18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by FaithCrain2294 Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

29th September 2011:
You said its a bit of a parody, I can see it a little, but the air is a bit to serious in my opinion. Not that I don't like it, it maybe short, but it was decently realistic, well written, and original. I love it. One of my favorite harry potter star trek crossovers. :)

Author's Response: Thank You for the review FaithCrain2294. I'm glad you liked this. The fic through various drafts has perhaps become less parodical in nature, although it was always a little dark since all my writting is.

 Report Review

Review #2, by pinks Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

1st February 2010:
What a cute story! I love all of the quotes, and seeing what roles the different characters played in the war.

I hope you'll start writing more soon! I miss your gritty stories!

Author's Response: Pinks,

Thanks for the review.

I haven't abandoned this site, but my computer is sub-par and my job, well actually my long commute, keeps my from writing as much (or at least typing) as I'd like; but I'm saving up for a netbook.

Also, for a while I only had the mojo for editing.

Somethings coming soon on Pipsqueak Warrior, by the end of this month.

I'm re-writing the first six chapters, as I wasn't fully satisfied with them - at least in terms of detail and then I plan to finish the story (or at least a first draft of it).

My stories are so gritty enough that I lost my trusted author status for some errors in Choices of the Heart (which I had pretty much stopped writting anyway), so they will also have to go through validation.

I also want to rewrite and re-submit a new version of Choices of the Heart, that might be in first person. I also have an idea for a final battle fic from Greyback's perspective.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Shepherd Actual Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

27th September 2009:
Cute, Harry Potter and Star Trek. Lupin 359 i'll be laughing for some time at that one...Wolf, I mean Lupin 359. And Metallic Inferi. Glad you didn't reveal until the end of the story, gave us trekkies a laugh. Good job.

Author's Response: Thank you! You know I'm on two minds with the ST crossover bit, it added a bit of humor, but distracts from an otherwise serious fic, but I always seem to have a strange need to sort of combine fluff, humor and angst. It may have been better to invent my own sci-fi threat as I have in the stalled, partially complete Tree Squid fic.

Again, thank you!



 Report Review

Review #4, by californialove Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

1st January 2009:
Wow, this is really good. I like how you were able to like do three crossovers at once! It's all so believable! :]

This story has also got my creative juices flowing to maybe put in a anniversary type thing in my work.

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope it does give you some good ideas. I dn't quite get the three crossovers comments, there are at most two. Although 'Pearl Harbor; is sort of a crossover it is a real event so.

 Report Review

Review #5, by hsw Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

26th May 2008:
I really liked this story/article. For one thing, the idea of "Potterverse" + sci-fi never occured to me. I do enjoy many science fiction books, so that spin was neat.

Thank you also for including the original article for comparison. I'll admit Pearl Harbor was well before my time, but as an American, there is still certainly an awareness in the culture, at least around the anniversary. I was quite fascinated at the parallels you drew between the "real world" and Harry Potter's world, using a made-up (by you, that is, rather than Rowling) but possible battle. I found this to be a very interesting and thought-provoking story/article. There were a few humorous touches, such as the crumple-horned Snorkacks, which also helped to establish the setting in "Potterverse," but you, following the lead of the original article's author, maintaned a serious and somewhat somber tone throughout, as would be considered appropriate for the subject matter.

One minor complaint I have is about your grammar. It's not exemplary, and there were several places where I was stopping to think, "Oh, there should be a comma" or "Oh, that's awkward phrasing" or something of that nature. However, I've also read much worse, and the mistakes weren't overly distracting, for the most part. From your comments, I am certainly aware that you have edited this piece numerous times and have no doubt corrected many mistakes. I do realize not everyone has a good sense for grammar; some people's brains just don't work that way. However, due to the grammar, I'm giving your story a 9 instead of a 10.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your review. I appreciate it a lot, especially your comments on the tone. And you gave me a nine. Yeah! And really the grammar errors here are pretty atrocious. I just took my first serious look at this in a long while, (it sort of the step-child of my writing) and I see what you mean, personally I never would have given it a nine f with these errors. Metal for Medal? EyeEH!

Unlike most writers here, I tend to post one of my early drafts and then edit them up from there. Which is a bad habit. I need to have more patience before posting.

It's not so much that I don't know grammar, but more along the lines that I'm a bad proofreader. For some reason I have never sent this to a beta. I think I'll do that now.

Thanks for the review.



 Report Review

Review #6, by Pookha Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

26th October 2007:
That was quite different and one of the most original stories I have read on this site. I am still undecided as to whether or not I really like it, but it held my interest from top to bottom and I can see the historical aspect of it (history repeating).

Luna Goyle? Hmm.

Well plotted and executed.

