Reading Reviews for Watching Leaves Grow on Ivy
  
37 Reviews Found

Review #1, by oboeroy Chapter 9

27th April 2009:
I guess this must be an Alternate Universe or something because it seems to me that. Buckbeak has just vanished. I don't understand how Black could ever become reunited with buckbeak after dissapparting shortly after escaping with him oh well it was still a very enjoyable story.
Thank you for writing it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by oboeroy Chapter 4

27th April 2009:
I am not certain but I thought black's appearance in the dormitory was a seperate instance from the Halloween incident. I thought that the way he was able to get into the Dormitory was because his previous visit had so shaken The Lady in the pink dress that they had to replace her with Sir Cadagin who made up so many ridiculous passwords that Neville had to write them down on a piece of paper which was promptly stolen by Crookshanks and given to Black
Like I said I could be wrong, but I think that is how it went

oh well interesting story so far nice job

oh and another thing how did she visit with Dumbledore about the placing of Dementors if she hasn't been to Hogwarts in 20 years

 Report Review

Review #3, by frozzen8roze Chapter 6

22nd February 2008:
i feel like you could have done more here. more excitement, more fear, more interest. i know you can do it, it's just a matter of actually doing it. i have to say, i'm actually a little disappointed with this chapter. hmm.
~k

Author's Response: Awww. I'm sorry. I hope that won't ruin your opinion of my writing. :( Anyway, thanks for the honest review; they're hard to come by. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #4, by frozzen8roze Chapter 5

22nd February 2008:
i like this one, very natural. but (i know, i always have a but, i'm sorry) i think you give too much away with the phone call. "and then suddenly the line went dead. I supposed it must have been a bad connection, and didn't bother myself too much about it, but later I would find out that my thoughts were way off the chart." i already know something bad is about to happen, so it kills the suspense a bit. especially because the action isn't in this chapter. try a less indicative way of saying and it'll be perfect. as per usual, love your stuff!
~k

Author's Response: I wrote that because I wanted to make it longer. I know, stupid thing to do. And I'm sorry this is such a bad read for you. I hope you won't feel the same way about doj, which was recently updated. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #5, by frozzen8roze Chapter 4

22nd February 2008:
i love that this parallels the third book, but i can feel it slowing down. please don'te let it! you're really good, keep at it. try to work on detail without slowing things down. otherwise, lovely as usual.
~k

Author's Response: Yeah, I know. It went way downhill. I lost my muse and then I was practicing until five-thirty every night for softball, on top of not having a study hall, so I was stressed and this story was put on the back burner. But thanks for reviewing! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #6, by frozzen8roze Chapter 3

21st February 2008:
WEREWOLF IN LONDON! thats all i could think of!! great song. anywaysedly, good! i totally guessed it was sirius two paragraphs before you wrote it, darn it!!! so close and yet so far. lovelovely. great ending, though i get the feeling lupin shoudn't be in london if he's about to go wolfy. nice job!

Author's Response: lol. I've never heard of the song, but I'm sure, from your opinion, that it is indeed great. lol. I really like this review. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #7, by frozzen8roze Chapter 2

21st February 2008:
much better in this one, little to no errors, but i think you could play with mcgonagall some more. she makes an interesting character and this parallel to the info she divulges in the book could be a good look at ther character. wow that sounded snotty. sorry, i'm trying to work on writing more effective reviews. but good!
~k
PS: I love BOB!!

Author's Response: It didn't sound snotty to me; it's all right. Actually, I appreciate you being honest with your reviews, but as I mentioned before, this story is written and done with, and I don't think I'll ever look back on it. Anyway, thanks for taking the time to review! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #8, by frozzen8roze Chapter 1

21st February 2008:
you have some grammatical errors in this chapter that definetly detract from your writing, and i wish you would develop savannah's dialogue a bit more, but you're clearly very good. a quick read over can easily satisfy any of the minor problems. nice job, keep it up!
~k

Author's Response: I know that I have grammatical errors, like the ladder and latter thing. However, I wrote this story about a year ago, with the ever-demanding softball season, but I don't think I'll go back to edit it... However, I do thank you for your review. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #9, by hullo Chapter 9

10th November 2007:
wow! loved all of it!

Author's Response: thankies! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #10, by Elf_ears13 Chapter 9

6th August 2007:
Aww, I like the ending! I could sort of see her character going in this direction - being ruled by her heart and her emotions more than her head and the rules - so I was glad that you articulated it so well. I'm glad this didn't turn into a full-fledged romance with professions of undying affection, but I did like the little bit you threw in; it seemed just the right amount of Sirius' rashness and his inability to really settle down. And your humor was great, subtle but enough to make me smile.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! Yeah, I suppose that her having to be ruled more by her heart is a good change, one that she kind of needed. Thanks! I didn't want them to be all fluffy because I can't write fluff so well, and, you said it, it just didn't seem like Sirius to do that instead of just planting a kiss on her. Aw, thanks about the humor. It's always hard for me; I can write humor for things that are happening in front of you, like on a movie or something, but humor in books, that is just something I can't do so well.

