Reading Reviews for The Puppet
  
33 Reviews Found

Review #1, by essenni The Puppet

15th August 2009:
You have a very beautiful language. Perfectly written!

 Report Review

Review #2, by snapeangel The Puppet

28th May 2009:
awsome story! your a great writer..write more SS stories!!

Author's Response: Hey there again!! *big smiles*

You're really making my day!! another two reviews!! woohoo!...yep I know...easily amused.
Again, thanks for the lovely compliment. I'm glad you liked it even though it's no longer canon, I wrote it was before the final book was published...lets just say that if I were incharge...a certain Professor would NOT have met such an end...boy was I devastated. I think I'm still carrying a tinsey winsey grudge on that one! lol!
Hope to be able to get back to writing again soon to either up-date 'Punishment' or maybe try my hand at another one-shot.

Sincerest thanks!
Take care,
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #3, by HermioneDavis The Puppet

27th January 2009:
That was really good. Make sure you write more like it. Ur a really good writer.

Author's Response: Hi there HermioneDavis!
Thanks very much for taking the time to read & review my little fic, I'm thrilled you enjoyed it & thanks for the lovely compliment. All my other fics feature Severus & are dark & angsty...so you'd probably like them too. I'd like to eventually write more one-shots but at the moment 'Punishment' is taking up all my time! lol! Hopefully I'll get a chance to write more soon.
Thanks again,
Take care,
~Lai


 Report Review

Review #4, by Moondanser83 The Puppet

12th October 2008:
Perfect.

That is the only word I can think of to discribe this story. Not a single flaw.

You have a wonderful way with words that just sucks the reader in. And I agree with you that this would be exactly how Snape felt had he survived the final battle.
I loved the line "the lines became so blurred, my world was a permanent shade of gray." It's something I can see perfectly because there have been times when we all have felt that our lives had become devoid of color. It is a concept I can relate to delivered in a beautiful line.

Wonderful job all around! 10/10
~Moon~

Author's Response: Hey there again!
So great that you got the chance to read another fic! Woohoo! AND you liked it...wonderful!
It's amazing when a reader 'reads' something into a line that never even occured to me! I love it when that happens, it's one of the many advantages of feedback! I honestly never thought of the whole 'devoid of colour' concept but you're right, it does fit in there rather well!
I was using it on a much more simplistic level! lol! You know where right is represented by white and wrong is black. Severus was so confused by all his spying & double-agent work that his worlds became so mixed-up, the black & white mixing to become gray but I love your take on it too so many thanks for sharing that!
Lovely to hear from you
Take care,
~Lai


 Report Review

Review #5, by chibs3000 The Puppet

16th March 2008:
I'm speechless...this was absolutely amazing. It was beautiful the way you captured his emotion...but also incredibly tragic.

I loved the lines:

'Voldemort is dead and there are those that despise me.
Dumbledore is dead and there are those that despise me.
For once, both sides united in a common hatred.'

This was just amazing.
Best thing I've read today. :]

Author's Response: Hi there chibs3000!
Sorry its taken a few days to reply to your lovely review but I have no internet at home at the moment but today I'm visiting my folks & I've nabbed a few minutes on their computer!lol! Thanks so much for your review, I'm very happy that you liked the story so much that it actually left you speechless! wow! what a lovely thing to say, it brought a big smile to my face!
Cheers!
~Lai


 Report Review

Review #6, by true_scandal The Puppet

24th February 2008:
you really do a wonderful job with imagery in your pieces. I remember feeling so sad for Snape after reading the 7th book, and i think that your writing does him justice. Thanks for another excellent and intriguing read!

Author's Response: Hi again true scandal!
Oh thanks very, very much! I'm thrilled you liked the imagery...sometimes I think I go a bit over-board with that kind of stuff! lol!...so I'm glad you liked it.
Ah, a fellow Snape Sympathiser! Yay!
Thanks for such a lovely compliment!

Cheers,
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Bella_Portia The Puppet

30th September 2007:
Nice; such angst!

