Reading Reviews for Her Father's Gift
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sara_Sj A Gift or a Curse?

21st October 2011:
That was beautiful. I actually had tears in my eyes. I didn't cry (one-shots don't get into the story deep enough to allow that :D) but...it was close. This was so adorable. Lily was portrayed perfectly. And Harry. Even Ginny! Of course she was a really strong character but, she's gone through a lot, so I didn't really feel like she was ooc. I was going to review your story anyway but now that you offered, I'd LOVE a cookie and (especially) for you to read my story.

But really, it was a beautiful piece. Maybe you could even have a different chapter, this one from Fred to his brother? Or from Fred to his brother's son, Fred II. That would have been REALLY intriguing to read...

Anyway, amazing. I caught a single grammatical error that, if you aren't a freak like me, you would never have noticed. But I wouldn't want the perfect flow of your story to be ruined so here it is:

"I wish I could have be apart of your life" (it should be I wish I could have BEEN A PART of your life. See?)

Other than that, flawless. Loved it.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! This was the first fanfic I ever wrote (well, after I actually knew what fan fiction was-I wrote a few fanfics before when I didn't realize there was a term for it!), so it means a lot you enjoyed, despite the fact my writing has improved since. I'm actually toying with the idea in my mind of doing something similar with Fred II and his uncle, so keep a look out for it. Thanks for-and I will definitely try to read your story!

 Report Review

Review #2, by mindifislytherintom A Gift or a Curse?

3rd September 2011:
It was really good! Another tear jerker, it'd be nice if people could leave memories. :) Great job!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! It's such an old story of mine that I'm glad you were still able to enjoy it. And I agree...it would be great if people could really leave memories. ;)

 Report Review

Review #3, by flamingolover A Gift or a Curse?

15th July 2009:
Great story! I found this story randomly, and usually, I don't like those very much, but this was a very pleasant surprise. I kinda wish I knew what Harry was going to tell Lily before he disappeared, but I guess that's what makes this story good. It keeps you wanting more, and it makes you think about it. I do think some of Harry's dialogue was a bit overdone-- I mean that in the sense that he was kinda pushy-- but it wasn't too bad, and I still love this story.

I read the original, and I'm actually quite glad someone got up to making a sequel. Kudos to both of you!

Author's Response: Thank you, and sorry for taking such a long time respond! I am glad you enjoyed it. It's funny you reviewed, because I wrote this 3 years ago, so it's interesting going back to it, and I am absolutely sure you are right that his dialogue was probably overdone (I'd like to think my writing has improved since!).

Anyway, I'm so glad you enjoyed this, and thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by ValaOssas A Gift or a Curse?

30th January 2007:
First one made me cry this one almost did it. I honestly have to say I like the first one better but this one was sadder. I hope another idea comes through your brain.

Author's Response: I'm glad you still liked this one, even if you liked the first one better. Check out my other stories!

Thanks for the review,

-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #5, by AloneintheDark A Gift or a Curse?

29th December 2006:
oh my god, i am crying, seriously adn truely crying. oh my god, this was the most beautiful fanfiction i have ever read, and i dont even know why. I can't explain it, but, wow, this was amazing,it truely was. I am crying, wow, this is the first fanfic to ever EVER make me cry. I have to read the first one by the other author now, but wow, Your authrs note is so true, even strong and pronounced characters like Ginny must grieve, just like in real life, even the strongest of us suffer heartbreaks. I think that is what i loved most, that there wasa true, deeply moving moral, even though yo have to search for it, here we have a tremendously strong but heartbroken Ginny and the duaghter of two of the strongest, bravest people in the wizarding world, but who has never known a father, and it goes to show, even the best fall down sometimes, and even the strong must cry.
Thank you. All i can say is thankyou, for the wonderful story. It showed love and friendship, want and need, longing and then having, and wanting again, loss, and a heartbreak that, i agree with your ideas (or Quibblers if this was part of her story), someone like Ginny would never overcome.
Ginny--- i think that, behind your theory, Ginny would never heal because she has been strong and brave and pronounced her entire life, the loss of someone like harry (especially after HBP) would be detrimental and result in her not wanting to have to be the strong one. Why must someone who was strong throughout her entire life have topretend to be strong AGAIN fo her friends and family, when Harry's loss, while heartbreaking for the ENTIRE WIZARDING WORLD, and for his friends, was harder on her than anyone else? They should have to be storng for her. And i think Ron nd Hermione are doing just tha, by showing the pictures of Harry and their good times at hogwarts, by basking in the memory of Harry James Potter, by knowing he did NOT want them to forget him, but to try to find the rare joys in life, they are helping Ginny everyday, without knowing it. They make her stornger because they are not afraid to REMEMBER... perhaps we are suggesting Ginny's greatest weakness is Memory? Can I write a sequel (actully a third because this WAS a sequel) to the story?
Thank you ~AloneintheDark (1052 OUT OF 10!)

