the song, but it certainly seems to work for this story very well, judging by the lyrics at least. I especially like how you included Luna's dreams of becoming a writer (something everyone on this site can relate with, I'm sure), how her mother's death affected her (which I know I did), and why she was sorted into Ravenclaw. You could have ended this differently, but I know how hard ending things is sometimes, and the lyrics at the end made up for that. I admit I still like to think of Luna as the dreamy, quirky girl in the HP books, but this was a different take on her, not an OOC one. Are you going to continue? Anyway, good job, and thanks for having me review-on my fav's now! ;-)

-Mara, :-)

Author's Response: Oh gosh, thank you! Yes, the point was to show another side to Luna. I like that it came across raw, because I was also hoping for that. I had no idea what to have Luna aspire to be for a while, and then I realized that a writer fit her. Yeah for you not thinking she was OOC!!! :is really happy: I'm glad that you thought the lyrics were a decent wrap-up. I am going to continue, and have started on chapter 2 already. If you care, the newest part will be based on Sarah McLauchlan's 'When She Loved Me'. Thanks for the great review, and for putting me on your faves! And you're thanking me for having you review??? Wow. Thanks so much, and I'm so glad that you liked it!!!!!!!

~*~KeNzIe~*~


 Report Review

Review #14, by the_zerbiac On the Outside Looking In

4th February 2007:
you asked for my review, so here i am! reveiwing! haha. it was a really good fanfic. but if i can point out one minor detail,

'Because I am now a member of the Order of the Phoenix' ... isnt she still at Howarts at the moment? or did you mean to say the D.A.? just wanted to bring that to attention.

but otherwise, nice work, wild. keep it up.'
~zerb

Author's Response: Ha ha. Thanks so much for reviewing, and so quickly, too! Yes, I just realized that when you pointed it out. I'll fix it, cuz that doesn't make sense, does it? Thanks so much, and I will try to keep it up! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Shannon On the Outside Looking In

2nd February 2007:
I really enjoyed this story. I loved your approach to Luna, and i think that was a great song to use for her.

Author's Response: Yea! As I assureadly have conveyed, I am quite worried about my Luna approach. I'm so glad that you liked it! And I'm glad that you liked the song. Thanks so much!!! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by hjg hjp rw On the Outside Looking In

2nd February 2007:
This is really good, but there definitely needs to be more chapters.

Author's Response: Thank you! I am considering finding new songs to use and writing them. I may also write a whole fic about Luna, if people think that my Anne Frank approach to her is right. Thanks so much!!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login