Reading Reviews for No One Mourns the Wicked
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Hayleekins No One Mourns the Wicked

11th January 2012:
Argh! You got wicked songs stuck in my head!! Gah! Other than that, it was pretty well done! I'm still a little confused as to whom this story is about... anyways, good job!
Happy writing,
Hayleekins

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad to hear that! And it was an original character, not any Death Eater we knew. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by materialgirl No One Mourns the Wicked

29th September 2007:
good but who's this supposed to be?

Author's Response: An unnamed death eater. I seriously have no idea! That's up to YOU! =D

Thanks for the r&r!

~Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #3, by ravenlupin No One Mourns the Wicked

16th July 2007:
This fic es muy bueno!

Alright, now I bet you're thinking that I'm a complete loon, but I read on the HPFF forums that you wanted a review in a foreign language, so I thought I'd make your wish come true. Even though my spanish is a bit rocky (okay, so it sucks. Same difference.)

Okay, now for my real review:

So far, this story is absolutely amazing. It's so easy to read and it's very interesting and attention-grabbing. I'm more than eager to read the second chapter, which is exactly what I am going to do after I am finished reviewing this.

You did a wonderful job! You're writing is amazing C=.

10/10.

Author's Response: Oh, you're so sweet! I'm so glad someone has taken my wish seriously. :-)

Wow, I'm really glad you enjoyed it! The second chapter is very different, but I hope you enjoyed that too! Again, thanks for taking my wish seriously....that is sooooo sweet of you!

-Anony_Mouse, :-)



 Report Review

Review #4, by SiriuslyCrack Daughter of Darkness

11th June 2007:
Ah, this is beautifully written, Mara. For starters, the beginning is great. I love the descriptions you gave throughout the chapter and I think it all flowed very well. It's so mysterious and intriguing because I don't know who the characters are but that's what I like about this one-shot. Great work, dearest. 8 out of 10! :)

Author's Response: Again, my brain is refusing to function, so all I can say is: thanks so much, Tahi!!! I wrote this in, oh, about December, so while I was proud of this at the time, my writing has improved a lot since (in "Lost and Found", especially), so I'm still glad you enjoyed it. Originally, this was going to be a short story, but I got major's writer's block and decided to leave it like it was, so I'm glad you enjoyed it like this! =)

Thanks SO much for taking the time for checking out my stories and no problem about the reviews-you're a great writer and it was a pleasure to read them!

*Huggle glomp*

...one more big thanks!

~Mara, :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by SiriuslyCrack No One Mourns the Wicked

11th June 2007:
Ah, this is a really good one-shot, Mara. I like to read angsty stories and I couldn't resist when I saw this on your author's page. You truly know how to make your readers happy, don't you? I enjoyed and I am on to the next one-shot ^_^

Oh, and by the way, thanks for the wonderful reviews you left me. This is all I can do to return the favour *hugs*

Author's Response: Wow, thanks yet again! (It's pretty early yet here, so if I can only say "thanks" in my responses, please forgive me-my brain won't function properly). I love reading angsty stories too, but most of all, I seem to find myself writing them--and I'm uber happy I've made you happy!!! I've always been fond of this one-shot.

Well, thanks again!

~Mara, :-)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Cat No One Mourns the Wicked

20th February 2007:
G'day, this is awesome. The reading is really smooth and I like how a Death Eater has become someone I could empathise with.

Author's Response: Aww, you really think so? This is such a controversial piece of mine that it means ten times more when people can enjoy-and better yet, relate!

Thanks so much for taking the time to review!

-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #7, by GinnyWeasleyPotter Daughter of Darkness

11th February 2007:
Oh, you combined it ;) Good idea, though I liked the banner you had for Daughter of Darkness. Since I've already read this and I don't want my mom to catch me on the computer, I'll make this quick. I love how you still haven't told us exactly who everyone is, adds a sense of mystery. Your descriptions are beautiful and the story's really great- though I've said this all before, I mean it!!
10/10
Lolo (but only my parents, sister, and parents of friends I've known forever call me that)

Author's Response: Hey, LOLO!!! (*realizes that she can't call Lauren that since she hasn't known her for forever and isn't a parent of any of her friends*),

I'm glad you think it was a good idea and maybe I'll figure out a way to use the banner, because I liked it too! I wasn't sure it would be good to combine it, so I'm glad you thought it was for the best. Thanks for the compliments again! I'm glad you enjoyed reading it, for the second time and thanks for reviewing again! That was sweet. *hopes that mother doesn't catch Lauren leaving this review*. Teehee.

Need to review CWJP...