Author's Response: Wow...your review was just amazing! I love the way you were hit by this story and I'm so honored that you like it so much! I mean all I can say to this is...wow! And what kind of person do you think I am if I ask to write a sequel to someone else's work and I don't allow sequels to my own? If Quibler gives you the go ahead, of course you can! I can't wait to see it-judging by your review, I think you have some wonderful ideas! This was one of the best, longest reviews I've ever gotten. It really, really means a lot to me!
-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Potterholic A Gift or a Curse?

25th December 2006:
Aww… that was beautiful! I love your portrayal of Ginny and Lily, and the part about Harry’s memory was brilliant too. You did a great job detailing their emotion, too. Great work, keep writing!

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much! It's always a pleasant surprise to get reviews and I'm really glad you liked it. Don't worry; I'll never stop writing, I'm not sure I could stop!
-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #7, by chick_fic_luver_erin A Gift or a Curse?

20th December 2006:
this was amazing!!! wowowowowow. yess quibler is my favorite author on the site, and so when i saw that the idea had been hers, i couldnt help but read it. GREAT! much better than i thought it would be, and i thought it would be very good.

Author's Response: Hey there! Yes, Quibler is one of my favorite authors too and I'm so glad this story lived up to and was better than your expectations. ;-) Your review made me feel very happy inside!
Happy Holidays!
Love from,
-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #8, by HiJane_2 A Gift or a Curse?

10th December 2006:
I really liked this story a lot! It was a so good, and I thought it was so sweet. I didn't mind the OOC-ness of Harry and Ginny too much, I just thought it was a great story. It was very sweet! ~HiJane_2

Author's Response: Wow! I'm getting a bighead from all the reviews I'm getting for this story in such a short period of time! Thanks so much! I'm really glad you liked it. I love reading sweet stories too, so I'm glad this appealed to other people who do. I will try to check out your stories ASAP, not sure when that'll be, but I'll try! :D
-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #9, by starxsurrender A Gift or a Curse?

9th December 2006:
I think you should be very proud of this story- you nearly moved me to tears and I don't cry very often during stories. I just really enjoyed reading it and I'll probably go skim and see any other stories you have.

-Star

Author's Response: Wow! Thanks so much! I'm honored that I've moved you to tears-I'm not sure I've ever done that before. I'll try and check out your stories soon. When I first posted this I wasn't sure how good it was, but I'm quite proud of it now. It would be great if you could check out some other stories-my other's quite different and darker, but it'd still be cool if you could. Anyway, thanks for reviewing! You're the greatest!
-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Writer A Gift or a Curse?

3rd December 2006:
Nice! I really liked this.
Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it and it is really nice that you took the time to tell me that-I ♥ getting reviews. I will try to check out your stories & send you a cookie soon!
Thanks again...
-Anony_Mouse, :-)


 Report Review

Review #11, by A Lily A Gift or a Curse?

27th November 2006:
Excellent! I love Lily's feelings and the idea of her parents crying/not crying in front of her is very touching. Nice work! I look forward to more stories of yours!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It's always nice to get a new review. I'm glad you liked the idea and it makes me so happy that you will be looking out for my new stories-"No One Mourns the Wicked" is validating, it's very different, but it should hopefully be up soon. That's one of the reasons I write-for my readers and it's so nice you took the time to tell me that!
-Anony_Mouse, :-)
P.S. Cookie on the way....ASAP, I promise!


 Report Review

Review #12, by alisonlynn A Gift or a Curse?

22nd November 2006:
o.k., you reviewed all my stories, so i'm going to review yours. first of all, that other story sounds really good, are you going to post it? and this story was REALLY good as well, i didn't think they were very OOC, but i might not be the best judge. i could really feel the characters, and how all this would affect them, and i think that when a writer can make you feel that, then they have written very well indeed. EXCELENT STORY!

