31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LovlyRita Longbottom In Disguise

16th August 2010:
Hi Alex!

Well this was another good chapter. I like the scenes with Q. I don't like the scenes with moody Harry. Mostly because I don't like moody Harry. I'm not entirely sure what happened to Neville...did Q like...take his body or something? But then what happened to Neville?

I have a feeling I kinda need to have seen star trek stuff to get this story. You're going to have to explain it to me. lol!

But despite my confusion, good job!

 Report Review

Review #2, by LovlyRita What Would Your Father Say?

16th August 2010:
Hi Alex!

Ok, so just letting you know, i had to google who Q was because I didn't know. So that makes this story kind of difficult for me to understand, but it's totally fine. Whatevs. Anyway...

Sounds kind of funny. according to wikipedia, this Q guy can do pretty much everything, except to his own people or whatevs? And you've portrayed whiney annoying Harry, I see. I thought he was the one you were most annoyed with? I hope you have dastardly things in store for him.

Also...does Hogwarts have a bell? Do schools outside the US have bells? Just wondering.

Also...you have an old clue from a scavenger hunt from a house cup in your story. Probably ought to get rid of that...lol.

Great job!

 Report Review

Review #3, by thegeneralofmusic@yahoo.ca A Disturbance in Divination

12th January 2009:
I hope there is more. Adding Q was good touch. It makes the story.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Edward Ollivander A Disturbance in Divination

13th December 2007:
This is such an entertaining story to read having Q interacting with Harry. Q has always been one of my favorite characters from the Star trek realm. i'm not sure that he isn't disrupting a bit too much of the history though. i'll be looking for updates on this story. By the way, i enjoyed the last podcast. if it were up to me, i would probably call it "The House Table". Anyway, keep up the nice work. Happy writing.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Fallstar A Disturbance in Divination

12th September 2007:
You have Q pegged. Laudations and congradulations are in order in superfulousness and perfection.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Serenity0047 Longbottom In Disguise

17th May 2007:
This is going to be so exciting! Neville is Q! You do such a good job with Q. I really liked how Ron eagerly accepted the hot chocolate. Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Serenity0047 What Would Your Father Say?

17th May 2007:
You just nailed Q! I could hear him saying those things in my head! I think I'm really going to like this story. I love Q. Just love him. My fiance and a friend of his met him once and got his autograph, and they said he talks just like he does on the show. Ok, kinda strayed from the review there. This is a great first chapter. Onto the next one!

 Report Review

Review #8, by a potter po A Disturbance in Divination

8th May 2007:
I must say this story is the most creative I've come across for a while! I'm loving how you're weaving the two universe together. All the mindality stuff are quite mind boggling to me, but in a good way. I hope you'll update soon!

 Report Review

Review #9, by loony86 A Vision of the Past

20th April 2007:
I like the way you use parts of canon to make it even clearer how Q changes the canon we know. And the way he states Ron's and Hermione's love for each other is just hilarious! I also loved the scene in the past; sounds exactly like something Q would do. I wonder just what he said to Lily though...

Author's Response: That is a mystery, isn't it? Believe me, you are not the only one wondering. I know I am being a bad boy but I haven't planned everything out to the letter so far either. We'll find out towards the end... or WILL we?

 Report Review

Review #10, by loony86 Longbottom In Disguise

20th April 2007:
Great chapter! I loved the way Q treated Hermione, because I simply don't like her at all. Q as Neville? Oh dear... this is going to be fun. =) No magic in the future? Hm... I suppose it depends on your definition of magic...

Author's Response: Like I said to someone else, I think the magical community might just be underground as it is now.
And... you don't like... Hermione? Oh dear! My soul just cried a bit. Yes. My SOUL! Crying! I like her a lot... so I hope I wasn't too mean. ;) Still, glad you liked it, even if I did beat up on my favorite character a bit!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ydnas Odell A Disturbance in Divination

19th April 2007:
This is very good, though there is a bit to much direct quoting from OOP. But you've done the same with the Star Trek parts too in other chapter.

Just for proprieity sake there should be some marking of the appropriated text (itlics or starred?)

I love how Umbridge reacts to the prophecy. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Da Jones

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! Glad you enjoyed the reaction to Q's 'divination'. That was a fun section to write!

I agree that I should do something to indicate there is a lot of quoting. This is hard, because it's not exactly stealing the work from JK... I mean, the story takes place in the fifth year, and so dialogue and events from year 5 have to be there. You will notice that I am trying to change the dialogue where I can (usually by having Q say something to send the conversation in a different direction) while retaining the general idea. I am also cutting out some events with paragraphs like, "They went to Divination and then to Defense against the Dark Arts, where Hermione and Umbridge argued again," and then including just a couple lines of chatter before the scene that changes.