-Mara, :-)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Cornie No One Mourns the Wicked

4th February 2007:
...Wow. Again. Wicked is one of my favourite musicals and this song is my second favourite from the show! The writing is very well done and fits perfectly with the song! I can see directly where the lyrics fit in and just...wow! I can only say that I wish it was longer because I want there to be more to it because it was just great!

I generally don't enjoy one-shots because people don't know how to end them, and songfics are the same. There's so many lousy ones out there. This one...not one of them AT ALL! (I actually have "No One Mourns the Wicked" playing on my iPod right now...XD)

10/10 for sure!

xxCornie

Author's Response: Hey, Cornie! I'm really, really glad you enjoyed this one-shot so much! It means a lot to me and your review was sweet.

I love WICKED too; it's awesome! ;-) I love it when other WICKED fans check out this songfic, since it always has special meaning for them. It was longer, but I had to cut out most of the lyrics because of copyright issues, besides the ones at the end, of course.

I'm glad this one-shot/songfic was an exception to what you normally like! There really are a lot of lousy songfics out there. And I don't know half of the songs they're about...*is ashamed at limited knowledge in pop culture scene* Coolio, you have "No One Mourns the Wicked" on your I-pod right now! I think I'm going to have it in my head now...:D *begins to hum it*

Oh, just curious, but what are more of your favorite musicals and what is your first favorite song from WICKED? My favorite is probably "Defying Gravity"...but this one inspired me to write a songfic. I'm really glad you enjoyed the outcome; it's so controversial (I love writing controversial things!), so it's nice to know when people actually enjoy it. I suppose my Snape/Lily one is too, so I'm also glad you enjoyed that one.

Thanks for the sweet review! I really enjoyed it. ;-)

-Mara, :-)


 Report Review

Review #9, by xLostxFaithx No One Mourns the Wicked

30th January 2007:
This was a very, very well written angst one-shot.

However it was only a little hard to realte to this unnamed detah-eater, because he was exactly that: unnamed. And I kind of think you were going for the just-a-number-not-a-person thing, to show the loneliness and not so glorious side of the dark side, however, I think a little itty bit more detail on his background (like, how old his daughter is, a little more about his past like his parents, an old friend, etc.) would have added to his relatability (I'm not sure if that's a word).

Other than that, this was very well written. I love good angst stories that make you wanna run up to the main character and give them a hug and tell them that everything will be ok, even though you know it won't. And your story was exactly that. Although it was not really sappy sad, just acknowledgement that he is lost in a world of a traumitizing past, and a loss-filled present. The exact way one would imagine a detah eater to describe himself, a loss of caring, but still having to exist anyway, with nothing to live for.

This was very insightful and a pleasure to read. Awesome Job.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! You're a very nice reviewer. ;-)

Hmm, I get what you're saying, but I'm still glad I did it the way I did. Don't take that the wrong away at all-I'm really glad you gave me my opinion, because it's interesting to see what other readers think and how they relate. Actually, I did this to be mysterious; I wanted every reader to have their own take on who the Death Eater and who his daughter were, and apply it to whoever they wanted to. I also was originally trying to fit this with the lyrics of the actual "No One Mourns the Wicked" song (alas, copyright issues stopped me), so if I added more detail, it might not have worked with the lyrics. But don't get me wrong, I still enjoyed hearing your opinion, I'm just telling you why I did it. I'm glad you gave me your opinion. Really.

That being said, you'll probably enjoy the sequel, "Daughter of Darkness". No clue if it will be even be continuing (extreme writer's block-bleh), but if I do continue it, I think you'll be able to relate to this fic more, because your questions will be answered. I guess there's only a limit of things you can do in one-shots-I love one-shots dearly, but there's a limit of things you can do with them.

I'm glad that, even though you couldn't really relate, you still enjoyed it. It means a lot to me that you think this is a good angst and thought that the Death Eater would describe himself like that. It was very interesting to get into such a gritty, voice, especially since I usually do fics in third person, but I might venture into first a little more.

Really glad you enjoyed it and thought it was insightful! I'm really glad you took the time to give me your opinion. Like I said, it didn't offend me in the least, and it's always interesting to hear my reader's opinions.

-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #10, by circinusphoenix No One Mourns the Wicked

28th January 2007:
Well hello there Anony_Mouse. This is the first time I've read one of your fics, and I must say, it's very well done.

First things first: great job not telling us who it is. It would have really ruined it I think if you told us. Having that mystery there makes it all the more brain-boggling. And even better the guy has a daughter that doesn't know him. It really presses the idea that he's stuck behind the curtains, and no one cares about him.