Author's Response: This is just a strange peice and some of my earlier writting. So probably not as good. But it came to me quickly because of the newspaper piece. It's sort of tied into my novel as there is a big battle on the train in that, if I ever complete it.

You have to read Saurkraut Poet to understand the Luna/Goyle thing, she is a brillant comic writter.


 Report Review

Review #7, by White_Dragon Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

6th July 2007:
I am so glad I finally read this, as the initial idea of a SF Harry Potter story was something I wasn't sure I would be interested in.

I realize that this story ties in with CoH in regards to the big battle, and somewhat more indirectly, I can see a path to PW.

Your story does have the feel of a "survivors" reunion to it. Though my travels through Europe have been very limited, with no experiences in the UK unfortunately, and no trips whatsoever to any WWI or WWII battlefield, I have been to Pearl Harbor a couple of times and to Gettysburg quite a few times, as I live within 4 hours of it. Everytime I visit, I always seek out the museum exhibits that report and depict the final re-unions of the Civil War veterans, and in particular, Joshua Chamberlain.

I mentioned a 'path' to PW... When I first read the story, I found myself envisioning Hogsmeade as Gettyburg (the town) and Hogwarts as Big and Little Round Top.

I like the reference to Wolf 359



Author's Response: Well the survivors reunion feel was easy since I was careful to use modified quotes from and try to keep the atmosphere of the original article that inspired it.

So far everything I've written could be called a DA fic, so it's understandable why you can see similarites to PW and COH, especially COH.

Thanks for the review. ~ Sandy


 Report Review

Review #8, by Jessi_Rose Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

30th June 2007:
This was awesome! It's so wildly different, but the writing made it completely ... just... I'm at a total loss for words here, Sandy. It really tugged at my Trekkie side and sated the need for HP fan fiction at the same time. It was just... Ugh. I hate being wordless. LOL. This was such an awesome, original, clever and very (at least I thought) amusing story.

I loved all of the odd pairings, mainly because odd pairings work even better in a fic like this. It's... so different!! It's great!! Again, for the second time today, I'm nearly jumping out of my seat. This was just so much fun to read!!

You're brilliant. That's all I can say. Amazing.

Author's Response: Thanks Jessi. I'm not sure what this is exactly, angst but also humor in a dark sort of zany way.

I actually thought a while back about making this a star-trek crossover by subsituting the Borg for the enemy, but thought better of it. It's better as it's own stand alone universe and I might even attempt a sequal to this. A true Harry Potter Space Opera, but I wanted to wait until after DH to get more of the details of the world filled in for us.

I was just reading this yahoo article one day and in addition to the emotions it invoked in me, I said wouldn't it be an awesome concept for a Harry Potter story and it pretty much wrote itself in about a day with minor tweaks since then; since if you look at the story versus the article (which I included in the authors notes) you will see it follows almost the exact same structure, and I used the quotes almost intact since the article gave me realistic dialogue that for the most part is real and was actually said by someone (I gave it HP context of couse). Even the ships are inspired somewhat by the article as one real person named 'Lee' later on married a Japanese women after the war that he met at the reunion.

The other odd ship is inspired by Sauerkraut poet, because well there just had to be one other story on the archive with that ship. LOL!


 Report Review

Review #9, by JustSuper Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

21st June 2007:

That was cool... I like your random play on words and the 'space thing' was interesting... Its amusing whom you paired with whom though... and it was a nice idea to base it on this artical... Very well done!



Author's Response: Thank You for the review. This was a fun piece to write.

 Report Review

Review #10, by SweetDeadly Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

3rd June 2007:
Wow.thats all i can say. that was just amazing. wow.

Author's Response: Thanks! Truly!

And I just want to say that I really like the banner bibbs made me.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Wingless Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

2nd June 2007:
Wow, this was awesome! Your story is so original and the fact you put so much time and research in this just makes it that much more special. I love how your own dedication shines from this. :)

Anyways.. I loved this. This is probably one of the first stories where I felt a real sense of pride for everything the Potter-Characters have done in the books, along with a sense of pride of what they've done in your article. The memorial every seven years just touched my heart. It literally ached with sadness after I reached that point. It feels so real, so believable, and that is a brilliant feat. Fantastic job. ^^ I have to add this to my favorites.

Author's Response: Thanks! I was expecting a review for Choices because I have just undated it, but I was presently suprised to find this instead.

This is a fic I finished a while ago and just come in and tweak it a bit ever now and then.

To be honest this was written very quickly (for me a day or two at most w/ subsequent tweaks).

I tend to write realistic, but strange stuff.


 Report Review

Review #12, by allison10235 Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

20th May 2007:
Harry Granger-Weasley? This was a tad strange and I fear that I didn't really understand it.

Author's Response: If you thought it stange I did a good job.