I am reluctant to use starring or italics because it really detracts from the readability of the story. What about making an AN in the summary as well as at the end of EVERY chapter as a disclaimer: "This story takes place in year 5 and, as such, large sections are prone to being similar to the original work by JK Rowling. No infringement is intended." Think that might be enough?


 Report Review

Review #12, by tuarwen A Disturbance in Divination

18th April 2007:
this is just too funny.
i love it.

Author's Response: I'm glad the story amused you... the point of every Q story is to be mirthful as well as dramatic. It's a hard mix but it's fun when you can pull it off... and it sounds like I'm doing okay so far as you're concerned. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Graywand A Disturbance in Divination

16th April 2007:
LOJL! Okay Q predicting Umbridge will be dragged off by Centaurs and beaten up is just funny. And will they restore the timeline at some point?

Author's Response: I'm trying not to let the story deviate too far from established facts. It's like we meander a bit off the regular timeline, then get back to somewhere close to where we began. The end result, I hope, is that Ron, Hermione, and Harry change their attitudes about a few things (ESPECIALLY Harry... whiny brat...), but that the rest of the world goes mainly unchanged. Thanks for your continued readership.

 Report Review

Review #14, by annandnattie What Would Your Father Say?

16th April 2007:
YAYAY ! OMG IT MY 2 FAVORITE THINGS MIXED! Q at hogwarts, this is going to be so good!

nattie

Author's Response: I'm glad I could combine two good things. Because you know what they say... if one is good two is better. I don't believe that's always true. Like, pineapples and Tabasco sauce. I love these things. But together... no. Anyway, though, hope the story lives up to your expectation!

 Report Review

Review #15, by loony86 What Would Your Father Say?

15th April 2007:
Absolutely amazing! Being the great TNG fan I am, I just had to stop by and read this when I saw the banner in your sig on HPFF. Have I mentioned I love Q? And his interactions with Harry are just so hilarious. What's more, both of them look like they're in character. If you manage to pull that through, then, wow. =)

Author's Response: Thanks! It's reviews like this that make me want to continue writing when (like now) my muse has left me to go on a business trip to Hawaii. I am going to try to keep it in character and expect you (the reviewers) to yell at me if I screw up. :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by bob 357 The Study Session

14th March 2007:
great story how are you going to bring in the DA? and occlumancey with snape you could have q teach him then use a ghost of Christmas past deal to show him what he would have been through.

Author's Response: Hmmmm, perhaps. I think we'll still let Snape teach him Occlumency... but then Q gets to do some fantastic things with Harry in the pensieve. As far as the DA goes... it'll probably go much the same way it does in the book, but Harry will likely be more resistant. After all, in this new timeline he think Umbridge isn't all that bad. Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by A The Study Session

14th March 2007:
I liked reading from Ron's POV for a change, great chapter

Author's Response: I am glad you liked that! I think I'll be giving more characters a chance at running the narration for a change.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Graywand The Study Session

14th March 2007:
Okay, this is an interesting chapter. I'm really interested in seeing what happens with that death letter. This is good.

One more thing you should be aware of involving my crossover. It's a sequel to my first fic on this site, which isn't a crossover. It's called, Chaos, Love, and War.

Oh, here's a question. How would you like to see a few years from now, Harry Potter novels set after the series, in the style of the DS9 relaunch series written by various authors like Peter David, Keith RA Decandido, and Andy Mangels and Michael A Martin, those two becoming rapidly my favorite Trek authors.?



Author's Response: Thanks for your review! I haven't been around here much at all, but I will be writing and reading more now. I just lost my muse for a bit. I have some awesome ideas for the coming days at Hogwarts, so it should be fun. What death letter are you talking about? If you mean the letter Harry would have written (but not in code) becaue he didn't speak to Hermione the night before, well, that was just something that COULD have been. Q made sure the RIGHT letter got sent... the same one from the book as you read it when JK wrote it.

 Report Review

Review #19, by A Harry's Most Confusing Lesson Yet

6th March 2007:
Very interesting story, looking forward to reading more

Author's Response: Glad to hear it! Looking forward to you reading more!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Ydnas Odell Harry's Most Confusing Lesson Yet

5th March 2007:
Another great chapter. And was that game show line and inside joke in relation to the fact that HPFf has now banned game show fics?

If your quoting from Star Trek books thats fine, but you do need to leave an authors note stating from where you are quoting. Wheather ti is Star Trek or Harry Potter.

Great job!

Author's Response: I actually hadn't heard anything about the gameshow fics. In fact I did not know there was any such thing as a gameshow fic at all. What's that, where Hermione, Ron, and Harry all play Jeopardy or something?

"I'll take 'Potent Potables' for 500 please, Alex," Hermione said.

Because, let's face it, Hermione would totally win. In fact if Harry or Ron were on the positive side for Final Jeopardy, I would be shocked. They're not dumb, mind you, but Hermione strikes me as the kind of girl who would be quick on the buzzer. Kinda like Ken Jennings was.