I like how you just pound into the reader (well, "pound" isn't the right word. Hmm . . . perhaps press. Yes, press into the reader) all the things that have driven him to becoming a Death Eater. You've really given depth to a Death Eater, which so many people don't. They just think, oh, he's a Death Eater, and therefore loves death, destruction, and cares nothing for anyone. It's great you've shown how his life just seemed like a constant stuggle against the world, and how only with belonging to this group, and finding respect from people (be it good or bad) did he find purpose.

Again, a really good one-shot. It doesn't have a definative purpose to it really, but it's a nice portrayal of a Death Eater from his own prospective. Hearing about how he has feelings, and that there is a person under the mask . . . it's a really good idea, and you write it very well.

Good job!

10 / 10

Author's Response: Thanks circinusphoenix, I'm glad you enjoyed it!!! It originally was a complete songfic to "No One Mourns the Wicked" with all the lyrics, but I had to cut out all but the last three lines because of copyright issues.

I'm glad you liked me not telling everyone who it was; a lot of people asked me, but the truth is, I'm not so sure who it is about myself! I wanted every reader to have their own take on it. There's a long story to why I made him have a daughter, but I'm glad it ended up working nicely for this. I suppose this doesn't have a definitive purpose....just to get the reader to think, which I'm glad you did. It annoys me reading fics where the Death Eaters are portrayed so badly, but it's funny, because I have to portray them in a less positive light in other stories, I write since (sadly) that's how most in the Wizarding World see them.

Thanks for reading and reviewing! It was a sweet review and I'm glad you enjoyed it.

-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #11, by AloneintheDark No One Mourns the Wicked

31st December 2006:
oooh. that was great i love your stories. and i love WICKED

thakies for the review, sorry this one is so short (especially compared to my lastone) by then :) *adds to faves, and gets upset when sees that anony is alredyon faves author list...)

Author's Response: Ooh! Thanks a lot. I'm really flattered that you like the stories-and I love meeting other WICKED fans!!!
That's okay that this isn't as long as your other WONDERFUL review-*goes to read it again*. I honestly don't mind!
Thanks again! It really means a lot to me. You might enjoy checking out the sequel to this, too.
-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #12, by canadian_dreamer No One Mourns the Wicked

25th December 2006:
OOO that was really good, i liked how you explored what it's like for the death eaters...why they do what they do...
really excellent work!

PS: thanks for the review ;)

xx

Author's Response: You're so welcome for the review! Thanks for taking the time to check out mine; it means a lot to me. I'm really glad you enjoyed it; it's really dark, so not that many people can truly appreciate what it was about-but you could!
-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #13, by tiffers No One Mourns the Wicked

23rd December 2006:
Wow, Anony_Mouse, this was wonderful! Your right, very different from my own, but amazingly powerful! You really drive the emotions of the death eater home, and show us a different light. I would never have thought about a Death Eater's choice that way, you did a magnificant job of making me think! Everything was so vivid and really hit hard with the reader, and everything flowed beautifully. I love the idea that they really don't care about each other and that they do it because they have no other option. Overall, a fantastic piece, I am pleasantly surprised by this magnificant one-shot!

Author's Response: Tiffers! Thanks sooooo much for checking out my stories. Your response was wonderful-it takes a lot of depth and thought to understand this story (My other ones were easier!). I think they care, but yet...it's different from how we care for our friends. I mean, think about it: Voldemort kills the Death Eaters who aren't good to him (I'm thinking of a moment in GOB here). Could they possibily mourn every Death Eater who's put in Askaban or dies? And yes, I think they do have no other option. Thank you so much for your fantastic response! It means the world to me!
-Anony_Mouse, :-)
P.S. And even though your stories are different...I still love them!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Quibler No One Mourns the Wicked

1st December 2006:
Hm? Interesting and quite retrospective. I really like to think about Draco's life. (If it indeed is Draco) but I have never written a story about him. My friend wrote one that is absolutly smashing, the same sort of somber feelings and 'abuse excuse' that your story expresses. This is a great idea. I am a huge Wicked fan!

Author's Response: Actually, I didn't actually name which Death Eater he was, but don't think the thought of using him as Draco didn't cross my mind! If you want to interpret it as him, be my guest; the point was to let everyone interpret who it was in a different way (just like Harry's death in your "Just One More Day"! :D). That might change if I write a sequel, but we'll see! Your friend's story sounds very interesting! Yes, this is very different from anything I've written before, I wasn't sure how people would react to it. Oh, and by the way I adore meeting other Wicked fans! If you don't stop me, I will start breaking into song...
Thanks for reviewing!
-Anony_Mouse, :-)
P.S. ***Sings*** "Something has changed within me. Something is not the same. I'm through by playing by the rules of someone else's game..."