I really appreciate you reading my story!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Elf_ears13 Chapter 8

6th August 2007:
Hmm, interesting. I rather like that she doesn't believe him at all and still expects to be dead, since she doesn't seem like the sort of character who would unquestioningly accept anything. Her defiance of death was interesting, especially since she knew that she would already be dragged down because of her involvement with him. I would've thought that she would think more about her life - but I guess, again, I'm underestimating her as an Auror. Of course she had to be prepared for that moment. His compassion really is what makes him stand apart, isn't it? I love how that's what makes her think twice, and not the logic of his story.

Author's Response: I really like these reviews... Anyway, I thought that making his actions of kindness over what would make his story more plausible would her believe him more because, it starts right there that her mind fails to judge. It's her heart; before she would have killed him on sight, as in that Muggle before, but she froze. Perhaps those years of the work did improve her people skills a bit to where she's not biting off everyone's head. lol. You make me understand my work more. Aw, I can't wait to read your stories!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Elf_ears13 Chapter 7

6th August 2007:
Again with the phone going out. All of the pieces are getting laid together, the players set in position, and I can't wait to see how it turns out! You've done an excellent job sewing hints and clues and subplots together, which is something that I need more practice at. I'm glad Anne didn't say anything about the dog in her foggy state - it would've made everything more suspicious. I like that Scrimgeour blamed - or sort of blamed - her, as he seems the sort to pin the blame on anyone remotely involved.

Author's Response: I know I didn't explain the phone going out too well. *sighs* It makes me feel like a liar, and not a very good writer, with everything explained at the end.
Thanks! I really appreciate your reviews -- they make you so much more intuned to my stories than I am -- and I really thank you for reading my story!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Elf_ears13 Chapter 6

5th August 2007:
Something of a depressing end, though not disappointing. I'm glad she didn't dawdle around and he didn't answer any questions, as I can't imagine he'd be inclined to cooperate with the Ministry. I wonder about that McGonagall bit - though Anne hasn't been informed about everything going on, it still makes no sense why someone would write back as McGonagall. I really like her dialog; it sounds the right balance of strictness and emotion that we love.

This is something I'd noticed earlier, but I kept on forgetting to mention: I really like the way you don't have to constantly refer to Anne's name, as it makes it more of a necessity or formality than something that defines her.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! You are such a good review writer! I didn't like giving Anne her name, and so I didn't want the character to like it either. (You see, I couldn't think up a name that would be good for. Unique was more to my liking, but the majority of the ones I thought of sounded Americanized.) Anyway, thanks SO much for reading my story!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Elf_ears13 Chapter 5

5th August 2007:
I love the little neighborhood of - well, not friends - acquaintances you've given her, as they add to the background and understanding of her character. The idea of her family being gone makes her cat more understandable (though her parentage could be explained more - why did her mother's family cut off connections? Were both of her parents magical?), and I just love the little quirks you've given Willow and Paul. The whole feel of the neighbors is just right; very small town, very relative and easy to relate to.

I also really like the idea of the broomstick being that big of a deal, because I always wondered why it took McGonagall and Flitwick so long to check it over. You've certainly added a new depth and new perspective to, really, the whole year without tampering with it by adding uncanon interaction with the trio.

Author's Response: This is the best review I've ever received! lol! Please, tell me what's wrong with my other stories. I really like your input.

Anyway, I was going to explain more of the mysteriousness about Anne in the sequel, which was so bad that I didn't finish writing it. (Heck -- I didn't even get past the first chapter!) Anyway, I might re-write and add in a bit more.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Elf_ears13 Chapter 4

5th August 2007:
I love the juxtaposition of the seriousness of the break-in and the cuteness of the dog - I liked the fact that it ended on a happier note, especially since this is one of the most serious times of the year. I wasn't sure why Gentry called her "Miss Austen" on the phone? Also, I thought that last chapter already said it was September ... but maybe you meant only the beginning of the month before. Lupin and Snape were spot-on, and I thought it was nice that she had sort-of relationships with them while they were in school, but nothing too close or Mary-Sueish - just enough to have opinions formed of them. I didn't think it was common knowledge about Lupin's furry little problem (why was it such a big deal that it was announced at the end of the year?), but being an Auror and perceptive and all that, I don't think it'd be strange to have her be able to figure it out anyway.

Author's Response: Whoa, juxtaposition. The last time I heard that was in 8th grade English -- and now I'm in tenth, lol. And I always thought English was my strong point.