Author's Response: Hey there again !! I'm so glad you liked the angst Bella !! It's my fav genre & I can over use it a bit at times, I know !lol! but Severus is such an 'angst ridden' character, I can't seem to be able to write about him and not have angst !!
Hugs,
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #8, by DarkLadyofSlytherin The Puppet

4th July 2007:
Wow. I really like that. I believe that that would definitely portray Severus Snape. I really like the way the prose flowed from one sentence to another.

Author's Response: Hiya DarkLadyofSlytherin !
Welcome back to HPFF ! Thanks soo much for your positive coments !*smiles* and I'm happy that you enjoyed the prose, I was hoping it wouldn't be too flowery ! lol!
Cheers,
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Andromedatonks The Puppet

4th July 2007:
It's absolutely a masterpiece! 10/10

I have never actually considered, what's going to be with Snape when the war ends. But now I think that if he survives this is how it will be.

The 'puppet' reference is brilliant. I feel for Snape more than ever now.

Author's Response: Hi there Andromedatonks ! *waves*

Well wow ! I'm not sure what to say, 'Thanks' just doesn't seem adequate enough ! You've left me a bit gob-smacked ! lol! I'm really glad you enjoyed it & more importantly that you support Severus !! Fingers crossed that he WILL survive !
Hugs,
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Tearlit The Puppet

30th June 2007:
Oo this was so good! You wrote Severus very well and the language was captivating. Lovely job!

Author's Response: Hi there Tearlit !
Many thanks for your kind words, I'm really happy that you liked the story !
Hugs,
~Lai


 Report Review

Review #11, by Vera_Black_Potter The Puppet

28th June 2007:
!!!

The Puppet is such a perfect name! Poor Snape. I trust him, and you've just helped me. XD

I loved it. You wrote it so perfectly, you're making me believe that this how it will end! One question, though. The War is over, a side must have won. So, understandably, wouldn't he have helped that side? So he should be welcomed (back) into the fold? Or maybe he was loyal to the Light and the Dark won? Whoops... I suppose that would bring a problem, XD

10/10

~Vera

Author's Response: Wow that was fast Vera!! lol!
Thanks very much for such a lovely review, especially coming from a fellow Severus fan ! I too hope he turns out to be good & this is the angle I took when writing this little piece.
To try & answer your questions, yes in this fic the war is over & in my mind, the Light has won & yes, Severus is on the side of good (fingers crossed) but you see there are those on the same side who will always despise him for killing Dumbledore & they are not so welcoming plus he has to deal with the hatred from surviving Death Eaters, now they know he's a spy & I would like to believe he had a hand in Voldemort's death.
Yikes that was a mouthful but I hoped it has helped clear up things for you !

Again, many, many thanks !
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #12, by HrXd The Puppet

28th June 2007:
I liked the beginning of the one shot, and I love the fact that I could feel the emotion in the peice that you wrote very nicely done. I also loved the description, but I didn't like the ending it was odd. Over all a good story.

Author's Response: Hi there monkeyface ! Thanks for dropping by from the forums ! I appreciated you taking the time to review & I'm glad you liked it ! Sorry about the ending...it's just Severus wollowing in a bit of self pity ! lol!
Cheers,
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #13, by pigwidgeon385 The Puppet

7th May 2007:
Wow - that was brilliant. The writing was phenomenal, and the angsty-ness was well done. The spacing is a little odd between paragraphs, and it kind of bugged me a bit. But, woah, very very very nice work here!

Author's Response: Hi there pigwidgeon385 ! Thanks for dropping by from the forums ! That was quick ! lol! Thanks so much for your kind words, I'm really glad you liked the angst ! It's my fav genre ! Sorry about the formatting, hopefully I'll get a chance to change it soon.
Cheers,
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Broken_Innocence The Puppet

22nd April 2007:
oh very nice closing line, it was short but straight to the point which for once actually worked...so happy on that. Your vocab was superb in this and the descriptions were fantastic!

Author's Response: Hello again Broken_Innocence! Thanks very much for reviewing this little fic, you said some really nice things! Yep it certainly is short no denying that but I'm thrilled you enjoyed it regardless !
~Cheers
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Ydnas Odell The Puppet

18th April 2007:
This is relly good. I love how tormented Snape is here. Great job!

Author's Response: Hi there Ydnas Odell !