This is an interstellar newspaper article by Nebula Crabbe about the remaining DA in their dooterage going to a memorial service similar to the one's held every year at Pearl Harbor, Hawii, but during a time of horrible intertellar war.

Similar to America's Pearl Harbor vets going to Peartl Harbor right after 9/11.

And this is inspired by a newspaper article that described exactly that.

Harry Granger-Weasley is the third generaion of descendent of Harry, Ginny, Ron and Hermione.

He is the product of Ron and Hermione's grandson marrying Harry and Ginny's grandaughter. (2nd Cousins marrying)

Which is much more common and legal in Britain then in America.

Hermione insisted on naming her children
with hyphenated names and that name was pased down through the male line.

I had a really detailed family tree worked out at one point, which even worked the
Malfoy's and Luna's children in when I wrote this, all those months ago.

I wonder where I put it.

Thanks for the review.



 Report Review

Review #13, by 4everRavenclaw Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

12th April 2007:
this is really weird... but a really good work though. i kinda found it funny at some points... your characterizations were awesome. i'll give u 10/10 on this... very original too!!!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review and the 10! This is exactly like one of those assignments you sometimes receive in creative writing classes to write something based on a newspaper article.

Except I assigned to my myself. The characterizations were easy because all I did was match JKR's characters to the modified newspaper quotes themselves.

This pretty much wrote itself. Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Kiss_This Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

23rd March 2007:
Very very different...I think this is the most far out story I've read so far, but I do like it. The couples weren't my fav but it was well written and an interesting story.

And thanks for reviewing my story...I'll always return the favor!! 9/10

Author's Response: Thanks. I thought far out coupes (mostly might go with a far out story.) And well one ship was there to honor one of my favorite authors: Saurkraut Poet.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Livi Lovegood (not signed in) Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

3rd February 2007:
it is a load of excellently written twaddle!
i really enjoyed reading it, despite the sadness.

Author's Response: "A load of excellently written twaddle."

That made me smile. :D

I love this review. I think its the best review I've ever had on anything.

Great for an advertising slogan too, if I were to use it.

Read DA Jones's Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless: "It is a load of excellently written twaddle." -- Livi Lovegood. :D

Your right this fic is sad and as Graywand noted weird. I doubt that there are many fics that can fit both the angst and humor category which this tries to do.

Thank you for your review. And keep writing away, you're an excellent writer yourself.

DA Jones


 Report Review

Review #16, by Healer_25 Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

13th January 2007:
Interesting out look on things. There were about two spelling mistakes that I saw. Otherwise, I was left with wondering what happened to Hermione and Ron? I know they have a child...but???

Anyways I enjoyed it, you don't see to many future fics.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. This is a story I posted only about a month ago, before sending it to a beta. But it just recently went so the spelling errors and such should be corrected soon.

Just for fun, I'll endulge the Ron and Hermione question. I guess this like a drabble.

Ron and Hermione just lived happy fairly normal lives, but Ron died somewhat young for a wizard. His final illness was an incurable wizard form of Alzheimers that may have been a delayed reaction from the incident with the brains in the Department of Mysteries. He died at 85.

Hermione remarried at 90 a 20 year younger muggle solar-sailor and this is what encouraged Harry her (grand-nephew) to join the space-fleet. She died at 130 with revision notes for the newest edition of Hogwarts: A History on her lap.

I'm thinking of a follow-up using Harry Granger-Weasley.

Thanks for your review.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Fish and Bird Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

26th December 2006:
Good...in an extremely strange way! People keep asking me for advice about ideas for stories (as if I know anything) and I keep giving them the same reply: do something original. It doesn't matter if they go out on a limb like you've done here or if they stick boringly to cannon as I've done so far. It all boils down to choosing a single aspect of a character or situation which nobody else has done before (to the best of your knowledge) and then running with it. Ydnas Odell, I salute your originality! Now I'll try something of yours which is a little more mainstream! ;-)

Author's Response: Thanks F & B. Yeah this is different. Though I've seen other 'memorial one shots' out there I don't think I've seen one set in the far future like this.

But than I remembered just how old JKR says wizards and witches can get and well the rest just wrote itself. It was really inspired very much by that newspaper article mentioned in my authors notes.

Thank you very much for your review. I'll try to read the new chapters of your story that is in my favorites soon, but it might be a while because my internet access is going to be limited for the next week or so. So I'll review it again as soon as I can. Again thank you!





 Report Review

Review #18, by Graywand Heroes By Warp Speed Wizarding Wireless

10th December 2006:
This is just wierd. Still a great chapter though.

Author's Response: Thanks Graywand. Yeah this one-shot is definitely weird. This was just an attempt to endulge the rather odd sense of humor I have.

Thanks!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login