 Report Review

Review #15, by JMEM 1 No One Mourns the Wicked

1st December 2006:
Hey there! Thank you for your lovely review on my story, and now I'm reviewing your wonderful story! You were right, this is different, but it is also differnt from any other story I've read, and that's good, because it's nice to read something new. The way you had the Death Eater describe his point of view on being one of Voldemort's followers and how he feels about the rest of the Wizarding world. Very well written, keep up the great work! I would be ecstatic if you wote a sequel by the way :D.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :D I'm really glad for the warm, positive response, especially, as I said, this was so different from most things I write, so I'm glad it was "different" in a good way. I was a little worried since it's quite a contrast to my other optimistic story on this site! The idea was to make the Death Eater so realistic that he could be at least one of the ones we know, so it's nice to know the point of view worked. I'm glad you think I should write a sequel-I have to work some things out first, but if I get a few more requests, I probably will!
Know that I'll read more of your stories, soon...
-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #16, by GinnyWeasleyPotter No One Mourns the Wicked

29th November 2006:
Beautiful, I absolutely loved it. Extremely well written; it was very powerful and emotional, I feel like I just came out of sort of a trance after reading it (lol, that sounds weird). I really enjoyed it, though I would have liked for it to be a bit longer.
I would leave a longer review, but I have to go! HMWK
10/10
GinnyWeasleyPotter
Thank you so much for the awesome review, I luved it!

Author's Response: Hee hee, I'm glad you liked my story-and review! Yeah, I have no idea what kind of mood I was in while I was writing it, I had no idea it would turn out to be so...bitter! It's really different from most things I write. It originally was longer (I used more than just the three lyrics at the end, but HPFF wouldn't let me), so I'm glad it's all right now. I'm considering writing a sequel...if enough people persuade me (review, blog comment, or their own review response) maybe I will!
Thanks so much for reviewing my stories!
-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Phoenix_Flames No One Mourns the Wicked

29th November 2006:
OH! This was GREAT!! I loved the plot..and EVERYTHING! It was so good, and you did such a great job with my challenge! Congrats! 10/10!
Love from Drue
xoxoxo

Author's Response: Thank you for your challenge and thank you for your warm response (I'm still getting over the fact that it was put up last night and THREE people have reviewed! My other story took days before that happened! Wow!)! Your review...it was so nice of you, I'm really deliriously happy you enjoyed it so much. It was really nice of you. Thanks!
-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #18, by onepound13 No One Mourns the Wicked

29th November 2006:
Oh cool! WHo was the person though?

Author's Response: This review made me smile...I just KNEW someone was going to ask that (well, two people actually) and I was right! I am leaving who the Death Eater is up to your own interpretation, as I didn't want to be forced to write things in the HP world J.K. Rowling created and make them accurate and such. Use your imagination! I am considering writing a sequel to explain more, you can leave a comment on my blog to persuade me (look at my website link). Well, I am glad you liked it!
-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #19, by alisonlynn No One Mourns the Wicked

29th November 2006:
.that was.sad. i wish i knew who the death eater was, and who his daughter was...or is. it's interesting to think that the people we want to hate are the people we should admire, but for different reasons than why we hate them. it's strange that we should admire people for why they became evil, how they became evil, but hate them for BEING evil. it's just confusing, but a very interesting way to look at things. VERY well written, but you left a lot of questions unanswered. i hope you do a sequel.

Author's Response: I'm sorry it was confusing! Yeah, I guess the point was partly to leave questions unanswered and make people think...I don't really think we should admire people for becoming evil, I was just trying to show the bitterness of the Death Eater. I think one of the reasons he became "evil" (personally I don't think anyone is really completely evil!) was because he needed to feel apart of something and wanted to be near people who were more like him. Maybe I needed to explain that better, but it's also sort of your own take on it question-it depends on your interpretation. Like I said, I wrote this in the Death Eater's perspective-most of it are things I would NOT say or think! :-) I didn't want to make the Death Eater a specific one as I would have to keep things in the canon world, and the daughter, at least as I see it, is an OC, but maybe it would be cooler to have her someone we know? Or an older sibling? Hmm, I think you've given me a great idea! Use your imagination to which Death Eater it was...I am considering a sequel about the daughter, but I'm only going to do it if enough people to request it. Leave a comment at my blog to persuade me! Thanks for your review!
-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login