Thanks so much for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed the angst ! It's my fav genre !lol!

~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #16, by awAND4awAND The Puppet

16th April 2007:
wow! beautifully written
[to say the very least]

one of the best stories i've read.
10/10

Author's Response: Hello again awAND4awAND ! Ah thanks soo much for the positive comments & high rating! *hugs* Glad you enjoyed it!
~Cheers
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #17, by fallenstarr The Puppet

12th April 2007:
Wow! The imagery and description is wonderful again. I loved the metaphore of the whole thing. Your writing is exciting to read and deep, something I really enjoy. I find it so fascinating to delve into the minds of others even though it can be dangerous territory. I liked your Snape though I'm still torn about whether I would consider him canon or not but that's just me being indecisive again, not a fault of the authors, of course.

The only question I would like to ask is what exactly happened to Voldemort? You mentioned ever so briefly that he was dead, and yet I was under the impression this story took place right after the murder of Dumbledore. So I would suggest just a fleeting hint of a backstory at least to explain how he died. Did Snape kill him? Did Snape help Harry kill him? if not, why would those on the dark side hate him? Those are just a few things I suggest you clear up as far as plot but your writing, still gorgeous and very powerful. It is something that can really hit a reader hard and make them think about what you've said.

I hope to see you soon to review my stories. I'd like to see your opinions of my Snape one (I'm quite sure that was one you were most likely interested in) and maybe in my Draco one, my other darker one. Interested to know what you think!

Author's Response: Hi again fallenstarr ! and thanks again for another fantastic review, once more you've said some very nice things & I appreciate that !
It's true he may not be canon...we certainly haven't seen a soft/penatent side to him yet...but I am hoping that in the final book it will be revealed that he was on the side of good all along & just following Dumbledore's orders...orders which hurt him deeply to carry out......ah well a girl can dream !!lol!
I guess the line about Voldemort is a little of my own wishful thinking...can't help it...I want the guy dead, sooner the better !!
The story does take place after Albus' death but I never really set a time frame in my mind as to how much after this event the story takes place. I would imagine Severus would be troubled by what he did/had to do for quite some assuming ofcourse he's good !!*fingers crossed*
I love your questions about how Voldemort died...they could get me started on another one-shot !lol!
And yes I am keen to read your own Snape fic...heading over there now !
~Cheers
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #18, by harrylilyjames The Puppet

12th April 2007:
I dont usually read Snape fics but...I LOVED it!!! even tho i think that Snape is totally evil and on the dark side... but i just absolutely loved this story... it shows the side of him that we dont see, the side of where Snape 'is' human and that he does have feelings, not like in the books where he's cold hearted and has no feelings for no-one... but he has to care, hes human, right?...
i really really liked this story... well done :)

Author's Response: Hi there harrylilyjames !! Thanks very much for dropping by from the forums ! So glad you enjoyed the story, especially since you aren't a Snape fan !! I'm on a mission to convert all Severus haters !! lol!! ah yes an impossible dream...I know !lol! but it's great that you saw a different side to him !
~Thanks a million!
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #19, by IWannaPlay The Puppet

12th April 2007:
That was incredible and depressing all at once. Poor Severus, shivering alone at the end of it all, after sacrificing so much... This really brought tears to my eyes. I have tried to hate him as Harry did, but it is nearly impossible with Dumbledore's certainty echoing in my head the whole time.
I for one pray that by the end, somehow everyone will know one way or the other which side he was/is on. I personally still cling to the belief that he was acting on Dumbledore's orders, but I guess we will have to wait and see.
10/10

Author's Response: Hi there IWannaPlay !! Thanks so much for such a lovely review, I'm so happy that you found this little story so moving. I too am hoping that we'll all find out where his loyalties lie soon & *fingers crossed* it'll be on the side of 'good'. Plus I'm really hoping he doesn't get 'killed off' either !!
~Hugs
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #20, by hpdude_4life The Puppet