Anyway, I originally had Anne's last name as "Austen", but then I thought that "Chase" would be more sufficient, seeing as she's "chasing" Sirius.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Elf_ears13 Chapter 3

5th August 2007:
Tricky Sirius! I'm still unsure of why he showed himself - to taunt her? Surely not to explain himself? I wasn't sure if that was supposed to be answered in this chapter and I just missed it, or if we'll find out later. I liked the description of her eyes, as it really makes her out to be a good candidate for an Auror. I was sort of wondering why she chose that profession in the first place, but this side of her personality definitely fits it.

Author's Response: Thanks! I just love your reviews; they make you seem like a really good, attention-paying reader, unlike myself.

Now that I think of it, I can't quite remember why I had Sirius show himself. Now I dislike this review, because at three o'clock in the morning, I'm going wake up, fully awake, and realize what it was. Shame on you, lol.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Elf_ears13 Chapter 2

5th August 2007:
I love how you've let her reason out such - to us readers - ridiculous ideas that could almost make sense. I wonder why Remus hasn't been brought up in all of this? I like the ferry to and from Azkaban and the law about not Apparating, but there were some points that I was unclear on. Maybe I'm not remembering right, but I don't recall wizards being able to directly Apparate into or out of the Ministry, and the windows were fake as the floors were underground (so how would an owl fly in?). I also wasn't sure on her relationship with McGongagall - was she her head of house or just another professor? It's very good, so I'm sorry if this review sounds negative. =)

Author's Response: It's okay, and thanks once again! *smiles* In the fifth book, it says that Arthur Weasley (when taking Harry to his trial) usually Apparates into work, and I know that the owl thing was a bit far-fetched, and thanks for pointing that out. I didn't realize it at the time, and, to tell you the truth, I didn't realize when I reread it. lol

 Report Review

Review #18, by Elf_ears13 Chapter 1

5th August 2007:
Interesting past! I love the rustiness and awkward feelings she had about doing what she used to consider routine - it definitely shows that she's changed over time, which I don't think I have to tell you is a good sign in an OC. There were a few minor misspellings, but I didn't even pay attention enough to them to be able to point them out now. I like the mix of canon and original names, since an overload of either is disappointing to read (it feels like the author didn't do a complete job of incorporating their own ideas). I can't wait to see where this goes.

Author's Response: Thanks! I wrote this so long ago (or at least its seems so) that I completely forgot about it and had to reread it to understand your reviews. I know, a bad thing for a writer.

Again, thanks! I know I wasn't thinking about these things at the time... I guess I was just lucky, lol.


 Report Review

Review #19, by darkwolf24 Chapter 9

15th April 2007:
This is a really good story:) Please do a sequel cause that would be great!

Author's Response: *grins* Oh, I will, from Sirius's POV. It's just that I have AOL Parental Controls, and they've gone haywire currently, blocking me from practically everything on HPFF. However, I hope soon to weed them out and get it straightened.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Rachel Chapter 5

5th April 2007:
I really like this story, it's freash and different. It's so sad though to see Remus in your story, I can't imagine what he would feel like. :( But great story, keep it up! It would be nice if the main character had some hobbies besides work.

Author's Response: Thanks. I made work Anne's life. Thanks for the R&R!!

 Report Review

Review #21, by mini_marauder101 Chapter 9

27th March 2007:
Awesome! 10/10!

Author's Response: Thanks, so much for reading my story!! *applauds reviewers*

 Report Review

Review #22, by SiriusDogStar Chapter 9

27th March 2007:
Hey!!
This is definately NOT a terrible ending, although the fact that it was already the end of the story did caught me by surprise. Every chapter you improve so much, you have to keep writing! I would like to know what happens next, more a Sirius point of view maybe, Miss Chase now being unemployed (unfair, it wasn't her fault Sirius escaped again!). Will she join the Order, will she protect Harry, will she see Sirius again?.Plenty to write about but I leave it up to you, since you're working on other stories as well and it is rather time consuming. But, I would love to read a sequel. Good luck with your writing!

Author's Response: lol. Maybe you should write the sequel.

However, if I do write a sequel, the chappies will have to few and far between until the end of April, when softball season ends. Because our team is sooo terrible, we are having very hard practices.

Once again, thanks for reading my story!!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Zazuli Chapter 9

26th March 2007:
Why did she get fired again? The thing between Anne and Sirius was cuuute xD Well done! I hope you do do a sequel.

Author's Response: Anne was fired because when Sirius Black escaped from the castle, she was the last to speak to him, leaving Scrimgeour to think that she helped him.

Thanks! And I might do a sequel... That's just if softball stops being as demanding as it has been.


 Report Review

Review #24, by SiriusDogStar Chapter 8

25th February 2007:
Very good chapter! It's good to read reasoning, thoughts and explaining, it draws you into a character. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks, so much! I didn't realize I was doing it at the time. I suppose my writing has improved.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Zazuli Chapter 8

25th February 2007:
Ohh, cliffie! I bet she kinda believes him now...;D
Please update soon ^.^

Author's Response: *grins* Thanks so much!

And, yes, I'll try to update soon, but I have two other stories that I'm currently writing.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>