Reading Reviews for On Making Friends
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Harrie On Making Friends

30th January 2014:
:'( How very heartbreaking!! I wonder what they would say to each other if they were to meet years later???

 Report Review

Review #2, by xxFlutterStutterBOOMBOOMxx On Making Friends

30th July 2011:
This was fantastic. It was such an accurate depiction of elementary school life! Sad, though. Poor Harry...

 Report Review

Review #3, by Wishful Dreaming On Making Friends

22nd March 2008:
That was Wonderful. But sad for little Harry. I liked the way you wrote so that Christina was looking back into her past as she told the story.

Author's Response: I am still proud of this particular story. Proud enough that I still show it reverence by not littering my responses with emoticons as I am often wont to do. Christina and Harry's situation was all too easy to write, as I have been on both sides more than once in my lifetime.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Penelope On Making Friends

4th March 2008:
I love stories like these, and it is wonderful! I wish people would make their character(s) meet up with a grown-up version of Harry to compare/contrast their memories...Anyway, great story!

Author's Response: Thanks! This is one of my better one-shots; it definitely ends on the strongest note. I think I like it the most because it feels the most real, because nearly everyone has been in both Harry and Christina's positions. It would be nice for her to meet up later with a grown-up Harry, but that's not for me to write... it'd subtract from this story. I wanted "On Making Friends" to feel distinctly wrong in its conclusion, because, well... it IS distinctly wrong, what Christina was forced to do. I'm glad you liked it in spite of (or because of?) it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by MandaSue On Making Friends

2nd January 2008:
I know that this is a one shot, and that because it's a one shot it's not supposed to have a sequel. But this story was (is) amazing, and I think Christina and Harry meeting again would make a great story. Even as another one shot ( although selfishly I wish it would be a story because I'm rather addicted now)! :)

Author's Response: It could possibly make a great story if I had planned it out from the very beginning, but unplanned sequels tend to suck... And sometimes too much closure will cause the reader to forget the story sooner. And, well, I like where I ended this story--right at the moment that was most unfair for poor Harry. Because I want people to feel sorry for him--like really sorry. :)

I'm glad you liked this story, though. Thanks a bunch for the nice review! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by xxMugglePrincess On Making Friends

23rd July 2007:
Aww, everyone was so horrible to Harry. Christina only wanted to help him by being his friend and everyone flipped out. It must have been hard to do the right thing, which was why evauntally she ended up being mean to him too.

Author's Response: I sort of cried while writing the ending, because I knew it was the only way it COULD end. Sadly, this happens all too much in real life.

Lol, I'm glad to see that people are back to reading and reviewing fanfiction so soon after Deathly Hallows! I was afraid (and still am, I guess) that many people might leave fanfiction after book 7.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Anony_Mouse On Making Friends

18th April 2007:
You know, this could really pass off for original fiction if you wanted it to; it's certainly strong enough. I'm not saying you should do that, since I really like it the way it is, and I'm sure it would be hard for you to do that, but it really is quite good. Your writng's good enough (I read somewhere you do write OF?), and it's really pleasant to find such a good writer as yourself on this site, when there are so many (excuse me for saying it) indecent ones. I liked this story; it's an original take, fits as a missing moment in Harry's childhood, and is also very true to real-life. I think you've portrayed Christina nicely, too. =)

Author's Response: One of my other reviewers (on another site) also told me that those could pass off as original fiction. I'm quite tempted to do it, because this is possibly my favorite one-shot I've written so far, and the peer pressure aspect is so applicable to real life and not singularly tied to the HP world. I really like Christina, as we can all relate to her, no matter how horrible her final choice seems to be. Then again, most of us can also relate to Harry in this story, being the receiving end of humiliation and bullying.

I do indeed write original fiction. I finished yet another revision of an original novel, and I'd love ever so much to get it published. I'm pretty terrified by the idea, because I'm only 17 and I am quite sure that at least a few people would discourage me from doing it for fear that I was setting myself up for disappointment or something. But the saying goes, "Don't let anyone look down on you because you are young. . ." so I'd better take a deep breath and go for it! And (Lord willing) I have many, many years ahead of me to hone my writing skills, so potential rejection now shouldn't be too bad in the long run. :D

Thank you so much for all your nice reviews! You made my day!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Oksanna88 On Making Friends

21st March 2007:
That's a sad story, but it's just like I imagined Harry's primary school days. Are you planning on writing a sequel to this story, you could write about how the two of them meet during the holidays? I'd love to read that!:D

Author's Response: It is such a sad story BECAUSE it's exactly how I'd imagine Harry's primary school days. In fact, I can imagine lots of little children going through the same thing, which only makes it sadder. But I won't be writing a sequel, because I feel the story will lose its potency if they met up again and resolved everything. I know that a few people wanted a sequel to this story, but others (including me), like it better without. :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by Hermione12124 On Making Friends