ANYWAY, no, it is never ever my intention to use writing as a form of political commentary, because I think it gets used for that enough already.

I'm a little puzzled by your statement about quoting, because I DID leave an A/N in the chapter summary. Are you just saying it's preferable to put it in the body of the chapter itself instead of in the chapter summary? I'm having a hard time with some of this, too, because I am never sure how far I can go. Sometimes, for example, I'm using a concept that was previously introduced, but not the exact wording. I attributed the descriptors to John DeLancie and Peter David, though, because their is the only book that makes mention of any of this. And, of course, when a conversation from OotP starts the same as it did in the first timeline... hopefully people will pick up on that for themselved! :D

Thanks for your continued readership and feedback!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Graywand Harry's Most Confusing Lesson Yet

4th March 2007:
My, God, this is getting good. I remember most of this stuff about Mindality from I,Q, funniest Star Trek book I ever read. Though I never expected Q to teach it to Harry. I'm curious to see what Harry does with it.

I like the fact that you seem to use the novels. I think you and I are two of the few authors who actually use the novels in writing Star Trek crossovers. In It's Hour Come Round at Last, I use the Star Trek: Eugenics Wars The Rise and Fall of Khan Noonien Singh by Greg Cox as the basis for the story along with the episodes Space Seed and Wolf in the Fold for detail.

Author's Response: I haven't read that series yet, but it is in my BPOB (Big Pile Of Books) yet to be read. Maybe I should move them to the top of the stack and read them before I start on your fic, eh? I promise, I am a fast reader!

I agree, though, I think people should use the established facts from the novels, especially when your character is Q and that whole book was about him :). Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by unkownwriter6377852 What Would Your Father Say?

26th February 2007:
you own star trek borg don't you. your quoting the dialog word for word. and just like he did for cadet furlong in the game, q is giving harry a chance to prevent his parents deaths.

Author's Response: Well, not really. He's not going to get a chance to prevent anything. As far as those lines at the beginning, yes, they are a throwback to Q's introduction in ST:B. I had originally put them in there like they are now as a placeholder, and I did intend to change them to something original, but in the end they just didn't have the snap that the originals had, and I didn't have the heart to cut them. Plus I figured that Harry really DID have a temper, so the line really applied well to him.
There are other things Q does in the story that are similar to his actions in ST:B, including letting characters see the past through another characters' eyes. But fear not, this is not just going to be a re-hashing of the plot of ST:B. I just figured that Q might have a few lines that he's used on several people. After all, if they're never going to meet, why change things? But, no, there will be no changing the past to save his parents, no giving himself a better outcome in life than he had before. Once the situation starts to change, then Q has to adapt his routine just as much as anyone else would.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Ydnas Odell Rookie of the Year

23rd February 2007:
Great chapter. Forget about the Q stuff, this is great just as a Harry Potter story, but I was a bit surprised that Q didn't change the rules to 'Q' ditch.

You have a nice style and pace to your writing and nice sense of humor.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! That's an interesting idea... perhaps we will indeed have to change the rules around a bit... maybe not though. I'll think about it.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Graywand Rookie of the Year

23rd February 2007:
Okay, Q playing Quidditch. That's just funny on so many levels. It was totally in character for Q to showboat like that just because he could. And I like it that he continues to mess with the established timeline. He's done it before.

By the way, my crossover's up if you're at all interested. It's called It's Hour Comes Round at Last and basically the Trek characters who come up are minor characters from TOS, TNG, Voyager and Enterprise. All characters who are known to exist according to Star Trek canon and non-canon in the 1990s, where the Harry Potter universe is set.

Author's Response: I'll definitely be reading and rating that one. Glad you enjoyed the Quidditch... once again I was worried I'd gone too far. I keep thinking that with every chapter... I imagine at some point I really shall put too much into this and you all will have to tell me to back off a bit :).

 Report Review

Review #25, by Quick Wit A Vision of the Past

23rd February 2007:
Oh ... my ... God. Awesome! And quite funny, though this chapter was a bit sad. I've often thought about doing a ST:TNG/HP crossover myself, but never have I thought of using Q, always Wesley for some reason (even if he annoys the hell out of me). This was great, really well done, you write Q perfectly and the entire story flows very nicely. It's going on my favourites, if only because of the beginning where you describe Picard and Riker as 'the bald one' and 'the big grumpy one'. Wonderful job, I simply cannot wait to read more.

Author's Response: Actually, I was thinking of Worf when I said, 'The big grumpy one' but Riker works as well. I think I'd really like to see something with Wesley in it... he's excellent enough at all his academic pursuits that he could probably be a competitor with Hermione. I say go for it! I'd read it for sure, anyway.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>