6th April 2007:
whoa.
i think i actually feel-
no! i cnt! he's evil! he's gd! he's.. i dunno!
he's snape!
(ewww!) but-
i dunno.. he seems lost. like he doesnt know wot 2 do. like he has no meaning.
a puppet.
~wow. that fic did rock! it puts into perspective wot we normally 4get about snape.
he's human!
hehe. and i think (or hope) that this fic is edging 2 the side of dumbledore when he speaks of his 'true Master's final wishes'. thats when snape killed dumbledore on the tower rite?
well, as i say, i hope so.
cos snape cnt be evil! i mean, think of all the stuff the dark side will know if he is!
he isnt. its the only logical (or hopeful) explanation.
on the other hand, thats another argument in itself.
the tru meaning of this review is too praise this fanfic 4 wot it is-
-a masterpiece.
hpdude_4life ~ 8D

Author's Response: Hey there hpdude_4life !! Thanks so much for such a cheery review, it's great that this little story reminded you that there's possibly alot more to Snape than what we see on the surface & yes, I was speaking about Dumbledore when I mentioned his true master...at least I hope that's the way it'll turn out in the end !! lol! like you, I'm hoping he's not evil.
~Cheers
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #21, by VeniceLily The Puppet

3rd April 2007:
*jaw drops, stares blankly at computer, trying to but together coherant thought* I..w-o-w. That is beautiful. Simply beautiful. Ah I love it. It's so.all I can say is beautiful. I'm stunned by how good it is! I especially love the third paragraph, and the very last line. So sad, but so true! Definite 10/10 from me, and it's going under favorites!
xxVL

Author's Response: Aw thanks so much VeniceLily ! I'm really glad you enjoyed this little fic and adding it to your favs is a BIG compliment !! so thanks for that too !
~Hugs
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #22, by CJ_Black The Puppet

3rd April 2007:
This was wonderful. First of all, it was exactly my kind of fic - angsty and psychological. Second, it involved one of my favorite characters - Snape. I've never really ventured into writing the true Snape I have in mind, but only the one the Marauders see, which is completely wrong. But I admire your courage. Because writing Snape takes a lot of that. He is a both complex and complicated character, but you did a great job at writing him. The only objection I have is the length - it is so short! Not that I didn't like it, I did like it a lot, but I would've loved reading more of it. I love the words you used, your rich and diverse vocabulary, I think they weaved the descriptions perfectly. Of course, I love Snape's portrayal. Being pulled from one side to the other and not really belonging in any - that's the Snape I always pictured. You should definitely write more of these kind of fics, I promise I'll be the first to read them. I really thought this was brilliant. I'm off to read the others now (more Snape fics - YAY!) and review ASAP. Sorry it took so long to review, there were much more requests than I expected. Thanks for pointing this story out, I really enjoyed it. Once again, compliments and congratulations on the portrayal and the vocabulary.

Author's Response: Hi threre Black Kitty ! I guess we have a few things in common eh ? both love angst & both love Snape and they go sooo well together don't they !!?? he makes it all so easy lol! Thanks very much for dropping by, this is such a lovely review, you've said so many nice things, I can't thank you enough...and as for the vocabulary...well I never sit down to write anything without having my trusty 'Collins Shorter Thesaurus & Dictionary' by my side !! it's precious to me, I can be a woeful speller at times !
~Again many thanks
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #23, by draco_zelda The Puppet

2nd April 2007:
this is...deep for a 12+ story...i like it lots of poetry

Author's Response: Hi there draco zelda! Thanks very much for dropping by & taking the time to review, I'm glad you liked the story...I suppose it is a bit 'deep' in places...can't help it though, I'm just way too addicted to angst !! lol!
~Cheers
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Hermione713 The Puppet

30th March 2007:
Wow...just wow. I'm speechless. (That's a good thing.) Very powerful; I'm adding this to favourites. Wonderful job!

Cheers,

Hermione :)

Author's Response: Hey there ! Thanks a bunch for such a nice review & adding it to your favs is such a BIG compliment !!
~Hugs
~Lai.


 Report Review

Review #25, by secret_witch The Puppet

28th March 2007:
Fantastic story, you really have got a talent for writing you know.10/10

Author's Response: Hello again ! Thanks again secret witch, that's a lovely compliment & I'm so pleased you've enjoyed another one of my little tales.
~Hugs
~Lai.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>