19th March 2007:
Oh, poor Harry! I feel so sorry for him! Christina was so cruel to him; I could just hit her. It was really a good story, though, even though it made me cry. It was so sad, but it was well written. You're a great writer! ;D

Author's Response: I know, I want to cry for Harry, too! And, while Christina was very cruel to him, she didn't do any different from what all little kids (and older people, too) would have done. I know I wouldn't/haven't. Only a very, very good sort of person would have withstood the bullying she would have gone through. So I can't hit her. Thank you for crying, because it makes me feel really good about my writing (as does the compliment).

 Report Review

Review #10, by Rochefoucauld On Making Friends

31st December 2006:
Ouch. Poor Harry.
Cristina should have stuck with him- but it's understandable, I suppose. Poor Harry.

Author's Response: Ouch indeed. Yes, Christina should have done the right thing. But the same goes for Dudley and Margaret and the rest of Harry's classmates. But did they? No.

I started writing this story as a sort of Harry-tragedy where we're all supposed to pity him and cry over his sad little plight, but it turned out to be quite a brutally realistic insight into the life of young school kids. We've all been in Harry's place before, and we've all been in Christina's place as well. And we know what we would have done were we in Christina's place: the exact same thing.


 Report Review

Review #11, by ValorOrgulloso On Making Friends

27th December 2006:
That's so sad... I loved reading it, though!

Author's Response: It was meant to be sad. Glad you enjoyed it! I was a bit worried about it as I wrote it, but by the end I was very pleased with it. The last line is perhaps the one I am most proud of in all the last lines I've written for my fanfic stories.

 Report Review

Review #12, by a really sad person On Making Friends

25th November 2006:
how...how could you!!! why did she stab harry!!! whe i was reading it and u were saying that she was mad at everyone and then she took the pencil from dudleys hand i really thought she was going to stab Dudley! then i read harry and i swear i thought it was some sort of typo or something it seemed so wrong.that girl is cruel. shes worse than the others becasue she gave harry false hope and then she didnt just betray him lightly by just not sitting with him, she hurt him physically as well?

wow that is a REALLY deep story considering its from an 8 year old girl's point of view, Good job.

Author's Response: Actually, it's really from Christina's point of view as a 17/18-year-old looking back on all this, so she's had time to become deeper. But, at 8 years old, I believe she did what we all would have done, however painful it is to admit it. It was very evil of me, but I am proud with the overall effect :( :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by LostMaeblleshire On Making Friends

18th November 2006:
Oh wow. Islander, you made me almost cry. I can't believe she put the pencil in his arm like that! You had me gaping at the screen, with my tears welling up, and... Poor Harry! You really do know how to play with people's emotions with your writing, whether with humor or sadness. Christina was surprisingly well-developed for a one-shot, I think, and her voice was quite interesting. I would say more, but I think I've gone into a bit of a shock! But, as always, this was pretty much impeccable! I'll make you a banner if I can, if you'd like...

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. I can be very mean to my characters at times (as in "Under the Emerald Spell Light). But I think that this fanfiction, much more so than my others, is very true to life. I'm sure we all would have done what Christina did (I know I've been on both her side and Harry's side before), and we'd be almost unrealistically strong people if we didn't. I'd love a banner very much, thank you! Thanks for your wonderful review!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Bittersweet Ending On Making Friends

16th November 2006:
TRAGIC!!! (why-oh-why?) I loved the insightf of this story and ideas that were woven beautifully together, especially the setting and POV. In terms of constructive criticism--remember they are 8! Though it doesn't seem much of a difference, Christina seems a bit mature (though there is the above average child in terms of maturity). 10/10

Author's Response: Tragic indeed. There was really no other way to end it properly, and I never intended it to be happy. They are indeed 8 years old, though Christina is telling the story when she is around 17 or 18, so she'll recall details in a bit more of a mature manner than an 8-year-old. But thanks for the constructive criticism--it's really very thoughtful, and I appreciate it uber much.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Bibz4ever On Making Friends

16th November 2006:
Thats really sad...he is worth it...I wouldn't know whether to hit this girl or smile...I'd probably hit her hard...and that dumb teacher... It's really good and really sad at the same time...(not sad as in bad but sad as in I might cry)...lol...Keep writing!
Bibz4ever

Author's Response: Of course he's worth it. I ended the story with that line on purpose, as well as leaving off any post-author notes, so that I left the reader with that very unfair sort of feeling. I'm glad you found it sad, because it would sort of be a failure if you hadn't. :) Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login