Author's Response: Yea!!! Thanks for reviewing. I'm really, really glad that you enjoyed it! "No One Mourns the Wicked" will be up soon, it's validating...I had a little problem, since Broadway musicals are only supposed to have 3 lines of lyrics in songfics, so I had to change that, plus I had to edit this story, so now it's (finally) being validated again. I'll tell you when it's up! (see my blog) Must warn you though, it's definitely much darker than this was and ended up being a lot shorter without the extra lyrics. Also, you get a cookie! I'll give it to you when your next chapter of "What You Do When Your Friends Abandon You" is up. I can't tell you how glad I am you liked it! Also glad Ginny and Harry aren't OOC. It's make me happy you reviewed this. You rule!
-Anony_Mouse, :-)
P.S. To answer your question in the other review, my new school is going, um...pretty well. It's much bigger than my old one, but I'm making friends and everything. Thanks for asking!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Loly A Gift or a Curse?

11th November 2006:
Oh my, I love this story, it's so touching. It's extremely sad!! I wish Harry hadn't died, Ginny is so depressed! It was so cute to have him come back as a memory for a bit. One of my favs now! 10/10 of course
~*LOLY*~
I'll read Quibler's story when I can!

Author's Response: Thank you, Loly, so, so very much for reviewing! I wish Harry hadn't died either (but if Quibler hadn't had him die, her story and mine wouldn't have existed). It was so sweet for you to add my story to your favorites-I feel so special! ;-) As you will see, my memory idea isn't completely original, but I thought Lily deserved a chance to meet her father. Pity the dead can't come back as memories in the muggle world! I'm also glad my story is creating more traffic for Quibler's....I'll try to read more of your stories, when I can! Thanks, a lot!
-Anony_Mouse


 Report Review

Review #14, by GinnyWeasleyPotter A Gift or a Curse?

6th November 2006:
Wow, this was such a great story! It was so sad, but I thought it was sweet that you let Lily meet her father (even though he was a memory). Oh, I wish Ginny could be happier, she's so sweet! It's so sad that some people that can be so strong can be sad and weak when they're older because of troubles in their past (like you said). Anyway, really really good, I thoroughly enjoyed it!
^_^ 10/10
GinnyWeasleyPotter
I'm off to read Quibler's story now!

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for reviewing! It truly made me so, so, SO INCREDIBLY HAPPY! :-) (When you have 60 reads and 3 reviews it can be a little depressing). Your review was incredibly sweet and I agree that it is very sad that Ginny is so depressed, but I do believe that she will begin to heal tremendously from this experience. I'm also glad you're reading Quibler's original-I got a lot of ideas from it, and I'm glad my story has promoted it! I'll try to write something else soon...soon as I get inspired! It's for readers such as yourself that makes writing worth it! (and a 10/10! Wow!)

 Report Review

Review #15, by tjwhermione A Gift or a Curse?

2nd November 2006:
Sorry, I don't have time to read this, but I'm sending you a quick link to that toaster for Voldie-Ninja! Thanks again for reviewing and enjoy the toaster! XD

http://www.nacs.uci.edu/support/security/toaster.html


Author's Response: Thanks for the toaster! It would be nice if you could read this when you have a chance since I've gotten so few reads or at least reviews, but I will understand if you're too busy. Thanks a million!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Quibler A Gift or a Curse?

16th October 2006:
Wow! That was great! I love the optimisim! You gave my story just a little more resolution. I think that this really could be a point for Ginny to begin to heal, sometimes you just need to let one more person in and it can make all the difference. I can just imagine how much thier realtionships will grow as Lily grows up and Ginny opens up. Thanks for being inspired by my story. This is great work!

Author's Response: Yay! You like it! You have no idea how happy that makes me. I don't think it's perfect, but I am glad it is still good. I agree with you about the Ginny thing...I didn't want her to be too much of a bad mother (which is why I added Lily's conclusion about that near the end), but when I was reading your story, I noticed you did make comments about her having trouble containing her tears, so I just kind of put that in Lily's perspective. Adults' reactions really do have more impact on their children than they know. From your story, I was really trying to keep the original spirit and you might have noticed than I used certain details you also used. I hope you don't mind! Even though I was inspired to expand it (and thanks so much for allowing that!), I still think short stories and One-shots are tremendous works of art...it's amazing what you can say in a few words and how much you can change in just a few days or hours. I'm sure we can all think back to those one or two times in ouir lives where our whole perspective changes from one experience. Thank so much for inspiring me! You are such an excellent fanfiction author and I was truly honored to have your permission to write a companion to "Just One More Day". I can't wait to read your other writings soon....Best Wishes! :-), Anony_Mouse

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login